We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels

Reviews of Harrington House Hostel

Hostel | 21 Harrington Street, Dublin, Ireland Dublin 8

79.8% Overall Rating

67 out of 77 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/11/2013)

Jennifer Wehrmeyer thinks…

"Free and fast wifi, free continental breakfast, comfy beds, ensuite bathroom, hot water and normal taps not push-buttons, quiet neighbourhood. For Deaf travellers - this hostel is close to St Mary's…"

Read all Harrington House Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dublin

Camden Deluxe Hotel
25.30 USD

Hotel 2 star 79.2% 24 reviews
The Times Hostel - Camden Place
16.45 USD

Hostel 85.9% 595 reviews
Portobello Hotel
21.92 USD

Hotel 2 star 82.3% 11 reviews
Jackson Court Hotel
37.32 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 84.8% 119 reviews
Harrington Hall Hotel
189.75 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Avalon House
20.24 USD

Hostel 84.9% 1062 reviews
Brooks Hotel
81.59 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
Kinlay House
15.81 USD

Hostel 81.6% 1006 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.8%

Overall Rating

67 out of 77 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Harrington House Hostel'

Atmosphere
76.8%
Location
76.0%
Facilities
75.2%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
78.4%
Value
80.8%
Safety
83.2%
Refine your results Showing 50 of 57 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Katarzyna Rakowska

As a family with children

Shopping

25 May 2014 Katarzyna would recommend this property

Liked: It is quiet

Disliked: The staff were not very friendly

54.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quaint place.

Disliked: No security lockers to put your stuff.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Jennifer Wehrmeyer

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2013 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: Free and fast wifi, free continental breakfast, comfy beds, ensuite bathroom, hot water and normal taps not push-buttons, quiet neighbourhood. For Deaf travellers - this hostel is close to St Mary's school and Deaf-Hear offices, so good location to make contact with Deaf.

Disliked: Not really dislike, but need to note that this hostel is more suited to the quieter person or long-term stay, it's relatively far (compared to other Dublin hostels) from nightlife and most tourist attractions. Also, there are no organised tours - although plenty of information pamphlets.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Julian Asher

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping

12 October 2013 Julian would recommend this property

Liked: great service, wi fi, clean and great location! i will be back!

Disliked: kitchen closing at night and does not open until 11am

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

15 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast and the fact that I could leave my luggage there until my flight

Disliked: The beds were kind of old and they made noise.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

19 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is quiet and clean.

Disliked: The staff were not very friendly and the hostel has no character. The rooms are very sterile. The wireless also does not reach the back rooms. The communal area is not very cosy so there is no where nice to hang out.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

26 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was located very close to where we wanted to go. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The room we had was clean and tidy and bedllinen was clean and fresh.

Disliked: We had a twin en suite room. It was on the small side and the bathroom was very small, but as we were only staying 1 night it was adequate.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Lukasz Poterek

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

18 July 2012 Lukasz would recommend this property

Liked: Quite comfortable room.

Disliked: No luggage storage, but the staff allowed us to leave our luggage in dining room/lounge.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

02 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Booked for a 4 bed shared room was given a two bed share room, great! Will return should the need arise!

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice quiet hostel, only 15 mins walk from city centre and close to Grafton Street. We had an ensuite and TV and DVD player in the room and free breakfast also.

Disliked: The room was very warm at night, sometimes too warm, but suppose it's okay for people who get cold easily. Shower was ogenerally good but would sometimes vary from warm to burning hot without warning.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good open atmosphere, very clean, nice rooms.

Disliked: 20 minuets walk into city.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Therese Lane

With friends / other travellers

City break

10 May 2011 Therese would recommend this property

Liked: The property was easy to find, centrally located, but not in the middle of temple bar chaos so you got sleep! There was no curfew and the later check out of 11am was appreciated after late night! The room was a good size and very clean as was the rest of the property. Breakfast was simple but plentiful and filling.

Disliked: I really couldn't fault the property. I enjoyed my stay, it was comfortable and hassle free. I would recomend to anyone and would stay there again without any hesitation.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Visiting friends or family

02 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is close to the City Centre.

Disliked: The street wasn't that quiet as said.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

13 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: its very acessible,and kidniss

Disliked: nothing

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

25 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice atmosphere, friendly staff

Disliked: I couldn't pay with my VISA debit card, I found quite disappoining paying with cash

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

27 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very quiet, bus connexion

Disliked: nothing

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

16 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The only appreciable thing from this property is his location in Dublin.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

02 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Freundliches, hilfsbereites Personal, frische Handtücher und gute, einfache Übernachtung zum kleinen Preis.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Chloe Caldwell

12 April 2010 Chloe would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice place to stay if you want to be in a central, but quieter area if Dublin. The ladiescwere extremely helpful- it was like you were a guest in their home! Just a heads-up for future guests, the hostel itself is not well signposted, and I was a little apprehensive approaching the front door which looked like someone's private house. Breakfast was simple, but lovely, and there is a busstop rightboutbthe front. Extra points for the free wifi and bike hire!

Disliked: Chloe left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

12 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We got really a wonderful, warm welcome by the two ladies working there! It felt quiet like home :)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

22 February 2010

Liked: Nichts

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

31 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked about the Hostel, that it looked from the outside like a normal Irish flat. First I couldn't believe that this is where I will stay. The owner greet me and my friends very friendly and during our stay she was cooperative likeable. We were very surprised about the tideness in this Hostel and that everything verified as we read on your page. We got our 3-bed-room with bathroom, we were able to use the lugagge room, we got a good breakfast and the service people were very friendly. And everything just for 15 € per night/person. I really enjoyed this stay!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Frederik Van der Veken

15 September 2009 Frederik would recommend this property

Liked: Free bikes!

Disliked: Frederik left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

10 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We took a double ensuite.the room was very nice. staff is very friendly and provides you with alot of information about the city.there is a very light breakfast included ( toast with strawberry jam, corn flakes, thee and coffee,

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Beyant Bath

09 September 2009 Beyant would recommend this property

Liked: The house was situated in a quiet location yet accessible to most facilities. It was cleanly kept by two very nice friendly and helpful ladies.It was a really nice georgian characterful house. I booked a 4 bedded shared dorm and had the whole dorm to myself with an ensuite, TV and breakfast. It was lovely! Definitely recommend the place.

Disliked: Beyant left no negative feedback.


See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels