HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Isaacs Hostel Dublin Hostel

2-5 Frenchmans Lane, Dublin 1, Dublin, Ireland

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 89%

Facilities 86%

Location 89%

Safety 90%

Staff 91%

Value 93%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • PlayStation
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Shuttle Bus
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room 2.36USD
  • Towel 2.36USD

Important Information

Families travelling with children under the age of 16 are required to book private rooms

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 89%

Facilities 86%

Location 89%

Safety 90%

Staff 91%

Value 93%

Showing 81-35 of 35 reviews

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Business / conference, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good location, good beds.

Disliked: Door of room noisy to open, as people came in they were having to hit it to open.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your feedback - glad you liked the Beds and location . We arealso checking out noise of all doors.

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Atmosphere was great. highly suggest the pub crawl. breakfast was your ordinary hostel free breakfast. it even had juice which many other hostels didn't provide for free! would have been great if the breakfast went for longer it finishes at 9.30 and we only made it for one of the mornings we were there. staff were great. showers and toilets very clean but the showers were often cold. rooms can be hot at night even though its cold outside!

Disliked: The wifi had a really bad signal. was very hard to use it in any part of the building. sometimes even impossible. had to go and pay for internet in a cafe to book flights/hostels. wasn't enough facilities for the amount of guests especially on the weekend.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for great comments. Re breakfast finishing at 9.30aam we do have self- catering kitchen also for those who need a more leisurely lie in. Showers should all be hot as we had new boilers recently so we will check that out and sorry for This .Wi fi has been upgraded with new a provider so it should be good but there are some spots in the hostel ( which has extremely thick stone walls as was originally wine cellars ) which are a lot better than others

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great location with good facilities. A large hostel, but lots of nooks and cranies to hide away in. The staff were great and super helpful with recommendations.

Disliked: You had to pay to leave your luggage if you arrived early .. not so cool.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Glad you liked us and the hostel . We do offer secure individual locker luggage storage for our guests which is a €2 charge for a 24 hours - but this can be used during your stay in addition to early and late arrival departure.

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The facilities were in a good state.

Disliked: We stayed in a 16-bed room at the temperature was too hot for a comfortable sleep

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Glad you like the facilites and really really sorry if you didnt get agood nigjhts sleep . Not what we want to achieve . We are actively checking out our ventilaition to see if anything can be improved for the summer months when hostel busy and temperatures are up .

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway

Liked: It had a large variety of services to offer, and the staff was extremely helpful and friendly.

Disliked: The room doors of the neighbours on the floor were often slammed hard. Although one cannot control the profile of the people in the hostel, it would be nice to control the noise level thy make.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your really nice "Likes " - As you say noise control of our guests is not always possible though we do ask for conderation and pstel rules staytes no noise after 11pm , but we are looking into ways of softening any door slamming noise by adjusting mechanisms and hope to have an improvement soon.

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
With a large group / tour

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: Good location, very nice décor. Basement is very homely, the reading area's fantastic. The Irish girl with the labret piercing was lovely, as was the American guy with the beard. Also, the hot Italian should be given a raise!

Disliked: Some staff were very rude. You could clearly tell some of them didn't like the fact that we were a group; they just assumed the worst, and treated us accordingly. The fact is we are a very respectable and highly-regarded group, and should have been given the benefit of the doubt. Also, the cleaner shouldn't have come into the room when all of us were inside of it; some of us in just a towel after the shower. That made a lot of us feel uncomfortable. If a group is staying in one room on their own, there is no need to clean the room until they leave. Also, the breakfast was a bit on the stingy side!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your positive comments - we do have great staff .I am so sorry if you did n't feel you got the best treatment as a group - this should not be and is not normally the case , as groups are really important part of our business. If you can make contact with Renata or James here to give us a little more detail on where we went wrong that would be really helpful. We offer a free Breakfast which is advertised as " light and simple" but we do not restrict portion sizes at all .

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Location

Disliked: Drunk people in the rooms, mixed up my bed with someone else's which meant I had to change rooms. No wifi in rooms

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

So soory if you stay was spoilt by other guests - we do try ask for consideraton for all but some guests just get a little carried away in party loving Dublin. Do make contact with James or Renata if you are ever coming back ever and we will ensure you looked after . We don't have WIFI in rooms at moment but have a much improved free service in the common areas which are really sociable and fun places to hang out !

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Great common space and atmosphere for meeting other people.

Disliked: The wifi barely worked even in the common room.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for the feedback. Since your stay we have since got new providers for wifi connecton in the common room so you should see vast improvement now for going online !

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: zentrale lage, gutes preis-leistungsverhältnis, sehr freundliches personal

Disliked: wifi langsam, etwas zu groß (zu viele leute)

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Vielen Dank NB Wifi is jetzt viel bessser

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability