HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Isaacs Hostel Dublin

Hostel

2-5 Frenchmans Lane, Dublin 1, Dublin, Ireland

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 81%

Location 89%

Safety 88%

Staff 87%

Value 89%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • PlayStation
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Shuttle Bus
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room 2.37USD
  • Towel 2.37USD

Important Information

Families travelling with children under the age of 16 are required to book private rooms

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 81%

Location 89%

Safety 88%

Staff 87%

Value 89%

Showing 81-54 of 54 reviews

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway

Liked: It had a large variety of services to offer, and the staff was extremely helpful and friendly.

Disliked: The room doors of the neighbours on the floor were often slammed hard. Although one cannot control the profile of the people in the hostel, it would be nice to control the noise level thy make.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your really nice "Likes " - As you say noise control of our guests is not always possible though we do ask for conderation and pstel rules staytes no noise after 11pm , but we are looking into ways of softening any door slamming noise by adjusting mechanisms and hope to have an improvement soon.

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
With a large group / tour

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: Good location, very nice décor. Basement is very homely, the reading area's fantastic. The Irish girl with the labret piercing was lovely, as was the American guy with the beard. Also, the hot Italian should be given a raise!

Disliked: Some staff were very rude. You could clearly tell some of them didn't like the fact that we were a group; they just assumed the worst, and treated us accordingly. The fact is we are a very respectable and highly-regarded group, and should have been given the benefit of the doubt. Also, the cleaner shouldn't have come into the room when all of us were inside of it; some of us in just a towel after the shower. That made a lot of us feel uncomfortable. If a group is staying in one room on their own, there is no need to clean the room until they leave. Also, the breakfast was a bit on the stingy side!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your positive comments - we do have great staff .I am so sorry if you did n't feel you got the best treatment as a group - this should not be and is not normally the case , as groups are really important part of our business. If you can make contact with Renata or James here to give us a little more detail on where we went wrong that would be really helpful. We offer a free Breakfast which is advertised as " light and simple" but we do not restrict portion sizes at all .

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Location

Disliked: Drunk people in the rooms, mixed up my bed with someone else's which meant I had to change rooms. No wifi in rooms

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

So soory if you stay was spoilt by other guests - we do try ask for consideraton for all but some guests just get a little carried away in party loving Dublin. Do make contact with James or Renata if you are ever coming back ever and we will ensure you looked after . We don't have WIFI in rooms at moment but have a much improved free service in the common areas which are really sociable and fun places to hang out !

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Great common space and atmosphere for meeting other people.

Disliked: The wifi barely worked even in the common room.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for the feedback. Since your stay we have since got new providers for wifi connecton in the common room so you should see vast improvement now for going online !

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: zentrale lage, gutes preis-leistungsverhältnis, sehr freundliches personal

Disliked: wifi langsam, etwas zu groß (zu viele leute)

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Vielen Dank NB Wifi is jetzt viel bessser

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Really cozy, great location. Lots of information for tourists, spacious rooms, kitchen with free food! Good simple free breakfast.

Disliked: My roommates - but that doesn't have to do with the property. Temperature in showers wasn't cold but it wasn't adjustable and you have to keep pushing a button to get water.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Great feedback which we love. we were having a few problems with the boiler in May and June but this is now resolved so showers should be back to full steam ahead !

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 May 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great location and a lot of friendly people here! I had a blast and everybody was helpful!

Disliked: The internet is a little shaky and I would have preferred it in all rooms, but it was still good to be downstairs and hang with people!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Glad you had a blast - we do too! The internet connection was experiencing diffculty around that time but we since have a new provider and Wifi in the reception areas is much improved. We too think its great at Isaacs people hang out in common rooms to meet people and it is a lot better craic than surfing in your bed room !

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 May 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: A estrutura do local e o ambiente.

Disliked: Problemas no chuveiro.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Muchas gracias !

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 May 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Staff here is absolutely awesome. They are always ready to help and have a great sense of humor. The hostel is decently located only a few minutes walk from the Temple Bar and downtown. They have a pretty big luggage room (though they charge £2 per day to store your stuff). It has a lot of hang out places which fosters a good Atmosphere. The place itself is pretty secure and you would need an electronic key to get into both the dormitories area and your own room. They have a decent breakfast and they make Chilli most nights.. which is incredible.

Disliked: Internet was not good during my whole stay... it would be on and off constantly. The train passes by righ next to the building (which did not bother me at all).

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

awesone likes ! - NB Wifi is much improved now in common areas as we have a new provider

Check Availability