HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Isaacs Hostel Dublin Hostel

2-5 Frenchmans Lane, Dublin 1, Dublin, Ireland

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 89%

Facilities 86%

Location 89%

Safety 90%

Staff 91%

Value 93%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • PlayStation
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Shuttle Bus
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room 2.36USD
  • Towel 2.36USD

Important Information

Families travelling with children under the age of 16 are required to book private rooms

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 89%

Facilities 86%

Location 89%

Safety 90%

Staff 91%

Value 93%

Showing 71-35 of 35 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: everything except the internet

Disliked: Internet connection is really bad,Needs an overhaul!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

And the good news is that the internet is being overhauled - so you have to come back and check it out!

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good breakfast, good price, good location.

Disliked: No elevator

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

We'd love an elevator too but it's just not possible. Our sister hostel Jacobs Inn has one.

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great hostel, super friendly and helpful staff. Really nice building , close to all the city attraction (although it is not difficult not to be close to, considering size of the Dublin), free breakfast.

Disliked: Quite loud because of trains going right behind your windows and squeaky floors. It's big hostel so bathrooms are a little bit dirty (I assume it is inevitable considering amount of people using it) and main downside is lack of storage lockers in the rooms. It is clear on the website and they provide lockers in the basement, but it's a little bit uncomfortable.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your hostel - we have stepped up on our cleaning since you stayed so I think if you come again you would find it greatly improved.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great atmosphere! Everyone was super helpful and very nice. Close enough to things in dublin if you don't mind walking.

Disliked: A tad far if you don't want to walk.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Far??? Are you having a laugh? - O'Connell street is only a 5 minute walk -how closer can you get??? Walking is the best way to see the city.

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Cleanliness

Disliked: Noisy even after 12amBreakfast ends early at 09 30Internet access not good at all !! Keep being disconnected


The property's response is

Thanks for your comments. We do ask our customers to keep noise down after 11pm. We are improving our wifi.

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway

Liked: It was a nice place to live for a few days or for one day. The atmosphare was very good and I met nice people.

Disliked: All things are very good. Maybe the music in front of the reception was to loud but general it was a nice stay in dublin.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Glad you iked us and the atmosphere which we are pretty proud of .We have a few real music lovers on our team so maybe someone was a tad over enthusiatic with the volumes on the day in question!

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Friendly staff, fairly clean and great location.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for great feedback.

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Most of the staff were friendly and helpful. but not all. See below.

Disliked: I asked for another chair for the room as I am in my late fifties and would prefer to sit on a chair rather than the bottom part of a bunk bed in this twin room. You'd have thought I'd asked for something impossible. No I coul;dn't possibly have another chair...and when she saw me again in the corridor there was no apology

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Glad you found most of us helpful - and so sorry that we could n't meet your chair request which by the sounds of it could have been handled a lot better so our apologies.

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It is central and near to the important places

Disliked: Not very secure place and too many beds

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Location is good - We do take security very seriously with key card access only to bedrooms wings and ask that all guests bring key cards at all times. You were with us during a very busy period and maybe why you felt there were too many beds - generally our guests love the sociable and buzzy atmosphere so we are disspointed that we you didnt enjoy us fully.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: Clean, secure, friendly staff

Disliked: A little noise from nearby train station in the morning, not that noticeable but it did wake me up.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your review .Sorry if you were distrubed by trains in the morning . We do have some quieter rooms and also ear plugs available if you have difficulty sleeping and are ever back with us.

Check Availability