HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Isaacs Hostel Dublin

Hostel

2-5 Frenchmans Lane, Dublin 1, Dublin, Ireland

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 81%

Location 89%

Safety 88%

Staff 87%

Value 89%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • PlayStation
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Shuttle Bus
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room 2.39USD
  • Towel 2.39USD

Important Information

Families travelling with children under the age of 16 are required to book private rooms

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 81%

Location 89%

Safety 88%

Staff 87%

Value 89%

Showing 71-53 of 53 reviews

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Cleanliness

Disliked: Noisy even after 12amBreakfast ends early at 09 30Internet access not good at all !! Keep being disconnected


The property's response is

Thanks for your comments. We do ask our customers to keep noise down after 11pm. We are improving our wifi.

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway

Liked: It was a nice place to live for a few days or for one day. The atmosphare was very good and I met nice people.

Disliked: All things are very good. Maybe the music in front of the reception was to loud but general it was a nice stay in dublin.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Glad you iked us and the atmosphere which we are pretty proud of .We have a few real music lovers on our team so maybe someone was a tad over enthusiatic with the volumes on the day in question!

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Friendly staff, fairly clean and great location.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for great feedback.

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Most of the staff were friendly and helpful. but not all. See below.

Disliked: I asked for another chair for the room as I am in my late fifties and would prefer to sit on a chair rather than the bottom part of a bunk bed in this twin room. You'd have thought I'd asked for something impossible. No I coul;dn't possibly have another chair...and when she saw me again in the corridor there was no apology

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Glad you found most of us helpful - and so sorry that we could n't meet your chair request which by the sounds of it could have been handled a lot better so our apologies.

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It is central and near to the important places

Disliked: Not very secure place and too many beds

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Location is good - We do take security very seriously with key card access only to bedrooms wings and ask that all guests bring key cards at all times. You were with us during a very busy period and maybe why you felt there were too many beds - generally our guests love the sociable and buzzy atmosphere so we are disspointed that we you didnt enjoy us fully.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: Clean, secure, friendly staff

Disliked: A little noise from nearby train station in the morning, not that noticeable but it did wake me up.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your review .Sorry if you were distrubed by trains in the morning . We do have some quieter rooms and also ear plugs available if you have difficulty sleeping and are ever back with us.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Business / conference, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good location, good beds.

Disliked: Door of room noisy to open, as people came in they were having to hit it to open.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your feedback - glad you liked the Beds and location . We arealso checking out noise of all doors.

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Atmosphere was great. highly suggest the pub crawl. breakfast was your ordinary hostel free breakfast. it even had juice which many other hostels didn't provide for free! would have been great if the breakfast went for longer it finishes at 9.30 and we only made it for one of the mornings we were there. staff were great. showers and toilets very clean but the showers were often cold. rooms can be hot at night even though its cold outside!

Disliked: The wifi had a really bad signal. was very hard to use it in any part of the building. sometimes even impossible. had to go and pay for internet in a cafe to book flights/hostels. wasn't enough facilities for the amount of guests especially on the weekend.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for great comments. Re breakfast finishing at 9.30aam we do have self- catering kitchen also for those who need a more leisurely lie in. Showers should all be hot as we had new boilers recently so we will check that out and sorry for This .Wi fi has been upgraded with new a provider so it should be good but there are some spots in the hostel ( which has extremely thick stone walls as was originally wine cellars ) which are a lot better than others

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great location with good facilities. A large hostel, but lots of nooks and cranies to hide away in. The staff were great and super helpful with recommendations.

Disliked: You had to pay to leave your luggage if you arrived early .. not so cool.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Glad you liked us and the hostel . We do offer secure individual locker luggage storage for our guests which is a €2 charge for a 24 hours - but this can be used during your stay in addition to early and late arrival departure.

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The facilities were in a good state.

Disliked: We stayed in a 16-bed room at the temperature was too hot for a comfortable sleep

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Glad you like the facilites and really really sorry if you didnt get agood nigjhts sleep . Not what we want to achieve . We are actively checking out our ventilaition to see if anything can be improved for the summer months when hostel busy and temperatures are up .

Check Availability