HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Isaacs Hostel Dublin Hostel

2-5 Frenchmans Lane, Dublin 1, Dublin, Ireland

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 88%

Facilities 83%

Location 87%

Safety 89%

Staff 91%

Value 91%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • PlayStation
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Shuttle Bus
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room 2.33USD
  • Towel 2.33USD

Important Information

Families travelling with children under the age of 16 are required to book private rooms

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 88%

Facilities 83%

Location 87%

Safety 89%

Staff 91%

Value 91%

Showing 61-36 of 36 reviews

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: character

Disliked: They had 4 Washing Machines and Dryer, And Only One Worked.If there was 3 people in FRONT of you it would take Hours.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your comments- glad you liked the character of the property. You are right about the washing machines. We are having problems getting them repaired. However we do have a launderette close to the hostel and it is cheap - we should have sent you there.

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: This hostel has the potential to be great, breakfast included, cool facilities...

Disliked: While I was there renovations were happening so the kitchen and showers were a bit out of order, the internet is horrid so I am writing this from an internet cafe down the road. Rooms were a tad dirty (smelled a bit too) and the beds weren't overly comfortable but honestly this place was GREAT value for money.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your comments. The kitchen is done and it is looking great - a big improvement. We are working on improving the wifi.

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I loved the big clean bathrooms, most hostels I've stayed at have tiny tiny bathrooms and most of the time they are dirty.

Disliked: I didn't like that the luggage room was all the way in the basement. I usually have a pretty heavy bag and carrying it all the way down and then back up again when I needed to leave was hard work.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your kind comments. Delighted you enjoyed our bathrooms. Sorry about the luggage room.

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Common rooms are really nice, enough space to hang out. The kitchen is pretty good.

Disliked: Once you have seen the common rooms and kitchen, one would expect the dorms to be nice as well, but they are a bit run down. Especially the floor covering seemed to be in a bad state, a bit disgusting. The shower facilities aren't great, water wasn't warm enough. So the place is being let down by below standard dorms, the dorm area is in need of renovation.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your comments. We are doing a little upgrading at the moment so we'll make sure we freshen up the rooms.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: location

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Please come back again - we love happy customers like you.

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Very friendly staff

Disliked: It is right next to the train line(or underneath?) and therefore sleeping without earplugs is not possible at all!!!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Unfortunately we can do nothing about the train but we do provide ear plugs and put light sleepers to the rear of the hostel where there is no noise.

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Family Holiday

Liked: Knowledgeable staff who helped with a variety of questions

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your great comments.

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Nice Atmosphere, nice people

Disliked: close to railway

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your comments - we are glad you enjoyed the hostel. I suppose being a very central hostel means that there is noise from various modes of transport outside. We do provide ear plugs.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: i stayed at many Hostels and this is the best Hostel in Dublin, there is a cheap self-service laundry and a very lovely basement where you can read or work, there is also a sauna but i dont used it, for 10 Euro a very fair price without catch.

Disliked: -

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you so much for your great comments. Do come again.

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Just the vibe of the thing.

Disliked: Showers weren't so good.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Glad you liked the hostels. I wonder what is was about the showers you disliked?

Check Availability