HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Isaacs Hostel Dublin

Hostel

2-5 Frenchmans Lane, Dublin 1, Dublin, Ireland

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 81%

Location 89%

Safety 88%

Staff 87%

Value 89%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • PlayStation
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Shuttle Bus
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room 2.37USD
  • Towel 2.37USD

Important Information

Families travelling with children under the age of 16 are required to book private rooms

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 81%

Location 89%

Safety 88%

Staff 87%

Value 89%

Showing 51-54 of 54 reviews

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: walking distance from O'Connell Street and Temple Bar, well equiped kitchen, friendly staff, clean, fantastic breakfast

Disliked: The duvets are very old and feel hard and lumpy.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your comments. We have taken on board your note about your duvet and we are happy to advise that we are purchasing new duvets to replace any old ones.

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: Perhaps one of the best hostels in Dublin. Hostel boasts some green features- showers, faucets switch off after some time automatically, there are recycling bins in kitchen, and floors. Staff take care of guests and the place. It is secure- cameras and card access everywhere, clean- it is cleaned a few times a day, good location, new and renewed everything.

Disliked: Internet does not work in rooms. That can be viewed as a plus (your body does not get constant wi-fi waves even when you sleep) or minus- (you have to go to the basement or lobby to connect). Wi-fi is sometimes spotty. I guess it depends how many people connect at the same time. Hostel location is good, but there is train overpass, so you might hear some noise. Kitchen is great, but could be a little bit bigger, since sometimes it gets too crowded. perhaps breakfast kitchen could be open for the guests too. Bed mattresses could be a little bit thicker. I felt bed frame with my back.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you so much for your kind comments. We intentionally keep the wifi our of the rooms - we want our guests to mingle and make friends plus we think the constant tapping on keyboards would drive everyone mad! We are looking into our wifi - it is complicated but we are getting there!

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: Fantastic hostel, well worth the awards it's received!

Disliked: Nothing, everything was great.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you so much for your lovely comments. Do come again!

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: The staff are friendly and helpful, good facilities, and great location. I wish I was staying longer,

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

We wish you were staying longer too - we like guests like you!

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: character

Disliked: They had 4 Washing Machines and Dryer, And Only One Worked.If there was 3 people in FRONT of you it would take Hours.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your comments- glad you liked the character of the property. You are right about the washing machines. We are having problems getting them repaired. However we do have a launderette close to the hostel and it is cheap - we should have sent you there.

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: This hostel has the potential to be great, breakfast included, cool facilities...

Disliked: While I was there renovations were happening so the kitchen and showers were a bit out of order, the internet is horrid so I am writing this from an internet cafe down the road. Rooms were a tad dirty (smelled a bit too) and the beds weren't overly comfortable but honestly this place was GREAT value for money.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your comments. The kitchen is done and it is looking great - a big improvement. We are working on improving the wifi.

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I loved the big clean bathrooms, most hostels I've stayed at have tiny tiny bathrooms and most of the time they are dirty.

Disliked: I didn't like that the luggage room was all the way in the basement. I usually have a pretty heavy bag and carrying it all the way down and then back up again when I needed to leave was hard work.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your kind comments. Delighted you enjoyed our bathrooms. Sorry about the luggage room.

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Common rooms are really nice, enough space to hang out. The kitchen is pretty good.

Disliked: Once you have seen the common rooms and kitchen, one would expect the dorms to be nice as well, but they are a bit run down. Especially the floor covering seemed to be in a bad state, a bit disgusting. The shower facilities aren't great, water wasn't warm enough. So the place is being let down by below standard dorms, the dorm area is in need of renovation.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your comments. We are doing a little upgrading at the moment so we'll make sure we freshen up the rooms.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: location

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Please come back again - we love happy customers like you.

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Very friendly staff

Disliked: It is right next to the train line(or underneath?) and therefore sleeping without earplugs is not possible at all!!!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Unfortunately we can do nothing about the train but we do provide ear plugs and put light sleepers to the rear of the hostel where there is no noise.

Check Availability