HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Isaacs Hostel Dublin Hostel

2-5 Frenchmans Lane, Dublin 1, Dublin, Ireland

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 88%

Facilities 83%

Location 87%

Safety 89%

Staff 91%

Value 91%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • PlayStation
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Shuttle Bus
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room 2.33USD
  • Towel 2.33USD

Important Information

Families travelling with children under the age of 16 are required to book private rooms

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 88%

Facilities 83%

Location 87%

Safety 89%

Staff 91%

Value 91%

Showing 51-36 of 36 reviews

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: was in a really cool old building. liked all the common areas, nice wooden tables.

Disliked: music was too loud in the common area. it could have been a bit quieter during the early hours of the evening.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your review. Glad you liked the hostel. We will take on board your comment about the loud music in the common area and get the guys on reception to watch the volume.

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The toilets were very clean.

Disliked: It was quite noisy at night with the trains going past and the floor boards creaking above us.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your positive feedback. Unfortunately we can't do anything about the train but if you do stay again, ask for a room at the back of the hostel away from the train.

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: THIS HOSTEL IS GREAT! When my group and I walked in, there were people from all walks of life sitting in the lobby talking and enjoying their time together. The staff were so friendly and helpful and told us about some great trips and deals that we could take advantage of. We did a pub crawl offered by the hostel and had a blast. The rooms were nice and big and very clean. New sheets and everything were offered at no charge and there was plenty of hot water. The hostel even has a sauna! The kitchen was always busy with people (including us) and there were so many people to meet!

Disliked: It was about a 15-20 minute walk to really get into town but well worth it! The hostel is located in a little niche of town but had plenty of restaurants, grocerys, banks, pubs, etc... nearby if needed.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you so much for you really lovely review. However I have to take you to task on one thing - 15 - 20 minutes walk to town?????? Depends on what part of town you are going to. We consider ourselves as being city centre - it's only 5 minutes to O'Connell Street and Henry Street which is the very centre of the city - where were you going to????? Anyway if you come back we will show you all the quick routes to take!!

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Relaxation / spa, Romantic getaway

Liked: The atmosphere

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Delighted you enjoyed your stay with us - do come again.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The amazing cross-section of people - all ages and from all places! Also the atmosphere was very sociable and friendly. Everyone was approachable and helpful.

Disliked: Nothing (it was that good!).

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks so much for your kind comment. Do come back and stay with us.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was clean and very secure. Close to everything you need in Dublin. The staff were helpfulAnd nice. You got free breakfast which helped a lot. All in all you got your money's worth.

Disliked: It was very noisey. Although there were signs saying please keep it down after 11pmThe music from the reception area was still loud past 2am. And people would be blow drying their hair Late at night, way past 2-3in the morning . That was annoying but other than that it was good.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your comments. We will look into the noise issue. We do ask our guests not to make noise afte 11pm.

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: walking distance from O'Connell Street and Temple Bar, well equiped kitchen, friendly staff, clean, fantastic breakfast

Disliked: The duvets are very old and feel hard and lumpy.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your comments. We have taken on board your note about your duvet and we are happy to advise that we are purchasing new duvets to replace any old ones.

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: Perhaps one of the best hostels in Dublin. Hostel boasts some green features- showers, faucets switch off after some time automatically, there are recycling bins in kitchen, and floors. Staff take care of guests and the place. It is secure- cameras and card access everywhere, clean- it is cleaned a few times a day, good location, new and renewed everything.

Disliked: Internet does not work in rooms. That can be viewed as a plus (your body does not get constant wi-fi waves even when you sleep) or minus- (you have to go to the basement or lobby to connect). Wi-fi is sometimes spotty. I guess it depends how many people connect at the same time. Hostel location is good, but there is train overpass, so you might hear some noise. Kitchen is great, but could be a little bit bigger, since sometimes it gets too crowded. perhaps breakfast kitchen could be open for the guests too. Bed mattresses could be a little bit thicker. I felt bed frame with my back.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you so much for your kind comments. We intentionally keep the wifi our of the rooms - we want our guests to mingle and make friends plus we think the constant tapping on keyboards would drive everyone mad! We are looking into our wifi - it is complicated but we are getting there!

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: Fantastic hostel, well worth the awards it's received!

Disliked: Nothing, everything was great.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you so much for your lovely comments. Do come again!

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: The staff are friendly and helpful, good facilities, and great location. I wish I was staying longer,

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

We wish you were staying longer too - we like guests like you!

Check Availability