HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels

Reviews of Isaacs Hostel

Hostel | 2-5 Frenchmans Lane, Dublin 1, Dublin, Ireland D1

88.0% Overall Rating

1081 out of 1390 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/09/2014)

Sarah Williams thinks…

"Everything! It was such a friendly hostel, has a really great outside look and offers both a pub crawl and free walking tour which were great. Interesting basement, didn't try the sauna but it looked…"

Read all Isaacs Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Wake-up calls
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 2.53
  • Towel USD 2.53

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Families travelling with children under the age of 16 are required to book private rooms

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dublin

Paddy's Palace Dublin
20.87 USD

Hostel 75.5% 328 reviews
Backpackers D1 Hostel Dublin
12.65 USD

Hostel 54.2% 90 reviews
Backpackers Citi Hostel
12.65 USD

Hostel 50.7% 213 reviews
Jacobs Inn
13.92 USD

Hostel 83.0% 910 reviews
Jacobs Inn Plus**
37.32 USD

Hostel 87.0% 192 reviews
Durban Residence
24.98 USD

Hostel 78.2% 41 reviews
The Glen Guest House
37.52 USD

Guesthouse 81.8% 49 reviews
Abrahams Hostel
11.39 USD

Hostel 80.5% 1091 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.0%

Overall Rating

1081 out of 1390 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Isaacs Hostel'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
84.0%
Staff
91.2%
Value
87.2%
Safety
85.6%
Refine your results Showing 752 of 815 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 30 | 31   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amie King

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2011 Amie would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location; near the bus station and tram stop. Good facilities to make your own food, basement area was comfortable to chill out in, wifi easily accessible. Rooms were clean and spacious.

Disliked: We had to share a bathroom with the room next door so they woke us up every morning, especially as the floor boards were really squeaky! Railway line quite close by but with the window closed it wasn't disruptive. No wardrobe in the room, just a small bedside table so had to live out of suitcases (was fine for us but would be a pain if we'd stayed for longer.)

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Isis King

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

14 June 2011

Liked: Great atmosphere for meeting other people, 2.50 euro pints, seemed pretty cool, clean!

Disliked: The only reason I really can't recommend it is the noise level. My husband and I had a private room with a shared bath with the room next to us - a dorm. Unfortunately, the walls were paper-thin and the floors squeaked, so any time that anyone came out of the dorm room next to us (or just walked in it) we could hear it. Very difficult to sleep when folks are up until 4:30 in the morning! My husband had to get up and tell our neighbors to be quiet. Needless to say, we got no sleep before catching an early morning flight the next day. When I asked the gentleman at the front desk if they had any private rooms NOT surrounded by dorm rooms, he said there was only one. I think overall this is a great hostel, but I just can't recommend it for any couples/honeymooners because you WILL NOT get any rest here.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: no

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ricardo Fusco

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 June 2011 Ricardo would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice place, a lot of facilities and helpfull staff

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

ChunZhin Lee

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 June 2011 ChunZhin would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location and facilities

Disliked: Shower without hot water control

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Wendy Hodge

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 June 2011 Wendy would recommend this property

Liked: The basement was amazing! Great place to relax after a day exploring. The staff were very friendly and helpful. 2.50Euros pints were a bargain in such an expensive city. Our dorm room was large and clean and the bathrooms were spotless.

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Mohd Fairuz Ibrahim

Alone

Business / conference

07 June 2011 Mohd Fairuz would recommend this property

Liked: location, access, very nice building, great locker facilities, friendly staff, nice breakfast

Disliked: a bit of a walking to the centre, but no big deal, its only 15 min on foot

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

05 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, great modern private room, clean facilities

Disliked: Our private room on the first floor was quiet noisy. Wished the walls were a little thicker :( also, because it's an old building, the floor was a little creaky. Not for the very light sleeper.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Danielle Sampson

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2011 Danielle would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, walking distance to Temple Bar and all other tourist locations. Clean, secure.

Disliked: Kitchen was a bit useless.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katharina Otruba

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

04 June 2011 Katharina would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly, easy-going, helpful staff, clean, nice breakfast, good cooking space, fridge space & storage in the kitchen is good, lots of space to hang out & meet people, advice on what to do in dublin, ping-pong table, female dorms, it's warm in the dorms!! sauna, hot-water showers (not everywhere in ireland!) thank you also to front desk staff who called the airport drop-off service TWICE and made sure i was actually picked up... overthetoptours had completely forgotten.

Disliked: creaky floors ;o) and cat fights as well as would-be opera singers in the dead of night ;o( on the second floor... please let your guests know upon check-in to keep quiet after 11 p.m. they seriously don't know! some also need an intro to "door shutting w/out slamming 101". enforce quiet hours. some hostels hand out little sheets with that kind of info on it and i think it helps. lockers in the rooms would be really good.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Annie Simpson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 May 2011 Annie would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere. Clean bathrooms and big showers.

Disliked: A little bit of a walk from the temple bar area.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place to stay, good location, comfortable.

Disliked: No hot water in the showers.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maricruz Martinez

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2011 Maricruz would recommend this property

Liked: I did like more the location, it is really easy to get to the central bus station and to get the bus to the airport. Also is near to the mean attractions!

Disliked: I don't have nothing in mind, I think I didn't dislike nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Convenient if you want to take the train. We went to Howth which was half an hour away from the central train station. We got to see the hillside of Ireland which is really nice. It was not in the "super" touristy area like Temple Bar but it wasn't that far.

Disliked: The whole experience was really nice.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carol Kavanagh

Alone

Events / festivals

16 May 2011 Carol would recommend this property

Liked: It was fun, safe, good value for money and friendly.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

16 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and clean, in a nice, central location but not too noisy or busy and with good facilities. Great cafe attached and always something going on.

Disliked: A net curtain across the windows that look into the courtyard might have been a useful addition.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jill Cutting

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 May 2011 Jill would recommend this property

Liked: easy location, very helpful staff

Disliked: they only gave us one sheet and not a top sheet until we asked. but then they gave us another with no problems

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Kate Nichol

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Work / volunteering

03 May 2011 Kate would recommend this property

Liked: It was centrally located & a beautiful building, close to O'Connell St, Basarus & the well known Spire. The rooms were clean, the bathrooms look like they had been renovated fairly recently. The basement area was well set-up, plenty of place for socialising. And on Saturday night $5 for a hamburger & beer was great value. Access is via keycard so no risk of people not staying in the hostels getting access to your room.

Disliked: There are no mirrors in the rooms, only in the hallway so if you don't mind doing your hair & make-up with people walking past all the time then no issue. The laneway that is is located in can be a little creepy at times but it's covered by CCTV cameras. The Wi-fi in the lobby was very temperamental.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

03 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was just round the corner of the central bus station and it did not take you long to go to o'connell street and temple bar

Disliked: the walls were very thin and the bathroom facilities were very poor

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location. Price. Free breakfast.

Disliked: No lockers in the rooms.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was very friendly and helpful, location is great, bus station with direct link to the airport is just around the corner, you can get beer at the hostel bar...

Disliked: Maybe it was a bit noisy at the night, but I guess that's expected in Dublin, right..?

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location and friendly staff

Disliked: they advertise free internet but you actualy pay for it and it is expensive

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Donna Raef

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2011 Donna would recommend this property

Liked: I loved my stay here. The staff were friendly, great atmosphere and "hang-out" area, including a beer garden and spacious, clean basement, a huge kitchen and great location: near the main bus station. I was impressed with the hostel as it had things that are common-sense but you don't always find in other hostels like a place to put food left behind or to put unused shampoo, lotions, etc and a coat rack in the room. Also, the kitchen was industrial-size and had loads of kitchens and ovens to use. The breakfast was good: toast, tea, juice, milk, cereal, coffee, fruit and jam. The showers and restrooms on my floor were quite clean and the showers hot. The basement was wonderful--a great, quite, clean place to read or hang out and the upstairs area is great to hang out and meet people. Really liked this hostel.

Disliked: As the DART trains run really close by, at night it can be a bit loud. I found that if you close the window then it wasn't bad. Also, I had some trouble with my card and had to have it reactivated twice, but these were minor things. In general there was loads of more positives to this place. I really enjoyed it.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2011

Liked: Nice building, quiet clean and cheap.

Disliked: The hostel is placed in a dodgy neighbourhood, it is completely unsafe. Their is no security system, so anybody can come in the hostel. We got robbed in the hostel's entrance by a stanger, and many times the staff was looking for people in the hostel that were not customers. Nothing was mentioned about that.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Phoebe Chang

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2011 Phoebe would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was clean and close to the coach station. The sauna is a nice touch too!

Disliked: Pricey internet charges and 2 out of 3 computers out of use.


See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels