HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Isaacs Hostel Dublin Hostel

2-5 Frenchmans Lane, Dublin 1, Dublin, Ireland

Atmosphere 84%

Cleanliness 80%

Facilities 82%

Location 88%

Safety 82%

Staff 92%

Value 84%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • PlayStation
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Shuttle Bus
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room 2.15USD
  • Towel 2.15USD

Important Information

Families travelling with children under the age of 16 are required to book private rooms

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 84%

Cleanliness 80%

Facilities 82%

Location 88%

Safety 82%

Staff 92%

Value 84%

Showing 51-38 of 38 reviews

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very close to train and bus stations and right by the river.Nice common area to hang out in.

Disliked: Due to the location (alley) and neighbourhood, people who weren't staying at the hostel and who seemed a bit shady would often just wander in unpatroled. Openness was nice and this happened only a few times, but still.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your review. I know part of the charm of the hostel is the little laneway and the old buildings. However be assured that we do keep an eye out for anybody trying to get into the hostel who are not booked in. Glad you liked the hostel.

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: Nice basement area to chill out in

Disliked: No lockers in the room

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your review. Sorry we can't fit lockers into the room but we are looking at various options which might work.

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great common area and facilities. Kitchen, sauna, TV room, quiet area.

Disliked: Nothing really. It could've been slightly closer to the middle of the city. But it was pretty close, anyways. Just like a 10-15 min walk


The property's response is

Thank you for your great review. BUT how more central can you get - city centre - 5 mins from O'Connell Street - the very centre point of the city and the bus, train, dart and luas outside your door!! -

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: This hostel was great. It was my first time staying in a hostel. I met people within the first fifteen minutes of arriving and become quick friends with other hostelers. I think the hostel ambiance helped.. The staff was great and the atmosphere was excellent. I felt like I was in college again. Good times! I would definitely recommend this hostel. It is close to the bus and train station and I walked everywhere without a problem.

Disliked: I wasn't able to take a warm shower. I was showering early in the morning so maybe that was why. People I spoke with who showered in the evening didn't have that problem. It was a bit noisy. Sound carries in the building. Not that much of a concern.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your lovely review. So glad you enjoyed your stay and met lots of people - that's what we like at Isaacs. We'll look into the shower comment - it should be hot in the morning.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 May 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Access to kitchen was nice, staff suggestions were great and it was in a pretty decent location.

Disliked: A little bit on the noisy side, but nothing serious.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your great review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay.

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: I've stayed at Isaacs a couple months ago and returned because the staff is very friendly and helpful, the price is great, location is very good as it is extremely close to public transportation, airport bus, bus station, and most of the sites. The bathrooms are clean and each room is secure. Plus free breakfast is always good!

Disliked: I do not have many complaints as I am happy over all with my experience. I would only say that it was an annoyance to have the lockers in the basement. Second, I am almost certain the blankets are never washed. They should at least provide a sheet to go with the blanket.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your review. So glad you liked the hostel. The duvets are of course changed regularly and we do offer extra sheets to any guests who wants them. It would be great if the lockers were in the bedrooms but there simply isn't enough space. We are looking into other options though.

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The location was very convenient.

Disliked: That the wifi didn't reach to the rooms and that there was only one light in the room so if someone wanted to put it on, everyone was bothered by it.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for you review. We are looking into other options for the light issue as you are quite correct, it can annoy other guests if the light is put on. Regarding the wifi we couldn't have it in the rooms - can you imagine the annoyance it would cause to guests if people were typing away long into the night. Also we want our guests to talk to each other!

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Really liked this place. Guy working at the desk was funny. Good walking distance to everything in Dublin. Only took a cab once the whole time we were there. Really awesome. Does the trick.

Disliked: Breakfast could have been better and there was a really unpleasant long-term guest there but that's not the hostel's fault.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your review. Glad you enjoyed your stay. Don't forget breakfast is free of charge to our guests so unfortunately we can't offer too much!!

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: Great!

Disliked: all was good

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

What can I say - what a wonderful review - please do come again - we like guests like you.

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The Hostel was a cosy place to stay. Full-equipped kitchen, friendly staff, helpful with the tours and funny.The really know how to meet Backpackers needs.

Disliked: lockers were only provided in the basement and the entrance hall could be very loud and busy especially in the evening

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks so much for your nice review. Glad you liked our new kitchen. Sorry that the lockers were only in the basement but we just don't have room for them anywhere else and we do want our guests to be safe and feel their luggage is safe at all times. Do come again.

Check Availability