HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels

Reviews of Isaacs Hostel

Hostel | 2-5 Frenchmans Lane, Dublin 1, Dublin, Ireland D1

83.8% Overall Rating

1070 out of 1378 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/11/2013)

"Access to kitchen was nice, staff suggestions were great and it was in a pretty decent location."

Read all Isaacs Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Wake-up calls
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 2.76
  • Towel USD 2.76

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Families travelling with children under the age of 16 are required to book private rooms

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dublin

Paddy's Palace Dublin
22.81 USD

Hostel 75.8% 327 reviews
Backpackers D1 Hostel Dublin
13.82 USD

Hostel 61.0% 63 reviews
Backpackers Citi Hostel
20.73 USD

Hostel 57.5% 196 reviews
Jacobs Inn
13.82 USD

Hostel 84.2% 903 reviews
Jacobs Inn Plus**
40.77 USD

Hostel 87.0% 192 reviews
Durban Residence
27.30 USD

Hostel 75.4% 38 reviews
The Glen Guest House
41.00 USD

Guesthouse 82.4% 48 reviews
Abraham House
12.44 USD

Hostel 86.4% 976 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.8%

Overall Rating

1070 out of 1378 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Isaacs Hostel'

Atmosphere
84.8%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
81.6%
Cleanliness
78.4%
Staff
92.0%
Value
79.2%
Safety
82.4%
Refine your results Showing 745 of 804 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 29 | 30   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kaitlin O'Neil

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2011 Kaitlin would recommend this property

Liked: the hostel is REALLY clean, the rooms are nice, they have a ton of facilities (use of the large and always clean kitchen, fridges and shelves for food storage, laundry, vending machines, reading room downstairs, etc.) and a great staff. couldn't have asked for a better hostel, was the best stay of our 2 week trip.

Disliked: nothing!

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break

02 August 2011

Liked: The hotel staff was friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Apart from the hostel not having my reservation, the place was enormous with very few showers. They also advertised a bar, which turned out to be a vending machine selling beer. I want my guinness from the tap, not a can in a vending machine.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jack Denholm

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

02 August 2011 Jack would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent all round stay and great price, would definitely recommend! A bed, a sauna, a free breakfast, a pool table, a table tennis table and a beer & burger for 5 euros! What more could you ask for!?

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

01 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good atmosphere, cheap beer, lovely staff

Disliked: small breakfast rooms, no internet in the bedrooms

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

30 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, a lot of content and offers at the hostel, helpful staff!

Disliked: squeaky beds

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

29 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everyone was very friendly and the atmosphere was very lively.

Disliked: It was in a remote area that seemed kind of sketchy.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jordan Beckel

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2011 Jordan would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. staff very helpful The BBQ and beer they offer are very good and cheap

Disliked: Hostel is right beside the train tracks so it can be pretty loud. The Hostel could do a better job at ensuring people are quiet when they go back to their rooms late at night.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

28 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was inexpensive and had a lot of stuff to offer. I really enjoyed the beer garden and the €3 pints!

Disliked: No lifts, so it was hard to carry all of my stuff to the third floor. Also, no lockers in the rooms.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Is a good hostal

Disliked: The hostel staff is not very friendliness and helpfulness

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The building itself was very pretty and the facilities were nice.

Disliked: It was difficult to find and the surrounding area seemed a little scary

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jack Tanner

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2011 Jack would recommend this property

Liked: There was a lot on at the hostel - free sauna and beer garden/bbq - but didn't do any of them personally as I only stayed to sleep for the night.

Disliked: Room was rather hot for some reason. There was a fan, which helped a bit, but the constant hum made it a little harder to sleep.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ivan Zeredo Pereira

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2011 Ivan would recommend this property

Liked: It is well located near the bus station. There is a pub on the hostel with cheap pints. It is clean and has good facilities.

Disliked: The shower has only hot water. Therefore, if you want to have a shower, it will be extremely hot. I think that only the pipes of hot water go to the shower, so probably it is not possible to change it unless modifying the bathroom pipes structure.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sarah Hodgson

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

13 July 2011 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel, the beer garden has a fun atmosphere and downstairs the place is huge!

Disliked: As my room was on the ground floor the windows didn't open and the room was oppressively hot at night, even with a fan.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: pool and tennis table, cheap, clean, beer garden and cheap pints

Disliked: not quite central location

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicole Raine

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2011 Nicole would recommend this property

Liked: The best hostel we have stayed in on our 8 month trip! Complete with awesome little cafe, bar, and a rocking basement great for chill out times. Would reccommend to all!

Disliked: The shower buttons dont stay down for long, but thats ok.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

27 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a fun place to meet people

Disliked: Cleanliness.. Toilets and rooms are not Clean enough.. bad smell... really awful...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Melissa Kostenbauder

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2011 Melissa would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly & helpful staff, very clean & comfortable rooms and bathrooms, friendly and relaxing environment.

Disliked: Nothing really.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great place to meet others. lots of usable services

Disliked: pillows were tiny. breakfast was one kind of cereal and some coffee. this is not good enough

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amie King

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2011 Amie would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location; near the bus station and tram stop. Good facilities to make your own food, basement area was comfortable to chill out in, wifi easily accessible. Rooms were clean and spacious.

Disliked: We had to share a bathroom with the room next door so they woke us up every morning, especially as the floor boards were really squeaky! Railway line quite close by but with the window closed it wasn't disruptive. No wardrobe in the room, just a small bedside table so had to live out of suitcases (was fine for us but would be a pain if we'd stayed for longer.)

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Isis King

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

14 June 2011

Liked: Great atmosphere for meeting other people, 2.50 euro pints, seemed pretty cool, clean!

Disliked: The only reason I really can't recommend it is the noise level. My husband and I had a private room with a shared bath with the room next to us - a dorm. Unfortunately, the walls were paper-thin and the floors squeaked, so any time that anyone came out of the dorm room next to us (or just walked in it) we could hear it. Very difficult to sleep when folks are up until 4:30 in the morning! My husband had to get up and tell our neighbors to be quiet. Needless to say, we got no sleep before catching an early morning flight the next day. When I asked the gentleman at the front desk if they had any private rooms NOT surrounded by dorm rooms, he said there was only one. I think overall this is a great hostel, but I just can't recommend it for any couples/honeymooners because you WILL NOT get any rest here.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: no

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ricardo Fusco

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 June 2011 Ricardo would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice place, a lot of facilities and helpfull staff

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

ChunZhin Lee

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 June 2011 ChunZhin would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location and facilities

Disliked: Shower without hot water control

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Wendy Hodge

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 June 2011 Wendy would recommend this property

Liked: The basement was amazing! Great place to relax after a day exploring. The staff were very friendly and helpful. 2.50Euros pints were a bargain in such an expensive city. Our dorm room was large and clean and the bathrooms were spotless.

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Mohd Fairuz Ibrahim

Alone

Business / conference

07 June 2011 Mohd Fairuz would recommend this property

Liked: location, access, very nice building, great locker facilities, friendly staff, nice breakfast

Disliked: a bit of a walking to the centre, but no big deal, its only 15 min on foot


See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels