HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Isaacs Hostel Dublin

Hostel

2-5 Frenchmans Lane, Dublin 1, Dublin, Ireland

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 81%

Location 89%

Safety 88%

Staff 87%

Value 89%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • PlayStation
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Shuttle Bus
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room 2.37USD
  • Towel 2.37USD

Important Information

Families travelling with children under the age of 16 are required to book private rooms

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 81%

Location 89%

Safety 88%

Staff 87%

Value 89%

Showing 41-50 of 54 reviews

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Really liked this place. Guy working at the desk was funny. Good walking distance to everything in Dublin. Only took a cab once the whole time we were there. Really awesome. Does the trick.

Disliked: Breakfast could have been better and there was a really unpleasant long-term guest there but that's not the hostel's fault.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your review. Glad you enjoyed your stay. Don't forget breakfast is free of charge to our guests so unfortunately we can't offer too much!!

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: Great!

Disliked: all was good

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

What can I say - what a wonderful review - please do come again - we like guests like you.

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The Hostel was a cosy place to stay. Full-equipped kitchen, friendly staff, helpful with the tours and funny.The really know how to meet Backpackers needs.

Disliked: lockers were only provided in the basement and the entrance hall could be very loud and busy especially in the evening

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks so much for your nice review. Glad you liked our new kitchen. Sorry that the lockers were only in the basement but we just don't have room for them anywhere else and we do want our guests to be safe and feel their luggage is safe at all times. Do come again.

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: it was good value

Disliked: there were no lockers in the rooms

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Glad you enjoyed your stay. Sorry there were no lockers in the rooms - we just don't have the space but we do have lockers in the basement to keep your luggage safe and we have safes on the ground floor. Do come again.

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: was in a really cool old building. liked all the common areas, nice wooden tables.

Disliked: music was too loud in the common area. it could have been a bit quieter during the early hours of the evening.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your review. Glad you liked the hostel. We will take on board your comment about the loud music in the common area and get the guys on reception to watch the volume.

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The toilets were very clean.

Disliked: It was quite noisy at night with the trains going past and the floor boards creaking above us.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your positive feedback. Unfortunately we can't do anything about the train but if you do stay again, ask for a room at the back of the hostel away from the train.

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: THIS HOSTEL IS GREAT! When my group and I walked in, there were people from all walks of life sitting in the lobby talking and enjoying their time together. The staff were so friendly and helpful and told us about some great trips and deals that we could take advantage of. We did a pub crawl offered by the hostel and had a blast. The rooms were nice and big and very clean. New sheets and everything were offered at no charge and there was plenty of hot water. The hostel even has a sauna! The kitchen was always busy with people (including us) and there were so many people to meet!

Disliked: It was about a 15-20 minute walk to really get into town but well worth it! The hostel is located in a little niche of town but had plenty of restaurants, grocerys, banks, pubs, etc... nearby if needed.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you so much for you really lovely review. However I have to take you to task on one thing - 15 - 20 minutes walk to town?????? Depends on what part of town you are going to. We consider ourselves as being city centre - it's only 5 minutes to O'Connell Street and Henry Street which is the very centre of the city - where were you going to????? Anyway if you come back we will show you all the quick routes to take!!

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Relaxation / spa, Romantic getaway

Liked: The atmosphere

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Delighted you enjoyed your stay with us - do come again.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The amazing cross-section of people - all ages and from all places! Also the atmosphere was very sociable and friendly. Everyone was approachable and helpful.

Disliked: Nothing (it was that good!).

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks so much for your kind comment. Do come back and stay with us.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was clean and very secure. Close to everything you need in Dublin. The staff were helpfulAnd nice. You got free breakfast which helped a lot. All in all you got your money's worth.

Disliked: It was very noisey. Although there were signs saying please keep it down after 11pmThe music from the reception area was still loud past 2am. And people would be blow drying their hair Late at night, way past 2-3in the morning . That was annoying but other than that it was good.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your comments. We will look into the noise issue. We do ask our guests not to make noise afte 11pm.

Check Availability