HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Isaacs Hostel Dublin Hostel

2-5 Frenchmans Lane, Dublin 1, Dublin, Ireland

Atmosphere 87%

Cleanliness 89%

Facilities 85%

Location 89%

Safety 90%

Staff 91%

Value 93%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • PlayStation
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Shuttle Bus
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room 2.41USD
  • Towel 2.41USD

Important Information

Families travelling with children under the age of 16 are required to book private rooms

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 87%

Cleanliness 89%

Facilities 85%

Location 89%

Safety 90%

Staff 91%

Value 93%

Showing 41-35 of 35 reviews

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: This hostel was great. It was my first time staying in a hostel. I met people within the first fifteen minutes of arriving and become quick friends with other hostelers. I think the hostel ambiance helped.. The staff was great and the atmosphere was excellent. I felt like I was in college again. Good times! I would definitely recommend this hostel. It is close to the bus and train station and I walked everywhere without a problem.

Disliked: I wasn't able to take a warm shower. I was showering early in the morning so maybe that was why. People I spoke with who showered in the evening didn't have that problem. It was a bit noisy. Sound carries in the building. Not that much of a concern.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your lovely review. So glad you enjoyed your stay and met lots of people - that's what we like at Isaacs. We'll look into the shower comment - it should be hot in the morning.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 May 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Access to kitchen was nice, staff suggestions were great and it was in a pretty decent location.

Disliked: A little bit on the noisy side, but nothing serious.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your great review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay.

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: I've stayed at Isaacs a couple months ago and returned because the staff is very friendly and helpful, the price is great, location is very good as it is extremely close to public transportation, airport bus, bus station, and most of the sites. The bathrooms are clean and each room is secure. Plus free breakfast is always good!

Disliked: I do not have many complaints as I am happy over all with my experience. I would only say that it was an annoyance to have the lockers in the basement. Second, I am almost certain the blankets are never washed. They should at least provide a sheet to go with the blanket.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your review. So glad you liked the hostel. The duvets are of course changed regularly and we do offer extra sheets to any guests who wants them. It would be great if the lockers were in the bedrooms but there simply isn't enough space. We are looking into other options though.

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The location was very convenient.

Disliked: That the wifi didn't reach to the rooms and that there was only one light in the room so if someone wanted to put it on, everyone was bothered by it.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for you review. We are looking into other options for the light issue as you are quite correct, it can annoy other guests if the light is put on. Regarding the wifi we couldn't have it in the rooms - can you imagine the annoyance it would cause to guests if people were typing away long into the night. Also we want our guests to talk to each other!

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Really liked this place. Guy working at the desk was funny. Good walking distance to everything in Dublin. Only took a cab once the whole time we were there. Really awesome. Does the trick.

Disliked: Breakfast could have been better and there was a really unpleasant long-term guest there but that's not the hostel's fault.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your review. Glad you enjoyed your stay. Don't forget breakfast is free of charge to our guests so unfortunately we can't offer too much!!

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: Great!

Disliked: all was good

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

What can I say - what a wonderful review - please do come again - we like guests like you.

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The Hostel was a cosy place to stay. Full-equipped kitchen, friendly staff, helpful with the tours and funny.The really know how to meet Backpackers needs.

Disliked: lockers were only provided in the basement and the entrance hall could be very loud and busy especially in the evening

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks so much for your nice review. Glad you liked our new kitchen. Sorry that the lockers were only in the basement but we just don't have room for them anywhere else and we do want our guests to be safe and feel their luggage is safe at all times. Do come again.

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: it was good value

Disliked: there were no lockers in the rooms

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Glad you enjoyed your stay. Sorry there were no lockers in the rooms - we just don't have the space but we do have lockers in the basement to keep your luggage safe and we have safes on the ground floor. Do come again.

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: was in a really cool old building. liked all the common areas, nice wooden tables.

Disliked: music was too loud in the common area. it could have been a bit quieter during the early hours of the evening.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your review. Glad you liked the hostel. We will take on board your comment about the loud music in the common area and get the guys on reception to watch the volume.

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The toilets were very clean.

Disliked: It was quite noisy at night with the trains going past and the floor boards creaking above us.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your positive feedback. Unfortunately we can't do anything about the train but if you do stay again, ask for a room at the back of the hostel away from the train.

Check Availability