HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Isaacs Hostel Dublin Hostel

2-5 Frenchmans Lane, Dublin 1, Dublin, Ireland

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 88%

Facilities 83%

Location 87%

Safety 89%

Staff 91%

Value 91%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • PlayStation
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Shuttle Bus
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room 2.33USD
  • Towel 2.33USD

Important Information

Families travelling with children under the age of 16 are required to book private rooms

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 88%

Facilities 83%

Location 87%

Safety 89%

Staff 91%

Value 91%

Showing 31-36 of 36 reviews

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Great sauna, great breakfast

Disliked: The noise of the train going right behind the window.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for taking the time to post your review. We are glad you enjoyed the hostel. Yes we are very central and the noise of the train can disturb our light sleepers but we do offer ear plugs for the light sleepers.

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: the hostel's location is near to the major bus station n other bus stops but away from the noise of temple bar. the walls are thin so prepared to be woken up by guests going on bout their business next door. we stayed in a private room ensuite with a 8 bed room next to us, but i guess the irish charm worked as there were no crazy party kids coming in at 4am drunk.

Disliked: ground floor rooms will be affcted by the noise coming from the rail tracks. so light sleepers should prepare ear buds. 10 person sharing one toilet n bathroom might create a log jam during 'peak hours'

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay. Believe it or not we do offer ear plugs for any light sleepers.

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great place to stay

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your positive review. Glad you liked the hostel.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Helpful staff, comfortable beds, average showers. Nice common rooms.

Disliked: Wireless signal doesn't reach rooms. Pillows are so thin and dense as to be nearly useless. No elevator.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your review. We are glad you like the hostel. We would love to have an elevator but the building doesn't lend itself to putting one in - hopefully that character of the hostel makes up for the lack of elevator. We don't want wifi in the room s- we want our guests to talk to each other!!! We will certainly have a look at the pillows - we are constantly buying new pillows and I wish you had told us at Recpetion as we would gladly have given you another one.

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Convenient location to train & bus stations. Reception staff were helpful z& friendly.

Disliked: Too many rude & discourteous young French tourists. Too busy so hostel not suitable if one is over 23 yo.


The property's response is

Thanks for taking the time to reveiw the hostel - we are really sorry that other guests were rude to you.

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Good location, friendly.

Disliked: On my trip I stayed in quite a few hostels. This hostel wasn't bad, but i don't think it was worth the extra money it cost - it was nothing special. The showers had a button you needed to push every 5 seconds to keep the water flowing. The wifi only worked downstairs which was annoying. I've stayed at better hostels which cost half the price.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your review. I'm surprised you found the hostel expensive because we are one of the cheapest hostels in Dublin city centre and it is our policy to offer good value right in the city centre. Perhaps you are comparing us to country hostels where they have much cheaper rents and running costs.

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good atmosphere. Easy to get to from the airport. Props to the cleaners. Reception staff were nice and friendly/helpful. Great pub crawl.

Disliked: Rooms were extremely hot! Couldnt sleep. Pathetic fans. - No elevator. - Train passing right outside window every few hours. - Construction workers working outside window. - Not very central.


The property's response is

Thanks for your review - it was unusually hot this summer in Dublin - we never had it before, believe me. I have to take you up on the central issue - really we are one of the most central hostels in Dublin - beside Bus and train and luas stations and only 5 minutes by foot to O'Connell Street. You can't get more central than that!

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Location is great. City center is on walking distance. The stuff is friendly and very helpful.

Disliked: Breakfast.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your positive review. Sorry you didn't enjoy breakfast but please note that it is something we offer free of charge. We hope you come to Dublin again.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: great location close to oconnell street and very easy to find. Loved how close it was to the train station. Clean room and helpful staff. Would deff stay here again

Disliked: nothing was to dislike

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very close to train and bus stations and right by the river.Nice common area to hang out in.

Disliked: Due to the location (alley) and neighbourhood, people who weren't staying at the hostel and who seemed a bit shady would often just wander in unpatroled. Openness was nice and this happened only a few times, but still.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your review. I know part of the charm of the hostel is the little laneway and the old buildings. However be assured that we do keep an eye out for anybody trying to get into the hostel who are not booked in. Glad you liked the hostel.

Check Availability