HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Isaacs Hostel Dublin Hostel

2-5 Frenchmans Lane, Dublin 1, Dublin, Ireland

Atmosphere 87%

Cleanliness 89%

Facilities 85%

Location 89%

Safety 90%

Staff 91%

Value 93%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • PlayStation
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Shuttle Bus
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room 2.44USD
  • Towel 2.44USD

Important Information

Families travelling with children under the age of 16 are required to book private rooms

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 87%

Cleanliness 89%

Facilities 85%

Location 89%

Safety 90%

Staff 91%

Value 93%

Showing 21-30 of 40 reviews

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 May 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The location was good within walking distance of the city sites

Disliked: The creaking floorboards make it so you hear all movements.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Good convenient hostel

Disliked: Nil

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Location was good and it was clean

Disliked: Only one toilet and shower for two dorm rooms :(

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We do have extra showers and toilets on every floor for our guests.

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Good value for money

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for taking the time to review the hostel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay.

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: Excellent location just next to Busaras, Luas and the Airlink Bus.

Disliked: No individual reading lights by the beds. They don't check that everyone entering has a keycard, this way guests can bring friends into the hostel.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Great staff! Felt welcome from the second we walked in. The facilities are nice with wifi in the main room and bathrooms on every floor with the rooms. Also a nice location as it was a 10 minute walk to the Temple Bar area and like on the tram line so getting around Dublin was very easy.

Disliked: Would have been nice to have wifi throughout the building. Floors were very creaky in the rooms so coming in late was always a problem as it would wake the entire room.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. WIFI in the rooms would disturb other guests and really we want our guests to talk to each other in person, not online. Yes, people coming in late is downside, we agree with that.

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Great sauna, great breakfast

Disliked: The noise of the train going right behind the window.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for taking the time to post your review. We are glad you enjoyed the hostel. Yes we are very central and the noise of the train can disturb our light sleepers but we do offer ear plugs for the light sleepers.

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: the hostel's location is near to the major bus station n other bus stops but away from the noise of temple bar. the walls are thin so prepared to be woken up by guests going on bout their business next door. we stayed in a private room ensuite with a 8 bed room next to us, but i guess the irish charm worked as there were no crazy party kids coming in at 4am drunk.

Disliked: ground floor rooms will be affcted by the noise coming from the rail tracks. so light sleepers should prepare ear buds. 10 person sharing one toilet n bathroom might create a log jam during 'peak hours'

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay. Believe it or not we do offer ear plugs for any light sleepers.

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great place to stay

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your positive review. Glad you liked the hostel.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Helpful staff, comfortable beds, average showers. Nice common rooms.

Disliked: Wireless signal doesn't reach rooms. Pillows are so thin and dense as to be nearly useless. No elevator.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your review. We are glad you like the hostel. We would love to have an elevator but the building doesn't lend itself to putting one in - hopefully that character of the hostel makes up for the lack of elevator. We don't want wifi in the room s- we want our guests to talk to each other!!! We will certainly have a look at the pillows - we are constantly buying new pillows and I wish you had told us at Recpetion as we would gladly have given you another one.

Check Availability