HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Isaacs Hostel Dublin

Hostel

2-5 Frenchmans Lane, Dublin 1, Dublin, Ireland

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 81%

Location 89%

Safety 88%

Staff 87%

Value 89%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • PlayStation
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Shuttle Bus
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room 2.39USD
  • Towel 2.39USD

Important Information

Families travelling with children under the age of 16 are required to book private rooms

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 81%

Location 89%

Safety 88%

Staff 87%

Value 89%

Showing 21-30 of 54 reviews

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Location was good and it was clean

Disliked: Only one toilet and shower for two dorm rooms :(

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We do have extra showers and toilets on every floor for our guests.

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Good value for money

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for taking the time to review the hostel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay.

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: Excellent location just next to Busaras, Luas and the Airlink Bus.

Disliked: No individual reading lights by the beds. They don't check that everyone entering has a keycard, this way guests can bring friends into the hostel.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Great staff! Felt welcome from the second we walked in. The facilities are nice with wifi in the main room and bathrooms on every floor with the rooms. Also a nice location as it was a 10 minute walk to the Temple Bar area and like on the tram line so getting around Dublin was very easy.

Disliked: Would have been nice to have wifi throughout the building. Floors were very creaky in the rooms so coming in late was always a problem as it would wake the entire room.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. WIFI in the rooms would disturb other guests and really we want our guests to talk to each other in person, not online. Yes, people coming in late is downside, we agree with that.

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Great sauna, great breakfast

Disliked: The noise of the train going right behind the window.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for taking the time to post your review. We are glad you enjoyed the hostel. Yes we are very central and the noise of the train can disturb our light sleepers but we do offer ear plugs for the light sleepers.

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: the hostel's location is near to the major bus station n other bus stops but away from the noise of temple bar. the walls are thin so prepared to be woken up by guests going on bout their business next door. we stayed in a private room ensuite with a 8 bed room next to us, but i guess the irish charm worked as there were no crazy party kids coming in at 4am drunk.

Disliked: ground floor rooms will be affcted by the noise coming from the rail tracks. so light sleepers should prepare ear buds. 10 person sharing one toilet n bathroom might create a log jam during 'peak hours'

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay. Believe it or not we do offer ear plugs for any light sleepers.

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great place to stay

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your positive review. Glad you liked the hostel.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Helpful staff, comfortable beds, average showers. Nice common rooms.

Disliked: Wireless signal doesn't reach rooms. Pillows are so thin and dense as to be nearly useless. No elevator.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your review. We are glad you like the hostel. We would love to have an elevator but the building doesn't lend itself to putting one in - hopefully that character of the hostel makes up for the lack of elevator. We don't want wifi in the room s- we want our guests to talk to each other!!! We will certainly have a look at the pillows - we are constantly buying new pillows and I wish you had told us at Recpetion as we would gladly have given you another one.

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Convenient location to train & bus stations. Reception staff were helpful z& friendly.

Disliked: Too many rude & discourteous young French tourists. Too busy so hostel not suitable if one is over 23 yo.


The property's response is

Thanks for taking the time to reveiw the hostel - we are really sorry that other guests were rude to you.

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Good location, friendly.

Disliked: On my trip I stayed in quite a few hostels. This hostel wasn't bad, but i don't think it was worth the extra money it cost - it was nothing special. The showers had a button you needed to push every 5 seconds to keep the water flowing. The wifi only worked downstairs which was annoying. I've stayed at better hostels which cost half the price.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your review. I'm surprised you found the hostel expensive because we are one of the cheapest hostels in Dublin city centre and it is our policy to offer good value right in the city centre. Perhaps you are comparing us to country hostels where they have much cheaper rents and running costs.

Check Availability