We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels

Reviews of Isaacs Hostel

Hostel | 2-5 Frenchmans Lane, Dublin 1, Dublin, Ireland D1

87.7% Overall Rating

1082 out of 1391 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/09/2014)

Sarah Williams thinks…

"Everything! It was such a friendly hostel, has a really great outside look and offers both a pub crawl and free walking tour which were great. Interesting basement, didn't try the sauna but it looked…"

Read all Isaacs Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Wake-up calls
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 2.53
  • Towel USD 2.53

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Families travelling with children under the age of 16 are required to book private rooms

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dublin

Paddy's Palace Dublin
20.87 USD

Hostel 75.5% 328 reviews
Backpackers D1 Hostel Dublin
12.65 USD

Hostel 53.3% 92 reviews
Backpackers Citi Hostel
12.65 USD

Hostel 50.7% 213 reviews
Jacobs Inn
13.92 USD

Hostel 83.4% 911 reviews
Jacobs Inn Plus**
37.32 USD

Hostel 87.0% 192 reviews
Durban Residence
21.82 USD

Hostel 78.2% 41 reviews
The Glen Guest House
29.10 USD

Guesthouse 81.8% 49 reviews
Abrahams Hostel
11.39 USD

Hostel 80.9% 1095 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.7%

Overall Rating

1082 out of 1391 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Isaacs Hostel'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
84.0%
Staff
90.4%
Value
87.2%
Safety
85.6%
Refine your results Showing 753 of 816 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 30 | 31   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eric Vender

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 May 2013 Eric would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was great. It was my first time staying in a hostel. I met people within the first fifteen minutes of arriving and become quick friends with other hostelers. I think the hostel ambiance helped.. The staff was great and the atmosphere was excellent. I felt like I was in college again. Good times! I would definitely recommend this hostel. It is close to the bus and train station and I walked everywhere without a problem.

Disliked: I wasn't able to take a warm shower. I was showering early in the morning so maybe that was why. People I spoke with who showered in the evening didn't have that problem. It was a bit noisy. Sound carries in the building. Not that much of a concern.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2013

Liked: Great common area and facilities. Kitchen, sauna, TV room, quiet area.

Disliked: Nothing really. It could've been slightly closer to the middle of the city. But it was pretty close, anyways. Just like a 10-15 min walk

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

17 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I've stayed at Isaacs a couple months ago and returned because the staff is very friendly and helpful, the price is great, location is very good as it is extremely close to public transportation, airport bus, bus station, and most of the sites. The bathrooms are clean and each room is secure. Plus free breakfast is always good!

Disliked: I do not have many complaints as I am happy over all with my experience. I would only say that it was an annoyance to have the lockers in the basement. Second, I am almost certain the blankets are never washed. They should at least provide a sheet to go with the blanket.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

01 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really liked this place. Guy working at the desk was funny. Good walking distance to everything in Dublin. Only took a cab once the whole time we were there. Really awesome. Does the trick.

Disliked: Breakfast could have been better and there was a really unpleasant long-term guest there but that's not the hostel's fault.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

28 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was very convenient.

Disliked: That the wifi didn't reach to the rooms and that there was only one light in the room so if someone wanted to put it on, everyone was bothered by it.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Hostel was a cosy place to stay. Full-equipped kitchen, friendly staff, helpful with the tours and funny. The really know how to meet Backpackers needs.

Disliked: lockers were only provided in the basement and the entrance hall could be very loud and busy especially in the evening

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

María José Carrillo Moreno

Alone

Partying / nightlife

01 April 2013 María José would recommend this property

Liked: Great!

Disliked: all was good

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: THIS HOSTEL IS GREAT! When my group and I walked in, there were people from all walks of life sitting in the lobby talking and enjoying their time together. The staff were so friendly and helpful and told us about some great trips and deals that we could take advantage of. We did a pub crawl offered by the hostel and had a blast. The rooms were nice and big and very clean. New sheets and everything were offered at no charge and there was plenty of hot water. The hostel even has a sauna! The kitchen was always busy with people (including us) and there were so many people to meet!

Disliked: It was about a 15-20 minute walk to really get into town but well worth it! The hostel is located in a little niche of town but had plenty of restaurants, grocerys, banks, pubs, etc... nearby if needed.

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was good value

Disliked: there were no lockers in the rooms

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: was in a really cool old building. liked all the common areas, nice wooden tables.

Disliked: music was too loud in the common area. it could have been a bit quieter during the early hours of the evening.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Zhilian Huang

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 March 2013 Zhilian would recommend this property

Liked: The toilets were very clean.

Disliked: It was quite noisy at night with the trains going past and the floor boards creaking above us.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ignacio Osella

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway

19 March 2013 Ignacio would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere

Disliked: Ignacio left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

03 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The amazing cross-section of people - all ages and from all places! Also the atmosphere was very sociable and friendly. Everyone was approachable and helpful.

Disliked: Nothing (it was that good!).

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean and very secure. Close to everything you need in Dublin. The staff were helpful And nice. You got free breakfast which helped a lot. All in all you got your money's worth.

Disliked: It was very noisey. Although there were signs saying please keep it down after 11pm The music from the reception area was still loud past 2am. And people would be blow drying their hair Late at night, way past 2-3in the morning . That was annoying but other than that it was good.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: walking distance from O'Connell Street and Temple Bar, well equiped kitchen, friendly staff, clean, fantastic breakfast

Disliked: The duvets are very old and feel hard and lumpy.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

20 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perhaps one of the best hostels in Dublin. Hostel boasts some green features- showers, faucets switch off after some time automatically, there are recycling bins in kitchen, and floors. Staff take care of guests and the place. It is secure- cameras and card access everywhere, clean- it is cleaned a few times a day, good location, new and renewed everything.

Disliked: Internet does not work in rooms. That can be viewed as a plus (your body does not get constant wi-fi waves even when you sleep) or minus- (you have to go to the basement or lobby to connect). Wi-fi is sometimes spotty. I guess it depends how many people connect at the same time. Hostel location is good, but there is train overpass, so you might hear some noise. Kitchen is great, but could be a little bit bigger, since sometimes it gets too crowded. perhaps breakfast kitchen could be open for the guests too. Bed mattresses could be a little bit thicker. I felt bed frame with my back.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aaron Ashley

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

18 February 2013 Aaron would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic hostel, well worth the awards it's received!

Disliked: Nothing, everything was great.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jennifer Zig rhino

Alone

Work / volunteering

13 February 2013 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are friendly and helpful, good facilities, and great location. I wish I was staying longer,

Disliked: Jennifer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Simon Dyball

Alone

City break

09 February 2013 Simon would recommend this property

Liked: character

Disliked: They had 4 Washing Machines and Dryer, And Only One Worked. If there was 3 people in FRONT of you it would take Hours.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel has the potential to be great, breakfast included, cool facilities...

Disliked: While I was there renovations were happening so the kitchen and showers were a bit out of order, the internet is horrid so I am writing this from an internet cafe down the road. Rooms were a tad dirty (smelled a bit too) and the beds weren't overly comfortable but honestly this place was GREAT value for money.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Mollie Pritchett

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 January 2013 Mollie would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the big clean bathrooms, most hostels I've stayed at have tiny tiny bathrooms and most of the time they are dirty.

Disliked: I didn't like that the luggage room was all the way in the basement. I usually have a pretty heavy bag and carrying it all the way down and then back up again when I needed to leave was hard work.

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Common rooms are really nice, enough space to hang out. The kitchen is pretty good.

Disliked: Once you have seen the common rooms and kitchen, one would expect the dorms to be nice as well, but they are a bit run down. Especially the floor covering seemed to be in a bad state, a bit disgusting. The shower facilities aren't great, water wasn't warm enough. So the place is being let down by below standard dorms, the dorm area is in need of renovation.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: nothing

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Rose Kovach

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday

07 January 2013 Rose would recommend this property

Liked: Knowledgeable staff who helped with a variety of questions

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

06 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff

Disliked: It is right next to the train line(or underneath?) and therefore sleeping without earplugs is not possible at all!!!

The property's response is...


See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels