HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels

Reviews of My Place Dublin Hostel

Hostel | 89-90 Lower Gardiner St., Dublin, Ireland D1

70.6% Overall Rating

404 out of 844 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/09/2013)

"Found it to be nice and quite.Location was very good.It would be nice if I could make a specail deal with My Place Hostel if I was to stay there on a regular base about four night a week while I'm in Dublin."

Read all My Place Dublin Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 9.66
  • Breakfast USD 6.21
  • Towel USD 2.07

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Cancellation 24 hours before 11am on arrival day will result in having to pay for the first nights stay. We cannot allow children under the age of 16 to stay, we may be forced to cancel any booking upon arrival if any people in that booking are under 16 years of age. Bookings may be subject to Pre-Authorization of the credit card used to book, this is a test payment of the balance

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dublin

Amberley Guesthouse
54.53 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Avondale Guesthouse
25.30 USD

Hostel 72.0% 85 reviews
The Holyhead
20.71 USD

Hostel 77.8% 61 reviews
Globetrotters Hostel
16.57 USD

Hostel 85.4% 256 reviews
Anchor Guesthouse
82.83 USD

Guesthouse 84.6% 25 reviews
Adelphi Guesthouse
33.82 USD

Guesthouse 84.3% 35 reviews
Maple Hotel
31.75 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.8% 100 reviews
Abraham House
12.42 USD

Hostel 85.9% 977 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
70.6%

Overall Rating

404 out of 844 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'My Place Dublin Hostel'

Atmosphere
64.8%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
60.0%
Cleanliness
65.6%
Staff
80.8%
Value
71.2%
Safety
66.4%
Refine your results Showing 371 of 398 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 14 | 15   Next
Reset filter
42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Alice Quin

With friends / other travellers

City break

08 April 2014

Liked: The location

Disliked: There was absolutely no social atmosphere. Not even allowed to have a few beers in the common room. The staff were rude. There was no oven in the kitchen!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Stephen Bigler

Alone

Events / festivals

25 March 2014 Stephen would recommend this property

Liked: Location is perfect !

Disliked: Cleanliness was poor.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Anna Schiavi

Alone

City break

19 March 2014

Liked: staff is very good

Disliked: the bathroom is very poor

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Work / volunteering

19 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, 5 min walk distance to the heart of Dublin

Disliked: A bit noisy in the room.... I know, there are many people, but some of them don't consider other sleeping and don't make much effort to enter quietly or to turn off mobile phone in the night.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Ali Major

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 November 2013

Liked: Good common room, with pool table and plenty of lounges.

Disliked: Terrible mattress. Showers quite dirty and water only warm. Night staff left front desk for 10 minutes and was left waiting out the front in the cold.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: amabilidad del personal

Disliked: mucho ruido en el hostal de al lado y se escuchaba mucho en nuestra habitacion.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 October 2013

Liked: Close to oconnell st

Disliked: Bathrooms were not clean. Sowers flooded due to blocked drains. Not any atmosphere

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

11 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Found it to be nice and quite.Location was very good.It would be nice if I could make a specail deal with My Place Hostel if I was to stay there on a regular base about four night a week while I'm in Dublin.

Disliked: Only thing was the hand basin semm to be blocked for when leting out the water seems to run very slowly out.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Janet House

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals

18 August 2013 Janet would recommend this property

Liked: Comfy bunks, fluffy duvets, plenty of toilets and showers, good price

Disliked: No drink/coffee machine. The place seems rather 'lonely', not much atmosphere really and very quiet

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

MARIA AUGUSTA SIQUEIRA MATHIAS

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 July 2013 MARIA AUGUSTA would recommend this property

Liked: The location

Disliked: There were no air conditioning or fans in the rooms. Once it was extremely hot in Ireland this summer (which is very uncommon), it was impossible do stay inside the rooms. We went to the kitchen to try to sleep properly, because there is a window there.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2013

Liked: It was very cheap but we got what we paid for, kinda crappy place for very little money. The staff were nice. Great location but so do the dozen other hostels in the street.

Disliked: The 21 bed dorm was like a sweatbox with no openable windows and a fan circulating hot air and the stink of stale sweat, the showers smelled like an open sewer and the water flow and temperature was irregular, total lack of any spirit or atmosphere not even so much as a tv in the lobby.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

karen bray

With friends / other travellers

City break

16 June 2013 karen would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the cleanliness of the place.. was actually shocked at how clean it was.. the staff were extremely helpful and friendly I would definitely stay again. It was very cheap beds were clean and fresh.. very happy with my stay.

Disliked: just that we had to leave bags in room shared with other guests had no where to lock them away while out. but that's very minor issue. everything else good outweighs that one little thing....

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

13 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It had a high standard of service. The security was excellent with having to be buzzed in everytime by reception so people cannot wonder in.

Disliked: I loved everything about it.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Elio Macias Ramirez

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 May 2013

Liked: Location.

Disliked: Its a really weird hostel, like a hospital adapted or something.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Work / volunteering

28 April 2013

Liked: the common room

Disliked: bed rooms

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

06 April 2013

Liked: Location

Disliked: Conditions Do not be fooled, this is a hostel for homeless people masquerading as a hotel; drunks, junkies, illegal immigrants – they ARE all guests here. There are conditions present which ought to see the place closed. Non compliant electrical installations, insanitary showers, toilets and wash hand basins, defective ventilation etc. If you dare try to have a shower you will be thwarted, when the hot water eventually arrives it swiftly bids farewell and you’ll be left lathered and unable to rinse. The general theme of this hotel is squalor; it is of Georgian period construction, but stinks of Victorian filth. Choosing to stay at “My Place” is to put your SAFETY at real risk. Choosing to stay at “My Place” is to put your HEALTH at real risk. Staff Staff in general are apathetic, some are overtly hostile; an individual deserving of a special mention is Yvonne who is incredibly RUDE, the crude hospitality skills she possesses are but a thin veneer to conceal her very unpleasant personality. During my stay I was aware of complaints being made regarding occurrences of racist abuse, these valid complaints were ignored and the person complaining was treated with derision. Overall Impression Some people just cannot be told, if you are one of these people then you should make an exception - this place is best avoided.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

elliot swift

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

01 April 2013 elliot would recommend this property

Liked: good location, friendly staff, common room/kitchen open late. locked my computer and camera up for me for free

Disliked: bad wifi. showers separate from rooms

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Ciprian Simion

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

19 March 2013

Liked: near center.

Disliked: It s like a labyrinth u can not find your room but worst are the tenants that live there returning at 5 in the morning in a drunk mood shouting and woking up everybody,not concern with there personal hygiene either.Not to many good things to say.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

10 March 2013

Liked: Good location

Disliked: No ventilation in a small room with 24 beds.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

04 January 2013

Liked: Good staff

Disliked: Bad sanitary

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

VALENTINA RIVEIRO MOREIRA

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 October 2012

Liked: Common room

Disliked: The bathroom, they must clean it

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

08 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was absolutely fantastic, extremely helpful and very friendly.

Disliked: The showers in the female bathrooms were pretty gross.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Marion GRENIER

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2012

Liked: Uniquement la gentilesse du personnel à l'accueil et le sèche-cheveux qu'ils m'ont prêté pour les 4 jours.

Disliked: L'odeur infecte de la chambre, le manque de place, le non-respect des critères de ma réservation, le surcôut de 23€ non justifié, la saleté dans les sanitaires et dans la chambre comprenant 10 lits superposés, sans AUCUNE fenêtre ni aération, des "moutons" de poussière sous le lit.... Les ronflements des garçons alors qu'on avait réservé pourune chambre entre filles. Heureusement que je ne suis pas asthmatique ou de religion musulmane!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

rotem moses

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2012

Liked: the staff was very friendly

Disliked: no breakfast, grafity on the toilets walls, dirt, i got locked out my room 5 times!! i had to go to the reception to reset my key!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

25 June 2012

Liked: staff were friendly

Disliked: didnt like the room


See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels