HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels

Reviews of Barnacles Temple Bar House Hostel

Hostel | 19 Temple Lane South, Dublin, Ireland Dublin 2

86.4% Overall Rating

221 out of 239 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/04/2014)

"Excellent location in Temple Bar and easily accessible from the airport, very helpful staff and all the amenities we needed!"

Read all Barnacles Temple Bar House Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.38
  • Towel USD 2.07

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dublin

The Mercantile Hotel
29.89 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Temple Bar Apartments
41.40 USD

Apartment 78.1% 3 reviews
Dublin Citi Hotel
40.71 USD

Hotel 2 star 88.5% 40 reviews
The Apache Hostel At Temple Bar
13.80 USD

Hostel 58.4% 129 reviews
Oliver St.John Gogarty
16.56 USD

Hostel 84.5% 97 reviews
Abigails Hostel
13.80 USD

Hostel 93.6% 1337 reviews
Bridge House
26.22 USD

Guesthouse 77.0% 30 reviews
Brooks Hotel
207.01 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.4%

Overall Rating

221 out of 239 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Barnacles Temple Bar House Hostel'

Atmosphere
82.4%
Location
98.4%
Facilities
76.8%
Cleanliness
80.8%
Staff
93.6%
Value
84.0%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 188 of 227 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jackie Harris

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 June 2010 Jackie would recommend this property

Liked: You can't get any closer to the nightlife area. It is located right next to Temple Bar in the Temple Bar district. It's your average hostel. Lots of travellers, lots of opportunity to meet people, clean, friendly staff, and lots of good times.

Disliked: You can hear loud music coming from Temple Bar and lots of drunk people on the street until early morning. I didn't mind it though, just stay out all night and it won't be a problem! haha

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

20 June 2010

Liked: I like the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

18 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful location, however can be a bit noisey at night when trying to sleep. But the rooms are spacious and clean and there's free wifi which is really nice. Staff very friendly and helpful. Would stay there again.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

06 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rebecca Robinson

01 June 2010 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: Great party spot and great for sight seeing. My only complaint is the noise from people outside so don't expect to really sleep much without earplugs. Howeve everything to do with the staff and hostel was WONDERFUL!

Disliked: Rebecca left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

25 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicoli O' Sullivan

24 May 2010 Nicoli would recommend this property

Liked: Brillant location!!!

Disliked: Nicoli left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ANA KARINA ORTEGA CALDERON

24 May 2010 ANA KARINA would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is amazing!! The staff was very kind and you can meet cool people there, the only thing is that the breakfast is not that good! But beside that it's a great hostel.

Disliked: ANA KARINA left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Natalie Rhodes

31 March 2010 Natalie would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely loved this place, me and my friend stayed there for 4 nights. Were a bit dubious as neither of us had stayed in a hostel before. I can honestly say it's one of the best places I've stayed in, it was right in the centre of Temple Bar, you meet so many different people as you have a common room and kitchen to socialise in. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly, we asked them so many questions and they always tried to help us out and the beds and general cleanliness are fine- it's a place to stay, you can't be fussy. Definitely going back there. Miss that place already!!!

Disliked: Natalie left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Natalie Jones

22 March 2010 Natalie would recommend this property

Liked: Great stay!! Thanks!!

Disliked: Natalie left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

catherine seely

15 March 2010 catherine would recommend this property

Liked: great friendly staff and central location

Disliked: catherine left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tara Schwarze

14 March 2010 Tara would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was in the best location. I was there in Jan 2010 and the staff were the best, especially the kiwi and the irish guy. You both are legends! The facilities were awesome. Can't complain at all. Excellent hostel, will definitely come back.

Disliked: Tara left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

31 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Please provide FREE wifi access, all other facilities are good

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hannah Emerson

26 January 2010 Hannah would recommend this property

Liked: Had everything we needed - great fun, great location and very secure. Would absolutely recommend to anyone!

Disliked: Hannah left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

19 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

19 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

15 December 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The bed is ssooo comfy. =D

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

24 November 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was great. Location was perfect. Felt safe!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Geraint Jones

28 August 2009 Geraint would recommend this property

Liked: Just simply a fantastic hostel - the location couldn't be any better!

Disliked: Geraint left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

25 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location was awesome and the kitchen and lounge were good places to meet other peeps!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Anke Sprik

18 August 2009 Anke would recommend this property

Liked: The location, staff en securtity is excellent, goodn't be better. But I have a few things i wanna give as comment.To have a bathroom en suite is luxury but can also be a problem. You'll have to wait if your roommates are ready (r get in as soon as possible :)) It would be nice if there is also a common area for showers and toilets. Also if everyone is sleeping I felt a bit uncomfortable to use the bathroom, u don't wanna make noise!I had an upper bed and if my roommate was sleeping i couldn't open the baskets under the lower bed. (because of the weight the lockers r stocked) I didn't wanna wake up my roommate so I felt uncomfortable that I not couldn't get my stuff any time I wanted.

Disliked: Anke left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Laura Scerri

03 July 2009 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: the green bunk beds

Disliked: Laura left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

25 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel I found to be one of the most friendly and fun I've ever stayed in. It has all the facilities I think I needed except for free internet (it was a euro for 15 mins or 2 for 40 mins and you had to use it all up at once). Even so, I met sooo many awesome people and the location is amazing, albeit expensive (though there is a supermarket v close).definitely recommend!!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

19 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it's directly located in the temple bar district.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Heath Lincoln

19 June 2009 Heath would recommend this property

Liked: one of the staff was really nice, good location

Disliked: Heath left no negative feedback.


See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels