We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels

Reviews of Barnacles Temple Bar House Hostel

Hostel | 19 Temple Lane South, Dublin, Ireland Dublin 2

91.3% Overall Rating

266 out of 287 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/03/2015)

Wanderson Pinto dos Santos thinks…

"Stayed for St. Patrick's day. Awesome hostel. Pretty close to main city tourist points."

Read all Barnacles Temple Bar House Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.09
  • Towel USD 1.63

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dublin

The Mercantile Hotel
35.93 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Temple Bar Apartments
27.22 USD

Apartment 78.1% 3 reviews
Dublin Citi Hotel
43.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 88.8% 41 reviews
The Apache Hostel At Temple Bar
13.06 USD

Hostel 73.4% 159 reviews
Oliver St.John Gogarty
13.06 USD

Hostel 81.7% 102 reviews
Abigails Hostel
14.15 USD

Hostel 87.1% 1406 reviews
Bridge House
17.42 USD

Guesthouse 75.3% 47 reviews
Brooks Hotel
163.31 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.3%

Overall Rating

266 out of 287 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Barnacles Temple Bar House Hostel'

Atmosphere
86.4%
Location
98.4%
Facilities
89.6%
Cleanliness
86.4%
Staff
93.6%
Value
91.2%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 223 of 272 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

28 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It has a really good location. It is located just next to the Temple bar. And it is a nice place to stay.

Disliked: The water in the shower wasn't warm enough.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sandra Stueber

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 October 2011 Sandra would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, the rooms are not huge but the beds are really comfy and there is an ensuite bathroom in every dorm. Good security

Disliked: no public washrooms

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jennifer Ferguson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 September 2011 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: barnacles was in a great location! they provided bread, juice and coffee for breakfast...basic, but hey its free!!

Disliked: there was free wifi, but they charged if you wanted to use one of their computers. can't remember the price, but it was cheaper if you have your student card to go to the internet cafe just down the street (on you way to christ church cathedral).

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Michael Hogg

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 August 2011 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome location, right in the midst of Temple bar and only a few minutes walk to other key areas.

Disliked: The bunch of 30 odd French brats on school trip. Really killed any form of traveller atmosphere. Not cool. Tiny rooms.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very cheap and reasonably clean, (A mixed doorm of 10 people with one bathroom means it can't be sparkly but it was alright) the staff were lovely and helpful and the location was great.

Disliked: It was not the hostel's fault really, but there was someone in our room who smelled terrible, and someone else who snored like he had a small animal stuck up his throat. The room was very small and our bunk bed was a bit far from the window which wouldn't have mattered that much except for these people. It was very noisy outside cause it's right in the middle of Temple Bar and people were partying until 6, which I think is great haha but for some people it might be horribly annoying. So If you're looking for cheap accomodation and are not too precious about space and are willing to put up with these kind of inconveniences if they happen then it's a good budget place to stay.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Damien Day

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 July 2011 Damien would recommend this property

Liked: great location

Disliked: quietest common room i've ever seen

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

14 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location and cleaness

Disliked: no

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was awesome! Staff were friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Nothing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great central location

Disliked: No cereal for breakfast

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very central, in the hearth of Dublin nightlife. Clean room and nice staff, always kind and helpful.

Disliked: Noisy night&day, don't you forget ear plugs if you want to sleep!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Wilkins

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2011 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: It's location and ease of getting around.

Disliked: Nothing

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Daniel Rua

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

07 June 2011

Liked: Location.

Disliked: No facilities in the room. Very small space.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

colin macarthur

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

01 June 2011 colin would recommend this property

Liked: handy for the busy temple bar area

Disliked: busy kitchen

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

31 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location for a night out in Dublin, clean and comfortable and very helpful staff.

Disliked: N/A

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brendan Amer

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2011 Brendan would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, very clean and modern. Very friendly staff and great facilities. Honestly the best hostel I have been to in Europe!

Disliked: Nothing, was a great hostel. The only possible thing was the lack of variety for the free breakfast (but that is to be expected).

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: ALL

Disliked: It was very good.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

beverley arkle

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

16 May 2011 beverley would recommend this property

Liked: Comfy beds, Central location and very helpful staff who all looked like they enjoyed their jobs. Overbooked shuttle bus,but Barnacles gave us the difference in price when taxi had to be booked so we were not out of pocket. Nice touch.

Disliked: nothing to dislike

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rob Weber

With friends / other travellers

City break

10 May 2011 Rob would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: alcohol policy

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Teagan Lewis

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

04 May 2011 Teagan would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, bed made for you, bathrooms were the cleanest I've ever seen in a hostel, breakfast was well set up and the kitchen had loads of space and everything you needed. TV/common room was so nice and comfy and bright with lots of natural light. It was in the BEST spot - you couldn't get closer to Temple bar than this, right in the middle of it.

Disliked: There was nothing I disliked. There was no hot water one morning but we were leaving left so didnt report it or see what was done about it

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Tobias Ehrler

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 May 2011 Tobias would recommend this property

Liked: The place has a great location - if you want to party it's right in Temple Bar but it's also close all the famous sights. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Bathroom, kitchen and common room were all clean and tidy. One useful thing in a party city like Dublin is that segments of corridor are separated by fire doors. Like that even if one part is noisy late at night it will not bother you elsewhere down the corridor.

Disliked: Internet it only free for 15 minutes and the wifi area is very limited. In a city like Dublin I would have expected a bit more. The place is down a little lane just off the main thoroughfare and if you're not already familiar with the area may be a little difficult to find.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

25 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location was great! And the staff was very helpful!

Disliked: there was nothing to dislike about this place

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MARK JAMES TAYLOR

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

18 April 2011 MARK JAMES would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: all fine

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

22 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing location. Was a bit noisy though on the street below.

Disliked: Mixed bed of 4 was a tiny tiny room. Breakfast was only toast. It cost money to store our bags after check out.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Friendly staff.

Disliked: Very small breakfast, and very small bathrooms.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

chris mcgrath

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 March 2011 chris would recommend this property

Liked: On prevoius trips to Dublin since 1997 (we come over every 2 years for the rugby International) we (usually about 25 of us) have always stayed in four courts hostel, very kindly organised initially by the friendly & very helpful chap with the goatee beard & pony tail who now works @ Barnacles (sorry cant remember his name). We had always had a great stay there & hadnt reason to change. However 2 of our party . 1 being me booked late & there was no room @ four courts so i managed to get in @ Barnacles. Barnacles is the place for us in future. That is certainly no slur on Four Courts however the location secures it. Hopefully we will see you all in 2 years & keep up the great work.

Disliked: I'm not going to say I dislike the reception , a better word would be cozy ! I know how difficult it is for the staff to work in such a small reception area with bodies coming & going & I know space is @ a premium in any city .


See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels