HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels

Reviews of Barnacles Temple Bar House Hostel

Hostel | 19 Temple Lane South, Dublin, Ireland Dublin 2

88.2% Overall Rating

238 out of 258 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/07/2014)

"The location was excellent! Walking distance to great pubs and to the Main Street where you can get public transport. The room was on the small side but the beds were comfy and there was a place to lock up your…"

Read all Barnacles Temple Bar House Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.34
  • Towel USD 2.02

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dublin

The Mercantile Hotel
39.84 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Temple Bar Apartments
47.02 USD

Apartment 78.1% 3 reviews
Dublin Citi Hotel
73.21 USD

Hotel 2 star 88.5% 40 reviews
The Apache Hostel At Temple Bar
13.43 USD

Hostel 66.1% 143 reviews
Oliver St.John Gogarty
16.12 USD

Hostel 84.6% 98 reviews
Abigails Hostel
16.12 USD

Hostel 89.6% 1370 reviews
Bridge House
28.55 USD

Guesthouse 75.2% 36 reviews
Brooks Hotel
100.08 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.2%

Overall Rating

238 out of 258 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Barnacles Temple Bar House Hostel'

Atmosphere
83.2%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
81.6%
Cleanliness
84.8%
Staff
90.4%
Value
88.0%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 202 of 245 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MARK JAMES TAYLOR

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

18 April 2011 MARK JAMES would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: all fine

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

22 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing location. Was a bit noisy though on the street below.

Disliked: Mixed bed of 4 was a tiny tiny room. Breakfast was only toast. It cost money to store our bags after check out.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Friendly staff.

Disliked: Very small breakfast, and very small bathrooms.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

chris mcgrath

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 March 2011 chris would recommend this property

Liked: On prevoius trips to Dublin since 1997 (we come over every 2 years for the rugby International) we (usually about 25 of us) have always stayed in four courts hostel, very kindly organised initially by the friendly & very helpful chap with the goatee beard & pony tail who now works @ Barnacles (sorry cant remember his name). We had always had a great stay there & hadnt reason to change. However 2 of our party . 1 being me booked late & there was no room @ four courts so i managed to get in @ Barnacles. Barnacles is the place for us in future. That is certainly no slur on Four Courts however the location secures it. Hopefully we will see you all in 2 years & keep up the great work.

Disliked: I'm not going to say I dislike the reception , a better word would be cozy ! I know how difficult it is for the staff to work in such a small reception area with bodies coming & going & I know space is @ a premium in any city .

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Lauren Novak

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals

19 March 2011 Lauren would recommend this property

Liked: excellent location right in the middle of temple bar, friendly staff, decent water pressure in the shower

Disliked: no bar to gather/meet others, cold water in the morning if you don't shower early, only toast for breakfast no cereal or anything else

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 March 2011

Liked: Hostel is in then center of Dublin.

Disliked: It was very laugh at nigth. Temple Bar is just next to the hostel and I heard noise from the street all night long. Breakfast was just toast and jams.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Brilliant location

Disliked: Fire alarm went off several times during nighttime

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

05 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Regularly cleaned and well heated!

Disliked: The directions were not accurate on your website but the people in Dublin are very friendly and eager to helop with directions

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

01 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was colorful and comfortable. great mattress. the staff were really friendly

Disliked: temple bar area can get loud at night but earplugs do the trick

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I only stayed here 4 hours... but honestly i got the best service you can get in 4 hours. Special thanks to Craig. :)

Disliked: -nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

17 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and helpful staff.

Disliked: There was nothing I disliked.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

13 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Many thanks to Ivan, who organized the Pup Crawl!!! Everything was all right...;)

Disliked: No idea!?

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

05 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's close to main attractions, friendly and clean.

Disliked: Kitchen can be improved

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good beds/rooms, clean. great location and friendly staff.

Disliked: interent doesnt reach rooms. Common room is too quiet because there is no music playing and everyone is on their computers using the internet... need to change it from feeling like a library.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly/helpful staff, extremely ideal location, great value, awesome people, everything you expect from a 5-star hostel

Disliked: Nothing, extremely pleased :)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Giuseppe Maria D'Aucelli

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

07 January 2011 Giuseppe Maria would recommend this property

Liked: Everything perfect, I've had a wonderful time at Barnacles'. Located in the central area of Temple bar, crawling with irish culture and folklore... what else would you need? Thank you!

Disliked: Nothing, really.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

01 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is just awsome. I met great people there, had a lot of fun, no problems on sleeping time, and the people who works there are also so nice. Super clean, big kitchen, great information service, awsome location, everything was really good! I'd recommend for sure to other guests.

Disliked: The one thing i think people would dislike is the noise between 3 and 5 am. Since the hostel has a great location, around some of the best pubs in Dublin, it's a lot of drunk people making noise just above your window, but anyway, once i sleep i dont wake up, so it was not a problem for me. If you go to Dublin to have fun, that's the best place for sure, but if you go there and you have to sleep early everynight, maybe its not the best place.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good hostel

Disliked: room was a little bit small

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really friendly and they even put on a free Christmas dinner for all the guests staying there! The location was AMAZING! Right in the middle of the Temple Bar area.

Disliked: The rooms were a bit small and there wasnt much room to put baggage.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kaitlin O'Neal

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

23 December 2010 Kaitlin would recommend this property

Liked: Loved how clean it was and the great staff. Also enjoyed that you had hot water for the showers and a perfect location

Disliked: Pillows were bad. Somewhat cold in building.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central location and was very easy to access from the airport. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: the locker cages under the beds were not well aligned to the locks.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jaclyn Bigler

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

13 December 2010 Jaclyn would recommend this property

Liked: You can't beat the location at Barnacles, as it is directly in the heart of Temple Bar. The staff was very friendly and knowledgeable. They offer an aiport pick up shuttle for only 7 Euros and collects you right outside the hostel door! The place is very secure and they make sure no outsiders are allowed in. I was also surprised at how quiet the room was considering all the bars that surround the place.

Disliked: Only bummer was that there was no elevator and we stayed on the very top floor.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alice Allick

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 December 2010 Alice would recommend this property

Liked: The location is insane and the people working are very helpful in terms of giving recommendations, directions, etc. The beds are super comfortable as well and it's nice to have an individual shower for the 6 person room

Disliked: The only complaint I had was that the Pub Crawl wasn't worth the money, it's not like the other ones we've gone on where you get a beer or a shot where you go, they just pretty much take you to the bars

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The best place to saty in Dublin and Galway.. I have to come back soon!!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Charlie Saunders

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

29 November 2010 Charlie would recommend this property

Liked: I loved everything about barnacles. its in a prime location for everything you want to do in dublin and it takes the longest 2mins walk home after a mad night in temple bar. the common areas are perfect for meeting people and everyone was super friendly and chillin. i will definately be staying there again.

Disliked: i disliked nothing.


See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels