We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels

Reviews of Barnacles Temple Bar House Hostel

Hostel | 19 Temple Lane South, Dublin, Ireland Dublin 2

90.1% Overall Rating

248 out of 269 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/09/2014)

Luke Hardy thinks…

"The facilities were great, as a first time stayer in a hostel i was pleasantly surprised!"

Read all Barnacles Temple Bar House Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.27
  • Towel USD 1.90

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dublin

The Mercantile Hotel
27.40 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Temple Bar Apartments
47.44 USD

Apartment 78.1% 3 reviews
Dublin Citi Hotel
41.11 USD

Hotel 2 star 88.5% 40 reviews
The Apache Hostel At Temple Bar
15.18 USD

Hostel 71.4% 151 reviews
Oliver St.John Gogarty
15.18 USD

Hostel 82.9% 101 reviews
Abigails Hostel
12.65 USD

Hostel 84.3% 1395 reviews
Bridge House
17.71 USD

Guesthouse 75.7% 38 reviews
Brooks Hotel
81.59 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.1%

Overall Rating

248 out of 269 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Barnacles Temple Bar House Hostel'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
87.2%
Staff
92.0%
Value
90.4%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 211 of 254 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

colin macarthur

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

01 June 2011 colin would recommend this property

Liked: handy for the busy temple bar area

Disliked: busy kitchen

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

31 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location for a night out in Dublin, clean and comfortable and very helpful staff.

Disliked: N/A

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brendan Amer

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2011 Brendan would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, very clean and modern. Very friendly staff and great facilities. Honestly the best hostel I have been to in Europe!

Disliked: Nothing, was a great hostel. The only possible thing was the lack of variety for the free breakfast (but that is to be expected).

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: ALL

Disliked: It was very good.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

beverley arkle

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

16 May 2011 beverley would recommend this property

Liked: Comfy beds, Central location and very helpful staff who all looked like they enjoyed their jobs. Overbooked shuttle bus,but Barnacles gave us the difference in price when taxi had to be booked so we were not out of pocket. Nice touch.

Disliked: nothing to dislike

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rob Weber

With friends / other travellers

City break

10 May 2011 Rob would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: alcohol policy

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Teagan Lewis

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

04 May 2011 Teagan would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, bed made for you, bathrooms were the cleanest I've ever seen in a hostel, breakfast was well set up and the kitchen had loads of space and everything you needed. TV/common room was so nice and comfy and bright with lots of natural light. It was in the BEST spot - you couldn't get closer to Temple bar than this, right in the middle of it.

Disliked: There was nothing I disliked. There was no hot water one morning but we were leaving left so didnt report it or see what was done about it

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Tobias Ehrler

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 May 2011 Tobias would recommend this property

Liked: The place has a great location - if you want to party it's right in Temple Bar but it's also close all the famous sights. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Bathroom, kitchen and common room were all clean and tidy. One useful thing in a party city like Dublin is that segments of corridor are separated by fire doors. Like that even if one part is noisy late at night it will not bother you elsewhere down the corridor.

Disliked: Internet it only free for 15 minutes and the wifi area is very limited. In a city like Dublin I would have expected a bit more. The place is down a little lane just off the main thoroughfare and if you're not already familiar with the area may be a little difficult to find.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

25 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location was great! And the staff was very helpful!

Disliked: there was nothing to dislike about this place

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MARK JAMES TAYLOR

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

18 April 2011 MARK JAMES would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: all fine

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

22 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing location. Was a bit noisy though on the street below.

Disliked: Mixed bed of 4 was a tiny tiny room. Breakfast was only toast. It cost money to store our bags after check out.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Friendly staff.

Disliked: Very small breakfast, and very small bathrooms.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

chris mcgrath

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 March 2011 chris would recommend this property

Liked: On prevoius trips to Dublin since 1997 (we come over every 2 years for the rugby International) we (usually about 25 of us) have always stayed in four courts hostel, very kindly organised initially by the friendly & very helpful chap with the goatee beard & pony tail who now works @ Barnacles (sorry cant remember his name). We had always had a great stay there & hadnt reason to change. However 2 of our party . 1 being me booked late & there was no room @ four courts so i managed to get in @ Barnacles. Barnacles is the place for us in future. That is certainly no slur on Four Courts however the location secures it. Hopefully we will see you all in 2 years & keep up the great work.

Disliked: I'm not going to say I dislike the reception , a better word would be cozy ! I know how difficult it is for the staff to work in such a small reception area with bodies coming & going & I know space is @ a premium in any city .

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Lauren Novak

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals

19 March 2011 Lauren would recommend this property

Liked: excellent location right in the middle of temple bar, friendly staff, decent water pressure in the shower

Disliked: no bar to gather/meet others, cold water in the morning if you don't shower early, only toast for breakfast no cereal or anything else

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 March 2011

Liked: Hostel is in then center of Dublin.

Disliked: It was very laugh at nigth. Temple Bar is just next to the hostel and I heard noise from the street all night long. Breakfast was just toast and jams.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Brilliant location

Disliked: Fire alarm went off several times during nighttime

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

05 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Regularly cleaned and well heated!

Disliked: The directions were not accurate on your website but the people in Dublin are very friendly and eager to helop with directions

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

01 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was colorful and comfortable. great mattress. the staff were really friendly

Disliked: temple bar area can get loud at night but earplugs do the trick

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I only stayed here 4 hours... but honestly i got the best service you can get in 4 hours. Special thanks to Craig. :)

Disliked: -nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

17 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and helpful staff.

Disliked: There was nothing I disliked.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

13 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Many thanks to Ivan, who organized the Pup Crawl!!! Everything was all right...;)

Disliked: No idea!?

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

05 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's close to main attractions, friendly and clean.

Disliked: Kitchen can be improved

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good beds/rooms, clean. great location and friendly staff.

Disliked: interent doesnt reach rooms. Common room is too quiet because there is no music playing and everyone is on their computers using the internet... need to change it from feeling like a library.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly/helpful staff, extremely ideal location, great value, awesome people, everything you expect from a 5-star hostel

Disliked: Nothing, extremely pleased :)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Giuseppe Maria D'Aucelli

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

07 January 2011 Giuseppe Maria would recommend this property

Liked: Everything perfect, I've had a wonderful time at Barnacles'. Located in the central area of Temple bar, crawling with irish culture and folklore... what else would you need? Thank you!

Disliked: Nothing, really.


See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels