HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels

Reviews of Barnacles Temple Bar House Hostel

Hostel | 19 Temple Lane South, Dublin, Ireland Dublin 2

88.2% Overall Rating

238 out of 258 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/07/2014)

"The location was excellent! Walking distance to great pubs and to the Main Street where you can get public transport. The room was on the small side but the beds were comfy and there was a place to lock up your…"

Read all Barnacles Temple Bar House Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.35
  • Towel USD 2.02

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dublin

The Mercantile Hotel
35.45 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Temple Bar Apartments
47.13 USD

Apartment 78.1% 3 reviews
Dublin Citi Hotel
73.38 USD

Hotel 2 star 88.5% 40 reviews
The Apache Hostel At Temple Bar
16.16 USD

Hostel 66.1% 143 reviews
Oliver St.John Gogarty
16.16 USD

Hostel 84.6% 98 reviews
Abigails Hostel
16.16 USD

Hostel 88.8% 1368 reviews
Bridge House
28.61 USD

Guesthouse 75.2% 36 reviews
Brooks Hotel
100.31 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.2%

Overall Rating

238 out of 258 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Barnacles Temple Bar House Hostel'

Atmosphere
83.2%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
81.6%
Cleanliness
84.8%
Staff
90.4%
Value
88.0%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 202 of 245 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

19 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff, nice atmosphere, great location. All round decent and honest sort of place.

Disliked: Nothing.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Stephanie Rodriguez

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 January 2013 Stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: it was nice to stay there, its has a perfect location, the staff is nice

Disliked: its not clean enough

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: awesome

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Andrea Chong

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

08 January 2013 Andrea would recommend this property

Liked: Convenient location to Dublin city centre. Nice Irish restaurants around the area. Near the station which has the bus service that goes to the airport.

Disliked: Was very noisy as it was situated right at temple bar. Some of the residents were very rowdy and disturbed our rest at night by constantly banging on the door and shouting within the building.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Craig Sauer

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 November 2012 Craig would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was very friendly and knowledgable of the surrounding area. The breakfast in the morning consisted of toast and coffee/tea or juice. It was just enough to keep you satisfied for the morning. The location was great - right in the temple bar area.

Disliked: Craig left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gillian McMurray

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 November 2012 Gillian would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely helpful and enthusiastic staff, great location, clean rooms, free wifi. Would absolutely reccomend this anyone traveling through Dublin.

Disliked: Gillian left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, everything you could need. Book here.

Disliked: Nothing!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Liam Reynolds

Alone

City break

16 October 2012 Liam would recommend this property

Liked: The location was excellent, staff were very efficient no waiting around

Disliked: the lockers in the bed rooms are not very secure!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I had a stellar experience at the hostel. The staff are super friendly and helpfull, and the pubcrawl was an absolute success.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kulli Tooming

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

11 July 2012 Kulli would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, comfortable place to stay when in Dublin. It was my first stay in hostels and I was pleasantly surprised. Thank you!

Disliked: Nothing really.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

rhuin mitchell

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

11 July 2012 rhuin would recommend this property

Liked: balcony and location relaxed staff and feeeling

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location (right in the Temple bar area), good staff, very safe and clean.

Disliked: We had a roommate that came back to the room drunk at 4am and wouldn't be quiet. That's not the hostel's fault, but if you don't want to take your chances with a roommate you don't know, book the entire room (spring for a vacant bed or two).

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great!! Close to everything in the City Centre, right beside some great bars and shops. There was free breakfast in the morning, which was just toast and coffee, but better then nothing! And we really felt safe here, having swipe cards to access the stairs to the rooms, and also to actually get in our rooms. The front desk helped us with all of our questions, and they were also helpful in taking my extremely overweight bag up to our room. We had a really great time here!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brendan Doherty

Alone

City break

29 May 2012 Brendan would recommend this property

Liked: When looking for a place to stay in Dublin, to be honest, I took the first place that came along and noted a couple of slightly bad comments on this place. Well, I have to say the 3 staff I dealt with were brilliant,very very helpful. The cleanliness was excellent and the location couldn't have been better. I'll definitly stay there next time I'm in Dublin. 10 out of 10.

Disliked: Seemed to be no private rooms available

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed at Barnacles for one night in a 4 bed room. The room size was adequate and there was a bathroom ensuit. It is a great location if you are going to enjoy the entertainment options in Temple Bar. I thought the price was fair for what I got.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Regina Vitale

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2012 Regina would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the location. It was easy to find and pretty much everyone knew where is was so I never got lost. If you don't like sleeping around an incredible amount of nightlife it's a bit loud but I was right at home. The breakfast was good.

Disliked: The night staff was pretty much useless. They were there and pressed a button but if you want to actually know anything about Dublin ask the day staff. The floors were sticky and my toilet only flushed after about 6 tries. All in all though not terrible.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, walking distance to everything in the city centre, no need for taxis etc. Very cheap rates for the location and close to car parks if you are parking overnight.

Disliked: The fire alarm going off in the room to get you to check out....more an admiration than a dislike to be honest. Ingenious, we were out in 5 minutes flat after that went off!!! They should copyright it!! (Obviously not fun at the time but in retrospect....!!!)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Flora Macnabb

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2012 Flora would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing location. Good sized rooms.

Disliked: The staff location and value for money

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emily Fishman

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 April 2012 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay, especially for students! Everything was clean and the staff was very very helpful. They knew absolutely everything! I couldn't come up with a single question they couldn't answer!

Disliked: Breakfast wasn't so great--I'm pretty sure they only had bread and all the bread was gone by the time I got to the kitchen. There is a nice cafe right next door, however, that has good breakfast.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

16 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: was in a great location, within walking distance of everywhere we wanted to go. also quite a good place to meet people.

Disliked: the rooms were very very cramped and there was only one bathroom for 8 people, which was a bit annoying. shower was broken, wifi didn't really work for most of the time and the staff weren't all that helpful but not horrible. all in all what could be a great hostel was just an average hostel.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location was great. Staff was helpful with directions

Disliked: none

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

abigail christopher

With friends / other travellers

City break

29 March 2012 abigail would recommend this property

Liked: fantastic location

Disliked: lack of space in the dorms. Bit crowded when there are all of you in the dorm.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dinka Barbic

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2012 Dinka would recommend this property

Liked: Great location!! Very clean, great staff!

Disliked: Dinka left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals

18 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the location, the receptionists were really friendly and were giving out free whiskey shots as it was paddysday weekend!!

Disliked: If you don't mind the noise, then this is a good place to stay. But you do hear all the pub noise in your room quite loudly.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

08 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: What didn't I like about this property? No seriously, the staff were really nice and helpful; the common areas were massive and the free wifi was fast. The beds were sturdy and I loved that we had little reading lights for each one. Breakfast was basic but free and plentiful so no complaints at all.

Disliked: Literally the only thing I disliked was that the overhead lights in the room were a little dim. That's it.


See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels