HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels

Reviews of Barnacles Temple Bar House Hostel

Hostel | 19 Temple Lane South, Dublin, Ireland Dublin 2

89.7% Overall Rating

247 out of 268 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/09/2014)

Luke Hardy thinks…

"The facilities were great, as a first time stayer in a hostel i was pleasantly surprised!"

Read all Barnacles Temple Bar House Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.27
  • Towel USD 1.90

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dublin

The Mercantile Hotel
37.52 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Temple Bar Apartments
37.95 USD

Apartment 78.1% 3 reviews
Dublin Citi Hotel
43.64 USD

Hotel 2 star 88.5% 40 reviews
The Apache Hostel At Temple Bar
15.18 USD

Hostel 71.4% 151 reviews
Oliver St.John Gogarty
15.18 USD

Hostel 82.9% 101 reviews
Abigails Hostel
12.65 USD

Hostel 83.3% 1394 reviews
Bridge House
21.51 USD

Guesthouse 76.1% 37 reviews
Brooks Hotel
100.57 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.7%

Overall Rating

247 out of 268 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Barnacles Temple Bar House Hostel'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
86.4%
Staff
92.0%
Value
90.4%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 210 of 253 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

21 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the common rooms - kitchen, living room, ... And yes it is in tge middle of temple bar so rather loud from the streets but my room had really good windows so that didn't matter. Our bathroom lookes like it is brand new!!

Disliked: Nothing really!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Felicity Holloway

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 April 2013 Felicity would recommend this property

Liked: clean and close to everything. Staff were friendly!

Disliked: 4 bed dorm is quite little and crammed!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Matthews

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 April 2013 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: Location was fantastic. Right in the heart of temple bar!

Disliked: Laura left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I was here for St Paddy's day! It was great hostel the staff were super nice and very security concious.

Disliked: nothing.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, luggage storage, availability of private rooms, friendly staff

Disliked: "breakfast" is just toast.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff Clean

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Katherine Lawrence

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

04 March 2013 Katherine would recommend this property

Liked: Proximintiey to everything, staff were really nice and helpful, rooms were nice too

Disliked: Katherine left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Eubanks

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 February 2013 John would recommend this property

Liked: Best hot shower and water pressure I've ever had in a hostel. Reading light and two electrical outlets per bed. Location fantastic. And though the bathroom floor got wet for lack of a shower curtain, they at least left a towel so you could dry it up. Good kitchen and good blanket to fight the cold. The place was pretty quiet since it's low season so I slept like a baby.

Disliked: I didn't really meet anybody, but I look a lot like the elephant man so I was just happy nobody stared. The wifi was a bit inconsistent but I didn't come to Dublin to use my computer. There were no real drawbacks to the place.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

19 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff, nice atmosphere, great location. All round decent and honest sort of place.

Disliked: Nothing.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Stephanie Rodriguez

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 January 2013 Stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: it was nice to stay there, its has a perfect location, the staff is nice

Disliked: its not clean enough

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: awesome

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Andrea Chong

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

08 January 2013 Andrea would recommend this property

Liked: Convenient location to Dublin city centre. Nice Irish restaurants around the area. Near the station which has the bus service that goes to the airport.

Disliked: Was very noisy as it was situated right at temple bar. Some of the residents were very rowdy and disturbed our rest at night by constantly banging on the door and shouting within the building.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Craig Sauer

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 November 2012 Craig would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was very friendly and knowledgable of the surrounding area. The breakfast in the morning consisted of toast and coffee/tea or juice. It was just enough to keep you satisfied for the morning. The location was great - right in the temple bar area.

Disliked: Craig left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gillian McMurray

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 November 2012 Gillian would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely helpful and enthusiastic staff, great location, clean rooms, free wifi. Would absolutely reccomend this anyone traveling through Dublin.

Disliked: Gillian left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, everything you could need. Book here.

Disliked: Nothing!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Liam Reynolds

Alone

City break

16 October 2012 Liam would recommend this property

Liked: The location was excellent, staff were very efficient no waiting around

Disliked: the lockers in the bed rooms are not very secure!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I had a stellar experience at the hostel. The staff are super friendly and helpfull, and the pubcrawl was an absolute success.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kulli Tooming

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

11 July 2012 Kulli would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, comfortable place to stay when in Dublin. It was my first stay in hostels and I was pleasantly surprised. Thank you!

Disliked: Nothing really.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

rhuin mitchell

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

11 July 2012 rhuin would recommend this property

Liked: balcony and location relaxed staff and feeeling

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location (right in the Temple bar area), good staff, very safe and clean.

Disliked: We had a roommate that came back to the room drunk at 4am and wouldn't be quiet. That's not the hostel's fault, but if you don't want to take your chances with a roommate you don't know, book the entire room (spring for a vacant bed or two).

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great!! Close to everything in the City Centre, right beside some great bars and shops. There was free breakfast in the morning, which was just toast and coffee, but better then nothing! And we really felt safe here, having swipe cards to access the stairs to the rooms, and also to actually get in our rooms. The front desk helped us with all of our questions, and they were also helpful in taking my extremely overweight bag up to our room. We had a really great time here!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brendan Doherty

Alone

City break

29 May 2012 Brendan would recommend this property

Liked: When looking for a place to stay in Dublin, to be honest, I took the first place that came along and noted a couple of slightly bad comments on this place. Well, I have to say the 3 staff I dealt with were brilliant,very very helpful. The cleanliness was excellent and the location couldn't have been better. I'll definitly stay there next time I'm in Dublin. 10 out of 10.

Disliked: Seemed to be no private rooms available

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed at Barnacles for one night in a 4 bed room. The room size was adequate and there was a bathroom ensuit. It is a great location if you are going to enjoy the entertainment options in Temple Bar. I thought the price was fair for what I got.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Regina Vitale

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2012 Regina would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the location. It was easy to find and pretty much everyone knew where is was so I never got lost. If you don't like sleeping around an incredible amount of nightlife it's a bit loud but I was right at home. The breakfast was good.

Disliked: The night staff was pretty much useless. They were there and pressed a button but if you want to actually know anything about Dublin ask the day staff. The floors were sticky and my toilet only flushed after about 6 tries. All in all though not terrible.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, walking distance to everything in the city centre, no need for taxis etc. Very cheap rates for the location and close to car parks if you are parking overnight.

Disliked: The fire alarm going off in the room to get you to check out....more an admiration than a dislike to be honest. Ingenious, we were out in 5 minutes flat after that went off!!! They should copyright it!! (Obviously not fun at the time but in retrospect....!!!)


See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels