HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels

Reviews of Barnacles Temple Bar House Hostel

Hostel | 19 Temple Lane South, Dublin, Ireland Dublin 2

86.4% Overall Rating

222 out of 240 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/04/2014)

Sandeep Madhav thinks…

"Excellent atmosphere in the common room, brilliant for drinking games. Great wifi that is free and the receptionist is hot!!"

Read all Barnacles Temple Bar House Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.38
  • Towel USD 2.07

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dublin

The Mercantile Hotel
31.79 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Temple Bar Apartments
48.38 USD

Apartment 78.1% 3 reviews
Dublin Citi Hotel
38.01 USD

Hotel 2 star 88.5% 40 reviews
The Apache Hostel At Temple Bar
13.82 USD

Hostel 58.4% 129 reviews
Oliver St.John Gogarty
16.59 USD

Hostel 84.5% 97 reviews
Abigails Hostel
13.82 USD

Hostel 94.2% 1339 reviews
Bridge House
23.50 USD

Guesthouse 77.0% 30 reviews
Brooks Hotel
207.33 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.4%

Overall Rating

222 out of 240 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Barnacles Temple Bar House Hostel'

Atmosphere
82.4%
Location
98.4%
Facilities
76.8%
Cleanliness
80.8%
Staff
93.6%
Value
84.0%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 189 of 228 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brendan Doherty

Alone

City break

29 May 2012 Brendan would recommend this property

Liked: When looking for a place to stay in Dublin, to be honest, I took the first place that came along and noted a couple of slightly bad comments on this place. Well, I have to say the 3 staff I dealt with were brilliant,very very helpful. The cleanliness was excellent and the location couldn't have been better. I'll definitly stay there next time I'm in Dublin. 10 out of 10.

Disliked: Seemed to be no private rooms available

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed at Barnacles for one night in a 4 bed room. The room size was adequate and there was a bathroom ensuit. It is a great location if you are going to enjoy the entertainment options in Temple Bar. I thought the price was fair for what I got.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Regina Vitale

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2012 Regina would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the location. It was easy to find and pretty much everyone knew where is was so I never got lost. If you don't like sleeping around an incredible amount of nightlife it's a bit loud but I was right at home. The breakfast was good.

Disliked: The night staff was pretty much useless. They were there and pressed a button but if you want to actually know anything about Dublin ask the day staff. The floors were sticky and my toilet only flushed after about 6 tries. All in all though not terrible.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, walking distance to everything in the city centre, no need for taxis etc. Very cheap rates for the location and close to car parks if you are parking overnight.

Disliked: The fire alarm going off in the room to get you to check out....more an admiration than a dislike to be honest. Ingenious, we were out in 5 minutes flat after that went off!!! They should copyright it!! (Obviously not fun at the time but in retrospect....!!!)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Flora Macnabb

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2012 Flora would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing location. Good sized rooms.

Disliked: The staff location and value for money

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emily Fishman

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 April 2012 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay, especially for students! Everything was clean and the staff was very very helpful. They knew absolutely everything! I couldn't come up with a single question they couldn't answer!

Disliked: Breakfast wasn't so great--I'm pretty sure they only had bread and all the bread was gone by the time I got to the kitchen. There is a nice cafe right next door, however, that has good breakfast.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

16 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: was in a great location, within walking distance of everywhere we wanted to go. also quite a good place to meet people.

Disliked: the rooms were very very cramped and there was only one bathroom for 8 people, which was a bit annoying. shower was broken, wifi didn't really work for most of the time and the staff weren't all that helpful but not horrible. all in all what could be a great hostel was just an average hostel.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location was great. Staff was helpful with directions

Disliked: none

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

abigail christopher

With friends / other travellers

City break

29 March 2012 abigail would recommend this property

Liked: fantastic location

Disliked: lack of space in the dorms. Bit crowded when there are all of you in the dorm.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dinka Barbic

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2012 Dinka would recommend this property

Liked: Great location!! Very clean, great staff!

Disliked: Dinka left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals

18 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the location, the receptionists were really friendly and were giving out free whiskey shots as it was paddysday weekend!!

Disliked: If you don't mind the noise, then this is a good place to stay. But you do hear all the pub noise in your room quite loudly.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

08 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: What didn't I like about this property? No seriously, the staff were really nice and helpful; the common areas were massive and the free wifi was fast. The beds were sturdy and I loved that we had little reading lights for each one. Breakfast was basic but free and plentiful so no complaints at all.

Disliked: Literally the only thing I disliked was that the overhead lights in the room were a little dim. That's it.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

10 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location and very friendly and helpful staff!

Disliked: Very noisy at night so tough to sleep without a few beers in you!!!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dymphna O'Toole

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 December 2011 Dymphna would recommend this property

Liked: staff were very helpful, there is a lovely atmosphere in the hostel... location ideal!!

Disliked: Dymphna left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Thadeu Cabral

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 November 2011

Liked: I dont like nothing, maybe who waana go only to drink will like

Disliked: Isnt clean, the staff is not helpful... The bathroom is too small that i cant take a shower The bedroom is small too and dirty

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Wandena Knutson

With friends / other travellers

City break

14 November 2011 Wandena would recommend this property

Liked: Location was perfect if you want to be in the middle of partyarea.

Disliked: Some staff were not so helpful.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

28 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It has a really good location. It is located just next to the Temple bar. And it is a nice place to stay.

Disliked: The water in the shower wasn't warm enough.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sandra Stueber

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 October 2011 Sandra would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, the rooms are not huge but the beds are really comfy and there is an ensuite bathroom in every dorm. Good security

Disliked: no public washrooms

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jennifer Ferguson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 September 2011 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: barnacles was in a great location! they provided bread, juice and coffee for breakfast...basic, but hey its free!!

Disliked: there was free wifi, but they charged if you wanted to use one of their computers. can't remember the price, but it was cheaper if you have your student card to go to the internet cafe just down the street (on you way to christ church cathedral).

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Michael Hogg

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 August 2011 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome location, right in the midst of Temple bar and only a few minutes walk to other key areas.

Disliked: The bunch of 30 odd French brats on school trip. Really killed any form of traveller atmosphere. Not cool. Tiny rooms.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very cheap and reasonably clean, (A mixed doorm of 10 people with one bathroom means it can't be sparkly but it was alright) the staff were lovely and helpful and the location was great.

Disliked: It was not the hostel's fault really, but there was someone in our room who smelled terrible, and someone else who snored like he had a small animal stuck up his throat. The room was very small and our bunk bed was a bit far from the window which wouldn't have mattered that much except for these people. It was very noisy outside cause it's right in the middle of Temple Bar and people were partying until 6, which I think is great haha but for some people it might be horribly annoying. So If you're looking for cheap accomodation and are not too precious about space and are willing to put up with these kind of inconveniences if they happen then it's a good budget place to stay.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Damien Day

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 July 2011 Damien would recommend this property

Liked: great location

Disliked: quietest common room i've ever seen

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

14 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location and cleaness

Disliked: no

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was awesome! Staff were friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Nothing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great central location

Disliked: No cereal for breakfast


See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels