HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Barnacles Temple Bar House Dublin

Hostel

19 Temple Lane, Temple Bar, Dublin 2, Dublin, Ireland

Atmosphere 88%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 86%

Location 98%

Safety 94%

Staff 93%

Value 86%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • PlayStation
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Shuttle Bus
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room 1.18USD
  • Towel 1.77USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 10:30

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 88%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 86%

Location 98%

Safety 94%

Staff 93%

Value 86%

Showing 21-30 of 131 reviews

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: The room was lovely and the bedding very clean and comfy. The breakfast was great and we loved the communal meal in the evening. The plug sockets and lights by each bed were great.

Disliked: There was an issue with our room which meant we could not get access the cages under the bunks which act as your locker and safe space. I think this is the only room where this is the case. But they knew this was an issue and I think we should have had a reduction for our room given this. The cages are a strange design - when our other room mates pulled theirs out they totally rock the bunk so its not possible to get your stuff out without disturbing people in bed.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It is located next to the Temple Bar Pub, so literally in the center and heart of the Temple Bar area. Also very close to a Tesco and many other attractions like City Hall, O'Connell Street, the Liffey, Dublin Castle, Trinity College and so on. Staff is very friendly and helpful. The breakfast is free (just toast, jam, juice and tea but enough as you don't have to pay for it.) We stayed in a room including a private bathroom and it was quite clean for Irish standards. I have been to Dublin plenty of times and this was the cleanest bathroom I ever had.

Disliked: As many benefits it has to stay in Temple Bar area, don't forget that they come with a huge disatvantage: it was loud at night. It wasn't that bad after we had closed our windows and put earplugs in, but the people in the hall we're singng, yelling and talking way too loud. They did not respect their fellow travellers. The rooms were a bit too small.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: After travelling around for a month with my sister an staying in a number of hostels, this one was by far the best. The staff were so friendly and helpful. We didn't feel stupid asking questions and advice on what to do. The facilities were good and clean and it was really great that breakfast was provided.

Disliked: The only thing I could say I disliked was when the pubs outside would change their kegs at 5-6am in the morning, which was a little noisy. However this was not much of a problem because it provided us with a good alarm.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location!

Disliked: It was really warm in the room.

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Staff was really friendly. Good location for drinking (close to most major bars).

Disliked: Because it was right in the middle of the bar scene, it was really loud with the windows open. But windows needed to be open because the rooms got really warm. Breakfast was underwhelming.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Shopping

Liked: Staff are insanely helpful - always had a ton of suggestions on where to go and what to do, SO central, right in temple bar - main pub area and short walk to everything to see and all the pick up areas for tours, clean, good atmosphere - met tons of other travelers,

Disliked: wifi was a bit in and out at times but not a huge deal

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very good location in temple bar and next to shamrocker a office for bus tours. Staff is very nice and went out of their way to give me ideas. Took a nice day trip to Howth at his recommendation and was very pleased. Breakfast is toast and cereal but kitchen is nice and spacious and clean.

Disliked: It is very loud outside at night as temple bar the pub is literally right downstairs...but that's what you get for being right in temple bar. I still had a decent nights sleep.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Staff are outstanding. Very helpful and knowledgeable. Probably the best location in Dublin City centre. Comfortable beds

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Great staff, perfect location

Disliked: Walls are so thin it's like they aren't even there you can hear EVERYTHING and it kept me awake. Good place if you want to stay up and party all noght

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Very good location. Next to the famous "temple bar pub". Staff were very helpful.

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability