We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels

Reviews of Avalon House

Hostel | 55 Aungier Street, Dublin, Ireland Dublin 2

83.1% Overall Rating

967 out of 1069 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/09/2014)

"excellent location! very close to city centre/all amenities. also very helpful & friendly staff."

Read all Avalon House reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.26

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that guests under the age of 18 must be accompanied by an adult and cannot share dormitories. Check-in: 2pm. Check-out: 10am. Guests must show a valid form of photo ID to check in (passport, national ID, drivers license). All major credit cards accepted. Any cancellations must be made at least 24 hours in advance of the arrival date. Failure to do so will result in a charge of the price of the first nights stay. All bed linen provided free of charge. Towels for rent for 2 Euro.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dublin

Brooks Hotel
169.70 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
The Times Hostel - Camden Place
13.58 USD

Hostel 86.2% 597 reviews
Camden Deluxe Hotel
33.94 USD

Hotel 2 star 79.2% 24 reviews
Jackson Court Hotel
62.22 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 84.8% 119 reviews
Harrington Hall Hotel
169.70 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
The Apache Hostel At Temple Bar
11.31 USD

Hostel 73.8% 158 reviews
The Mercantile Hotel
29.79 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Dublin Citi Hotel
39.03 USD

Hotel 2 star 88.8% 41 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/02/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/02/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.1%

Overall Rating

967 out of 1069 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Avalon House'

Atmosphere
84.8%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
76.0%
Cleanliness
76.8%
Staff
86.4%
Value
82.4%
Safety
84.0%
Refine your results Showing 749 of 858 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 29 | 30   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Helen Walter

With friends / other travellers

City break

20 February 2015 Helen would recommend this property

Liked: STAFF WERE SO FRIENDLY AND QUICK TO HELP BREAKFAST INCLUDED

Disliked: Helen left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

17 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very reformated hostel, new and good organization.

Disliked: The shared bathroom had a vomite at first hour in the morning and the showers didn't hot water. The shower in the room had hot water but it took a lot of time to get hot and very little space in there. Expensive for the showers they have

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Linda Vuorenvirta

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

12 February 2015 Linda would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, excellent location right in the centre of the city.

Disliked: The bathroom was quite chilly and the shower was odd, you had to keep pressing the knob to get the water to keep flowing.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel, centrally located and easily reached by bus from the airport.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

15 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: excellent location! very close to city centre/all amenities. also very helpful & friendly staff.

Disliked: ---------------------

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Abhay Pant

Alone

Work / volunteering

13 September 2014 Abhay would recommend this property

Liked: This is a nice place to stay. The rooms are neat and clean. The people and staff are friendly. I would recommend the place and would really appreciate the first time experience.

Disliked: I had a good experience.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean and cheap. Lots of nice people.

Disliked: nil

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Patrick Bourgault

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2014 Patrick would recommend this property

Liked: Great location! Walking distance to all attraction, shops, museums and etc.

Disliked: Packet of cigarettes and $20US taken from my room. Considering I was in a single room I can only assume backpacker cleaning my room took items.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Carolyn Betts

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 August 2014 Carolyn would recommend this property

Liked: They had a cafe attached, which was nice if you missed breakfast.

Disliked: The rooms were small. There was barely any floor space for my stuff (plus eight other people) and I couldn't put it in my bed because I was on the top bunk. The bathroom was difficult to find. For two days I thought there was only one toilet on our side of the floor, but it turns out there were more up a few steps. Poorly labelled signs. The staff was rude, dismissive and generally unhelpful. I spoke with someone who was living/working there and he said that their towards him was similar and didn't change until he began working there.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great

Disliked: There are no separate toilets for men and women. The shower doesn't stay opened for more than 1 minute.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephen Hanlon

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

08 August 2014 Stephen would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great and it was definitely value for money.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly atmosphere and easy to navigate the property with a helpful staff.

Disliked: Nothing

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

31 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: .

Disliked: .

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

28 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location location location and beautiful old building. Well stocked kitchen

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Bashford

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

25 July 2014 John would recommend this property

Liked: You can have a private stay, even though it's a hostel. Great location.

Disliked: None

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Behling

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 July 2014 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: ./.

Disliked: only a few secure lockers for laptops and other personal things

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

09 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is nice , close to many restaurants and bar. Toilet and room are generally clean.

Disliked: I stayed next to the bathroom and there's noise when someone was taking shower, couldn't really sleep well for the whole night . Request for a late check out paying extra €5, couldn't get back to my room after noon, have to walk down to the reception barefeet and waited for 10 mins until its dealt with. I was staying in a triple room on my own and there's free towels .... Put the reception didn't notify me and still charged me €2 for renting a tower.... End Up having 4 towels in my room. :(

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and super helpful staff :)

Disliked: Building is quite old but them again so is whole Dublin

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mark Anson

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

01 July 2014 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: Avalon house is everything you expect a Hostel to be. Great value for money.

Disliked: Nothing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place. Good facilities. Good location.

Disliked: nothing negative

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

23 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly, secure, convenient

Disliked: capet needs a steam clean stains a bit off putting Might be better having a floors that can be washed after each client lieves

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Bartholomew Wright

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 June 2014 Bartholomew would recommend this property

Liked: In a nice location close to some attractions and not far from the city centre. The staff was super-friendly and enthusiastic to help. The rooms and facilities were very clean upon check-in and tidied each day. The breakfast was simple, but not bad, and the beds are decently comfortable. There's even a bicycle hire and free walking tours starting from the hostel itself.

Disliked: Small pillows

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Ricardo Santos

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

09 June 2014 Ricardo would recommend this property

Liked: good location, breakfast is ok however they have a coffee shop as well!!!!! it was ok for the price!!! very safe and they offer basically everything that you may need as a traveller!!! fully recomend it!!!!

Disliked: all good

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping

09 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean place!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

YONGHEE KAM

Alone

City break

08 June 2014 YONGHEE would recommend this property

Liked: I am already living in Ireland and i knew about this hostel before and they happened to have a single room at the most reasonable price that i can afford. Also personally prefer south area of Dublin city centre, I feel more safer than in North. Honestly, the room was very tiny but really clean.

Disliked: I stayed in just one night. So i didn't have that much time to run into some dislike things. Although... toilet and shower facilities were for both gender. I didn't have any problem but that was the only thing made me go 'what?' at the first time when i saw it.


See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels