HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels

Reviews of Avalon House

Hostel | 55 Aungier Street, Dublin, Ireland Dublin 2

89.5% Overall Rating

940 out of 1041 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/07/2014)

"The location is nice , close to many restaurants and bar. Toilet and room are generally clean."

Read all Avalon House reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.69

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dublin

Brooks Hotel
100.31 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
The Times Hostel - Camden Place
16.16 USD

Hostel 86.4% 591 reviews
Camden Deluxe Hotel
26.93 USD

Hotel 2 star 79.2% 24 reviews
Jackson Court Hotel
39.72 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 84.8% 119 reviews
Harrington Hall Hotel
201.97 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
The Apache Hostel At Temple Bar
16.16 USD

Hostel 66.1% 143 reviews
Camden Court Hotel
66.65 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
The Mercantile Hotel
35.45 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.5%

Overall Rating

940 out of 1041 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Avalon House'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
92.8%
Value
87.2%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 734 of 830 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 29 | 30   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Behling

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 July 2014 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: ./.

Disliked: only a few secure lockers for laptops and other personal things

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

09 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is nice , close to many restaurants and bar. Toilet and room are generally clean.

Disliked: I stayed next to the bathroom and there's noise when someone was taking shower, couldn't really sleep well for the whole night . Request for a late check out paying extra €5, couldn't get back to my room after noon, have to walk down to the reception barefeet and waited for 10 mins until its dealt with. I was staying in a triple room on my own and there's free towels .... Put the reception didn't notify me and still charged me €2 for renting a tower.... End Up having 4 towels in my room. :(

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and super helpful staff :)

Disliked: Building is quite old but them again so is whole Dublin

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mark Anson

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

01 July 2014 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: Avalon house is everything you expect a Hostel to be. Great value for money.

Disliked: Nothing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place. Good facilities. Good location.

Disliked: nothing negative

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

23 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly, secure, convenient

Disliked: capet needs a steam clean stains a bit off putting Might be better having a floors that can be washed after each client lieves

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Bartholomew Wright

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 June 2014 Bartholomew would recommend this property

Liked: In a nice location close to some attractions and not far from the city centre. The staff was super-friendly and enthusiastic to help. The rooms and facilities were very clean upon check-in and tidied each day. The breakfast was simple, but not bad, and the beds are decently comfortable. There's even a bicycle hire and free walking tours starting from the hostel itself.

Disliked: Small pillows

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Ricardo Santos

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

09 June 2014 Ricardo would recommend this property

Liked: good location, breakfast is ok however they have a coffee shop as well!!!!! it was ok for the price!!! very safe and they offer basically everything that you may need as a traveller!!! fully recomend it!!!!

Disliked: all good

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping

09 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean place!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

YONGHEE KAM

Alone

City break

08 June 2014 YONGHEE would recommend this property

Liked: I am already living in Ireland and i knew about this hostel before and they happened to have a single room at the most reasonable price that i can afford. Also personally prefer south area of Dublin city centre, I feel more safer than in North. Honestly, the room was very tiny but really clean.

Disliked: I stayed in just one night. So i didn't have that much time to run into some dislike things. Although... toilet and shower facilities were for both gender. I didn't have any problem but that was the only thing made me go 'what?' at the first time when i saw it.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lee Fuller

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

04 June 2014 Lee would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, 5 minute walk from the river and right near all the bars and restaurants. Very helpful staff, clean rooms and somewhere to lock your valuables. Would definately use again.

Disliked: Shower was a bit hot and couldn't adjust it.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

30 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location, nice free breakfast.

Disliked: Very noisy! walls are extremely thin so you can hear everything your neighbors say (and do). Also there was a very annoying noise comming out from the shower all day long but staff did not do anything about it even though we told them....

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

23 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great European atmosphere

Disliked: VERY hot in the room in morning time

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Raymond Fam

Alone

Work / volunteering

23 May 2014 Raymond would recommend this property

Liked: The old atmosphere

Disliked: It is really nice place

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

callum blackmore

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 May 2014 callum would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was expected and described.

Disliked: Nothing majorly

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staffs were helpful and friendly.

Disliked: Nothing much to dislike as i understood that it's a hostel accommodation.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

19 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Was an alright stay. Beds were a bit crammed in the room. Close to Temple Bar area.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Gareth Gronow

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

14 May 2014 Gareth would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, free walking tours.

Disliked: Bed's not comfortable, pillows can't be described as pillows, had to fold it in half just to get some height. Showers very poor, hot water tap on hand sink didn't work.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hannah Williams

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2014 Hannah would recommend this property

Liked: Had a 4 person private room and was perfect for our trip, clean, safe, secure and a prime location ! staff were really friendly aswell

Disliked: breakfast wasn't great we did end up getting breakfast out each morning

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Marina Bobetic

Alone

Work / volunteering

07 April 2014 Marina would recommend this property

Liked: Staff, location

Disliked: Rooms and toilets are a bit old but ok.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2014

Liked: Facilities

Disliked: Smell, bathroom, cleaniness of the hole hostel

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

25 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good athmosphere and the staff really helpful!! Guests can also store their luggages in a safe place if they don't like to leave them in the shared room.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Lindsey Wagner

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

19 March 2014 Lindsey would recommend this property

Liked: Great location with really friendly staff!

Disliked: The washrooms could have been a bit cleaner. However, I realize that we were there on what was likely one of the busiest weekends of the year (St. Patrick's Day) so it could have just been the high amount of traffic.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emily Muscroft

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 March 2014 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable beds, free breakfast

Disliked: Only one outlet for a 12 person dorm

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff.and their willingness to assist.

Disliked: No alarm clocks available.


See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels