We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels

Reviews of Avalon House

Hostel | 55 Aungier Street, Dublin, Ireland Dublin 2

86.4% Overall Rating

959 out of 1061 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/09/2014)

"excellent location! very close to city centre/all amenities. also very helpful & friendly staff."

Read all Avalon House reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.57

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dublin

Brooks Hotel
101.99 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
The Times Hostel - Camden Place
16.68 USD

Hostel 85.9% 595 reviews
Camden Deluxe Hotel
25.66 USD

Hotel 2 star 79.2% 24 reviews
Jackson Court Hotel
37.84 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 84.8% 119 reviews
Harrington Hall Hotel
192.43 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
The Apache Hostel At Temple Bar
12.83 USD

Hostel 70.7% 150 reviews
The Mercantile Hotel
42.33 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Dublin Citi Hotel
63.50 USD

Hotel 2 star 88.5% 40 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.4%

Overall Rating

959 out of 1061 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Avalon House'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
80.8%
Cleanliness
80.8%
Staff
90.4%
Value
86.4%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 745 of 850 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | … | 29 | 30   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice, fun atmosphere, thought of everything that a backpacker might need and excellent value for money.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tyler Paxton

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

16 July 2010 Tyler would recommend this property

Liked: great atmosphere...free breakfast...close to everything.

Disliked: Tyler left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

13 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff, a lot of free entertainment, good value for money

Disliked: our ensuite bathroom had some mold problems

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Kris Demey

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway

09 July 2010

Liked: It was smack in the centre of Dublin.

Disliked: At night it was incredibly noisy, there is a big round window in the door that leaks a bright light, whenever someone in the adjacent rooms opened their taps, it made a lot of noise. And finally, and this must be the first time ever that I've had to complain about this: the shower was just too hot.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

08 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Most of all, its central location.

Disliked: My room wasn't exactly clean, there was almost no furnitrue whatsoever. People were partying at 4:30 AM so I couldn't sleap.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kiri Addenbrooke

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

06 July 2010 Kiri would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, great atmosphere, very friendly and helpful staff - had a great weekend at the Avalon House

Disliked: -

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Robert Shields

As a family with children

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 July 2010 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: Hugh hostel with a lot to offer.

Disliked: Robert left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Eva Neergaard Madsen

Alone

Events / festivals

03 July 2010 Eva Neergaard would recommend this property

Liked: Location, clean, safe and cheap - The four most important things for me, were perfect.On top of that great facilities: Excellent kitchen, excellent café, laundry room and more.

Disliked: The rooms are seriously tiny, but then again I would never stay at a hostel if i expected to spend a lot of time in my room. A lamp by the bed would be nice though. The shower in my room was close to terrible, but it did the job.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really great hostel. Very professional, yet laid back. Staff is friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

valerie meunier

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2010 valerie would recommend this property

Liked: Loved all of it! Except beakfest.

Disliked: Breakfest was cheap stuff

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Jose Carlos Gomez Martin

23 June 2010 Jose Carlos would recommend this property

Liked: Pretty nice, clean, and confortable. Great location, staff was helpful and cheap!!

Disliked: Jose Carlos left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

23 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Upon my arrival the desk manager was rather rude when there was a problem with my credit card, though it was easily fixable he seemed annoyed that he was having to do anything at all. As a first impression, not so promising. After that how ever everything was awesome. Staff was helpful and easy to get along with. I dont really think the environment promotes meeting new people. With basically a TV and computers, everyone seemed to keep to themselves. All in all great stay. Would go back again.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

20 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very small shower stall

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hannah Malone

20 June 2010 Hannah would recommend this property

Liked: I absolutely LOVED Avalon House! I would recommend staying here to everyone! The hostel was easy to get to from the airport by following the directions give on the website. It was a five minute walk to main attractions and Temple Bar district. I also felt that the hostel was in a safe area. The hostel was really fun and had a great atmosphere. I met some amazing people while I stayed there. The rooms are small, but efficient. The beds are really clean and comfortable. The main bathrooms were always clean. There are lockers to store your suitcases or anything valuable. The hostel is also attached to a coffee shop called The Bald Barista which was FANTASTIC! The staff was very helpful and friendly. I absolutely loved staying at this hostel. Great atmosphere, great location, great staff.

Disliked: Hannah left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Guilherme Botelho Diniz Junqueira

17 June 2010 Guilherme would recommend this property

Liked: It was located near the the pubs and they have this environmental concern that is kind of cool.

Disliked: Guilherme left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Irina Milanova

15 June 2010 Irina would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, very friendly and helpfull staff, quiet place for good sleeping.

Disliked: Irina left no negative feedback.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

sverre gjørvad

11 June 2010

Liked: Nothing.A gready place.

Disliked: sverre left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Claudia Campli

09 June 2010

Liked: Location

Disliked: Claudia left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Nathália Vasconcelos

08 June 2010

Liked: only the services that they ofered to us were good, like the trips ok 1 day and the tour around dublin, and the pub graw. only that.the bederooms were horrible and the bathrooms to!!!

Disliked: Nathália left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Csatószegi Zsolt

04 June 2010 Csatószegi would recommend this property

Liked: It was enough good for 10 Eur/night. I hate only: if i started bathing it was run out of warm water in the bathroom ( the hostel using suncollectors), and everytime need to pushing button to get warm water.

Disliked: Csatószegi left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

02 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I did enjoy staing at the hostel - I just would have appreciatet, that the self-catering kitchen was open until 11 pm (instead of 10 pm).

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Vincent Swart

31 May 2010 Vincent would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, friendly people. Doubles are a bit small, but who needs space in a city like Dublin?

Disliked: Vincent left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

30 May 2010

Liked: This place has really great facilities and services available. The self-service kitchen is HUGE and there is tons of refrigerator and shelf space, along with cooking utensils, pots, pans, etc. There was free wi-fi and computer usage, also. The bathrooms and dorms were clean, although the dorms were quite small! This isn't the cozy hostel atmosphere since the hostel is so big, but to get so many amenities and a clean, safe, well-located hostel for a very fair price was fine with us!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

28 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cheap, secure, friendly, free internet

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

26 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everybody was helpful and very nice, and you can meet a lot of people, they help you even with the traveling issues, tours, busses, etc etc... i liked it very much

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels