HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels

Reviews of Avalon House

Hostel | 55 Aungier Street, Dublin, Ireland Dublin 2

80.3% Overall Rating

911 out of 1011 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/04/2014)

Hannah Williams thinks…

"Had a 4 person private room and was perfect for our trip, clean, safe, secure and a prime location ! staff were really friendly aswell"

Read all Avalon House reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.76

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dublin

Brooks Hotel
207.07 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
The Times Hostel - Camden Place
17.95 USD

Hostel 88.0% 586 reviews
Camden Deluxe Hotel
27.61 USD

Hotel 2 star 79.2% 24 reviews
Jackson Court Hotel
119.64 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 84.8% 119 reviews
Harrington Hall Hotel
207.07 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
The Apache Hostel At Temple Bar
13.80 USD

Hostel 58.4% 129 reviews
Camden Court Hotel
68.33 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
The Mercantile Hotel
29.90 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.3%

Overall Rating

911 out of 1011 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Avalon House'

Atmosphere
81.6%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
72.0%
Cleanliness
72.8%
Staff
84.8%
Value
80.0%
Safety
79.2%
Refine your results Showing 716 of 798 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | … | 28 | 29   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

22 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a great place to stay, very clean and the Bald Barista is awesome!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

22 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The best thing was that we had towles in our room :D

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

19 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: there was some issue with my booking, but i got upgrade to 4-bed ensuite for free, so i was not crying. breakfast is modest, but completely suited my morning needs. overall - pretty good.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Leigha Beck

12 May 2010 Leigha would recommend this property

Liked: Everyone was very kind and helpful. Service from staff was always available 24 hours if I needed anything. I always felt very safe and never worried about my things being stolen.

Disliked: Leigha left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

08 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoyed the location and the self catering kitchen. They also have loads of info on all the tours.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

kathy sheehan

07 May 2010 kathy would recommend this property

Liked: It was in a great location-staff was helpful and sweet. good price felt home here... will def. recommend + I am over 40 -yet felt very welcome as oppossed to the states-ie. California-where's my Botox ?? !!(SMILE)

Disliked: kathy left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

06 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

06 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was really good, it was clean and the staff was helpful and freindly.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

05 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it's one of the best hostel i have stayed in europe great value for money

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Brian Graham

22 April 2010 Brian would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliness of Owner and staff

Disliked: Brian left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

20 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Security side of things was great and there was plenty of access to the internet

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

11 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly central but a bit noisy

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

09 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: EXCELLENT! My favorite hostel so far. The staff is amazing. They helped find other people that were leaving for the airport at the same time as us, so we could split the cab fare. They are passionate about helping you find the right pub. You can watch movies. What more do you want?

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jean luc marmonier

08 April 2010 jean luc would recommend this property

Liked: The location is just excellent ! The staff at the reception are very friendly (thanks a lot Yohann).

Disliked: jean luc left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

07 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The free internet was nice!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

06 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It has a very fun and inviting environment, plus friendly staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

06 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was extremely local, very easy to get to and from with the airport bus directly outside and if you are into the night scene it is right around the corner from the infamous temple bar district which I totally recommend checking out.The guys at reception are very helpful although you kinda get the feeling that they have heard all of the questions a million times before and they probably have.I stayed on the 3rd floor which supposedly the internet didn't reach and I'm glad it did as downstairs everyone was trying to squeeze in on any seats to use their laptops. It has been the most lively of my hostels so far and a good opportunity to meet people I wish I had longer than one night there.The one down side is is that to do your laundry (and they sell everything you need at reception) is that you have to go through a very crowded cafe first so put your laundry in your backpack not a plastic bag and then it's downstairs under the cafe and through the tv room.Although on a main road and full of people I had no issues sleeping and I'm a light sleeper although that may have something to do with the fact that I had been in temple bar that night

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

05 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The lounge area, the kitchen and the pool tables etc were very cosy and cool - a fun place to hang out.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Vanessa Sala Roquet

04 April 2010 Vanessa would recommend this property

Liked: I think it could have had daily cleaning of the room. Moreover, there were some kids shouting and having loud music in the corridor at late hours of the night waking people up.

Disliked: Vanessa left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

02 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff. Enough to do (pool table, table tennis) if you have to wait for others.Free internet.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Matthew Skues

31 March 2010 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, staff and breakfast, only gripe was the variability in the temperature of the showers!

Disliked: Matthew left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

29 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i liked the location and the cute café that kinda belongs to the hostel... the bed was very comfy, too.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

john gerard mcinerney

29 March 2010 john gerard would recommend this property

Liked: Location, price, character, helpful staff.On the down side, the computers gave trouble constantly and the wifi was weak on the 4th floor - kept cutting out.

Disliked: john gerard left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Humberto Camilo Freiesleben

28 March 2010 Humberto Camilo would recommend this property

Liked: the concept is great and i would repeat any time

Disliked: Humberto Camilo left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

25 March 2010

Liked: Staff were friendly and helpful

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels