We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels

Reviews of Avalon House

Hostel | 55 Aungier Street, Dublin, Ireland Dublin 2

85.9% Overall Rating

976 out of 1078 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/04/2015)

"Everything was clearly organized, staff was really helpful. Whatever you wanted to see, you could walk to (most) sights."

Read all Avalon House reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.17

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that guests under the age of 18 must be accompanied by an adult and cannot share dormitories. Check-in: 2pm. Check-out: 10am. Guests must show a valid form of photo ID to check in (passport, national ID, drivers license). All major credit cards accepted. Any cancellations must be made at least 24 hours in advance of the arrival date. Failure to do so will result in a charge of the price of the first nights stay. All bed linen provided free of charge. Towels for rent for 2 Euro.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dublin

Brooks Hotel
163.08 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
The Times Hostel - Camden Place
11.96 USD

Hostel 85.3% 598 reviews
Camden Deluxe Hotel
21.74 USD

Hotel 2 star 79.2% 24 reviews
Jackson Court Hotel
59.80 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 84.8% 119 reviews
Harrington Hall Hotel
163.08 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
The Apache Hostel At Temple Bar
13.05 USD

Hostel 74.6% 161 reviews
The Mercantile Hotel
39.47 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Dublin Citi Hotel
48.38 USD

Hotel 2 star 88.3% 42 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.9%

Overall Rating

976 out of 1078 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Avalon House'

Atmosphere
83.2%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
79.2%
Cleanliness
80.0%
Staff
90.4%
Value
86.4%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 754 of 867 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | … | 30 | 31   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to find, on major bus route. Very helpful staff.

Disliked: Hard to meet people based on how the rooms are set up.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good Location & good price

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2010

Liked: Location was great; building had a lot of character.

Disliked: Staff was quite dismissive and not particularly knowledgable when we arrived. We also did not get the room we had reserved. All of the drains were clogged, the computer mouses didn't work very well. They charged for luggage storage. All little annoying things that, when combined, made our stay unpleasant.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Family Holiday
Shopping

26 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good base for city sightseeing

Disliked: nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Petra Eriksson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 July 2010 Petra would recommend this property

Liked: it was located nice. in the first seconds the staff was nice and welcoming. even at night when i locked myself out of the room.

Disliked: breakfast wasnt anything special. and the shower was weird but maybe its just about getting used to it. pauses pauses.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Belinda Ifie

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 July 2010 Belinda would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was exactly as described on the website.

Disliked: Belinda left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Lotte Twilt

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

19 July 2010 Lotte would recommend this property

Liked: Nice bar next to the hostel; It felt safe and secure. No outsight noices. very quiet during the night.

Disliked: The four chamberroom was very small. The showers were way too hot, most of the time. In room 310 the hallwaylight we shining into the room all night, so I couldn't sleep well.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

19 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Accessible Cafe and internet. Some of the receptionists were really nice. Met some wonderful people. 24/7. Lockers.

Disliked: Stepped on glass in my room.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were spacious.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice, fun atmosphere, thought of everything that a backpacker might need and excellent value for money.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tyler Paxton

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

16 July 2010 Tyler would recommend this property

Liked: great atmosphere...free breakfast...close to everything.

Disliked: Tyler left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

13 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff, a lot of free entertainment, good value for money

Disliked: our ensuite bathroom had some mold problems

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Kris Demey

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway

09 July 2010

Liked: It was smack in the centre of Dublin.

Disliked: At night it was incredibly noisy, there is a big round window in the door that leaks a bright light, whenever someone in the adjacent rooms opened their taps, it made a lot of noise. And finally, and this must be the first time ever that I've had to complain about this: the shower was just too hot.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

08 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Most of all, its central location.

Disliked: My room wasn't exactly clean, there was almost no furnitrue whatsoever. People were partying at 4:30 AM so I couldn't sleap.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kiri Addenbrooke

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

06 July 2010 Kiri would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, great atmosphere, very friendly and helpful staff - had a great weekend at the Avalon House

Disliked: -

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Robert Shields

As a family with children

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 July 2010 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: Hugh hostel with a lot to offer.

Disliked: Robert left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Eva Neergaard Madsen

Alone

Events / festivals

03 July 2010 Eva Neergaard would recommend this property

Liked: Location, clean, safe and cheap - The four most important things for me, were perfect.On top of that great facilities: Excellent kitchen, excellent café, laundry room and more.

Disliked: The rooms are seriously tiny, but then again I would never stay at a hostel if i expected to spend a lot of time in my room. A lamp by the bed would be nice though. The shower in my room was close to terrible, but it did the job.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really great hostel. Very professional, yet laid back. Staff is friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

valerie meunier

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2010 valerie would recommend this property

Liked: Loved all of it! Except beakfest.

Disliked: Breakfest was cheap stuff

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Jose Carlos Gomez Martin

23 June 2010 Jose Carlos would recommend this property

Liked: Pretty nice, clean, and confortable. Great location, staff was helpful and cheap!!

Disliked: Jose Carlos left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

23 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Upon my arrival the desk manager was rather rude when there was a problem with my credit card, though it was easily fixable he seemed annoyed that he was having to do anything at all. As a first impression, not so promising. After that how ever everything was awesome. Staff was helpful and easy to get along with. I dont really think the environment promotes meeting new people. With basically a TV and computers, everyone seemed to keep to themselves. All in all great stay. Would go back again.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

20 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very small shower stall

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hannah Malone

20 June 2010 Hannah would recommend this property

Liked: I absolutely LOVED Avalon House! I would recommend staying here to everyone! The hostel was easy to get to from the airport by following the directions give on the website. It was a five minute walk to main attractions and Temple Bar district. I also felt that the hostel was in a safe area. The hostel was really fun and had a great atmosphere. I met some amazing people while I stayed there. The rooms are small, but efficient. The beds are really clean and comfortable. The main bathrooms were always clean. There are lockers to store your suitcases or anything valuable. The hostel is also attached to a coffee shop called The Bald Barista which was FANTASTIC! The staff was very helpful and friendly. I absolutely loved staying at this hostel. Great atmosphere, great location, great staff.

Disliked: Hannah left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Guilherme Botelho Diniz Junqueira

17 June 2010 Guilherme would recommend this property

Liked: It was located near the the pubs and they have this environmental concern that is kind of cool.

Disliked: Guilherme left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Irina Milanova

15 June 2010 Irina would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, very friendly and helpfull staff, quiet place for good sleeping.

Disliked: Irina left no negative feedback.


See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels