HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels

Reviews of Avalon House

Hostel | 55 Aungier Street, Dublin, Ireland Dublin 2

89.1% Overall Rating

944 out of 1045 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/07/2014)

"The location is nice , close to many restaurants and bar. Toilet and room are generally clean."

Read all Avalon House reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.68

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dublin

Brooks Hotel
99.76 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
The Times Hostel - Camden Place
17.41 USD

Hostel 86.4% 591 reviews
Camden Deluxe Hotel
26.78 USD

Hotel 2 star 79.2% 24 reviews
Jackson Court Hotel
39.50 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 84.8% 119 reviews
Harrington Hall Hotel
200.86 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
The Apache Hostel At Temple Bar
13.39 USD

Hostel 66.1% 143 reviews
The Mercantile Hotel
57.58 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Dublin Citi Hotel
86.37 USD

Hotel 2 star 88.5% 40 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.1%

Overall Rating

944 out of 1045 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Avalon House'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
88.8%
Staff
91.2%
Value
88.8%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 737 of 834 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | … | 29 | 30   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really great hostel. Very professional, yet laid back. Staff is friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

valerie meunier

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2010 valerie would recommend this property

Liked: Loved all of it! Except beakfest.

Disliked: Breakfest was cheap stuff

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Jose Carlos Gomez Martin

23 June 2010 Jose Carlos would recommend this property

Liked: Pretty nice, clean, and confortable. Great location, staff was helpful and cheap!!

Disliked: Jose Carlos left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

23 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Upon my arrival the desk manager was rather rude when there was a problem with my credit card, though it was easily fixable he seemed annoyed that he was having to do anything at all. As a first impression, not so promising. After that how ever everything was awesome. Staff was helpful and easy to get along with. I dont really think the environment promotes meeting new people. With basically a TV and computers, everyone seemed to keep to themselves. All in all great stay. Would go back again.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

20 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very small shower stall

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hannah Malone

20 June 2010 Hannah would recommend this property

Liked: I absolutely LOVED Avalon House! I would recommend staying here to everyone! The hostel was easy to get to from the airport by following the directions give on the website. It was a five minute walk to main attractions and Temple Bar district. I also felt that the hostel was in a safe area. The hostel was really fun and had a great atmosphere. I met some amazing people while I stayed there. The rooms are small, but efficient. The beds are really clean and comfortable. The main bathrooms were always clean. There are lockers to store your suitcases or anything valuable. The hostel is also attached to a coffee shop called The Bald Barista which was FANTASTIC! The staff was very helpful and friendly. I absolutely loved staying at this hostel. Great atmosphere, great location, great staff.

Disliked: Hannah left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Guilherme Botelho Diniz Junqueira

17 June 2010 Guilherme would recommend this property

Liked: It was located near the the pubs and they have this environmental concern that is kind of cool.

Disliked: Guilherme left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Irina Milanova

15 June 2010 Irina would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, very friendly and helpfull staff, quiet place for good sleeping.

Disliked: Irina left no negative feedback.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

sverre gjørvad

11 June 2010

Liked: Nothing.A gready place.

Disliked: sverre left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Claudia Campli

09 June 2010

Liked: Location

Disliked: Claudia left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Nathália Vasconcelos

08 June 2010

Liked: only the services that they ofered to us were good, like the trips ok 1 day and the tour around dublin, and the pub graw. only that.the bederooms were horrible and the bathrooms to!!!

Disliked: Nathália left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Csatószegi Zsolt

04 June 2010 Csatószegi would recommend this property

Liked: It was enough good for 10 Eur/night. I hate only: if i started bathing it was run out of warm water in the bathroom ( the hostel using suncollectors), and everytime need to pushing button to get warm water.

Disliked: Csatószegi left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

02 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I did enjoy staing at the hostel - I just would have appreciatet, that the self-catering kitchen was open until 11 pm (instead of 10 pm).

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Vincent Swart

31 May 2010 Vincent would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, friendly people. Doubles are a bit small, but who needs space in a city like Dublin?

Disliked: Vincent left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

30 May 2010

Liked: This place has really great facilities and services available. The self-service kitchen is HUGE and there is tons of refrigerator and shelf space, along with cooking utensils, pots, pans, etc. There was free wi-fi and computer usage, also. The bathrooms and dorms were clean, although the dorms were quite small! This isn't the cozy hostel atmosphere since the hostel is so big, but to get so many amenities and a clean, safe, well-located hostel for a very fair price was fine with us!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

28 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cheap, secure, friendly, free internet

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

26 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everybody was helpful and very nice, and you can meet a lot of people, they help you even with the traveling issues, tours, busses, etc etc... i liked it very much

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Julie Eble

26 May 2010 Julie would recommend this property

Liked: good location near temple bar

Disliked: Julie left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Edward Knight

26 May 2010 Edward would recommend this property

Liked: I enjoyed this hostle quite a bit. I stayed with my 63 year old father and we enjoyed our stay. It was interesting using unisex showers and toilets, but we had a great time! See you next time I am in Dublin!

Disliked: Edward left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

kathy sheehan

25 May 2010 kathy would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was great -everyone was helpful and super friendly.. It is the best hostel I have stayed ..definitely go back and recommend to everyone (well not everyone -then there wouldn't be room for me to go back next time I am in Dublin!!

Disliked: kathy left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Greg Daws

24 May 2010 Greg would recommend this property

Liked: Its a big hostel, so you'll encounter groups. We had a large group of unsupervised, marauding swedish schoolkids so we didn't get much sleep. However, the facilities are great, the staff are unfailingly helpful, its safe and clean, good kitchen, lots of tour info, free breakfast, free wi-fi but it doesn't reach many bedrooms.

Disliked: Greg left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

22 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a great place to stay, very clean and the Bald Barista is awesome!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

22 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The best thing was that we had towles in our room :D

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

19 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: there was some issue with my booking, but i got upgrade to 4-bed ensuite for free, so i was not crying. breakfast is modest, but completely suited my morning needs. overall - pretty good.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Leigha Beck

12 May 2010 Leigha would recommend this property

Liked: Everyone was very kind and helpful. Service from staff was always available 24 hours if I needed anything. I always felt very safe and never worried about my things being stolen.

Disliked: Leigha left no negative feedback.


See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels