HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Avalon House Dublin Hostel

55 Aungier Street, Dublin 2, Dublin, Ireland

Atmosphere 81%

Cleanliness 81%

Facilities 77%

Location 84%

Safety 79%

Staff 87%

Value 83%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Foosball
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • PlayStation
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 2.36USD

Important Information

Please note that guests under the age of 18 must be accompanied by an adult and cannot share dormitories.

Check-in: 2pm. Check-out: 10am.

Guests must show a valid form of photo ID to check in (passport, national ID, drivers license).

All major credit cards accepted.

Any cancellations must be made at least 24 hours in advance of the arrival date. Failure to do so will result in a charge of the price of the first nights stay.

All bed linen provided free of charge.
Towels for rent for 2 Euro.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 81%

Cleanliness 81%

Facilities 77%

Location 84%

Safety 79%

Staff 87%

Value 83%

Showing 61-70 of 99 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: I am already living in Ireland and i knew about this hostel before and they happened to have a single room at the most reasonable price that i can afford. Also personally prefer south area of Dublin city centre, I feel more safer than in North. Honestly, the room was very tiny but really clean.

Disliked: I stayed in just one night. So i didn't have that much time to run into some dislike things. Although... toilet and shower facilities were for both gender. I didn't have any problem but that was the only thing made me go 'what?' at the first time when i saw it.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: The old atmosphere

Disliked: It is really nice place

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Great European atmosphere

Disliked: VERY hot in the room in morning time

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Staffs were helpful and friendly.

Disliked: Nothing much to dislike as i understood that it's a hostel accommodation.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 May 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Everything was expected and described.

Disliked: Nothing majorly

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 May 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: Good location, free walking tours.

Disliked: Bed's not comfortable, pillows can't be described as pillows, had to fold it in half just to get some height. Showers very poor, hot water tap on hand sink didn't work.

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 May 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: good location, nice free breakfast.

Disliked: Very noisy! walls are extremely thin so you can hear everything your neighbors say (and do). Also there was a very annoying noise comming out from the shower all day long but staff did not do anything about it even though we told them....

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Had a 4 person private room and was perfect for our trip, clean, safe, secure and a prime location ! staff were really friendly aswell

Disliked: breakfast wasn't great we did end up getting breakfast out each morning

Customer would recommend this property

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Facilities

Disliked: Smell, bathroom, cleaniness of the hole hostel

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Staff, location

Disliked: Rooms and toilets are a bit old but ok.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability