We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels

Reviews of Avalon House

Hostel | 55 Aungier Street, Dublin, Ireland Dublin 2

86.6% Overall Rating

981 out of 1083 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/05/2015)

Christopher Belliveau thinks…

"Avalon House was very clean and comfortable. The unisex washrooms were nice and had plenty of showers. The room I stayed in was nice, offering comfortable beds. I was lucky to have been in a quiet…"

Read all Avalon House reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.20

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that guests under the age of 18 must be accompanied by an adult and cannot share dormitories. Check-in: 2pm. Check-out: 10am. Guests must show a valid form of photo ID to check in (passport, national ID, drivers license). All major credit cards accepted. Any cancellations must be made at least 24 hours in advance of the arrival date. Failure to do so will result in a charge of the price of the first nights stay. All bed linen provided free of charge. Towels for rent for 2 Euro.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dublin

Brooks Hotel
165.11 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
The Times Hostel - Camden Place
11.01 USD

Hostel 85.0% 599 reviews
Camden Deluxe Hotel
22.01 USD

Hotel 2 star 79.2% 24 reviews
Jackson Court Hotel
60.54 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 84.8% 119 reviews
Harrington Hall Hotel
165.11 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
The Apache Hostel At Temple Bar
13.21 USD

Hostel 74.6% 161 reviews
The Mercantile Hotel
47.33 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Dublin Citi Hotel
65.49 USD

Hotel 2 star 88.3% 42 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.6%

Overall Rating

981 out of 1083 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Avalon House'

Atmosphere
79.2%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
80.8%
Cleanliness
81.6%
Staff
87.2%
Value
90.4%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 757 of 872 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 30 | 31   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is very central and the prices are good for what is offered.

Disliked: The shower is not always hot. There is no option to change the temperature; just one button. You get what you get. You can hear the noise from the hallways pretty loud in your room. This is not a problem if your neighbors are not too noisy.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Gerfried Wutscher

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 March 2013 Gerfried would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly, helpful staff and all time available. Good atmosphere - perfect to meet new people. Rooms for this price pretty ok!

Disliked: Gerfried left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Manon Bouwmeester

Alone

Work / volunteering

17 February 2013 Manon would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is near the city centre, it's okay to walk to the Grafton street. The cafe beneath the hostel is also nice. It was okay to stay here for a few nights, but not for a long time.

Disliked: The toilets were dirty. Not all the staff was as friendly. Some were like 'i don't care'. I was searching for a room in Dublin, but some of the staff didn't had a clue about where I could search. Another member of the staff did helped me very well!! The WiFi is only at the reception very good and not at my room (4th floor) The internet said there would also be a game and television room, but I didn't find it. The staff didn't told me where it was either.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Every person has one's card to access the bedroom

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elodie Lourenço

With friends / other travellers

City break

03 February 2013 Elodie would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere, the staff, the large kitchen, the cofee "The bald Barista", localisation...

Disliked: Elodie left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

27 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere

Disliked: Really noisy at night. Large groups are aloud to hang out in front at night all hours.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel had great character and all the staff were really friendly and helpful. The bathrooms were regularly cleaned, and the bins emptied in the rooms, and generally the standard of cleanliness was high. The location was also great, everything was in walking distance.

Disliked: The only criticism I have is the kitchen area. There were too few seats for the people who wished to cook there, and sometimes the saucepans and the sinks were far from clean. This, however, is down to the guests who were staying there.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Corey Thompson

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 January 2013 Corey would recommend this property

Liked: No frills property in a good location.

Disliked: The Internet was unusable unless sitting in the lobby and forget about taking even a warm shower let alone a hot one.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Brandy Broderick

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 January 2013 Brandy would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the location and all of the common space. There was a very large kitchen and several different common spaces so you could often find a space outside your room to congreate.

Disliked: I disliked how hard it was to use the phone for long distance calls that is posted as available on the website. I also found the laundry to be a ridiculous price, 7 EUROS for a wash and dry. Finally they had severl monitors, but only three operational computers and there was no wifi in the rooms so you can imagine how in demand those few computers were.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Kathryn Ebrey

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2013 Kathryn would recommend this property

Liked: Great location...easy walking distance to the city centre. Free internet. Free breakfast, good self catering facilities, cheap cafe where you could buy meals.

Disliked: The room was very small. It was fine as me and my friends had a dorm to ourselves but I may not have enjoyed the stay so much if we were sharing with guests we did not know.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Johana McDonald

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 January 2013 Johana would recommend this property

Liked: It's a nice place

Disliked: Very big, kitchen shuts at 10, the bathrooms are alwyas being cleaned at inconveniant times, you always have to get your key recoded which is a pain

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Raphaël Guérard

Alone

Work / volunteering

30 November 2012 Raphaël would recommend this property

Liked: Clean bedrooms, staff helpful, free breakfast, a lot of utilities, a nice hostel with an excellent price/quality ratio

Disliked: nothing really, i could only give two advices : - put curtains on the windows of the door bedrooms so that it will be enough dark in bedrooms - they could organize more social events

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Craig Murray

Alone

Visiting friends or family

25 November 2012 Craig would recommend this property

Liked: nice atmosphere, music was playing downstairs but not too loudly. breakfast was included, the wifi worked perfectly, it was nice and warm, curtains in the room were closed and the room was dark enough and surprisingly quiet for the city centre on a Friday night..I got up at 8:30 am and there was no rush of people going to the showers so no uncomfortable waiting time, there's a good coffee shop joined on, there's no alcohol alowed to be consumed in the hostel and i never seen anyone acting drunk..the people all seemed sober but still friendly and the staff were helpful and friendly which made it a relaxing experience for me..Note: I was there alone and was very confortable with that due to the above and I'm going to enquire about staying there for 4 weeks when I move to Dublin in January.

Disliked: obsolutely nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

20 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: perfect location to visit the city, great character and atmosphere.

Disliked: everything was fine, just one advice for the hostel: you need a bigger breakfast room :P

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Juhan Aasaru

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

31 October 2012 Juhan would recommend this property

Liked: Cozy, clean, good breakfast

Disliked: There was WIFI on each floor but first night it only worked on ground floor, next evening it didn't seem to work anywhere and last evening it was working on all floors.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: never wanna stay anywhere else in dublin

Disliked: - nothing -

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

23 October 2012

Liked: Price

Disliked: The stuff is really rule n unhelpful! The beard staff who is the hostel owner, isn't he? If yes, i can't say anything . Or not, I will aboustly fire him!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Logan Gosling

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 October 2012 Logan would recommend this property

Liked: It was a lot of fun, great people and close to everything, but far enough out that it wasn't too noisy

Disliked: not a lot of hostel oriented activities for groups to meet

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

25 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly & helpful

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

23 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location & value for money, great staff.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Tomas Doyle

Alone

Visiting friends or family

07 September 2012

Liked: Location

Disliked: The shower was dreadful. Check out was at 10am, 10:01am I had someone banging on the door asking me when was I leaving.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jessica Turner

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2012 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were friendly and the rooms were clean. The beds were great!

Disliked: Nothing.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 July 2012

Liked: The staff was nice that's it! Filthy!

Disliked: Everything location is bad so dirty small rooms no lockers never saw anyone cleaning ever!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

16 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: free breakfast and front desk assistance when needed

Disliked: small 'living room' area; no place to relax noise of guests

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

13 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean hostel close to all attractions Dublin is very walkable

Disliked: The bathrooms were unisex


See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels