We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels

Reviews of Avalon House

Hostel | 55 Aungier Street, Dublin, Ireland Dublin 2

84.9% Overall Rating

960 out of 1062 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/09/2014)

"excellent location! very close to city centre/all amenities. also very helpful & friendly staff."

Read all Avalon House reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.53

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that guests under the age of 18 must be accompanied by an adult and cannot share dormitories. Check-in: 2pm. Check-out: 10am. Guests must show a valid form of photo ID to check in (passport, national ID, drivers license). All major credit cards accepted. Any cancellations must be made at least 24 hours in advance of the arrival date. Failure to do so will result in a charge of the price of the first nights stay. All bed linen provided free of charge. Towels for rent for 2 Euro.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dublin

Brooks Hotel
81.59 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
The Times Hostel - Camden Place
16.45 USD

Hostel 86.1% 596 reviews
Camden Deluxe Hotel
25.30 USD

Hotel 2 star 79.2% 24 reviews
Jackson Court Hotel
37.32 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 84.8% 119 reviews
Harrington Hall Hotel
189.75 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
The Apache Hostel At Temple Bar
15.18 USD

Hostel 71.5% 152 reviews
The Mercantile Hotel
31.63 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Dublin Citi Hotel
30.99 USD

Hotel 2 star 88.5% 40 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.9%

Overall Rating

960 out of 1062 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Avalon House'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
79.2%
Cleanliness
79.2%
Staff
88.8%
Value
84.0%
Safety
85.6%
Refine your results Showing 745 of 851 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 29 | 30   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Craig Murray

Alone

Visiting friends or family

25 November 2012 Craig would recommend this property

Liked: nice atmosphere, music was playing downstairs but not too loudly. breakfast was included, the wifi worked perfectly, it was nice and warm, curtains in the room were closed and the room was dark enough and surprisingly quiet for the city centre on a Friday night..I got up at 8:30 am and there was no rush of people going to the showers so no uncomfortable waiting time, there's a good coffee shop joined on, there's no alcohol alowed to be consumed in the hostel and i never seen anyone acting drunk..the people all seemed sober but still friendly and the staff were helpful and friendly which made it a relaxing experience for me..Note: I was there alone and was very confortable with that due to the above and I'm going to enquire about staying there for 4 weeks when I move to Dublin in January.

Disliked: obsolutely nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

20 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: perfect location to visit the city, great character and atmosphere.

Disliked: everything was fine, just one advice for the hostel: you need a bigger breakfast room :P

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Juhan Aasaru

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

31 October 2012 Juhan would recommend this property

Liked: Cozy, clean, good breakfast

Disliked: There was WIFI on each floor but first night it only worked on ground floor, next evening it didn't seem to work anywhere and last evening it was working on all floors.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: never wanna stay anywhere else in dublin

Disliked: - nothing -

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

23 October 2012

Liked: Price

Disliked: The stuff is really rule n unhelpful! The beard staff who is the hostel owner, isn't he? If yes, i can't say anything . Or not, I will aboustly fire him!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Logan Gosling

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 October 2012 Logan would recommend this property

Liked: It was a lot of fun, great people and close to everything, but far enough out that it wasn't too noisy

Disliked: not a lot of hostel oriented activities for groups to meet

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

25 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly & helpful

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

23 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location & value for money, great staff.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Tomas Doyle

Alone

Visiting friends or family

07 September 2012

Liked: Location

Disliked: The shower was dreadful. Check out was at 10am, 10:01am I had someone banging on the door asking me when was I leaving.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jessica Turner

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2012 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were friendly and the rooms were clean. The beds were great!

Disliked: Nothing.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 July 2012

Liked: The staff was nice that's it! Filthy!

Disliked: Everything location is bad so dirty small rooms no lockers never saw anyone cleaning ever!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

16 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: free breakfast and front desk assistance when needed

Disliked: small 'living room' area; no place to relax noise of guests

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

13 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean hostel close to all attractions Dublin is very walkable

Disliked: The bathrooms were unisex

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

26 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: close to our friends' lodgings, several bars and restaurants close by as well as joined to a cafe where you eat breakfast. free internet and computers a plus.

Disliked: cleanliness was an issue. Couldn't tell the last time someone washed the dorm room floor or hoovered the hallways. mattresses and pillows looked a bit sketch too. bunk beds sounded so creaky I thought they would fall on me

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

26 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was near our friends' lodgings. Free internet was a plus, with several computers.

Disliked: it was not as clean as it could have been and the shower curtains let all the water out into the rest of the bathroom as there were very cheap quality.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

26 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: bathrooms on each floor had lots of showers, sinks and toilets.

Disliked: the floors generally didn't appear very clean - in the room it looked as if it had never been washed, grime and stains. Mattresses also could have been cleaner looking. Bunk beds sounded like they would collapse on top of the bottom person.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

20 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice atmosphere. full of living.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway

16 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere, the helpfulness of the staff (Irsih btw are really nices), very central. And in an amazing town.

Disliked: Nothing special.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

06 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

05 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great, the service was great, and the rooms were clean and private and it was really nice!

Disliked: When we were there, the bathroom on our floor and the floor below us was broken so every time we wanted to use the bathroom we had to go down or up another floor. Other than that, nothing!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Rachel Knight

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 December 2011 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: This place was just as it described. Friendly and convient, and clean. Lovely hostel

Disliked: Showers were a bit hot and cold

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 December 2011

Liked: Good location. Bit run down but the hostel had character. Services were generally good. Free internet and wi-fi was good.

Disliked: The room stank a bit of urine. Floorboards could be replaced. Bathrooms were a bit old but did the job.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sara Vaz

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

27 November 2011 Sara would recommend this property

Liked: Almost everything.

Disliked: I didn't dislike anything, but I'd find it a bit more comfortable if the mattresses weren't so soft (like the pillows) and the carpet were cleaner... Other than that my stay was pretty satisfactory.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

katherine collins

Alone

Business / conference

10 November 2011 katherine would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff. My single ensuite room ws great with an amazing shower. Noisy but if you don't take earplugs when you stay in a hostel your mad

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: youthful

Disliked: The walls are thin and U can hear everything.


See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels