HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels

Reviews of Avalon House

Hostel | 55 Aungier Street, Dublin, Ireland Dublin 2

90.1% Overall Rating

942 out of 1043 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/07/2014)

"The location is nice , close to many restaurants and bar. Toilet and room are generally clean."

Read all Avalon House reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.69

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dublin

Brooks Hotel
100.08 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
The Times Hostel - Camden Place
16.12 USD

Hostel 86.4% 591 reviews
Camden Deluxe Hotel
26.87 USD

Hotel 2 star 79.2% 24 reviews
Jackson Court Hotel
39.63 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 84.8% 119 reviews
Harrington Hall Hotel
201.50 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
The Apache Hostel At Temple Bar
13.43 USD

Hostel 66.1% 143 reviews
Camden Court Hotel
66.50 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
The Mercantile Hotel
39.84 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.1%

Overall Rating

942 out of 1043 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Avalon House'

Atmosphere
84.8%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
93.6%
Value
88.8%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 736 of 833 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 29 | 30   Next
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 June 2013

Liked: in the center, lockers available

Disliked: mixed bathrooms only two bikes availabe (not very high quality)

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Nathan Ortiz Klassmann

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 May 2013 Nathan would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff nice big hostel

Disliked: No lockers in the room and a bit dirty in the common área and showers

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

01 May 2013

Liked: Location

Disliked: It wasn't too clean.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

15 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The best part about this hostel was the location. You could walk to any of the best tourist locations in a reasonable amount of time (most were under 10 minutes, or between 15 and 20). The area was really clean and the security system made it feel really safe. Having lockers for your luggage was a plus, but I was hardly worried about anything happening.

Disliked: I really enjoy going to hostels where I meet other people and get to make international friends - but this hostel was not at all conducive to meeting people. In fact, I didn't say more than "hi" to anyone in the building, and I usually leave hostels knowing many people. It could be the way it was set up, or that it was just too big of a hostel, but that's my biggest downside.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is very central and the prices are good for what is offered.

Disliked: The shower is not always hot. There is no option to change the temperature; just one button. You get what you get. You can hear the noise from the hallways pretty loud in your room. This is not a problem if your neighbors are not too noisy.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Gerfried Wutscher

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 March 2013 Gerfried would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly, helpful staff and all time available. Good atmosphere - perfect to meet new people. Rooms for this price pretty ok!

Disliked: Gerfried left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Manon Bouwmeester

Alone

Work / volunteering

17 February 2013 Manon would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is near the city centre, it's okay to walk to the Grafton street. The cafe beneath the hostel is also nice. It was okay to stay here for a few nights, but not for a long time.

Disliked: The toilets were dirty. Not all the staff was as friendly. Some were like 'i don't care'. I was searching for a room in Dublin, but some of the staff didn't had a clue about where I could search. Another member of the staff did helped me very well!! The WiFi is only at the reception very good and not at my room (4th floor) The internet said there would also be a game and television room, but I didn't find it. The staff didn't told me where it was either.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Every person has one's card to access the bedroom

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elodie Lourenço

With friends / other travellers

City break

03 February 2013 Elodie would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere, the staff, the large kitchen, the cofee "The bald Barista", localisation...

Disliked: Elodie left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

27 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere

Disliked: Really noisy at night. Large groups are aloud to hang out in front at night all hours.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel had great character and all the staff were really friendly and helpful. The bathrooms were regularly cleaned, and the bins emptied in the rooms, and generally the standard of cleanliness was high. The location was also great, everything was in walking distance.

Disliked: The only criticism I have is the kitchen area. There were too few seats for the people who wished to cook there, and sometimes the saucepans and the sinks were far from clean. This, however, is down to the guests who were staying there.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Corey Thompson

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 January 2013 Corey would recommend this property

Liked: No frills property in a good location.

Disliked: The Internet was unusable unless sitting in the lobby and forget about taking even a warm shower let alone a hot one.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Brandy Broderick

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 January 2013 Brandy would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the location and all of the common space. There was a very large kitchen and several different common spaces so you could often find a space outside your room to congreate.

Disliked: I disliked how hard it was to use the phone for long distance calls that is posted as available on the website. I also found the laundry to be a ridiculous price, 7 EUROS for a wash and dry. Finally they had severl monitors, but only three operational computers and there was no wifi in the rooms so you can imagine how in demand those few computers were.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Kathryn Ebrey

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2013 Kathryn would recommend this property

Liked: Great location...easy walking distance to the city centre. Free internet. Free breakfast, good self catering facilities, cheap cafe where you could buy meals.

Disliked: The room was very small. It was fine as me and my friends had a dorm to ourselves but I may not have enjoyed the stay so much if we were sharing with guests we did not know.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Johana McDonald

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 January 2013 Johana would recommend this property

Liked: It's a nice place

Disliked: Very big, kitchen shuts at 10, the bathrooms are alwyas being cleaned at inconveniant times, you always have to get your key recoded which is a pain

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Raphaël Guérard

Alone

Work / volunteering

30 November 2012 Raphaël would recommend this property

Liked: Clean bedrooms, staff helpful, free breakfast, a lot of utilities, a nice hostel with an excellent price/quality ratio

Disliked: nothing really, i could only give two advices : - put curtains on the windows of the door bedrooms so that it will be enough dark in bedrooms - they could organize more social events

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Craig Murray

Alone

Visiting friends or family

25 November 2012 Craig would recommend this property

Liked: nice atmosphere, music was playing downstairs but not too loudly. breakfast was included, the wifi worked perfectly, it was nice and warm, curtains in the room were closed and the room was dark enough and surprisingly quiet for the city centre on a Friday night..I got up at 8:30 am and there was no rush of people going to the showers so no uncomfortable waiting time, there's a good coffee shop joined on, there's no alcohol alowed to be consumed in the hostel and i never seen anyone acting drunk..the people all seemed sober but still friendly and the staff were helpful and friendly which made it a relaxing experience for me..Note: I was there alone and was very confortable with that due to the above and I'm going to enquire about staying there for 4 weeks when I move to Dublin in January.

Disliked: obsolutely nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

20 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: perfect location to visit the city, great character and atmosphere.

Disliked: everything was fine, just one advice for the hostel: you need a bigger breakfast room :P

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Juhan Aasaru

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

31 October 2012 Juhan would recommend this property

Liked: Cozy, clean, good breakfast

Disliked: There was WIFI on each floor but first night it only worked on ground floor, next evening it didn't seem to work anywhere and last evening it was working on all floors.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: never wanna stay anywhere else in dublin

Disliked: - nothing -

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

23 October 2012

Liked: Price

Disliked: The stuff is really rule n unhelpful! The beard staff who is the hostel owner, isn't he? If yes, i can't say anything . Or not, I will aboustly fire him!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Logan Gosling

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 October 2012 Logan would recommend this property

Liked: It was a lot of fun, great people and close to everything, but far enough out that it wasn't too noisy

Disliked: not a lot of hostel oriented activities for groups to meet

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

25 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly & helpful

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

23 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location & value for money, great staff.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Tomas Doyle

Alone

Visiting friends or family

07 September 2012

Liked: Location

Disliked: The shower was dreadful. Check out was at 10am, 10:01am I had someone banging on the door asking me when was I leaving.


See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels