We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels

Reviews of Avalon House

Hostel | 55 Aungier Street, Dublin, Ireland Dublin 2

84.9% Overall Rating

960 out of 1062 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/09/2014)

"excellent location! very close to city centre/all amenities. also very helpful & friendly staff."

Read all Avalon House reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.53

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that guests under the age of 18 must be accompanied by an adult and cannot share dormitories. Check-in: 2pm. Check-out: 10am. Guests must show a valid form of photo ID to check in (passport, national ID, drivers license). All major credit cards accepted. Any cancellations must be made at least 24 hours in advance of the arrival date. Failure to do so will result in a charge of the price of the first nights stay. All bed linen provided free of charge. Towels for rent for 2 Euro.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dublin

Brooks Hotel
81.59 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
The Times Hostel - Camden Place
16.45 USD

Hostel 86.1% 596 reviews
Camden Deluxe Hotel
25.30 USD

Hotel 2 star 79.2% 24 reviews
Jackson Court Hotel
37.32 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 84.8% 119 reviews
Harrington Hall Hotel
189.75 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
The Apache Hostel At Temple Bar
15.18 USD

Hostel 71.5% 152 reviews
The Mercantile Hotel
31.63 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Dublin Citi Hotel
34.79 USD

Hotel 2 star 88.5% 40 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.9%

Overall Rating

960 out of 1062 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Avalon House'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
79.2%
Cleanliness
79.2%
Staff
88.8%
Value
84.0%
Safety
85.6%
Refine your results Showing 745 of 851 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 29 | 30   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

08 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Vast kitchen, good staff, not too far from Temple Bar (10 minutes walk). Hostel was clean and safe. Had no problem with wifi.

Disliked: Poor sound proofing, lots of humidity in the room.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gaël GONZALEZ

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

07 October 2013 Gaël would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, pretty calm.

Disliked: Hard to dry something: no heater, the dryer in the laundry is useless...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

03 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were friendly. There were 3 computers in the common area that could be used for free.

Disliked: It is not very far from the city centre, but its not really in the centre, its about a 10 minute walk to temple bar. It is in a slightly noisy/rough area.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Work / volunteering

29 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lively youthful atmosphere; friendly helpful staff

Disliked: Toilets were really dirty....

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Derek Weng

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 September 2013 Derek would recommend this property

Liked: Despite its massive hotel-like quality, Avalon House does a pretty great job of keeping facilites clean and friendly. My bed was immaculately clean, as were the sheets. The bathroom is roomy, unisex, and has a lot if shower stalls. The staff tries to be helpful and the guests were all pleasant and polite. The location is strikes a perfect balance of being in walking distance but far fromk the craziness of Dublin night life. Overall, the hostel is well designed and higly functional.

Disliked: Would be nice to provide free locker/storage options.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kolby St Germain

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2013 Kolby would recommend this property

Liked: The Avalon house has a pretty decent breakfast in the morning and it is connected to a Coffee house so if you wanted something more you could get it. The rooms were fairly clean and the facilities were well stocked.

Disliked: When we arrived we were told we would have to switch rooms even though we were only staying 2 nights. Fortunately we were compensated with a free small Irish breakfast in the morning. The showers were push showers which is sort of inconvenient, however, you see this pretty regularly at hostels.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals

29 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location, bus stop in front of hostel. Friendly staff helped with problems as well. Enough showers with warm water. Clean room.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect, many attractions can be reached on foot. The bus stop to the airport is like 20 meter walk from the hostel door. My room was small but clean. There is a basic breakfast given, and also supper some evenings.

Disliked: It was very noisy, they were building something on the corridor, drilling all the time and shouting, even very late. My room was very small, like double size of a bed. No coffee at breakfast! :(

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Shelley Huebner

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 June 2013

Liked: Avalon House is clean enough, the staff helpful, pretty good location.

Disliked: This hostel needs major renovations, huge mould problem, generally run down.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 June 2013

Liked: in the center, lockers available

Disliked: mixed bathrooms only two bikes availabe (not very high quality)

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Nathan Ortiz Klassmann

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 May 2013 Nathan would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff nice big hostel

Disliked: No lockers in the room and a bit dirty in the common área and showers

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

01 May 2013

Liked: Location

Disliked: It wasn't too clean.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

15 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The best part about this hostel was the location. You could walk to any of the best tourist locations in a reasonable amount of time (most were under 10 minutes, or between 15 and 20). The area was really clean and the security system made it feel really safe. Having lockers for your luggage was a plus, but I was hardly worried about anything happening.

Disliked: I really enjoy going to hostels where I meet other people and get to make international friends - but this hostel was not at all conducive to meeting people. In fact, I didn't say more than "hi" to anyone in the building, and I usually leave hostels knowing many people. It could be the way it was set up, or that it was just too big of a hostel, but that's my biggest downside.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is very central and the prices are good for what is offered.

Disliked: The shower is not always hot. There is no option to change the temperature; just one button. You get what you get. You can hear the noise from the hallways pretty loud in your room. This is not a problem if your neighbors are not too noisy.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Gerfried Wutscher

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 March 2013 Gerfried would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly, helpful staff and all time available. Good atmosphere - perfect to meet new people. Rooms for this price pretty ok!

Disliked: Gerfried left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Manon Bouwmeester

Alone

Work / volunteering

17 February 2013 Manon would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is near the city centre, it's okay to walk to the Grafton street. The cafe beneath the hostel is also nice. It was okay to stay here for a few nights, but not for a long time.

Disliked: The toilets were dirty. Not all the staff was as friendly. Some were like 'i don't care'. I was searching for a room in Dublin, but some of the staff didn't had a clue about where I could search. Another member of the staff did helped me very well!! The WiFi is only at the reception very good and not at my room (4th floor) The internet said there would also be a game and television room, but I didn't find it. The staff didn't told me where it was either.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Every person has one's card to access the bedroom

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elodie Lourenço

With friends / other travellers

City break

03 February 2013 Elodie would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere, the staff, the large kitchen, the cofee "The bald Barista", localisation...

Disliked: Elodie left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

27 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere

Disliked: Really noisy at night. Large groups are aloud to hang out in front at night all hours.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel had great character and all the staff were really friendly and helpful. The bathrooms were regularly cleaned, and the bins emptied in the rooms, and generally the standard of cleanliness was high. The location was also great, everything was in walking distance.

Disliked: The only criticism I have is the kitchen area. There were too few seats for the people who wished to cook there, and sometimes the saucepans and the sinks were far from clean. This, however, is down to the guests who were staying there.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Corey Thompson

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 January 2013 Corey would recommend this property

Liked: No frills property in a good location.

Disliked: The Internet was unusable unless sitting in the lobby and forget about taking even a warm shower let alone a hot one.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Brandy Broderick

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 January 2013 Brandy would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the location and all of the common space. There was a very large kitchen and several different common spaces so you could often find a space outside your room to congreate.

Disliked: I disliked how hard it was to use the phone for long distance calls that is posted as available on the website. I also found the laundry to be a ridiculous price, 7 EUROS for a wash and dry. Finally they had severl monitors, but only three operational computers and there was no wifi in the rooms so you can imagine how in demand those few computers were.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Kathryn Ebrey

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2013 Kathryn would recommend this property

Liked: Great location...easy walking distance to the city centre. Free internet. Free breakfast, good self catering facilities, cheap cafe where you could buy meals.

Disliked: The room was very small. It was fine as me and my friends had a dorm to ourselves but I may not have enjoyed the stay so much if we were sharing with guests we did not know.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Johana McDonald

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 January 2013 Johana would recommend this property

Liked: It's a nice place

Disliked: Very big, kitchen shuts at 10, the bathrooms are alwyas being cleaned at inconveniant times, you always have to get your key recoded which is a pain

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Raphaël Guérard

Alone

Work / volunteering

30 November 2012 Raphaël would recommend this property

Liked: Clean bedrooms, staff helpful, free breakfast, a lot of utilities, a nice hostel with an excellent price/quality ratio

Disliked: nothing really, i could only give two advices : - put curtains on the windows of the door bedrooms so that it will be enough dark in bedrooms - they could organize more social events


See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels