We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels

Reviews of Four Courts Hostel

Hostel | 15-17 Merchants Quay, Dublin, Ireland D8

90.9% Overall Rating

384 out of 410 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/09/2014)

Bethany Bilston thinks…

"My boyfriend and I stayed in 3 different dorms over our 5 day stay here: a 6 bed mixed, a 10 bed mens and a 10 bed female dorm. We only moved to the bigger dorms because we extended our stay and they…"

Read all Four Courts Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.53

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dublin

Kinlay House
15.81 USD

Hostel 81.6% 1006 reviews
Generator Dublin
12.65 USD

Hostel 87.2% 500 reviews
Bridge House
21.51 USD

Guesthouse 75.7% 38 reviews
The Apache Hostel At Temple Bar
15.18 USD

Hostel 71.4% 151 reviews
Barnacles Temple Bar House Hostel
16.45 USD

Hostel 89.7% 268 reviews
The Mercantile Hotel
33.31 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Avalon House
20.24 USD

Hostel 84.9% 1062 reviews
Dublin Citi Hotel
41.11 USD

Hotel 2 star 88.5% 40 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.9%

Overall Rating

384 out of 410 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Four Courts Hostel'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
92.0%
Value
96.8%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 321 of 375 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bethany Bilston

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 September 2014 Bethany would recommend this property

Liked: My boyfriend and I stayed in 3 different dorms over our 5 day stay here: a 6 bed mixed, a 10 bed mens and a 10 bed female dorm. We only moved to the bigger dorms because we extended our stay and they were basically booked out, but made room for us. Four courts is great. Fantastic kitchen, clean bathrooms, great common room, ok wifi (none in the rooms pretty much), good location, only a short wall from temple bar, also easy to catch a tram to the main bus station, and a short walk to catch the air coach to the airport. The staff are very friendly and helpful, and there's also a Skype phone so you can call a fixed number anywhere in the world for free. This is one of the best hostels we've stayed in during our 4 month trip through Europe. HIGHLY RECOMMEND you stay here!

Disliked: The showers in the bigger dorms aren't particularly private, but they're ok. Clean and functional, just a bit of a pain when dressing and undressing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Steve Delane

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 September 2014 Steve would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hostel is extremely clean and well set up. One of the best I have ever stayed in. Thanks so much.

Disliked: I couldn't stay longer.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location!! Staff were very nice and extremely helpful! We looked at the other hostels and this one is honestly the best location. Very clean I would recommend it to anyone.

Disliked: Rooms were a little small but it was fine. We stayed in the 6 person dorm. Met some very nice people.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Private bathroom in every room.

Disliked: Not enough socket for the traveller. Distance a bit far from the city center (grafton street). Limited seats in the dining hall with lots of guest.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jorge Fernandez Maqueda

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2014 Jorge would recommend this property

Liked: Good quality and good attention, affordable price.

Disliked: Jorge left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

15 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: straight-forward. Performed as advertised

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brian Shin

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2014 Brian would recommend this property

Liked: Free breakfast was great because a lot of hostels did not provide it. Also the rooms and the restroom/showers were always clean. I never walked in thinking it was disgusting. Also the staff was exceptionally friendly and well knowledged of things that tourist can do. Finally the wifi was one of the faster wifis I've seen at hostels.

Disliked: Nothing much.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Laurence Curvalle

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 June 2014 Laurence would recommend this property

Liked: Friendless of staff

Disliked: Basic bathroom

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 5 min from Temple Bar, cheap, free breakfast.

Disliked: Building is a bit old, bathroom in the dorm could be cleaner (not just because of other users).

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The are a few different lounge areas and it is in a big building, so there is plenty of space to relax or chat or stare at a screen.

Disliked: The kitchen is usually pretty messy, which is not the fault of the staff or the hostel, but that is the case. There are a lot of people there and too many just don't care.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was all okay. Not more, not less.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shohei Ueno

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2014 Shohei would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel was nice, we had free breakfast, and free wifi. Location was no problem for us.

Disliked: Shohei left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I had an amazing view from my window

Disliked: Beds were clean but dust bunnies were under beds and in corners

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elaine Austin

With friends / other travellers

City break

26 March 2014 Elaine would recommend this property

Liked: Bedding spotless. Staff extremely friendly and helpful. Location is excellent, walking distance to centre and all attractions. Quiet at night.

Disliked: Elaine left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Casey Lowe

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 February 2014 Casey would recommend this property

Liked: The staff at Four courts are amazing and really friendly.

Disliked: Casey left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location and the atmosphere were great. I definitely appreciated the free computer and internet use and the complimentary breakfast. I enjoyed being able to make free international calls!

Disliked: The computers were extremely slow at times and the breakfast was sub-par. The "hot water" was often lukewarm, so my hot chocolate was not drinkable. White bread typically costs the same as cheaper whole wheat bread, so I don't understand why the hostel insists on buying and serving only white bread. The cereals were fine, although a few more choices would have been appreciated. I also thought the staff could have been more helpful. They were fine, but I did not get a tour of the building when I arrived, so I had no idea that there was another place to relax downstairs. I also had no idea there was a lift or else I probably wouldn't have strained my back taking my heavy backpack up three flights of stairs. I also felt the staff was very passive and not really into making the experience the best it could be. Like, if you are sitting at a computer desk and every single person is walking past you, it takes minimal to no effort to greet them or smile at them rather than continue to look at your computer. You are at a paid job, so please treat it like one.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoyed my stay here. I was travelling by myself and I never once felt unsafe. The bus from the airport stops very nearby which helps a lot with the commute. Breakfast was actually being served about an hour before they said it would be, and I thought that was great.

Disliked: It was a little hard to spot my first time finding it, but that could just be my lack of skills at finding things.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rebecca Creighton

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals

01 January 2014 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff, a friendly vibe all round- easy to stay in or a great base to out, good wifi and free brekky, ace shower to :)

Disliked: Nothing bothered us enough to complain, noisy backpackers isn't really the hostels fault- that's everywhere

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Ava Kiai

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

31 December 2013 Ava would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was very warm and friendly and everything went smoothly.

Disliked: I would have preferred a hostel a bit more centrally located, but the 10 minute walk was really not too bad. I wish there was someplace to hang clothes in the showers.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thabiso Matsika

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 December 2013 Thabiso would recommend this property

Liked: i like the locaton of the property as it is close to the main city and close to major bus routes and transport links. it was clean and did not have a bad patch. its facilities offered free wi-fi and a kitchen to prepare your own meals. staff are available 24/7 for any assistance you might need.

Disliked: none

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Many rooms to hang out, large kitchen, big rooms. Super friendly and helpful staff!

Disliked: Stains on sheeets, breakfast hour ends too early, no soap in bathrooms and towel notice should be advertized more

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

emma baker

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 emma would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and the staff are really helpful. Free breakfast and free wifi.

Disliked: Sometimes the showers were cold, no age limit on the hostel so older people are staying there. You have to pay for printing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Roberto Zabala Herguedas

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 November 2013 Roberto would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

13 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Served breakfast, internet, computers, helpful workers, great location!

Disliked: Wifi was in and out all the time

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Marko Rauh

With my spouse / partner

City break

09 October 2013 Marko would recommend this property

Liked: nice hostel close to airport

Disliked: far away from city center


See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels