HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels

Reviews of Four Courts Hostel

Hostel | 15-17 Merchants Quay, Dublin, Ireland D8

87.7% Overall Rating

367 out of 393 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/04/2014)

Shohei Ueno thinks…

"Hostel was nice, we had free breakfast, and free wifi. Location was no problem for us."

Read all Four Courts Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.76

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dublin

George Fredric Handel
53.90 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Kinlay House
17.97 USD

Hostel 77.1% 947 reviews
Generator Dublin
11.75 USD

Hostel 85.1% 459 reviews
Bridge House
23.50 USD

Guesthouse 77.0% 30 reviews
The Apache Hostel At Temple Bar
13.82 USD

Hostel 58.4% 129 reviews
Barnacles Temple Bar House Hostel
17.28 USD

Hostel 86.4% 240 reviews
The Mercantile Hotel
31.79 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Avalon House
18.66 USD

Hostel 80.3% 1011 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.7%

Overall Rating

367 out of 393 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Four Courts Hostel'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
82.4%
Cleanliness
85.6%
Staff
91.2%
Value
90.4%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 310 of 358 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shohei Ueno

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2014 Shohei would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel was nice, we had free breakfast, and free wifi. Location was no problem for us.

Disliked: Shohei left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I had an amazing view from my window

Disliked: Beds were clean but dust bunnies were under beds and in corners

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elaine Austin

With friends / other travellers

City break

26 March 2014 Elaine would recommend this property

Liked: Bedding spotless. Staff extremely friendly and helpful. Location is excellent, walking distance to centre and all attractions. Quiet at night.

Disliked: Elaine left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Casey Lowe

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 February 2014 Casey would recommend this property

Liked: The staff at Four courts are amazing and really friendly.

Disliked: Casey left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location and the atmosphere were great. I definitely appreciated the free computer and internet use and the complimentary breakfast. I enjoyed being able to make free international calls!

Disliked: The computers were extremely slow at times and the breakfast was sub-par. The "hot water" was often lukewarm, so my hot chocolate was not drinkable. White bread typically costs the same as cheaper whole wheat bread, so I don't understand why the hostel insists on buying and serving only white bread. The cereals were fine, although a few more choices would have been appreciated. I also thought the staff could have been more helpful. They were fine, but I did not get a tour of the building when I arrived, so I had no idea that there was another place to relax downstairs. I also had no idea there was a lift or else I probably wouldn't have strained my back taking my heavy backpack up three flights of stairs. I also felt the staff was very passive and not really into making the experience the best it could be. Like, if you are sitting at a computer desk and every single person is walking past you, it takes minimal to no effort to greet them or smile at them rather than continue to look at your computer. You are at a paid job, so please treat it like one.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoyed my stay here. I was travelling by myself and I never once felt unsafe. The bus from the airport stops very nearby which helps a lot with the commute. Breakfast was actually being served about an hour before they said it would be, and I thought that was great.

Disliked: It was a little hard to spot my first time finding it, but that could just be my lack of skills at finding things.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rebecca Creighton

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals

01 January 2014 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff, a friendly vibe all round- easy to stay in or a great base to out, good wifi and free brekky, ace shower to :)

Disliked: Nothing bothered us enough to complain, noisy backpackers isn't really the hostels fault- that's everywhere

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Ava Kiai

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

31 December 2013 Ava would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was very warm and friendly and everything went smoothly.

Disliked: I would have preferred a hostel a bit more centrally located, but the 10 minute walk was really not too bad. I wish there was someplace to hang clothes in the showers.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thabiso Matsika

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 December 2013 Thabiso would recommend this property

Liked: i like the locaton of the property as it is close to the main city and close to major bus routes and transport links. it was clean and did not have a bad patch. its facilities offered free wi-fi and a kitchen to prepare your own meals. staff are available 24/7 for any assistance you might need.

Disliked: none

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Many rooms to hang out, large kitchen, big rooms. Super friendly and helpful staff!

Disliked: Stains on sheeets, breakfast hour ends too early, no soap in bathrooms and towel notice should be advertized more

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

emma baker

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 emma would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and the staff are really helpful. Free breakfast and free wifi.

Disliked: Sometimes the showers were cold, no age limit on the hostel so older people are staying there. You have to pay for printing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Roberto Zabala Herguedas

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 November 2013 Roberto would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

13 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Served breakfast, internet, computers, helpful workers, great location!

Disliked: Wifi was in and out all the time

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Marko Rauh

With my spouse / partner

City break

09 October 2013 Marko would recommend this property

Liked: nice hostel close to airport

Disliked: far away from city center

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

30 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pleasant venue

Disliked: For a Dutchman the 'conitinental breakfast' was very simple.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good stay

Disliked: All things are ok

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Natasha Maris

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 August 2013 Natasha would recommend this property

Liked: - One staff member was especially awesome at helping me track down my camera I left on the airport shuttle. He immediately called the company and talked to a bunch of people to try and find my bag. Fortunately I for it back within about half an hour! - wifi in the rooms was super fast and easily accessible - breakfast included is always a bonus - great location, everything is walking distance. We didn't take public transportation once - Security passes help make you feel safe

Disliked: I really have no complaints about this property. We got a great price and was perfect for what we needed

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Holly Dunn

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2013 Holly would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast included, great location, friendly and helpful staff, I really can't fault it!

Disliked: Holly left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, decent breakfast (but some fruit would be nice...), lots of info about things to do in the city and day trips out.

Disliked: A mysterious staircase that was not labelled "employees only"? ;) Nothing really to complain about.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was extremely helpful and friendly and the location was awesome.

Disliked: One "extended-stay" resident made my friend and me feel a bit uncomfortable at times as he kept lingering and following us in the common areas.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Kim Addison

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2013 Kim would recommend this property

Liked: Location was pretty good, near temple bar and Christ church cathedral. The ensure bathroom in our dorm was great! Through another door so you feel private. The touch time shower was not great but you deal with it

Disliked: No wifi in rooms. Everything else was quite good.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2013

Liked: The rooms were clean. The cost was reasonable. The storage lockers and luggage room were spacious.

Disliked: I wasn't allowed to bring in a friend to visit me during the day. They were way too strict about allowing guests into the hostel. No visitors are allowed at anytime day or night. A security sign in, or visiting hours limit would be very easy thing to add. My stay was only 2 days, and this was a real downer on my last day. They also price gouge their guests on several items. 2 Euro for a soft drink and 1.5 Euro for a 500ml bottle of water. Printing 1 page is 50 euro cents. The wifi is only on the main floor and does not reach any of the bedrooms throughout the building. My checkout was at 10:30am. I was a few minutes behind in getting my bags packed, and by 10:37am the woman who I believe was the head facilities cleaner came into my room without knocking, trying to rush me out. I said "I'll be done in 15 minutes", to which she countered, "I'll give you 5-10 minutes". I just found it really rude and unneccessary to be so pushy about the checkout time, especially since 2 of the 6 bed living space were already vacant for more than 1 day. With me out, it was half empty. I was out by 10:45am, but there was just no reason to be that strict about a few minutes here and there. The location was ok, but not great. It's close to the city center, but I wouldn't say that it is in the city center. There are several other hostels that I saw during my walks that were much closer to the core.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, very friendly staff, and tons of good deals and services provided. Rooms were clean.

Disliked: Not much to be honest.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Zainab Balogun

Alone

Business / conference

30 June 2013 Zainab would recommend this property

Liked: the staff, the rooms, everything was good

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Clifford Bond

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break

26 June 2013 Clifford would recommend this property

Liked: This has been the best hostel I've ever stayed in! The rooms were clean, the staff friendly and there was loads of space! I could not recommend this place more!

Disliked: Nothing


See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels