We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Doolin hostels

Reviews of Aille River Hostel

Hostel | Cliffs of Moher and the Burre, Doolin, Doolin, Ireland .

94.3% Overall Rating

115 out of 117 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/06/2014)

"Everything. it is an amazing place. lots of friendly people met there, lovely staff lovely place. we'll defenitly be back!"

Read all Aille River Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 1.90
  • Towel USD 1.27

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Payment is to be in cash on arrival. No bookings over 6 people will be accepted. If you make a booking for more than 6 people your booking will be canceled without a refund for your advance payment.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Doolin?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
94.3%

Overall Rating

115 out of 117 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Aille River Hostel '

Atmosphere
98.4%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
89.6%
Cleanliness
92.8%
Staff
98.4%
Value
94.4%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 72 of 115 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Froilan Lino

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 September 2014 Froilan would recommend this property

Liked: great location

Disliked: bathroom is fair

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

angela rose militello

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

31 August 2014 angela rose would recommend this property

Liked: It was cute

Disliked: I know I visited in august, but it was really cold and there was no heat because they don't turn on the heat in summer. Cold air was blowing through the skylight on my bed all night. Also, internet wasn't working so I had to go to another hotel to get internet.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

NIamh Vercoe

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

11 August 2014 NIamh would recommend this property

Liked: Very comfortable and friendly

Disliked: NIamh left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was so good. Tourist information is in front of this hostel.

Disliked: Noisy roommates at dawn.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. it is an amazing place. lots of friendly people met there, lovely staff lovely place. we'll defenitly be back!

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andor Nagy

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

19 May 2014 Andor would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. :)

Disliked: I couldn't rent a towel at 2am cause there's no night staff. But that's okay. :)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fiona McInerney

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

08 May 2014 Fiona would recommend this property

Liked: I loved everything about this place, there is a great athmosphere when you walk in the front door. The decor is beautiful, all flagstones and open fires. My room was lovely, although I had booked a double, there was a third bed also. The shower was great, constant hot water. Everything was immaculate and the staff were very helpful and friendly. I was attending a wedding at the hotel across the road, so the location was excellent.

Disliked: To be honest, I can't fault this place at all.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. Feels like home, they look after you. Lovely to stay in a hostel run by a local family. The girl on reception is my new best friend! I did not want to leave. So accommodating, helpful advice! My bus didnt turn up so they gave me a free breakfast!!! Wifi isnt strong but you don't come to Doolin to sit on facebook!

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

dIEGO Spandri

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

14 October 2013 dIEGO would recommend this property

Liked: Everything like everytime

Disliked: nothing, everything is good

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic all round. Very friendly and helpful staff, clean and comfortable. The staff worked very hard to mae peole feel t home and keep the place clean. its a pity a few travellers cannot do the same. On the whole backpackers are sensible and considerate, but just a few feel that they are entitled to leave their washing up for others to do. However this is not the fault of the staff, they were brillaint and worked very hard.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice friendly staff.

Disliked: Location.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Rogers

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2013 John would recommend this property

Liked: Location excellent for the Cliffs of Moher Visitor Centre and for the ferry from Doolin to Inisheer. 300-year-old farmhouse we were told. Charming situation beside the fast-flowing Aille River. Novelty for us to be at a youth hostel at the age of late-sixties, but we managed perfectly as it was so efficient while being informal. The good notice of no credit-card facilities, plus the location of the nearest ATMs was a boon and prevented an embarassing scene, as occurred when I was caught with too few euros at the brand-new and ambitious Blasket Centre in the Dingle Peninsula. There they did not alert one to the lack of credit-card facilities, although they have now altered their website due to my bitter complaint. Their reasoning is that it is too expensive to pay for a credit-card facility if only open for 7 months. Aille River Lodge coped much better with the same problem.

Disliked: Nothing, although we were warned that the "cute" donkey in the adjacent field recently bit a visitor's breast!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was a wonderful quaint Irish cottage. We could not have asked for a better place to stay! It was clean and charming and the staff was even better.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is the best hostel in Ireland if you are looking to relax in a wonderful location on the west coast! Absolutely loved it!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hotel is in a very beautiful area. The rooms and showers are nice, as well as the staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

20 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location by river and close to pubs and boat tours for cliffs of moher

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Reuben Low

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

19 November 2012 Reuben would recommend this property

Liked: Ray and Anne were amazing very friendly and helpful people. The rooms were spacious it had a great big kitchen with 3 stoves to cook on and it was close to everything town, the beach the cliffs.. A great place to relax and see the countryside!

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

29 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was so friendlz and very helpful with everything.

Disliked: It is very clairaudient there

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

09 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We loved the friendliness of the staff, helping us to find a great place for dinner, as well as providing great breakfast options: 1.5 Euro for toast and eggs! There were some other visitors and everyone was friendly and shared what they brought. I coulnd't believe what a great community they have there. Plus, we loved our room! So cozy! There is also a free common-use computer with internet, as well as free laundry services! Amazing!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I've enjoyed my stay there. The staff was really friendly and helpful - the advice for good music and food was excellent (thank you for that!). The location in the centre of Doolin was perfect to reach pubs, restaurants, shops and the port.

Disliked: there was no way to lock the door, everyone could have come into the room.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Had a lovely time! Staff were very helpful and there were great facilites.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

José-Loic COMBES

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2012

Liked: Très convivial, ambiance familiale

Disliked: Chambre minuscule,sans prise de courant dans la chambre(mais toutes ne sont pas comme celle-la). Prix vraiment trop élevé pour la prestation

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Alessio Morgana

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 May 2012 Alessio would recommend this property

Liked: the building is awesome, the atmosphere is great, the location is perfect for hikes

Disliked: even if the bathrooms are clean, they're very small and the sinks and the showers work with the push button the lasts very few seconds

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Giorgio Pertot

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 October 2011 Giorgio would recommend this property

Liked: It was really my best choice, nice place amazzing landscape specially down at harbor, Mr. Karl was simply great and helpfully... Definitely have to come back once... GREAT PLACE!!!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Courtenay Dore

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 October 2011 Courtenay would recommend this property

Liked: Was AMAZING!!! only booked for 1 night ended up staying 4 cause i loved it so much. Karl is an absolute champion, goes so far above and beyond to help every guest in every way imaginable!!! Would highly recommend the Aille River to anyone her wants to stay in a super chilled atmosphere. :) PERFECT!!!

Disliked: Nothing


See all Doolin hostels