HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Aille River Hostel Doolin Hostel

Doolin, Clare, Doolin, Ireland

Atmosphere 98%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 90%

Location 97%

Safety 91%

Staff 98%

Value 97%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • Adaptors
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 1.60USD
  • Towel 1.07USD

Important Information

1. You will be required to call one day before arrival. with your travel details and expected arrival time.

2. Reception open from 9.00am - 8.30pm

3. Payment in cash only on arrival (Caution: there are no banks or cash machines in doolin).

4. Groups larger than 5 please contact the hostel before placing a booking.

5. We do not cater for Stag/Hen Parties of any size, Birthday parties and wedding goers.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 12:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Not Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Doolin?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 98%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 90%

Location 97%

Safety 91%

Staff 98%

Value 97%

Showing 11-13 of 13 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 May 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Everything. :)

Disliked: I couldn't rent a towel at 2am cause there's no night staff. But that's okay. :)

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 May 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Visiting friends or family

Liked: I loved everything about this place, there is a great athmosphere when you walk in the front door. The decor is beautiful, all flagstones and open fires. My room was lovely, although I had booked a double, there was a third bed also. The shower was great, constant hot water. Everything was immaculate and the staff were very helpful and friendly. I was attending a wedding at the hotel across the road, so the location was excellent.

Disliked: To be honest, I can't fault this place at all.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Everything. Feels like home, they look after you. Lovely to stay in a hostel run by a local family. The girl on reception is my new best friend! I did not want to leave. So accommodating, helpful advice! My bus didnt turn up so they gave me a free breakfast!!! Wifi isnt strong but you don't come to Doolin to sit on facebook!

Disliked: Nothing!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Everything like everytime

Disliked: nothing, everything is good

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Fantastic all round. Very friendly and helpful staff, clean and comfortable. The staff worked very hard to mae peole feel t home and keep the place clean. its a pity a few travellers cannot do the same. On the whole backpackers are sensible and considerate, but just a few feel that they are entitled to leave their washing up for others to do. However this is not the fault of the staff, they were brillaint and worked very hard.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Nice friendly staff.

Disliked: Location.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location excellent for the Cliffs of Moher Visitor Centre and for the ferry from Doolin to Inisheer. 300-year-old farmhouse we were told. Charming situation beside the fast-flowing Aille River. Novelty for us to be at a youth hostel at the age of late-sixties, but we managed perfectly as it was so efficient while being informal. The good notice of no credit-card facilities, plus the location of the nearest ATMs was a boon and prevented an embarassing scene, as occurred when I was caught with too few euros at the brand-new and ambitious Blasket Centre in the Dingle Peninsula. There they did not alert one to the lack of credit-card facilities, although they have now altered their website due to my bitter complaint. Their reasoning is that it is too expensive to pay for a credit-card facility if only open for 7 months. Aille River Lodge coped much better with the same problem.

Disliked: Nothing, although we were warned that the "cute" donkey in the adjacent field recently bit a visitor's breast!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 May 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: This hotel is in a very beautiful area. The rooms and showers are nice, as well as the staff.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 May 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: This is the best hostel in Ireland if you are looking to relax in a wonderful location on the west coast! Absolutely loved it!

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 May 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: This was a wonderful quaint Irish cottage. We could not have asked for a better place to stay! It was clean and charming and the staff was even better.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability