HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Malinbeg Hostel Donegal

Hostel

Malinbeg, Glencolmkille, Donegal, Ireland

Atmosphere 98%

Cleanliness 100%

Facilities 95%

Location 94%

Safety 100%

Staff 99%

Value 100%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Free Parking
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Linen Included
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Parking
  • Postal Service
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Donegal?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 98%

Cleanliness 100%

Facilities 95%

Location 94%

Safety 100%

Staff 99%

Value 100%

Showing 1-4 of 4 reviews

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Clean, quiet, good location. Frank was very helpful with trail and area information, and even opened up his store for us when we arrived at night so we could buy items for breakfast the next morning

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Frank was an excellent host and the whole experience was superb.

Disliked: No dislikes everything was good!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 May 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: absolutely stunning landscape, very nice atmosphere with fire place in living room, nicely equipped rooms, very clean, big kitchens, shop nearby, very very friendly, quiet

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very clean, homely, everything was just perfect. Beds are very good, bed linens are fresh and clean. Frank is a very nice, friendly, smart and helpful. It is very nice if you like peace, cliffs, smell of the sea, sound of the waves....

Disliked: Even though it is a little bit far it is worth driving there.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Family Holiday, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Frank 1st host and great crowd staying at the hostel. 10 out of 10 without a doubt. Will definately go back and would recommend to stay and see for yourself. Great facilities and excellent hostel better than most hotels I have stayed in. You might get a free cat if you stay more than 3 nights. :-)Two thumbs up. Marty

Disliked: nothing, great experience and enjoyable. Hostel, host and location excellent

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Relaxation / spa, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: it was very clean and homely and frank the owner could not be more helpful and the nightly turf fire was most welcoming he didnt go to bed until everyone was home safe and sound which was a lovely touch,we will definately be returning again and again its home from home

Disliked: there was nothing to dislike.......

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 May 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very friendly owner, clean, good facilities. Beautiful location, very quiet and relaxing. Lovely beach 5 mind up the road.

Disliked: We didn't realize how far away the hostel was from the main highway at Donegal. It's quite a way on small roads with some sheep on the road in places. Not a bad drive at all, but you must have a car to get there.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 May 2012

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Relaxation / spa

Liked: The friendliness of staff made you feel like you were a friend and very helpful if you needed anything. I had a toddler with me and they were considerate of this and chatted her which meant alot. The area was beautiful, I went to destress and succeeded as away from it all you could do nothing but. In a quick statement ' a getaway from it all, back to the simple beauty of life'

Disliked: I disliked the roads getting there. I found it difficult to find then in the bad weather I was nervous going out due to the narrow roads.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Jul 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The owner Frank is a great guy. He also owns the small food store across the road and will open it for guests at any time to get food. The hostel is very clean and cosy, with a peat fire in the fireplace in the evenings. It has 2 kitchens, so there is always room for as many cooks as you want!

Disliked: We loved this aspect, but prospective hostel stayers must know that the hostel is FAR from anywhere. It is 30 minutes to the nearest town with a bank, grocery store, etc. The seclusion is what made it great for us though.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability