We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Cork hostels

Reviews of Cork International Hostel

Hostel | 1/2 Redclyffe, Western Road, Cork, Ireland .

76.3% Overall Rating

163 out of 203 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/07/2014)

Dee Murnane thinks…

"Great location, no need for car or bus, short walk (15 minutes) to the centre. We had lovely room mates so we were lucky :) we loved our stay here and would definitely recommend this hostel. There…"

Read all Cork International Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.93

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note: We do not accept bookings for more than 10 people. Any such booking will be cancelled and the deposit will not be refunded. For all group bookings please email the agency group department. The hostel does not take long term stays-maximum stay is for 7 nights. Please note that if you are going to arrive to the hostel after 17:00 p.m. you must call the hostel directly to let them know!

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cork?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cork

Garnish House
31.56 USD

Guesthouse 93.8% 12 reviews
Kinlay House Cork
19.32 USD

Hostel 71.2% 525 reviews
Ashley Hotel
57.97 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.7% 10 reviews
Bru Bar & Hostel
21.90 USD

Hostel 81.6% 63 reviews
Sheila's of Cork
19.32 USD

Hostel 88.0% 711 reviews
Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Hotel
128.82 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Bellavista Self Catering Apartments
48.95 USD

Apartment 96.2% 6 reviews
Harleys Guest House & West View Apartments
25.63 USD

Guesthouse 85.3% 7 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
76.3%

Overall Rating

163 out of 203 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Cork International Hostel'

Atmosphere
72.8%
Location
67.2%
Facilities
74.4%
Cleanliness
80.0%
Staff
74.4%
Value
81.6%
Safety
84.0%
Refine your results Showing 130 of 161 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 February 2013

Liked: The rooms were clean and rather nice.

Disliked: Mostly the atmosphere, location, and the staff.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 February 2013

Liked: It was a place to sleep.

Disliked: First off the Wifi cost one euro for thirty minutes which was frustrating for me since I had to work for the majority of the stay on my computer. Also the room was advertised with a free breakfast included but when I woke up next morning their was no such thing. The pictures displayed on the website did not match up to how the hostel actually looked. Finally there was no lockers to lock up bag in as I went to different trips and locations around the city.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 February 2013

Liked: It was a place to sleep.

Disliked: It was difficult to find, the directions were not very clear. There was NO FREE WIFI, it cost. It said that they served breakfast, but if they did, I didn't see any. The staff could have been more friendly and the place could have been more clean.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

14 October 2012

Liked: The main reason that I was happy staying at Cork International Hostel is because the night prior I was sleeping in an airport.

Disliked: NO free internet! It's about 1 mile from the downtown action. Walking to and from the train station took a good 1/2 hr. No storage lockers!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Janet Thornton

Alone

Work / volunteering

30 September 2012 Janet would recommend this property

Liked: Really clean, well organised with reallly helpful staff.

Disliked: Nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

susan aburto

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

14 September 2012 susan would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very helpful,nothing was too much trouble,especialy when you have had a harrowing journey in the dark.Very good value for money,and clean++ A little far from places to eat,when you're desperate,will def go back one day

Disliked: the back entrance was hard to find,even tho correctly described it was dark,so not easy.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Tatiana Adamcova

Alone

Business / conference

10 September 2012 Tatiana would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in the hostel for one night in a women’s 6 bed dorm. It was OK. Rooms are clean, need to be repainted though. Shower had mildew on the sealing, but that’s common in Ireland, it’s too damp here and the shower has no windows. Kitchen is fully equipped and can be used all day long, can get quit busy in the evening. They serve breakfast for €4.70 and you can choose between Irish breakfast or toast and cereals. No free Wifi, you pay €1 for half an hour internet, doesn’t matter if on your PC or the hostels computers. Dining room and Living room are specious. Very close to the university. On the back entrence of the hostel is a nice park where you can go for a walk, it closes at 8pm in winter.

Disliked: There was no little shelf in the shower where I could put my soap on… strange…they should really install one, it cannot be that expensive… There are no lockers in the rooms.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Melanie Migneault

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2012 Melanie would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were fantastic. Kind, helpful and just overall great.

Disliked: Not that it was dirty but musky and older.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Samantha Frith

With friends / other travellers

City break

09 August 2012 Samantha would recommend this property

Liked: Very cheap for a clean hostel - booked a 6 bed dorm but stayed in a 4 bed dorm room with only one other person

Disliked: The location is quite a walk out of the centre of cork. No free wifi. Very difficult to locate when arriving by car - had to call the hostel who also found it difficult to provide us with a landmark which made it easy to locate the building

37.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2012

Liked: l unica cosa è, come in parecchi ostelli la cucina a disposizione h24.

Disliked: Per accedere ad internet bisogna acquistare delle schede prepagate, non ti offrono nemmeno il caffè.riguardo al bagno,pessimo il lavandino si trova nel bel mezzo della stanza. Inoltre quando finisce l acqua calda ci si lava con quella fredda.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Kateri Bisson

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2012 Kateri would recommend this property

Liked: nous sommes satisfaites

Disliked: pas wii fii gratuit

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was the least expensive of our hostels in Ireland. However, they didn't have free wi-fi which was a bit of a bother. There also was not a 24 hr clerk so at 2am when someone locked themselves out of the building they beat obnoxiously on the door for about 30minutes until someone let them in. Not very comforting. They gave us free linens which was nice, but the showere wasn't its own separate unit so if someone needed to use the toilet after a shower the floor was soaked. All-in-all not awful. Would probably pay the extra money to stay somewhere else next time though.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

30 May 2012

Liked: It was just a 10-20 minute walk to almost anywhere in the city centre.

Disliked: The staff seemed a bit impatient and snippy/rude.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Laura Foley

Alone

Business / conference

25 May 2012 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: I was attending a conference in UCC, which is located just across the road - very convenient.

Disliked: A little old and shabby. Pillows were very thin and hard. But, you get what you pay for, so.....

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sophie Jackson

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

09 May 2012 Sophie would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very helpful, and friendly, the group spaces were comfy and attractive and the feel of the place was nice. Breakfast was tasty and reasonably priced. The cost to stay there was great and the other hostellers were lovely. There were plenty of rooms available suiting various needs. And the promised 24 hour hot water seemed to be real :) The dorm I was in had a lovely view.

Disliked: When I arrived the shower area in my room hadn't been fully cleaned (a few hairs stuck to the wall), the floor looked fine so someone just wasn't being as thorough as usual and I ended up just ignoring it. The floor in my room was sloping a little, and the pillows were set up to let all the blood go to your head, but that was easily solveable - just watch for it! There was only one working electricity socket in the room.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 April 2012

Liked: beds were comfortable, bathroom in room

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Coral Eisenbruch

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 March 2012 Coral would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, pretty, nice lounge area and the staff were really nice.

Disliked: "an irish walk" from city center, so pretty far from main shopping center and bus station.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very warm.

Disliked: Bit of a walk to town centre each day.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean room, not too far from the city center

Disliked: .

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

26 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, they go out of their way to help you no questions asked. Can purchase breakfast every morning at the hostel

Disliked: No 24 hour reception

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Rasmus Reis

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2011 Rasmus would recommend this property

Liked: Large room (we had double private).

Disliked: Location is a bit far from city centre. Not too bad actually.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Kathryn Stewart

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2011

Liked: Card system for doors--fairly secure.

Disliked: The hostel was a significant distance from town (about 15-20 minutes' walk) and the bus doesn't run very frequently. The hostel looks nice from the outside but the interior is dingy and not very clean. There was mold all over the walls and ceiling above the shower. The sink in the dorm room, meaning that anyone wanting to brush their teeth or wash their hands while others are sleeping might wake people up. The WiFi isn't free, and the common room is small and depressing. Not a great experience, and I wouldn't stay there again.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2011

Liked: Near the Fitzgerald Park, beautiful !

Disliked: People there are not very friendly (I don't speak about staff), I did'nt feel relax

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very spacious, in a quiet location convenient to town and with nice leafy surroundings

Disliked: i locked myself out of my room in the middle of the night, because cellphone erases the electronic access card.I was unlucky that it erased it in the middle of the night, and not during business hours when regaining access would have been easy.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Walking distance to town centre

Disliked: small rooms, uncomfortable beds, basically a student dorm room... stayed in a few places around ireland with much better value for money.


See all Cork hostels