We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Cork hostels

Reviews of Kinlay House Cork

Hostel | Bob and Joan's Walk (off Upper John Street), Cork, Ireland --

71.9% Overall Rating

413 out of 526 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/08/2014)

Allan Howes thinks…

"I was really pleased with my stay here, for the amazing price I paid my friend and I got a private room. Comfortable clean and nice. I will be staying here every time I come to cork from now on"

Read all Kinlay House Cork reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.27

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cork?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cork

Ashley Hotel
44.28 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.7% 10 reviews
Bru Bar & Hostel
21.51 USD

Hostel 81.6% 63 reviews
Sheila's of Cork
18.98 USD

Hostel 87.2% 713 reviews
Cork International Hostel
15.18 USD

Hostel 76.3% 203 reviews
Garnish House
26.88 USD

Guesthouse 93.8% 12 reviews
Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Hotel
126.50 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Harleys Guest House & West View Apartments
25.17 USD

Guesthouse 85.3% 7 reviews
An Stor Townhouse
22.77 USD

Hostel 95.6% 13 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
71.9%

Overall Rating

413 out of 526 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Kinlay House Cork'

Atmosphere
71.2%
Location
82.4%
Facilities
64.0%
Cleanliness
66.4%
Staff
71.2%
Value
72.0%
Safety
76.0%
Refine your results Showing 312 of 369 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 September 2014

Liked: The. kitchen and dining room and communal TV room. Some of the staff

Disliked: I think I've said it above under point 2

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Rabia Kodapanakkal

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 September 2014

Liked: The location was close to the city centre.

Disliked: The staff was very unfriendly and that was a very bad experience.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

29 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: No comment necessary

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

29 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Online

Disliked: Finding it on unmarked streets

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

18 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location & low prices

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: ---

Disliked: ---

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Allan Howes

With friends / other travellers

City break
Visiting friends or family

15 August 2014 Allan would recommend this property

Liked: I was really pleased with my stay here, for the amazing price I paid my friend and I got a private room. Comfortable clean and nice. I will be staying here every time I come to cork from now on

Disliked: Nothing really, maybe leave breakfast on for another hour or so

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 August 2014

Liked: Not very much

Disliked: There was a bad smell the breakfast is poor

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

01 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: never stayed in a hostel before, was expecting for worst, great venue, great location, friendly staff and good atmosphere

Disliked: I would liked to have a private lockable storage area/locker, but not a huge issue

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

30 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place for good value, hostel is clean and staff is nice

Disliked: Breakfast and breakfast facilities

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Jenny Hill

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 July 2014 Jenny would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was close to the city and had parking available in the lane near the front door. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Jenny left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2014

Liked: Good location, nice staff

Disliked: Uncomfortable beds, push button showers turn off every 10 seconds. The so called breakfast included is toast.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

28 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was fine, clean room, beds, bathrooms, friendly staff, free tea and toast in the morning. Good for the price.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cheap, easy to find, some nice people working there

Disliked: very noisy doors inside the rooms, hot temperature because of non aeration at 3rd floor...

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2014

Liked: friendly staff at reception, good Wi-Fi , price, location

Disliked: Our 4 person bedroom was very tiny and not sure when it was last time painted, not even 1 chair or shelf to put your belongings. No private bathroom. Sheets were in BLACK so I was not sure if they were clean, duvet covers worn, pillows plastic. Kichen/diner large but with no style. TV room was available only for limited time.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

natasha Spriggs

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 June 2014 natasha would recommend this property

Liked: Internet was awesome. Big kitchen, tv room and internet cafe.

Disliked: The showers the taps were the push in ones that stop by themselves after ten seconds literally.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

18 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very relaxing place to stay and great location to shops etc

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

10 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, friendly staff and great atmosphere. Good place for solo travelers!

Disliked: Room which I was staying wasn't very clean and it was little bit cold but it was okay.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

30 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is clean and has very good service, excelent wifi connection, good price and location, comfortable

Disliked: It was hard to know where the things were in the kitchen, no signals for anything, there were always people in the kitchen just talking. And my room was very hot all the time, no ventilation in room 305

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Relaxation/spa

28 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very nice and helpful. The location was fine but a bit hard to find for the first time. The free breakfast with coffee and toast with butter and jam was okay. The room (dorm) was big but almost no people stay in the same room with me every night. There were good facilities in the kitchen.

Disliked: It was cold to stay in the room and the bathroom. The hot water bath was not good, it took some time to heat up the water. It was weird that the button needed to be pressed all the time while having a shower. The water taps were problematic that every time my body got wet when I used it. There were some hairs on my pillow. The bed linen was not very clean. The wifi did not work well. When using it in the common room where many people were there, it was always disconnected. In the room, the internet speed was very slow. It would be better if some other options of breakfast can be offered as I had toast for 4 days. There were no security lockers.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

18 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free WIFI and cooking facilities. There is also a TV room. The rooms were clean.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Family Holiday

16 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: little dust in the rooms

Disliked: doorlock was loud, door was difficult to lock

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

GINA PARTRIDGE

With my spouse / partner

City break

08 April 2014

Liked: The location was good

Disliked: Very dirty building, rooms unclean

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: people

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Got free upgrade to single room. Very helpful staff. The place is good qith TV lounge free qifi etc. Very clean which makes a change.

Disliked: Lack of parking.


See all Cork hostels