HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Malinbeg Hostel

Hostel | Malinbeg, Glencolumkille, Co. Donegal, Ireland -

98.4% Overall Rating

21 out of 21 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/10/2013)

Becky Clemens thinks…

"Clean, quiet, good location. Frank was very helpful with trail and area information, and even opened up his store for us when we arrived at night so we could buy items for breakfast the next morning"

Read all Malinbeg Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Co. Donegal?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Co. Donegal

Aras Ghleann Cholm Cille
16.59 USD

Hostel 93.6% 30 reviews
Ionad Siul Accomodation
23.04 USD

Hotel 4 star 93.3% 3 reviews
Dungloe Coast Hotel
551.49 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Ostan Gweedore
183.83 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Seaview Hotel Gweedore
275.74 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Harvey’s Point Country Hotel
157.57 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Errigal Youth Hostel
23.50 USD

Hostel 94.6% 18 reviews
Corcreggan Mill Lodge (Camping & MotorHome Park)
24.19 USD

Hostel 95.7% 8 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
98.4%

Overall Rating

21 out of 21 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Malinbeg Hostel'

Atmosphere
98.1%
Location
94.3%
Facilities
97.1%
Cleanliness
100.0%
Staff
99.1%
Value
100.0%
Safety
100.0%
Refine your results Showing 13 of 21 reviews
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Becky Clemens

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 October 2013 Becky would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, quiet, good location. Frank was very helpful with trail and area information, and even opened up his store for us when we arrived at night so we could buy items for breakfast the next morning

Disliked: Becky left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Frank was an excellent host and the whole experience was superb.

Disliked: No dislikes everything was good!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

28 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: absolutely stunning landscape, very nice atmosphere with fire place in living room, nicely equipped rooms, very clean, big kitchens, shop nearby, very very friendly, quiet

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Martina Lampret

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

03 May 2013 Martina would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, homely, everything was just perfect. Beds are very good, bed linens are fresh and clean. Frank is a very nice, friendly, smart and helpful. It is very nice if you like peace, cliffs, smell of the sea, sound of the waves....

Disliked: Even though it is a little bit far it is worth driving there.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Martin Rafferty

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2012 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: Frank 1st host and great crowd staying at the hostel. 10 out of 10 without a doubt. Will definately go back and would recommend to stay and see for yourself. Great facilities and excellent hostel better than most hotels I have stayed in. You might get a free cat if you stay more than 3 nights. :-) Two thumbs up. Marty

Disliked: nothing, great experience and enjoyable. Hostel, host and location excellent

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

patricia sole

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2012 patricia would recommend this property

Liked: it was very clean and homely and frank the owner could not be more helpful and the nightly turf fire was most welcoming he didnt go to bed until everyone was home safe and sound which was a lovely touch,we will definately be returning again and again its home from home

Disliked: there was nothing to dislike.......

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly owner, clean, good facilities. Beautiful location, very quiet and relaxing. Lovely beach 5 mind up the road.

Disliked: We didn't realize how far away the hostel was from the main highway at Donegal. It's quite a way on small roads with some sheep on the road in places. Not a bad drive at all, but you must have a car to get there.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicola Neill

As a family with children

Relaxation/spa

15 May 2012 Nicola would recommend this property

Liked: The friendliness of staff made you feel like you were a friend and very helpful if you needed anything. I had a toddler with me and they were considerate of this and chatted her which meant alot. The area was beautiful, I went to destress and succeeded as away from it all you could do nothing but. In a quick statement ' a getaway from it all, back to the simple beauty of life'

Disliked: I disliked the roads getting there. I found it difficult to find then in the bad weather I was nervous going out due to the narrow roads.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alison Bryant

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 July 2011 Alison would recommend this property

Liked: The owner Frank is a great guy. He also owns the small food store across the road and will open it for guests at any time to get food. The hostel is very clean and cosy, with a peat fire in the fireplace in the evenings. It has 2 kitchens, so there is always room for as many cooks as you want!

Disliked: We loved this aspect, but prospective hostel stayers must know that the hostel is FAR from anywhere. It is 30 minutes to the nearest town with a bank, grocery store, etc. The seclusion is what made it great for us though.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: proximity of the ocean, cleanliness, friendliness and helpfulness of owner

Disliked: no complaints at all

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
City break

22 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the area was very quiet and peaceful, it was great to relax, enjoy the nature around and just refill energy. the hostel was very clean, the owner Frank and his sister were very helpful and friendly and even gave us a better room than the one we booked because it was not been used. really loved the experience!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Keryn Donald

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture

30 October 2010 Keryn would recommend this property

Liked: This was the best hostel I stayed at in Ireland. Great host, fantastic location and all the facilities were really good. It is located in a wonderful rugged part of Ireland

Disliked: Keryn left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
City break

04 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: perfect location, near to the sea cliffs. beautiful sight, we could see the sea out of our window. very friendly staff.

Disliked: nothing to complain about