HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of CASA RAFFLES

Hostel | Jl. Purwodiningratan NG1/915, Opp. Ngampilan, Yogyakarta, Indonesia .

72.8% Overall Rating

18 out of 26 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/02/2014)

Filza Syahirah Daud thinks…

"Staying there was worth my money. The room was really huge (stayed in the 4 bedded room) and it was airconditioned. Also it's a 20 Min walk to malioboro street, and a lot of street food (at night) at…"

Read all CASA RAFFLES reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Yogyakarta?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Yogyakarta

Mawar Asri Hotel
36.72 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Mawar Asri Villa
10.03 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Merapi Hotel
17.44 USD

Hotel 3 star 73.2% 11 reviews
Merbabu Hotel
13.08 USD

Hostel 70.7% 38 reviews
Hotel Sahid Raya Yogyakarta
91.56 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Austin Residence Yogyakarta
27.90 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Sriwedari Hotel
13.08 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Grage Ramayana Hotel
24.70 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
72.8%

Overall Rating

18 out of 26 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'CASA RAFFLES'

Atmosphere
68.8%
Location
79.2%
Facilities
67.2%
Cleanliness
67.2%
Staff
72.8%
Value
84.8%
Safety
69.6%
Refine your results Showing 20 of 22 reviews
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Filza Syahirah Daud

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

11 February 2014 Filza Syahirah would recommend this property

Liked: Staying there was worth my money. The room was really huge (stayed in the 4 bedded room) and it was airconditioned. Also it's a 20 Min walk to malioboro street, and a lot of street food (at night) at The street just outside the place.

Disliked: The staff weren't there most of the time, only interacted with them when we got there and when we left the place.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 January 2014

Liked: Has pc desk that has internet connection,tv,some games and piano that the guest can use it

Disliked: I thought they have facilities of hot water.seems it didn't work

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Michelle Suelzle

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 December 2013

Liked: The location is fine it's about a 15min walk to the Main Street. There was eggs available for breakfast each morning and the free use of laundry is nice.

Disliked: The atmosphere is weird, staff are hardly around and they are not helpful. As I'm leaving I'm not sure they wash the blankets and towels. Although I was never affected a few others reservations were messed up they booked for nights and then told no room. Don't book in the 4bed dorm as a single traveller unless your cool with possibly sharing a bed with someone.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

FORICHON Patricia

Alone

Work / volunteering

25 December 2013 FORICHON would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hostel, people help you in any time, a lot of free services for a cheap price.

Disliked: The bathrooms and toilets are outside, so we are in the rain to go there... It's not funny during the night !

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

26 October 2013

Liked: Nice room, comfortable bed. We requested an airport transfer, and didn't hear from the hotel so assumed they were not coming - although they did turn up.

Disliked: Communication with staff was difficult. Location was not great, quite a long walk from Malioboro and taxi drivers didn't know the hotel. Many items were missing from our laundry which we had to go and find outside for ourselves. The breakfast wasn't very good as there were ants ALL over the tomatoes and onions which you have to cook for yourself.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

siyun chen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 October 2013 siyun would recommend this property

Liked: confortable stay for backpackers

Disliked: siyun left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: large, spacious rooms. Good bed and fridge in the room is nice. If you appreciate kitschy "art" you might like it even more.. Everything in the hotel is mismatched and kind of kinky.. blue lights behind the bed, pink teddybear wallpaper.. but all in all a wellfunctioning and complete hotel!!

Disliked: breakfast, wallpaper

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Alisdair Grahame

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 August 2013 Alisdair would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful room, and common areas. And amazing value for money! Breakfast and free wifi is brilliant too.The staff will give you honest and helpful step-by-step guides on how to get to the temples.

Disliked: Very quiet for a hostel, but that might not be a bad thing! Just lacked a bit of atmosphere.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the price-service ratio is great! free airport pick-up, bread, cheese and egg in the morning, clean showers and toilets. the staff is friendly (and they tried their best to help me with anything i needed even though they often had a bit of a difficult time speaking and understanding english).. i paid 50.000 for a single room per night and would definitely recommend this hostel. additionally, its only 5minn walking distance from the center of jogja (the kraton, market etc). also the city has so much to offer that i didnt need the most decadent place to stay since i only went back to sleep and my bed was really comfortable so yeah, its not a palace but a decent hostel.

Disliked: this is only a minor thing, but it would be great if the staff would improve their english a little.. still this is something i could add about any hostel i went to in indonesia and it kind of adds charisma to the place so i didnt mind it. mmh, i cant think of anything striking apart from this

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and really comfy dorm beds. Can do your own laundry for free.

Disliked: The staff don't speak great English and when asked a question they don't know the answer to, they are reluctant to help and find out the answer. Despite what Hostelbookers says, there is no free breakfast for dorm guests. And the dorm rooms don't lock, and there are no lockable lockers in the dorms. There are ants everywhere!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fransisca Dian Handayati

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

02 July 2013 Fransisca Dian would recommend this property

Liked: I like all things in Casa Raffles. I stayed for 2 nights and picked a dormitory. Dormitory was nice for me, it's huge and still had a place for my luggage even though it's full. The bathroom was clean and got the toilettries if you ask the staff. It's easy to find food with cheap price and near the convenient store. Living room was nice, and they provide you free internet access.

Disliked: I don't know why but it seems they turn off the electricity for 1 hour in the morning. So avoid to charge your phone around 6 AM.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 June 2013

Liked: The location is quite nice and the staff is friendly

Disliked: The rooms and facilities are terrible. Most of the time there is no hot water. We stayed in two rooms and both were bad. One had the wallpaper falling down the walls and smelled like someone smoked in there for years in a row. The beds are comfortable though,

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I would recommend this property 100% I stayed there for several days, and would always go back. Its great value: i booked for three days and got Free pick up from airport, Free laundry, Free drinking water! And everything good quality. Two Girls in the staff speak english very well and One of them is usually around if You have any qustions, they are very helpful. Rest of staff speak less english, but also very nice and if they Do Not understand you, they will get someone that speaks english better. I stayed in 8bed dorm, One night it was actually full, but there is enough space for the luggage so it was fine. Wooden bunk beds are also nice, and mattress is comfy. Ac worked well All during my stay so no trouble sleeping. Also WiFi excellent. Skyped with my boyfriend with Video and all for an hour straight, no Problem. Location is the only minor drawback: Not in"Main" backpacker district. You walk about 10 nmins to South of malioboro, 20 min to northern end. On the other Hand, the neighbourhood of casa raffles is more authentic and streeetfood here is also cheaper. A transjogya Bus Station is very Close (bout 2min walk) and Supermarkt just around the corner. Western style bathrooms, soap and toilet paper always there. Everything very clean. All in all, great place to stay! Best i have been in indonesia as solo travelerer.

Disliked: Nothing.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

FENG YE

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 May 2013 FENG would recommend this property

Liked: The instrutions of the website is clearly so it's easy to get to the hostel.

Disliked: It said somtime you can have the free laundry and pick-up service even you stay less than 3 days, but it's a pity that i stayed 2 nights but the promise seems not came true.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beds are so comfortable. Cheap nice food. Free drinking water and tea and coffee. Good Wifi Access. Laundry for free, if you stay 3 nights. Friendly and quiet place to stay

Disliked: I had a rat in my room and there were only a few other backpackers there, but I really enjoyed to stay there.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Balakrishnan Papaiah

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2013

Liked: 1)Close proximity to major attractions. 2)Homely environment except for the rats and noisy staff not forgetting the rude supervisor lady . 3)the old lady there cooks good food at reasonable price.

Disliked: 1)power cuts off for a minute or so and on again. I was watching dvd movie and this power cut interrupted my viewing having to restart the movie from the beginning many times. 2)the supervisor lady was very rude when I asked her about the above. She was more interested in playing games with other lady staff making lots of noise. She also demanded payment for breakfast that I refused to pay. 3)mainly lady staff who make lots of noise playing games in the hallway disturbing the homely environment. They behave as though they are the guests.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Michelle Mitchell

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 February 2013 Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: The common area is airy and also houses private room guests, which creates a Hotel-style atmosphere. The girls who work there are helpful and always pleasant and aim to help with whatever you need. There is always hot and cold drinking water ( and tea and coffee) available) and a small kitchen that guests may use. There is also a place out the back where you can hand-wash and hang clothes (bonus!).

Disliked: The power went off a lot when I was there, which meant that so did the air-con (which needed turning back on by staff, which means that you need to ask each time it goes off - this could be dozens of times per day) and laptop if no battery). This would be bearable (Yogya's weather is very hot and humid) if there was a fan to replace it, but there isn't. The drains often do not take the water and were often blocked when I was there. The main door is locked with a padlock at night (I am sure that they wait until everyone has returned from wherever they are before locking it) but I was a little concerned in case of emergency, about being padlocked inside ( (that's Asia though> I had to wake up one of the staff early morning to unlock it to get out to go on a tour (I had asked them the night before if the door would be locked or unlocked - they said: unlocked - not a big deal really, but....

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

31 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is a beautiful building and the beds are so comfortable. They really went out of their way to accommodate our early check-in and check-out times. I enjoyed waking up to the chant from the nearby mosque each morning. Great that they offer unlimited drinking water!

Disliked: There was a lot of confusion with booking a tour. In the end we were very disappointed with how it was all handled. While I would recommend staying here, I would recommend going through a different company for tours. Also only one locker in the dorm room had a lock and key. Would be great if there was one for each bed.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 December 2012

Liked: Spacious excellent, big indonesian breakfast

Disliked: Only twn tiny bathrooms for the entire building

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cassie Markland

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 November 2012 Cassie would recommend this property

Liked: These guys sooo nice here, all the staff here own the property, they share the profits as a collective and are SUCH sweet people. I can't believe it's so cheap! They bought a beautiful authentic Javanese home and transformed it into a hostel, but it's so beautiful, there is a garden, two terraces, marble floors, nice plants everywhere, even a chandelier :) The lady who cooks makes the best food too, and each meal is less than $1 us. I ate out once and preferred her cooking, so I just ate in the hostel after that. Towels, soap and even complimentary toothbrush is provided! They also provide tours to borobudur and Prambanan temples. Also air con in rooms.

Disliked: Nothing!