HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2015
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2015
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in Varanasi, India

99.3%
4 reviews Book Now 
1

Stops Hostel Varanasi

Hostel
B-20/47, A-2, Vijaya Nagaram Colon, Bhelupur, Varanasi, India 221010

4 out of 4 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Stops Hostel Varanasi

Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 95% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 05 August 2014

Of all the hostels I stayed in it's probably the best. They have just about everything you could think of.

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 08 July 2014

Very friendly staff who liked to join us for drinks and a good time in town! Had good tips on restaurants and bars. Rooms were very clean (probably the cleanest you can find in India!!), lots of common areas so you easily meet the other travelers. Atmosphere was great, and every night they display a Bollywood blockbuster. Our stay was simply great and we would recommend it to everyone traveling to Varanasi!

97.1%
4 reviews Book Now 
2

International Travellers' Hostel

Hostel
C-32/4, Vidyapeeth Road,, Varanasi, India. Landmark:, Gate# 2 Vidyapeeth University, Varanasi, India 221002

4 out of 4 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend International Travellers' Hostel

Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 85% Cleanliness - 95% Value - 100%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 10 August 2014

Very close to Varanasi train station, good dorms and nice social room. The staff were very helpful and made good suggestions.

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 02 August 2014

The moment you step into Internatinal Travellers' Hostel, you feel welcomed. It has a very relaxing, peaceful atmosphere. The staff are very friendly and open, and always eager to help you out, from giving tips how to get around in the city to taking you out for a drink. It is very clean, and showers, AC, fans and WiFi actually work all the time. Another great factor is that drinking water is provided, so you don't have to buy bottles and throw them away. Food is very tasty and carefully prepared, as well. The dorm beds are clean and comfortable, and the common areas are cool to hang out together. Especially the swing in the garden is fun. All in all, it's a great place to relax from the heat and the chaos of Varanasi, a place you look forward to return to in the evening.

93.8%
6 reviews Book Now 
3

Azure Family Paying Guest House

Guesthouse
Plot number 30, Vijaya Nagaram Colony, Near Bhelupur Water Tank, Varanasi, India 221010

5 out of 6 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Azure Family Paying Guest House

Atmosphere - 90% Staff - 100% Facilities - 90% Safety - 96%
Location - 86% Cleanliness - 96% Value - 96%
Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 13 June 2014

Run by a friendly and helpful family. Quiet residential location away from hustle and bustle, but only a 15 min walk to the old town.

Carina Wiegman
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
77.1%
02 December 2013

I liked the cleanliness of the room and the fact it was a quiet place to relax after a day full of impressions. The owners are very helpful. And the place is value for money.

92.5%
42 reviews Book Now 
4

Monu Family Paying Guest House

Guesthouse
D8/4 Kalika Gali,Near Golden, Temple,Dashashwamedh ,221001,, Varanasi,U.P.,India, Varanasi, India 221001

40 out of 42 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Monu Family Paying Guest House

Atmosphere - 91% Staff - 96% Facilities - 91% Safety - 94%
Location - 91% Cleanliness - 91% Value - 92%
Jara Joedicke
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
88.6%
Jara would recommend this property 14 August 2014

The staff was friendly. Good location, very central (although hard to find at first).

Peter Moody
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Peter would recommend this property 12 May 2014

You will never stay in a more colourful guest house than the monu. Friendly atmosphere- superb location and above all a reliable place to stay at.

86.3%
264 reviews Book Now 
5

Ganpati Guesthouse

Guesthouse
D 3/24 , Meer Ghat, Varanasi, India 221001

236 out of 264 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Ganpati Guesthouse

Atmosphere - 91% Staff - 81% Facilities - 80% Safety - 88%
Location - 94% Cleanliness - 82% Value - 84%
William Derham
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Relaxation/spa
80.0%
William would recommend this property 20 June 2014

Its right on the River, has a rooftop restaurant with great views, its colourful, and it's a nice place to relax when it's too hot to go wandering around.

Customer review
Alone
Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 02 June 2014

Great location on the Ganges close to the main ghat with far reaching views from the rooftop restaurant. It was a relaxed place to be, but felt secure and organised. You can book onward travel with the hotel. The room was good value.

85.1%
19 reviews Book Now 
6

Rahul Guest House

Guesthouse
N1/15 D10 gangotri vihar,nagwa, lanka, Varanasi, India 221005

17 out of 19 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Rahul Guest House

Atmosphere - 84% Staff - 90% Facilities - 82% Safety - 90%
Location - 77% Cleanliness - 83% Value - 87%
Jenny Martin
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
88.6%
Jenny would recommend this property 03 May 2014

The staff were very nice and helpful They arranged a decent priced evening boat trip which was great We had a train in the afternoon and they let us stay free of charge in the room after our actual checkout time Arranged a cheap tuk tuk to the train station

John Pilkington
With friends / other travellers
Sightseeing & culture
94.3%
John would recommend this property 04 March 2014

Varanasi we found to be hectic, noisy and dirty and full of people trying to get money from you. So to be able to walk or tuktuk down to Rahul Guesthouse just beyond Assi Ghat takes you to a quiet place where you can just relax on their rooftop restaurant. Super efficient and friendly owner who has your best interests at heart. He will organise most things for you and he keeps the process down. He is expanding the business so it will get better.

83.4%
103 reviews Book Now 
7

Suraj Guesthouse

Apartment
ck 10/37 lalita ghat, chowk-221001, UP India, Varanasi, India 221001

89 out of 103 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Suraj Guesthouse

Atmosphere - 84% Staff - 87% Facilities - 77% Safety - 87%
Location - 87% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%
Kari-Ann Saunders
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
80.0%
Kari-Ann would recommend this property 24 June 2014

Very friendly owner, in a good location near the Ghats and in the old city. But complicated to,find your way through the streets the other side of Varanasi but if you arrange a pick up through them the driver will walk you through the narrow streets

Ruth Brehaut
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
Ruth would recommend this property 01 April 2014

Everyone there was so friendly and helpful, a real family atmosphere. The rooftop is great and I was happy not to see many monkeys (from other reviews I thought they would be all over it!) Great location close the the Ganges and the Ghats. Gurav was great, and funny and helpful and definitely made our stay :) Plus Lucky the dog was super cute too!

81.3%
9 reviews Book Now 
8

Hotel Sita Guest House

2 star Hotel
22/16 Chausatthi Ghat, Near Dashaswamedh Ghat, Varanasi, India 000

8 out of 9 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hotel Sita Guest House

Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 88% Facilities - 71% Safety - 88%
Location - 97% Cleanliness - 68% Value - 73%
Anna Timchenko
With my spouse / partner
Sightseeing & culture
91.4%
Anna would recommend this property 26 February 2013

Nice hotel at the bank of Ganga River. Nice view. Near all main attachments. Helpful staff.

paul bradley
Alone
Events / festivals
94.3%
paul would recommend this property 25 February 2013

great location, with a really honest, friendly and helpful bunch of guys that run the place. The hotel has excellent security, and the rooftop is really superb, with great views with good food at the restuarant. My room was clean, and the mattress new with clean bedding. i would totally reccomend this hotel. room 302 is excellent.

81.3%
9 reviews Book Now 
9

Sagar Guesthouse

Guesthouse
D 52/34 J Lakshmi kund, Luxa Road, Varanasi, India n/a

8 out of 9 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Sagar Guesthouse

Atmosphere - 84% Staff - 95% Facilities - 71% Safety - 84%
Location - 82% Cleanliness - 71% Value - 80%
Melissa Dutt
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
88.6%
Melissa would recommend this property 17 November 2013

Perfect place for the budget traveller! Couldn't ask for a nicer family to stay with, they are super friendly, helpful and make you feel at home. Value for money could not be better ~ clean simple rooms with or without bathroom, secure and safe plus free wifi! The location is fine, it's slightly back from the old city and the river but it's only a 5min walk that we enjoyed each day through a vibrant street with great street food along the way!

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 23 August 2013

We stayed at the cheapest room on the rooftop and liked it a lot! The room has big windows and the roof top felt like our own balcony on top of Varanasi. The hotel has a great atmosphere. The owner is so friendly. He helped us a lot during our first days in India and arranged train tickets for us.

80.2%
23 reviews Book Now 
10

Shiva Ganges P. Guesthouse

Guesthouse
B-14/24, Mansarovar Ghat, Near Andhra Ashram, Varanasi, India 221001

17 out of 23 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Shiva Ganges P. Guesthouse

Atmosphere - 83% Staff - 85% Facilities - 73% Safety - 84%
Location - 94% Cleanliness - 78% Value - 61%
Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Romantic getaway
71.4%
Customer would recommend this property 01 April 2014

- Suite room doesn't have private balcony! - And the suite room is next to roof top table. And people make noise there. - We paid for suite room but felt like staying in corridor.

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture
77.1%
Customer would recommend this property 21 November 2011

la posizione è ottima e le camere pulite, la zanzariera intorno al letto è indispensabile

Varanasi

33 Hostels from 1.65 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated Varanasi hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Varanasi. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.