We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/04/2016
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/04/2016
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in Varanasi, India

98.7%
9 reviews Book Now 
1

Zostel Varanasi

Hostel
D-54/16-D, Jaddumandi, Aurangabad, Luxa Road, Varanasi, India 2210101

9 out of 9 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Zostel Varanasi

Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 97% Safety - 100%
Location - 97% Cleanliness - 97% Value - 97%
Customer review
As a family with children
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 10 February 2015

While this hostel is only recently open, we had an excellent stay here. After travelling in India for a while, Zostel provides an excellent service that many travelers may find hard to find in a lot of Indian cities. The guys were great and were always there to give you advice on where to go and what to eat etc and even took us around themselves. Would love to stay here again and see the place go from strength to strength once they have all there extra services put in place. Totally worth staying here for a couple of days since my two nights were not enough. Keep up the good work guys! :-)

Customer review
As a family with children
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 10 February 2015

Zostel varanasi was a great stay and a nice haven from the craziness of Varanasi. The hosts were very accommodating and provided great advise and recommendations for the city. We were a group of five and stayed in the dorm rooms which were clean and comfortable. I have been recommending Zostel Varanasi to our friends. It could be decked up a bit though like other Zostels. Thanks!

98.0%
7 reviews Book Now 
2

Stops Hostel Varanasi

Hostel
B-20/47, A-2, Vijaya Nagaram Colon, Bhelupur, Varanasi, India 221010

7 out of 7 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Stops Hostel Varanasi

Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 91% Cleanliness - 97% Value - 97%
Customer review
Alone
Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 11 February 2015

Fastest Wifi I have experienced in any hostel globally till date, super communal atmosphere, clean as hell and a helpful staff that goes beyond the call of Duty for guests. Free breakfast I and evening Chai are great and the tours and activities through the day are incomparable.

Customer review
Alone
City break
88.6%
Customer would recommend this property 14 September 2014

The staff was very helpfull and there where activities like yoga and walking tours

97.1%
4 reviews Book Now 
3

International Travellers' Hostel & Bistro

Hostel
C-32/4, Vidyapeeth Road,, Varanasi, India. Landmark:, Gate #2 of Vidyapeeth Uni, Varanasi, India 221002

4 out of 4 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend International Travellers' Hostel & Bistro

Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 85% Cleanliness - 95% Value - 100%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 10 August 2014

Very close to Varanasi train station, good dorms and nice social room. The staff were very helpful and made good suggestions.

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 02 August 2014

The moment you step into Internatinal Travellers' Hostel, you feel welcomed. It has a very relaxing, peaceful atmosphere. The staff are very friendly and open, and always eager to help you out, from giving tips how to get around in the city to taking you out for a drink. It is very clean, and showers, AC, fans and WiFi actually work all the time. Another great factor is that drinking water is provided, so you don't have to buy bottles and throw them away. Food is very tasty and carefully prepared, as well. The dorm beds are clean and comfortable, and the common areas are cool to hang out together. Especially the swing in the garden is fun. All in all, it's a great place to relax from the heat and the chaos of Varanasi, a place you look forward to return to in the evening.

93.1%
7 reviews Book Now 
4

Azure Family Paying Guest House

Guesthouse
Plot number 30, Vijaya Nagaram Colony, Near Bhelupur Water Tank, Varanasi, India 221010

6 out of 7 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Azure Family Paying Guest House

Atmosphere - 88% Staff - 100% Facilities - 88% Safety - 97%
Location - 85% Cleanliness - 97% Value - 94%
Ivan Tan
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year
88.6%
Ivan would recommend this property 19 December 2014

Run by a friendly family, a short 15mins walk away from the main ghats. Ideal if you're looking for a quiet location, and much cleaner than backpacker places you'll find next to the ghats. We love Sona & her family - who always made us feel right at home from the first night. Thank you for the pleasant stay!

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 13 June 2014

Run by a friendly and helpful family. Quiet residential location away from hustle and bustle, but only a 15 min walk to the old town.

92.2%
43 reviews Book Now 
5

Monu Family Paying Guest House

Guesthouse
D8/4 Kalika Gali,Near Golden, Temple,Dashashwamedh ,221001,, Varanasi,U.P.,India, Varanasi, India 221001

41 out of 43 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Monu Family Paying Guest House

Atmosphere - 89% Staff - 95% Facilities - 92% Safety - 94%
Location - 90% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 91%
Jara Joedicke
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
88.6%
Jara would recommend this property 14 August 2014

The staff was friendly. Good location, very central (although hard to find at first).

Peter Moody
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Peter would recommend this property 12 May 2014

You will never stay in a more colourful guest house than the monu. Friendly atmosphere- superb location and above all a reliable place to stay at.

86.3%
264 reviews Book Now 
6

Ganpati Guesthouse

Guesthouse
D 3/24 , Meer Ghat, Varanasi, India 221001

236 out of 264 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Ganpati Guesthouse

Atmosphere - 91% Staff - 81% Facilities - 80% Safety - 88%
Location - 94% Cleanliness - 82% Value - 84%
William Derham
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Relaxation/spa
80.0%
William would recommend this property 20 June 2014

Its right on the River, has a rooftop restaurant with great views, its colourful, and it's a nice place to relax when it's too hot to go wandering around.

Customer review
Alone
Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 02 June 2014

Great location on the Ganges close to the main ghat with far reaching views from the rooftop restaurant. It was a relaxed place to be, but felt secure and organised. You can book onward travel with the hotel. The room was good value.

85.1%
19 reviews Book Now 
7

Rahul Guest House

Guesthouse
N1/15 D10 gangotri vihar,nagwa, lanka, Varanasi, India 221005

17 out of 19 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Rahul Guest House

Atmosphere - 84% Staff - 90% Facilities - 82% Safety - 90%
Location - 77% Cleanliness - 83% Value - 87%
Jenny Martin
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
88.6%
Jenny would recommend this property 03 May 2014

The staff were very nice and helpful They arranged a decent priced evening boat trip which was great We had a train in the afternoon and they let us stay free of charge in the room after our actual checkout time Arranged a cheap tuk tuk to the train station

John Pilkington
With friends / other travellers
Sightseeing & culture
94.3%
John would recommend this property 04 March 2014

Varanasi we found to be hectic, noisy and dirty and full of people trying to get money from you. So to be able to walk or tuktuk down to Rahul Guesthouse just beyond Assi Ghat takes you to a quiet place where you can just relax on their rooftop restaurant. Super efficient and friendly owner who has your best interests at heart. He will organise most things for you and he keeps the process down. He is expanding the business so it will get better.

84.9%
105 reviews Book Now 
8

Suraj Guesthouse

Apartment
ck 10/37 lalita ghat, chowk-221001, UP India, Varanasi, India 221001

91 out of 105 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Suraj Guesthouse

Atmosphere - 84% Staff - 88% Facilities - 77% Safety - 88%
Location - 90% Cleanliness - 81% Value - 82%
Mikey Codner
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
77.1%
Mikey would recommend this property 20 March 2015

Great location by the river (once you figure out the alley ways!) and good rooftop view. Friendly staff and comfortable room. Booked one night but stayed three.

Michael Cop
With my spouse / partner
Sightseeing & culture
77.1%
Michael would recommend this property 31 December 2014

The location could not be better: it is a 2 minute walk from the river and the main ghat. The building had character and (while it would have been difficult to find alone) was in a dynamic little neighbourhood. It was nice sitting on the rooftop experiencing sunrise, but it was much nicer walking down to and along the river in the early morning, which is perfectly accessible and and enjoyable to do. Young Suraj was very nice and made the stay worthwhile. They also organized airport pick-up and were easy to find at the airport.

81.3%
9 reviews Book Now 
9

Hotel Sita Guest House

2 star Hotel
22/16 Chausatthi Ghat, Near Dashaswamedh Ghat, Varanasi, India 000

8 out of 9 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hotel Sita Guest House

Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 88% Facilities - 71% Safety - 88%
Location - 97% Cleanliness - 68% Value - 73%
Anna Timchenko
With my spouse / partner
Sightseeing & culture
91.4%
Anna would recommend this property 26 February 2013

Nice hotel at the bank of Ganga River. Nice view. Near all main attachments. Helpful staff.

paul bradley
Alone
Events / festivals
94.3%
paul would recommend this property 25 February 2013

great location, with a really honest, friendly and helpful bunch of guys that run the place. The hotel has excellent security, and the rooftop is really superb, with great views with good food at the restuarant. My room was clean, and the mattress new with clean bedding. i would totally reccomend this hotel. room 302 is excellent.

81.3%
9 reviews Book Now 
10

Sagar Guesthouse

Guesthouse
D 52/34 J Lakshmi kund, Luxa Road, Varanasi, India n/a

8 out of 9 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Sagar Guesthouse

Atmosphere - 84% Staff - 95% Facilities - 71% Safety - 84%
Location - 82% Cleanliness - 71% Value - 80%
Melissa Dutt
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
88.6%
Melissa would recommend this property 17 November 2013

Perfect place for the budget traveller! Couldn't ask for a nicer family to stay with, they are super friendly, helpful and make you feel at home. Value for money could not be better ~ clean simple rooms with or without bathroom, secure and safe plus free wifi! The location is fine, it's slightly back from the old city and the river but it's only a 5min walk that we enjoyed each day through a vibrant street with great street food along the way!

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 23 August 2013

We stayed at the cheapest room on the rooftop and liked it a lot! The room has big windows and the roof top felt like our own balcony on top of Varanasi. The hotel has a great atmosphere. The owner is so friendly. He helped us a lot during our first days in India and arranged train tickets for us.

Varanasi

34 Hostels from 2.01 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated Varanasi hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Varanasi. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.