HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in Varanasi, India

91.4%
4 reviews Book Now 
1

Azure Family Paying Guest House

Guesthouse
Plot number 30, Vijaya Nagaram Colony, Near Bhelupur Water Tank, Varanasi, India 221010

3 out of 4 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Azure Family Paying Guest House

Atmosphere - 85% Staff - 100% Facilities - 85% Safety - 95%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 95% Value - 100%
Carina Wiegman
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
77.1%
02 December 2013

I liked the cleanliness of the room and the fact it was a quiet place to relax after a day full of impressions. The owners are very helpful. And the place is value for money.

Customer review
As a family with children
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 13 September 2013

Spotlessly clean, and run by a charming family. Staying there gives a slice of Indian family life on a quite and peaceful, but far from boring residential area. It is also very safe and secure, with a nice lounge and balcony to relax on. It is within walking distance of the Ganges, which is reassuring, as it prevents the need to do the usual battle with taxi and rickshaw drivers, which is often part of a traveler daily life in India. Tip for travelers: Pay no more than 150 Rupees for a motor rickshaw to get from the train station to the Azure Paying Guesthouse. The distance is a bit longer than I remember being described on Hostel Bookers, so 150 is what rickshaw drivers generally charge foreigners.

91.1%
40 reviews Book Now 
2

Monu Family Paying Guest House

Guesthouse
D8/4 Kalika Gali,Near Golden, Temple,Dashashwamedh ,221001,, Varanasi,U.P.,India, Varanasi, India 221001

38 out of 40 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Monu Family Paying Guest House

Atmosphere - 89% Staff - 93% Facilities - 89% Safety - 92%
Location - 91% Cleanliness - 90% Value - 90%
WENLIN LIAO
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
WENLIN would recommend this property 01 March 2014

the location is very good,and the owner is honest,they wont recommod their business all the time,and they have coffe and chai service,very comfortable.What i want is just a place for relaxing

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Sightseeing & culture
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 20 February 2014

Very short walk to main ghat, burning ghat, Blue Lassi shop, Brown Bread Bakery - ideal location for anyone short on time. We really enjoyed candy coloured interiors and the room/bathroom were clean when we arrived.

86.6%
17 reviews Book Now 
3

Rahul Guest House

Guesthouse
N1/15 D10 gangotri vihar,nagwa, lanka, Varanasi, India 221005

16 out of 17 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Rahul Guest House

Atmosphere - 85% Staff - 90% Facilities - 83% Safety - 91%
Location - 81% Cleanliness - 84% Value - 88%
John Pilkington
With friends / other travellers
Sightseeing & culture
94.3%
John would recommend this property 04 March 2014

Varanasi we found to be hectic, noisy and dirty and full of people trying to get money from you. So to be able to walk or tuktuk down to Rahul Guesthouse just beyond Assi Ghat takes you to a quiet place where you can just relax on their rooftop restaurant. Super efficient and friendly owner who has your best interests at heart. He will organise most things for you and he keeps the process down. He is expanding the business so it will get better.

Chase Moorhead
With my spouse / partner
Events / festivals
100.0%
Chase would recommend this property 19 February 2013

We loved everything about this property! We had a suite with an amazing view of the Ganges directly from our room! The room was big and clean with a huge bathroom. The hotel staff was the best! So helpful wtih giving sightseeing tips and setting up the trips directly for us. They were also great in giving advice on places to eat. Just overall so nice and helfpul. The location was great also! Located right on the Ganges and you can walk all the Ghats directley from the hotel. We really enjoyed our walk along the Ganges, one of our favorite parts of Varanasi! We would definitley stay here again and highly reccomend this hotel!

84.9%
101 reviews Book Now 
4

Suraj Guesthouse

Apartment
ck 10/37 lalita ghat, chowk-221001, UP India, Varanasi, India 221001

88 out of 101 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Suraj Guesthouse

Atmosphere - 87% Staff - 88% Facilities - 79% Safety - 88%
Location - 89% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 81%
Ruth Brehaut
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
Ruth would recommend this property 01 April 2014

Everyone there was so friendly and helpful, a real family atmosphere. The rooftop is great and I was happy not to see many monkeys (from other reviews I thought they would be all over it!) Great location close the the Ganges and the Ghats. Gurav was great, and funny and helpful and definitely made our stay :) Plus Lucky the dog was super cute too!

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
82.9%
Customer would recommend this property 26 March 2014

Helpful staff, location super close to the waterfront and several key ghats. Courtyard and rooftop to chill in. Cozy rooms.

84.0%
261 reviews Book Now 
5

Ganpati Guesthouse

Guesthouse
D 3/24 , Meer Ghat, Varanasi, India 221001

233 out of 261 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Ganpati Guesthouse

Atmosphere - 90% Staff - 76% Facilities - 80% Safety - 88%
Location - 89% Cleanliness - 81% Value - 81%
Sheri Bird Bloxom
With my spouse / partner
Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Sheri would recommend this property 22 September 2013

Location is wonderful looking over the Ganges. Staff were very friendly and the location is right in the middle of the action, yet very quiet for a good night sleep. Restaurant food on the roof is very good and inexpensive. We had a pleasant stay and would go back again next time. Recommended.

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 17 November 2012

I liked the great location, the friendliness of the staff, the restaurant on the terrace, the family atmosphere of the accommodation. The bedroom we had the privilege to get had a balcony and great view of the Ganges : an incredible gift.

81.3%
9 reviews Book Now 
6

Hotel Sita Guest House

2 star Hotel
22/16 Chausatthi Ghat, Near Dashaswamedh Ghat, Varanasi, India 000

8 out of 9 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hotel Sita Guest House

Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 88% Facilities - 71% Safety - 88%
Location - 97% Cleanliness - 68% Value - 73%
Anna Timchenko
With my spouse / partner
Sightseeing & culture
91.4%
Anna would recommend this property 26 February 2013

Nice hotel at the bank of Ganga River. Nice view. Near all main attachments. Helpful staff.

paul bradley
Alone
Events / festivals
94.3%
paul would recommend this property 25 February 2013

great location, with a really honest, friendly and helpful bunch of guys that run the place. The hotel has excellent security, and the rooftop is really superb, with great views with good food at the restuarant. My room was clean, and the mattress new with clean bedding. i would totally reccomend this hotel. room 302 is excellent.

81.3%
9 reviews Book Now 
7

Sagar Guesthouse

Guesthouse
D 52/34 J Lakshmi kund, Luxa Road, Varanasi, India n/a

8 out of 9 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Sagar Guesthouse

Atmosphere - 84% Staff - 95% Facilities - 71% Safety - 84%
Location - 82% Cleanliness - 71% Value - 80%
Melissa Dutt
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
88.6%
Melissa would recommend this property 17 November 2013

Perfect place for the budget traveller! Couldn't ask for a nicer family to stay with, they are super friendly, helpful and make you feel at home. Value for money could not be better ~ clean simple rooms with or without bathroom, secure and safe plus free wifi! The location is fine, it's slightly back from the old city and the river but it's only a 5min walk that we enjoyed each day through a vibrant street with great street food along the way!

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 23 August 2013

We stayed at the cheapest room on the rooftop and liked it a lot! The room has big windows and the roof top felt like our own balcony on top of Varanasi. The hotel has a great atmosphere. The owner is so friendly. He helped us a lot during our first days in India and arranged train tickets for us.

80.2%
23 reviews Book Now 
8

Shiva Ganges P. Guesthouse

Guesthouse
B-14/24, Mansarovar Ghat, Near Andhra Ashram, Varanasi, India 221001

17 out of 23 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Shiva Ganges P. Guesthouse

Atmosphere - 83% Staff - 85% Facilities - 73% Safety - 84%
Location - 94% Cleanliness - 78% Value - 61%
Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Romantic getaway
71.4%
Customer would recommend this property 01 April 2014

- Suite room doesn't have private balcony! - And the suite room is next to roof top table. And people make noise there. - We paid for suite room but felt like staying in corridor.

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture
77.1%
Customer would recommend this property 21 November 2011

la posizione è ottima e le camere pulite, la zanzariera intorno al letto è indispensabile

80.0%
3 reviews Book Now 
9

Scindhia Guest House

Guesthouse
SCINDHIA GHAT, (Next to Manikarnika Burning G, VARANASI-221001 (INDIA), Varanasi, India 221001

3 out of 3 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Scindhia Guest House

Atmosphere - 73% Staff - 80% Facilities - 73% Safety - 80%
Location - 86% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 86%
Customer review
Alone
Sightseeing & culture
82.9%
Customer would recommend this property 24 March 2013

good location,clean place.manager very helpful,even offered me cash in advance when I only had foreign currency on me.later helped me to print my train ticket too.thank you.

SIYING HUANG
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year
80.0%
SIYING would recommend this property 09 March 2013

The hotel located in an excellent place which just opposite the burning ghat. Hotel staff was helpful by telling a lot of useful information like don't give donation or money to the burning ghat guys etc. We went during the Komela so actually it hard to get a room there luckily we've booked in advance.

76.1%
22 reviews Book Now 
10

Yogi Lodge

Apartment
D 8/29, Kalika Gali, Varanasi, India 221001

18 out of 22 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Yogi Lodge

Atmosphere - 78% Staff - 77% Facilities - 67% Safety - 71%
Location - 83% Cleanliness - 70% Value - 84%
chris finch
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
88.6%
chris would recommend this property 22 February 2014

Loved this place, the staff are brilliant and help you out as much as possible to avoid scams. As India hostels go, its great and you should be able to meet up with people here

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year
62.9%
15 January 2014

Decent location though lacks a Gangs view. Overall the place was pretty average with none of the basics (by Indian standards) missing.

Varanasi

31 Hostels from 2.45 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated Varanasi hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Varanasi. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.