We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Yogi Lodge

Apartment | D 8/29, Kalika Gali, Varanasi, India 221001

76.1% Overall Rating

18 out of 22 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/02/2014)

chris finch thinks…

"Loved this place, the staff are brilliant and help you out as much as possible to avoid scams. As India hostels go, its great and you should be able to meet up with people here"

Read all Yogi Lodge reviews

Facilities

  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 12.94
  • Luggage Room USD 0.16
  • Breakfast USD 1.62
  • Towel USD 0.24

What's Included

  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Varanasi?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Varanasi

Monu Family Paying Guest House
7.28 USD

Guesthouse 92.5% 42 reviews
Hotel Elena
25.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 65.1% 13 reviews
Ganga Fuji Home
6.23 USD

Guesthouse 70.3% 76 reviews
Azure Family Paying Guest House
4.85 USD

Guesthouse 93.8% 6 reviews
Suraj Guesthouse
6.47 USD

Apartment 83.4% 103 reviews
Ganpati Guesthouse
9.70 USD

Guesthouse 86.3% 264 reviews
Hotel Central Residency
16.17 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Golden Lodge
7.28 USD

Hostel 62.9% 4 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
76.1%

Overall Rating

18 out of 22 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Yogi Lodge'

Atmosphere
78.2%
Location
83.6%
Facilities
67.3%
Cleanliness
70.0%
Staff
77.3%
Value
84.6%
Safety
71.8%
Refine your results Showing 21 of 22 reviews
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

chris finch

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 February 2014 chris would recommend this property

Liked: Loved this place, the staff are brilliant and help you out as much as possible to avoid scams. As India hostels go, its great and you should be able to meet up with people here

Disliked: no lockers in the dorm but they said they were looking to add these instead of people having to keep using the deposit box in the office.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 January 2014

Liked: Decent location though lacks a Gangs view. Overall the place was pretty average with none of the basics (by Indian standards) missing.

Disliked: The main thing that ruined the stay for me was the constant hassle from the resident tout. Don't underestimate how frustrating it can be in a city full of people pushing you to buy things to have someone hanging around where you live being even more pushy.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

David Humpolik

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: 4.4.2013, at 7am we was waiting about half an hour till somebody opened the door. it was impossible to wake him up. he was just ignoring us. otherwise it was very nice stay;-)

Disliked: David left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Charlie Fitzgibbon

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 March 2013 Charlie would recommend this property

Liked: Good people and nice atmosphere as well as great value for money.

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Jassiel Ramirez

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 March 2013 Jassiel would recommend this property

Liked: Its very good located from the ganges and the staff its very helpful and Nice they can get You everything You are looking for and the rest in the roof its pretty good and very cheap

Disliked: Just the cheap romos they are not very fancy or the común toilette but if You get the Nice one wich its like 800 rps its perfect

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great people working here, very helpful in avoiding common local scams and tourist traps. Super knowledgeable about the area and things to see and do for cheap/free. Good food onsite.

Disliked: Nearly impossible to find on your own, definitely arrange for pickup (easy). Charges 100 rupees/day for wifi.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

CHUNG LI

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 December 2012 CHUNG would recommend this property

Liked: yogi lodge, as my first accomodation in india was good. the accomodation itself was adequate, given its price. there is hot water, you can also eat here for all meals, there is free wifi, you can also book your train tickets here.

Disliked: the tuk tuk driver took me to the wrong yogi lodge, so i had to make him take me to the correct yogi lodge. finding it on your own is difficult and confusing. they can also provide you with a personal guide for a boat trip on the ganges, but i think it was expensive, but the guide is a nice guy.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Tina Lowe

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2012 Tina would recommend this property

Liked: Good value and friendly and helpful staff.

Disliked: Location is a bit hard to find.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2012

Liked: Location was only good redeeming part of this stay.

Disliked: This was one the worst hostels, if not the worst, that i have ever been to. the staff act like a group of thugs. i'm pretty sure management has changed since the good reviews of this place were written up in travel guides from a few years ago. currently, even the staff there complain about the manager, who has a serious anger management issue. firstly, the staff in general was very helpful and seemed like they were doing us a favor whenever they threw us a tidbit of info our way - in fact, we got much more info from other hostels and travelers that we walked into when we were walking the streets than from the staff here. secondly, the atmosphere really sucked - since it was not a friendly environment and the staff was just so weird, it really didn't feel safe at all and we in fact switched hostels mid-way through our stay thirdly, the manager has a seroius anger management issue. we came back past 11pm one night (since they don't allow peope to come back later) even though we had expressly asked for permission to come back later on this particular night and was yelled at in public by the manager for "unacceptable behavior" and he tried to kick us out of the hostel - when we explained that we had already gotten permission from his staff earlier that day, he just rolled his eyes and said "fine" and didn't even apologize to us for the craziness he inflicted on the situation fourthly, there are many many other better hostels that charge similar rates around the area and they are MUCH MUCH cleaner than this place and the people are much nicer; especially since they tried to increase the price of a taxi from the airport by saying that since I asked for the AC in the taxi to be turned on 10 min before we arrived to the hostel (during the rest of the 1-hour trip the AC was off), they wanted to charge me extra for that (this was not in the email confirmation). they basicall will do anything to charge more and really seem intent on gouging people. overall i would say the atmosphere in this place is toxic and i hope future travelers are warned about this beforehand.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I booked dorm bed for 2 night, extended for 5 nights! There was only me in total 7 dorm bed :) thats first thing what i liked... No mosquites, ast wifi. Very near to kashi vishwanath temple and gange's. Rs 100 per night, truly value for money.

Disliked: They are truly since 1978. You can judge by bed quality. Decade old hardest bed ever. Wifi cost Rs 100 (24 hour reniwal) No hot water in dorm's bath room. No lien, no blanket....(they may have it charges may extra) however, after checking beds quality, i have not asked anything more than wifi and paid Rs 300 for 4 days usage. (they gave Rs 100 discount) No locker in dorm beds...still felt safe. Bit hard to find them in vishwanath gali.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Kalene Camphausen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 May 2012 Kalene would recommend this property

Liked: It was a really nice location, close to the river, market and temples.

Disliked: For the most part the staff was very friendly, however the main guy could really work on his friendliness. You really get what you pay for here. Cockroaches and mice are everywhere. It was also VERY hot! Not much air flow in the dorm room.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Krzysztof Dopierala

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 May 2012 Krzysztof would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome location, somewhere between many narrow streets behind the ghats, full with cows and devotees, good food, good wi-fi quality, laid-back common area

Disliked: Lockers in dorms would be a nice supplement

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Anthony Border

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 May 2012 Anthony would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and very cheap.

Disliked: You have to pay for the wifi and it generally does not work. I was not offered a refund. I also overheard that one man booked for three days, but wanted to leave after one day but they charged him two days. Seemed odd to me seeing as the place was empty. The rooms are very hot, but we are talking May!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

25 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: relaxed house and people

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ronny kesary

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

06 March 2012 ronny would recommend this property

Liked: The best thing i liked is the stuff!!!, so friendly and always willing to help. good simple food, secure and fill homey, stayed there 2 nights

Disliked: well, it is not so bad but i like pleasant environment also outside, it was quiet in my room, but the lodge is close to the big major temple, so at noon time it can be a bit crowded outside , on the other hand, because of this location, there are many soldiers around the aria and therefore safe

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Karl Vogel

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

06 February 2012 Karl would recommend this property

Liked: Of all the places in india i went over my 3 weeks here, this place was the best. Its clean, well located, the guy in charge was really rocking. They even played some bob dylan and other good tunes at the right times. Ontop of this it was the cheapest place i stayed. Highly recomended, dont think twice. Also note this is the Real Yogi lodge, there are two others. dont be fooled. and by the way, Varanasi is magical. come!

Disliked: no dislikes.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Marcel Antonio Lima Rizzo

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 January 2012

Liked: O melhor do hostel é a localização perto dos Ghats, O restaurante dentro do hostel é aceitável. O hostel permitiu que ficássemos 4 pessoas num quarto para 5, e não cobrou a mais por isso.

Disliked: O banheiro é do padrão indiano, ou seja, não tem patente. O guia do hostel falou para nós estarmos prontos para o tour às 06:00 da manhã, então nós acordamos as 5. Ele não apareceu, então o outro cara ligou para o dono do bote e somente saímos quase 7 horas. Depois o guia disse que não foi porque estava chuviscando... As camas eram duras, a internet era paga.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sayan Sarkar

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 January 2012

Liked: Calm and peaceful. Staffs were well behaved.

Disliked: Hardly anyone stays there nowadays. Restaurant is closed most of the times. There is big gambling racket which runs in the property and the manager was so engrossed in the gambling that he did not even ask me to pay my bills.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

CHAO YANG CHANG

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 December 2011 CHAO YANG would recommend this property

Liked: The owner is very friendly and so does others there the location is close to the main Ghat and burning ghat as well

Disliked: the hot water comes a bit slow..

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Mauro Calzone

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 November 2011 Mauro would recommend this property

Liked: Price, Location

Disliked: Nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: in the middle of the old center, which has advantages and disadvantages

Disliked: very basic beds, but we slept well