HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of The Ivory Hostel New Delhi

Hostel

14A/27,Channa Market, Karol Bagh, New Delhi, India

Atmosphere 68%

Cleanliness 77%

Facilities 74%

Location 85%

Safety 84%

Staff 74%

Value 82%

What's Included

  • Airport Pickup
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • Elevator
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines
  • Wheelchair Friendly
  • Wii

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New Delhi?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 68%

Cleanliness 77%

Facilities 74%

Location 85%

Safety 84%

Staff 74%

Value 82%

Showing 1-7 of 7 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:

Liked: Staff went out of their way to be helpful! Even though it was a small room, it was efficient use of space and the bed was super comfortable! Most importantly of all for me after traveling in India for awhile I have come to value a clean room as they are hard to find, we were even hosted to a gratis meal for all guests and even Vodka/Whisky. This is kind of hospitality is unprecedented for us in India by Owner Mr Arun . Overall a very good value, inexpensive, friendly hotel with extremely hospitable staff.

Disliked: n/a

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 80%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good location, good value, clean, wi fi

Disliked: Name didn't match, I was looking for Hostel Ivory, it is called "Hotel Ivory Palace". One of the guys at the desk was quite rude, was expecting hostel facilities - self catering, common room, tours desk etc but just a hotel.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Let me start off by saying that this is hotel is one of the best hotels I've ever stayed at EVER. The hotel staff is incredibly helpful in EVERYTHING - you can change your currency at a good rate, buy train tickets, book a tour around the city, everything. The hotel services are amazing too, they have laundry service (amazing care too), they have several prices for the rooms, It's a huge room, with the bathroom . In addition, we wanted our bed sheets changed and put the sign up for room service and went to have breakfast, we came back and everything was perfect! Bed sheets and cover changed, new towels, new toilet paper, soap, everything. Beautiful people, friendly staff and at an AMAZING price.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: I have stayed at this hotel and would most definitely stay here again. The staff are very friendly & helpful. The rooms have always been spacious and clean with a good wi-fi service. The food at the hotel is a delicious vegetarian menu. Located very close to Delhi's markets, restaurants, shopping malls and metro. Would recommend this hotel for friends, couples and families and a single female traveler too

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: We stayed on a short visit to Delhi - we realised after staying at a few other places in Delhi how good this place was, even compared to places we paid 5 times as much for. It really was great value, and the hotel was perfect for what we needed. It was very clean, welcoming and friendly, the staff were extremely helpful and arranged taxis and a tour of delhi for us. The best thing was the room service - the food is completely delicious, we had it for two nights in a row it was so good!

Customer would recommend this property

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Safe and Location

Disliked: Das Bett war fleckig und verschmutzt. Sowie das ganze Zimmer.

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location is good, very close to the metroQuite good value for Delhi

Disliked: Staff not always very helpful. We did not get any info upon arrival.One person in particular was constantly looking at his phone or laptop and did not seem to bother about any of the questions we asked...

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was in agood location for metro, basic accommodation at a good price.We left our bags for three weeks whilst travelling and returned before flying out.

Disliked: The usual Indian street noise through the night but that's India

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The room was very cheap. The location is good if you don't mind getting a taxi into the city centre. The staff were very helpful when we wanted to book day tours. They provide room service most of the day and night, and the food is quite nice and very cheap.

Disliked: The room was very cold, and felt quite damp. The bathroom smelled of damp also, and the shower was quite bad (a few drips and had to be left running for atleast 10 minutes to get warm water) The windows are very thin, and Delhi street noise is very loud, so it was quite noisy, however we did understand this would probably be a problem anywhere in Delhi as it is generally loud.

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Free airport pickup went smoothly. Room had clean, comfy bed - good wifi and cable TV. Very close to metro station and market. Free tea and hot water for drinks.

Disliked: No hot water for shower on 1st day. The night staff are quite noisy. We decided to go with the offer of a lift into town and a free map in full knowledge that we would be taken to a tour office. The guy there was persistent but it was quite useful (no obligation to buy - we didn't). For the money you can get higher quality for a similar price in both the Karol Bagh and Paharganj areas.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability