We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of HOSTEL IVORY

Hostel | 14A/27, W.E.A Channa Market, New Delhi, India 110 005

82.6% Overall Rating

51 out of 64 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/04/2015)

Lalit vyas thinks…

"I've stayed in a lot of hostels around the world but The Ivory Hostel is definitely one of the best I've stayed in and one of the reasons is because of its owner Arun. He just understands the needs…"

Read all HOSTEL IVORY reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible

What's Included

  • Airport Pickup
  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New Delhi?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New Delhi

Namaskar India
6.03 USD

Hostel 80.8% 132 reviews
SUNSTAR HEIGHTS
18.44 USD

Hotel 4.5 star Not yet rated
Hotel Saar Inn
19.58 USD

Hotel 3 star 82.9% 8 reviews
The Hospitality Home (Bed & Breakfast)
21.93 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Rupam Hotel
16.45 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
WoodCastle
15.59 USD

Hostel 97.4% 31 reviews
Bonlon Inn
27.73 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
Hotel White House
21.93 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/04/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/04/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.6%

Overall Rating

51 out of 64 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'HOSTEL IVORY'

Atmosphere
75.2%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
80.8%
Cleanliness
82.4%
Staff
78.4%
Value
85.6%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 60 of 62 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lalit vyas

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year

14 April 2015 Lalit would recommend this property

Liked: I've stayed in a lot of hostels around the world but The Ivory Hostel is definitely one of the best I've stayed in and one of the reasons is because of its owner Arun. He just understands the needs and wants of his guests and is always more than willing to provide and help out. It's because of his passion and love for his job that the warmth of the place instantly becomes a home for many of us. And for me, that's what I look for - to constantly travel but to find a place to call home.

Disliked: Lalit left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jj eswara prasad

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife

09 April 2015 jj eswara would recommend this property

Liked: From the first treat at check in through to check out, you will be spoiled by the lovely staff at this delightful boutique hotel. Their aim is to see that your Delhi experience is a wonderful one. Food is delicious and plentiful with good coffee .There is beautiful silver work room furniture work and many lovely artefacts throughout the building. We loved our two night stay ,Special thank's to Mr Arun the owner .

Disliked: jj eswara left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was really good choice! We have spent there one night, and later we came back there two times more! Really good food, very comfortable rooms, professional and nice staff. hardly recommended!!! And you can check your mails, order taxi, eat great dishes in the restaurant and... feel good there!!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: can't recommend this hotel enough. It was clean and trendy inside. The bed was really comfortable and the bathroom shower was amazing. I have already recommended friends to stay again. It is a really reasonable price and amazing quality. Great location and great staff. Please use this hotel, Indian hospitality is amazing. Thanks again.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Atma ram Sharma

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 February 2015 Atma ram would recommend this property

Liked: We are now checking out from our second stay at this hotel. Staff is very helpful and kind, food is really good and rooms are nice and clean. We feel very welcome at this hotel, and we know that they will help us with anything. We also booked a 10 days trip through Rajasthan with Mr.Iffi help and this was a really nice trip. Our driver made this a perfect holiday and we really enjoyed it. We got to experience a lot on our way. We was recommended this hotel from friends and family and we would be glad to recommend it to anyone else who is coming to Delhi .

Disliked: Atma ram left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Recently stayed at hotel Ivory Palace. This hotel was by far the most comfortable stay we had on our trip, thus far. Staff were friendly and also organized our round trip by private vehicle around the golden triangle to our exact specifications and were further delighted by our driver (Amar) who showed us additional sites that we would not have seen otherwise. Hotel was clean enough - some minor stains on linen, but not uncommon in all hotels we have stayed on this trip. All in all will stay again and highly recommend.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Let me start off by saying that this is hotel is one of the best hotels I've ever stayed at EVER. The hotel staff is incredibly helpful in EVERYTHING - you can change your currency at a good rate, buy train tickets, book a tour around the city, everything. The hotel services are amazing too, they have laundry service (amazing care too), they have several prices for the rooms, It's a huge room, with the bathroom . In addition, we wanted our bed sheets changed and put the sign up for room service and went to have breakfast, we came back and everything was perfect! Bed sheets and cover changed, new towels, new toilet paper, soap, everything. Beautiful people, friendly staff and at an AMAZING price.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I have stayed at this hotel and would most definitely stay here again. The staff are very friendly & helpful. The rooms have always been spacious and clean with a good wi-fi service. The food at the hotel is a delicious vegetarian menu. Located very close to Delhi's markets, restaurants, shopping malls and metro. Would recommend this hotel for friends, couples and families and a single female traveler too

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed on a short visit to Delhi - we realised after staying at a few other places in Delhi how good this place was, even compared to places we paid 5 times as much for. It really was great value, and the hotel was perfect for what we needed. It was very clean, welcoming and friendly, the staff were extremely helpful and arranged taxis and a tour of delhi for us. The best thing was the room service - the food is completely delicious, we had it for two nights in a row it was so good!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 March 2013

Liked: Safe and Location

Disliked: Das Bett war fleckig und verschmutzt. Sowie das ganze Zimmer.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was in agood location for metro, basic accommodation at a good price. We left our bags for three weeks whilst travelling and returned before flying out.

Disliked: The usual Indian street noise through the night but that's India

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is good, very close to the metro Quite good value for Delhi

Disliked: Staff not always very helpful. We did not get any info upon arrival. One person in particular was constantly looking at his phone or laptop and did not seem to bother about any of the questions we asked...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

28 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Handy for metro. Free pick-up from airport was useful and worked well.

Disliked: Rather tired and worn. Could do to be cleaner.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 February 2013

Liked: Property was in a good location, not far from the metro station which was a surprisingly good way to get around Delhi.

Disliked: This hostel is a disaster, it is dirty, messy, filthy etc. The staff is unhelpful to the point of being rude. When we were leaving the owner offered to book us a taxi to stop us being ripped off, we decided to book it ourselves, turns out he wanted 6 times as much as the taxi cost. Upon our departure he also claimed we owed more money for imaginary expenditures as we had to leave to make our bus we simply paid the small sum and walked off. The place is a mess, would definitely warn against staying here.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Fern Hewlett

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 February 2013 Fern would recommend this property

Liked: The room was very cheap. The location is good if you don't mind getting a taxi into the city centre. The staff were very helpful when we wanted to book day tours. They provide room service most of the day and night, and the food is quite nice and very cheap.

Disliked: The room was very cold, and felt quite damp. The bathroom smelled of damp also, and the shower was quite bad (a few drips and had to be left running for atleast 10 minutes to get warm water) The windows are very thin, and Delhi street noise is very loud, so it was quite noisy, however we did understand this would probably be a problem anywhere in Delhi as it is generally loud.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free airport pickup went smoothly. Room had clean, comfy bed - good wifi and cable TV. Very close to metro station and market. Free tea and hot water for drinks.

Disliked: No hot water for shower on 1st day. The night staff are quite noisy. We decided to go with the offer of a lift into town and a free map in full knowledge that we would be taken to a tour office. The guy there was persistent but it was quite useful (no obligation to buy - we didn't). For the money you can get higher quality for a similar price in both the Karol Bagh and Paharganj areas.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Clara Saguto

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 January 2013 Clara would recommend this property

Liked: Room service cable tv and hot water

Disliked: Kept trying to push food and take me to a tourist office

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jessica Gomularz

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 December 2012 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, arun is very helpful, room service, hot water and cable tv are a bonus.

Disliked: Location was a bit further from paharganj than we expected, but we found some cool markets near by. Probably a but noisy especially with a road side room, but that is all over delhi I think.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's located in a street with many hotels - next to a metro station. Pick up from the airport worked well although the driver didn't know my name. Rooms are clean and safe although the area feels a little bit unsafe at night. Overall, at the rates offered, it's pretty much ok for a stay in Delhi.

Disliked: They kept asking about whether I wanted to eat/drink, etc. - a little bit obtrusive for the fact that I wouldn't eat in their kitchen. Asking for a city map they drove me to one of the "official" travel agencies where the guy was trying to sell me tours to Agra and Jaipur but of course had no map...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sally Bromiley

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2012 Sally would recommend this property

Liked: clean room (no signs of creepy crawlies), room not a bad size and decent working TV, great location as it is near to shops and places to eat.

Disliked: Information was never passed amongst staff (booking taxis)

65.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, good location

Disliked: The staff was really unfriendly!!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free WiFi, Free Pick-Up from Airport

Disliked: Pick-Up didn't work (however, Taxi was refunded)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference

14 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We were a little nervous about traveling to New Delhi but were so happy with our stay at Ivory. Arun the proprietor met us at the airport and personally drove us to our accommodation. The accommodation was very clean, spacious and well staffed. The staff were very attentive to our needs and went out of their way to assist us with any of our needs - from obtaining an Indian SIM card, assisting with communicating with businesses and preparing us lovely meals. I would highly recommend this accommodation and we will be booking in to stay again later this year.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year

14 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I booked this hotel based on reviews to stay when we come back from our tour although I was a bit uncertain as a lot of people do not like this area. However the hotel did not disappoint and we also did not have any problem staying in this area. This hotel was very good in terms of value and we received excellent service. Breakfast was good and they had decent variety of food.The rooms were very comfortable and clean. There was also good quantity of hot water. The night receptionist was very helpful to book us a taxi from early morning to airport and room service was also very good. I was amazed you could actually find good quality hotel for that price in Delhi.It is also very close to a market which was a bonus. We stayed in Karol Bagh in Hotel Southern before going on tour and hotel Ivory was definitely a better choice than the previous one in location, quality and service. I would definitely stay here again

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Nicola Davis

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 March 2012 Nicola would recommend this property

Liked: It was in a good location and more like a hotel than a hostel. I would recommend staying here. we stayed twice whilst travelling.

Disliked: They put us intouch with the India tourist centre (also known as Incredible India) DO NOT BOOK WITH THESE PEOPLE!!! They turned up 1.5 hrs late, we had to argue for money back which they said they would deliver to the hostel and never did. This shouldn't reflect badly on the hostel though as they are not attached to the tour agent.