HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Lisas Homestay

Guesthouse | 15/2 Kalkaji Extension, near Nehru Place, New Delhi, India 110019

74.3% Overall Rating

35 out of 53 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/09/2012)

"Great place to stay for travelers on a budget. The people are very warm and friendly. Also a very safe place especially for women. I was more than satisfied in terms of what one should get for such a good price. The…"

Read all Lisas Homestay reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Room service (24 hour)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 11.56

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New Delhi?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New Delhi

Regale Inn
19.83 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Blue Sapphire Inn
8.26 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
Hotel Rockland - C.R.Park
19.66 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
International House for Women
4.94 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Pamposh Guest House
18.59 USD

Guesthouse 79.0% 3 reviews
Amara Hotel
19.83 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
India Luxury Homes
37.17 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Rockland Panchsheel Enclave
19.66 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
74.3%

Overall Rating

35 out of 53 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Lisas Homestay'

Atmosphere
76.0%
Location
72.8%
Facilities
69.6%
Cleanliness
67.2%
Staff
82.4%
Value
69.6%
Safety
82.4%
Refine your results Showing 39 of 42 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay for travelers on a budget. The people are very warm and friendly. Also a very safe place especially for women. I was more than satisfied in terms of what one should get for such a good price. The location is very interesting to travelers from abroad and accessibility to things one might need such as medicines and toiletries etc as the place is is right next to market. Walking distance from Mc Donald,Pizza Hut and many good Indian food resturents.Over all a great place to stay!

Disliked: ---

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ben levit

Alone

Relaxation/spa

19 June 2012 ben would recommend this property

Liked: This is a very friendly home stay, the management and staff were at all times helpful and welcoming. Most impressive was the overall cleanliness, with towels, soap, shampoo etc all provided. The bed was comfortable and the sheets were clean too. Owner and family people are very friendly and helpful.This proved to be a very good and value for money home stay in the heart of Delhi.

Disliked: na

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

carolyn quard

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 March 2012 carolyn would recommend this property

Liked: Excelent Homestay very nice people and helpful location is very nice and posh peaceful location rooms are very cozy and clean close to supermarket restaurents and atms they serve very yummy breakfast with Indian Tea they also organised very cheap and nice tour for Agra,Jaipur I booked for 2 nights extended my stay with them for 2 more nights

Disliked: -----------------

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had a fantastic time at Lisas homestay Mr Rajiv and his whole family are exceptional hosts. No question went unanswered, and they never tired of helping us. We enjoyed ourselves so much that we ended up extending our stay, and booking a tour of the Rajasthan area with them (which was both wonderful and really well priced). Rooms are very clean and cozy.best part is there yummy breakfast they served.We look forward to returning to New Delhi, and we will consider staying at lisas homestay

Disliked: ------

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: As i was an ex New Delhi resident for 9 month, this location was perfect! Paharganj, Karol Bagh or those areas are not safe and inadequate to relax(they may annoy you). South part of Delhi, like this, is very good for all the major shopping(GK or defense, for example), sight seeing and night life. Nearest metro is 15min walk. This area is for wealthy people, quiet and safe. Also, as the name showed, this is 'homestay'. You can experience Delhi's upper middle class local life. If you are more than 2, this hostel is worth staying.

Disliked: You have to demand breakfast, free beer, linen, room cleaning and other services by yourself. Otherwise, they may not give you. Dont expect too much, this is not professional hotel, but local family's homestay. Wifi is not available to all the rooms. If you are solo, this is too expensive.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

john shmit

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2011 john would recommend this property

Liked: Best place to stay rooms are very clean and spacious owner family lives there it is like home stay very helpful people staff is very polite we felt very secured they have very nice garden in front it is very peaceful location I stayed for 4 days with them when ever I will visit Delhi I will stay at Lisa's home stay

Disliked: -----NA--

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The short way to Neruh Place. The large room.

Disliked: Nothing!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

steven hale

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2011 steven would recommend this property

Liked: Lisas Homestay is really good value to travellers with the Free Internet and Breakfast . Perfect airport pickup. It is located near the metro and the owner gives you a cheat sheet of Delhi to get you to all the main attractions via Metro. The hostel has a really good atmosphere in which I met 5 other travelers . Homestay is on very peaceful location

Disliked: ----

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free break fast, WIFI, Hot water shower, Smile, Good Staff. nice bedroom, garden. Good start in IndiaGreat Homestay- I stayed here twice on our trip around India. Great Atmosphere and the Rooms are nice and cosy with great blankets. This is the best place to stay in India. Thanks for making my stay memorable!

Disliked: na

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

carolyn hocquard

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

31 January 2011 carolyn would recommend this property

Liked: Great homestay I would recommend it to anybody. The location is also very quite and peaceful, it is a perfect base from where to visit Delhi. Clean, secure rooms are nice . staff was very helpful Mr Rajiv ( Owner ) is very nice man he helped us in organising tours

Disliked: Na

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I actually quite enjoyed its location -- away from the hustle and bustle and chaos of Delhi. The atmosphere is great clean and the staff are helpful! We have had a lot of fun on this trip, thanks for being an amazing group of people willing to help us at any time!

Disliked: NA

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best place to stay very calm and quite location They serve yummy breakfast rooms are very clean homestay is near to almost all musiums and monuments owner is very helpful the area is posh owner arranged memorable rajasthan tour I will recomend this place

Disliked: -NA-

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Marie-Francoise Provot

With friends / other travellers

City break

19 December 2010 Marie-Francoise would recommend this property

Liked: The friendliness of the peoples. The delicious indian breakfast, home made and the good chai. The location is good, not too far from the airport and the ariport pick up very good. Close to many little shops = easy to buy water and light food. The room are just OK and the best in on the ground floor. The rooms on the 2nd floor are less attractive and more than simple

Disliked: The cleanliness. Every where dusty and not well cared. The rooms on the 2nd floor are less attractive and more than simple.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Pauline Crame

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 December 2010

Liked: The hosts were friendly and accomodating and spoke excellent English. Their staff were pleasant and helpful. No one seemed to mind me asking for help whatever time of day.

Disliked: It wasn't very clean. The hot water ran at a trickle from the sink and the shower not at all. The location wasn't very central. I was always charged more for taxis if booked through them rather than doing so independently.

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

06 December 2010

Liked: Nothing at all. Disgusting. Did not sleep at all due to cold room with dodgey bed linen. Horrible experience.

Disliked: Everything bar the airport pickup. Owner very civil but this homestay is grossly misrepresented on websites. Disgustingly dirty. Could not have been worse! Do not trust any positive review you read on this property. Location is OK if you want to see some sites in South Delhi otherwise there are much better options around.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dawn Halket

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 November 2010 Dawn would recommend this property

Liked: this was one of the best places i ever stayed at, (the owner) was so nice to organize a last minute agra tour for me at 10 at night) Fantastic! very helpful, very welcoming, always happy to help with anything we ask of them. The rooms were perfectly clean and the lobby Staff was very friendly and welcoming. Great Indian breakfeast.

Disliked: Dawn left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

laura tayler

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 September 2010 laura would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutley loved this place! The food is amazing - ate some of the best curries in India here. The staff make this place - they are so friendly, helpful and make you feel so relaxed. The facilities are great - internet, air conditioning, hot showers and they have a back up generator. Rooms were well air-conditioned, clean and safe .very quite place good resturents are on walking distance they serve very tasty breakfast they organised best tour for me I will definately recomend the hostel - have thoroughly enjoyed our stay

Disliked: laura left no negative feedback.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 September 2010

Liked: the internet access

Disliked: It was very very dirty!!!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: el ambiente

Disliked: la situación

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: My best experience in Lisas homestay the familly is very nice and helpful they serve yummy breakfast rooms are very nice and clean they arranged Agra and Jaipur tour for me it was great experence Lisa is very careing lady all the sight seeing places are very near to homestay the place is very relaxing and lot of good resturents are on walking distance

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 July 2010

Liked: nothing

Disliked: everything was so bad

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

robert boots

31 May 2010 robert would recommend this property

Liked: this is one of the best hostels i have stayed at. mainly because of the amazing couple who run it. they were so friendly and helpful, i never wanted to leave. they really made me feel at home very clean and the staff there were very helpful and happy to help out any way that they can.

Disliked: robert left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

henery lawsom

10 March 2010 henery would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely wonderful place to stay, a friendly atmosphere with everything you need to feel safe and comfortable after the stresses of New Delhi! Made my last few days in India very enjoyable. Great place to meet fellow travellers and share experiences. I will definitely stay again if I return to Delhi. Thank you!!!Absolutely wonderful place to stay, a friendly atmosphere with everything you need to feel safe and comfortable after the stresses of New Delhi! Made my last few days in India very enjoyable. Rooms were very clean and with hot and cold water shower Great place to meet fellow travellers and share experiences. I will definitely stay again if I return to Delhi.

Disliked: henery left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sam boots

19 February 2010 sam would recommend this property

Liked: A beautifully presented homestay in a great location with a relaxed atmosphere.This is the place to stay in Rajiv and Sonali are the perfect hosts A thoroughly pleasant stay in cosy Lisas homestay. The lovely couple running the accommodation were welcoming and always available for any of our needs very close to widest choice of bars, cafe, restaurant, shops and pubs very secured place Lovely breakfast they served they also served complimentary beer in the evening 24 hours Coffee, Tea, Water Purified Unlimited Internet access Clean and fresh Towel and Bed Linen Air Conditions in every room 24 Hour running hot water in spotless bathroom Sat Sky TV with international chann He'll go out of his way to make certain that guests are well accommodated, and can offer advice about sights in Delhi and about onward travels they arranged very good tour by car Agra , Jaipur it has got beautiful garden in front all the monuments and museums are nearby the Home stay they served very nice tanduri chicken and lovely Nans I will stay here again when I will come back to Delhi perfect place to stay I would definitely recommend others to stay there! It was a brilliant stay. Many Thanks!A beautifully presented homestay in a great location with a relaxed atmosphere.This is the place to stay in Rajiv and Sonali are the perfect hosts A thoroughly pleasant stay in cosy Lisas homestay. The lovely couple running the accommodation were welcoming and always available for any of our needs very close to widest choice of bars, cafe, restaurant, shops and pubs very secured place Lovely breakfast they served they also served complimentary beer in the evening 24 hours Coffee, Tea, Water Purified Unlimited Internet access Clean and fresh Towel and Bed Linen Air Conditions in every room 24 Hour running hot water in spotless bathroom Sat Sky TV with international chann He'll go out of his way to make certain that guests are well accommodated, and can offer advice about sights in Delhi and about onward travels they arranged very good tour by car Agra , Jaipur it has got beautiful garden in front all the monuments and museums are nearby the Home stay they served very nice tanduri chicken and lovely Nans I will stay here again when I will come back to Delhi perfect place to stay I would definitely recommend others to stay there! It was a brilliant stay. Many Thanks!

Disliked: sam left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

robin ray

17 February 2010 robin would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing place to stay. super friendly staff who are extremely accomodating and fun. Most people arriving seem to agree that its easily the best budget accomodation they've seen in India (and elsewhere). They will help you sort out your onward journeys, they feed you nice food and beer and are perfectly set up for meeting other travellers or just relaxing and reading. Nice hot showers. super clean Rooms,with Coloured TV in all rooms . The whole place looks more like a boutique hotel than a budget hostel. A great place to stay and away from the hustle of the main city. The owners are great and will do anything to help you.Surroundings are also very intresting in front of hostel beautiful garden is there all monuments and musiums are very closeby Lotus temple is on walking distance from hostel They organised for me Agra,Jaipur tour by car it was very intresting amd memorable tour Safe & Secure Accommodation you feel very safe and homely I will definately recomend this place and I will stay here again when I will come back to Delhi

Disliked: robin left no negative feedback.