We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel New King

Hostel | General Market, 15/16 Ramdwara Road, Main Bazar Pahar Ganj New Delhi, India 110055

70.5% Overall Rating

396 out of 537 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/02/2015)

Jonathan Annett thinks…

"The location is good, 10 mins walk from the metro, meaning you can get to the airport by train for under 100 rupees, with minimal fuss. The manager told me how to do it and it saved me a lot of money…"

Read all Hostel New King reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free city tour
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New Delhi?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New Delhi

Hotel Snowwhite DX.
9.59 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Yes Boss
5.59 USD

Hotel 1 star 73.0% 31 reviews
Hotel Hari Piorko
9.67 USD

Apartment 87.1% 4 reviews
VANSON VILLA
13.58 USD

Apartment 68.6% 6 reviews
Smyle Inn
7.03 USD

Hostel 83.9% 643 reviews
Hotel The Spot
13.58 USD

Hostel 63.1% 25 reviews
S B INN
9.59 USD

Hostel 86.4% 24 reviews
Hotel Golden Wings
10.39 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/04/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/04/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
70.5%

Overall Rating

396 out of 537 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel New King'

Atmosphere
64.8%
Location
75.2%
Facilities
68.0%
Cleanliness
61.6%
Staff
72.8%
Value
76.8%
Safety
74.4%
Refine your results Showing 488 of 517 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 19 | 20   Next
Reset filter
34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Rajesh Shende

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 March 2015

Liked: theres nothing to like about the property..

Disliked: everything..

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jonathan Annett

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 February 2015 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: The location is good, 10 mins walk from the metro, meaning you can get to the airport by train for under 100 rupees, with minimal fuss. The manager told me how to do it and it saved me a lot of money on my last day in delhi, when funds where low.

Disliked: I found the laundry service a little pricey, especially considering a single load cost me the the price of 2 nights accomodation, and they managed to lose 4 items. Eventually they turned up and all was forgiven. My advice - take photos of what you give them, or just wait till you get to your next stop.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

09 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I can recommend the New King hostel as a great place to land in Delhi. I loved my stay of 7 nights. Hope to return. It's true that it's probably the best value in town. *Super central in an alley way in the middle of the Pahar Ganj Tourist area. *The Team is friendly and will be happy to help you out with anything... just ask. *Great WiFi connection, working most of the time.. *Comfy bed (I like hard mattresses) *Beautiful Babaji lives just around the corner “Voici mon secret. Il est très simple: on ne voit bien qu'avec le cœur. L'essentiel est invisible pour les yeux.” “Here is my secret. It is very simple: It is only with the heart that One can see clearly; the essential is invisible to the eyes.” Le Petit Prince (1943) is a novel by Antoine de Saint Exupéry

Disliked: *For first time travellers to Delhi the off-main road alley way The hostel is located on can seem a bit daunting, if arriving in the middle of the night. (As daylight comes you'll see it is quite charming) This is where you can practice adjusting your vision for the rest of your trip. *When it comes to cleanliness, zoom in but not too much and keep it on soft focus.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

25 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly and some of the rooms had a funky design!

Disliked: One of the rooms we booked didn't have a bathroom inside or an outside window so it was a bit dark however we were able to change the next night so it was fine.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ricardo Sanchez

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 January 2015 Ricardo would recommend this property

Liked: Very good, friendly staff, good valué for money

Disliked: Ricardo left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Salla Kallio

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

03 January 2015 Salla would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was great and super friendly. I just came for one night before my flight back to Finland, and they arranged me a very fair priced taxi to the airport in the middle of the night. Everything was nice and convenient! The location was superb, in the middle of everything and just near to the train station.

Disliked: The only minus was that it was very cold inside, but it was cold in a more expensive hotel too where I stayed in Jaipur.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -

Disliked: It was hard to find!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Could not be better for location. A little bit daunting admittedly at 5 in the morrning after a long flight. but their taxi service does a great job from the airport. Come daylight All of India awaits in the alleys surrounding the hostel - only monkeys are lacking. Would not consider staying anywhere else in Delhi.

Disliked: Can't think of anything.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Peter Obenza

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 December 2014

Liked: I don't like anything on it.

Disliked: Bad location, unfriendly and unhelpful staffs and Manager

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

latif ratta

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 October 2014 latif would recommend this property

Liked: It was easy to find and the staff was very helpful and welcoming.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

hafiez ratta

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 October 2014 hafiez would recommend this property

Liked: Well lockated, good stuff, hot shower. Everything a backpacker need! If I return to Delhi, i will go back there. Peopel are nice and helpfull. Thank you!!

Disliked: nothing much

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

GAIZKA LOPEZ DE MUNAIN

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 September 2014 GAIZKA would recommend this property

Liked: Wow what a place simply safe & especial staff súper friendly highly recommended

Disliked: None

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 September 2014

Liked: Fairly central location, but dodged feeling in evenings, off side street

Disliked: Part of con group to rip off tourists. Felt unsafe, very basic and not clean

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

stanley chiang

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 June 2014 stanley would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice place helped me out how to travel in India since it was my first time India the staff was extremely helpful specialy the guy at the reception robin , free wifi was great surely will recommend to my fellow friends. Thanks

Disliked: None

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 June 2014

Liked: The staff were helpful in booking onward travel

Disliked: I would not stay here again. We were charged double what we were quoted on hostelbookers. The room had a dirty bathroom and we had to pay for toilet paper. The bed was uncomfortable - basically a piece of wood. There are much nicer places to stay in India for the same price. The location was hard to find and not in a very nice area.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

nam tran

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 May 2014 nam would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and pleasant place to stay

Disliked: nam left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Daniel Bennetts

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 May 2014 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Ease of access from main thoroughfare and sight seeing interests. Staff very helpful, the manager always available to attend to the guests' needs.

Disliked: Daniel left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Ashok Lal Jhally

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 April 2014 Ashok would recommend this property

Liked: It was close to all important spots like the New Delhi Train station (which was convenient as I had to take a train once at 5am, Metro station is 5 minutes walk away, post office 5 minutes, barber shop 30 sec away. Plus the have a Brown Bread Bakery just 2 minutes walk away. Plus there are some awesome and cheap Bars just around the corner. Also the Wifi is by far he strongest I have come across durig my travels. There is no curfew an the staff is really friendly and flexible and even let me stay longer than I have booked. It was just spot on for 300 rupees a night.

Disliked: It was a bit hard to find and Google Maps does not really locate the place correctly. If in doubt, tell the driver to go to the Vivek Hotel as the New King is just in the opposite side alley.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 April 2014

Liked: Quite Near to Delhi train station but not as close as the description. Need 15 mins walk at least

Disliked: Dirty room with bad smell.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Polly Uttayaya

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 April 2014

Liked: Nothing. At least the owner did not charge us for our reservation. The place is a scam.

Disliked: The pictures on the website look nothing like the rooms we saw. The place is dirty and looks like a crack house, we even saw rats run pass us in the lobby. We felt unsafe and left after staying there for 30 minutes. The hotel staff (particularly the manager) was rude, patronizing, and would not give us a map or directions on where we were and how to get to the trains and metro which are suppose to be nearby but instead tried to scare us into staying and using their tour services saying it was "unsafe" for us to walk outside. We left and found a perfectly decent hotel down the street. Do not stay here, you have been warned!

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Carla Kieffer

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 April 2014

Liked: Na

Disliked: Carla left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Frantisek Fujdiak

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals

30 March 2014 Frantisek would recommend this property

Liked: I always use the hostelbookers for mine trevelink.

Disliked: ales in oldrung ales good.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 March 2014

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: The people of the hostel are part of a criminal network. They give the customers wrong information, in my case that all the trains are not available anymore because of holiday ThanThey bring tourists to a faked "governamental" tourist office where theye were cheated. I never felt anywhere so unsafe like in this hostel. I didnt left the room after, because I was feared that they steel anything. One worker of the hostel was at the end agressive against me.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

WENLIN LIAO

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 February 2014 WENLIN would recommend this property

Liked: it is very valuable,TV,hot water

Disliked: 10-15 minutes walking distance,little hard to find it

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 February 2014

Liked: Rock-bottom price

Disliked: The apathy of the staff in regards to their poor quality. The wifi is constantly going out (as in, every 5 minutes) and the staff will tell you that it's just a temporary problem with the line, but it's not--I've been there several times over a couple months and it's always the same.