We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel New King

Hostel | General Market, 15/16 Ramdwara Road, Main Bazar Pahar Ganj New Delhi, India 110055

64.1% Overall Rating

386 out of 525 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/06/2014)

stanley chiang thinks…

"Really nice place helped me out how to travel in India since it was my first time India the staff was extremely helpful specialy the guy at the reception robin , free wifi was great surely will…"

Read all Hostel New King reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free city tour
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New Delhi?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New Delhi

Hotel Snowwhite DX.
9.86 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Yes Boss
5.75 USD

Hotel 1 star 73.0% 31 reviews
Hotel Hari Piorko
9.95 USD

Apartment 82.9% 3 reviews
VANSON VILLA
13.97 USD

Apartment 68.6% 6 reviews
Smyle Inn
6.58 USD

Hostel 86.3% 630 reviews
Hotel The Spot
13.97 USD

Hostel 62.4% 24 reviews
Hotel Shivam International
6.58 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
S B INN
8.71 USD

Hostel 86.6% 22 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
64.1%

Overall Rating

386 out of 525 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel New King'

Atmosphere
59.2%
Location
68.0%
Facilities
60.8%
Cleanliness
60.0%
Staff
62.4%
Value
70.4%
Safety
68.0%
Refine your results Showing 477 of 505 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 19 | 20   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

GAIZKA LOPEZ DE MUNAIN

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 September 2014 GAIZKA would recommend this property

Liked: Wow what a place simply safe & especial staff súper friendly highly recommended

Disliked: None

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 September 2014

Liked: Fairly central location, but dodged feeling in evenings, off side street

Disliked: Part of con group to rip off tourists. Felt unsafe, very basic and not clean

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

stanley chiang

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 June 2014 stanley would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice place helped me out how to travel in India since it was my first time India the staff was extremely helpful specialy the guy at the reception robin , free wifi was great surely will recommend to my fellow friends. Thanks

Disliked: None

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 June 2014

Liked: The staff were helpful in booking onward travel

Disliked: I would not stay here again. We were charged double what we were quoted on hostelbookers. The room had a dirty bathroom and we had to pay for toilet paper. The bed was uncomfortable - basically a piece of wood. There are much nicer places to stay in India for the same price. The location was hard to find and not in a very nice area.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

nam tran

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 May 2014 nam would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and pleasant place to stay

Disliked: nam left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Daniel Bennetts

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 May 2014 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Ease of access from main thoroughfare and sight seeing interests. Staff very helpful, the manager always available to attend to the guests' needs.

Disliked: Daniel left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Ashok Lal Jhally

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 April 2014 Ashok would recommend this property

Liked: It was close to all important spots like the New Delhi Train station (which was convenient as I had to take a train once at 5am, Metro station is 5 minutes walk away, post office 5 minutes, barber shop 30 sec away. Plus the have a Brown Bread Bakery just 2 minutes walk away. Plus there are some awesome and cheap Bars just around the corner. Also the Wifi is by far he strongest I have come across durig my travels. There is no curfew an the staff is really friendly and flexible and even let me stay longer than I have booked. It was just spot on for 300 rupees a night.

Disliked: It was a bit hard to find and Google Maps does not really locate the place correctly. If in doubt, tell the driver to go to the Vivek Hotel as the New King is just in the opposite side alley.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 April 2014

Liked: Quite Near to Delhi train station but not as close as the description. Need 15 mins walk at least

Disliked: Dirty room with bad smell.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Polly Uttayaya

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 April 2014

Liked: Nothing. At least the owner did not charge us for our reservation. The place is a scam.

Disliked: The pictures on the website look nothing like the rooms we saw. The place is dirty and looks like a crack house, we even saw rats run pass us in the lobby. We felt unsafe and left after staying there for 30 minutes. The hotel staff (particularly the manager) was rude, patronizing, and would not give us a map or directions on where we were and how to get to the trains and metro which are suppose to be nearby but instead tried to scare us into staying and using their tour services saying it was "unsafe" for us to walk outside. We left and found a perfectly decent hotel down the street. Do not stay here, you have been warned!

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Carla Kieffer

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 April 2014

Liked: Na

Disliked: Carla left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Frantisek Fujdiak

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals

30 March 2014 Frantisek would recommend this property

Liked: I always use the hostelbookers for mine trevelink.

Disliked: ales in oldrung ales good.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 March 2014

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: The people of the hostel are part of a criminal network. They give the customers wrong information, in my case that all the trains are not available anymore because of holiday ThanThey bring tourists to a faked "governamental" tourist office where theye were cheated. I never felt anywhere so unsafe like in this hostel. I didnt left the room after, because I was feared that they steel anything. One worker of the hostel was at the end agressive against me.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

WENLIN LIAO

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 February 2014 WENLIN would recommend this property

Liked: it is very valuable,TV,hot water

Disliked: 10-15 minutes walking distance,little hard to find it

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 February 2014

Liked: Rock-bottom price

Disliked: The apathy of the staff in regards to their poor quality. The wifi is constantly going out (as in, every 5 minutes) and the staff will tell you that it's just a temporary problem with the line, but it's not--I've been there several times over a couple months and it's always the same.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 January 2014

Liked: Room was warm (Usually they don`t heat rooms in India and if the room is somehow warm it is miracle)

Disliked: Room was dirty and staff was not friendly.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

joshua eastwick

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

25 December 2013 joshua would recommend this property

Liked: The price is very cheep

Disliked: No common room

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic service, incredibly friendly and welcoming staff who made our first few days in India memorable. Rooms are clean and comfortable. As two lone female travellers we also felt very safe. We have returned for our last night in Delhi as we enjoyed the hotel so much and were greeted back as family! Definitely would recommend to all.

Disliked: none

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 November 2013

Liked: gave me a 20c discount, fairly close to the station

Disliked: hidden far away, told the wrong wifi password until we had to check out for booking, noisy through grates directly to the street, no hot water, tv just for show, only power plug had wires hanging out, cheap hotel not hostel

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Arun Bagaria

With my spouse / partner

City break

13 November 2013 Arun would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly nature of the staff

Disliked: The property itself is good but the locality around is quite dirty and unclean.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I can warmly recommend the New King Hostel. I got a huge room for only 350 Rupees the night. I had my own bathroom and everything was clean. The staff was very friendly and helped me out with all my questions. The hostel is located directly at the Main Bazaar, where you can shop til you drop! The next Metro Station is only 5 minutes walking distance away! And the New Delhi train station is very close as well. I would definitely com back to New King's Hostel!

Disliked: nothing much

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Emily Dellit

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 October 2013

Liked: I liked that the bed didn't have bed bugs

Disliked: I would not recommend this hotel for a first stop in India - maybe if you are a long term traveller or with friends it would do the job. The manager went very cold on me when it became obvious I (as a single female traveller) wouldn't be interested in a spiritual journey around India on the back of his bike

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Chris Board

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 September 2013 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: Does what it says, clean and cheap and in the heart of Paharganj. Would recommend to anybody staying in Delhi for a few nights. Close to Metto links to conaught place (rajiv chowk) and the airport express line (which i would also recommend to everyone).

Disliked: Chris left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Willoughby Burt

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 June 2013 Willoughby would recommend this property

Liked: I can warmly recommend the New King Hostel. I got a huge room for only 350 Rupees the night. I had my own bathroom and everything was clean. The stuff was very friendly and helped me out with all my questions. The hostel is located directly at the Main Bazaar, where you can shop til you drop! The next Metro Station is only 5 minutes walking distance away! And the New Delhi train station is very close as well. I would definitely com back to New King's Hostel!

Disliked: all was good..

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

zahoor baktoo

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 May 2013 zahoor would recommend this property

Liked: I booked this hotel for my stay in Delhi and really experienced that it's a wonderful hotel. I will strongly recommend this hotel to my friends who wish to stay in Delhi. It has a very good and friendly staff which makes it worthwhile staying in this hotel. The owners and staff both take a good care of their guests to make them feel at home. Free WiFi & Airport Pick up was huge help, This hotel is well located in a leafy suburb of Central Delhi. The community felt very safe to walk around at night. Our room was large, spacious and spotlessly clean. The bed was huge. Breakfast was more than adequate and catered for all tastes. The food was also very nice and reasonably priced. The best feature of this hotel however, without a shadow of a doubt was its staff. Although all the staff was lovely and really helpful, I would highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay there again.

Disliked: There was nothing to be disliked

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ralph Tucker

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 April 2013 Ralph would recommend this property

Liked: Robin, the Host was a great guy who provided ut with everything needed. all information and bus tickets. The doorms, are as people say, matrasses on the floor, but it was very Nice and comfortable. Everyone gets their own fan and mosquitonet. If you stay for more than one night, you Get free laundry! There is Also water availible in the lobby for $0.5, same as in the stores. highly recommended to people who come first time in india...

Disliked: none