HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Anjali Inn Mumbai Hostel

Stay inn Annex,247 Ground Floor,Sher-E-Panjab,Behi, Chokshu Hospital Lane,Mahakali Caves Rd,Andheri Ea, Mumbai, India

Atmosphere 66%

Cleanliness 78%

Facilities 76%

Location 69%

Safety 86%

Staff 90%

Value 77%

What's Included

  • Airport Pickup
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Ceiling fan
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free Airport Transfer
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Parking
  • Postal Service
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Towels for hire
  • Wii

Important Information

Guests arriving between midnight and midday will need to wait until at least 10am in order to be able to check-in, depending on availability. Please advice of arrival time prior to arrival.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 10:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Pet Friendly"

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Mumbai?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 66%

Cleanliness 78%

Facilities 76%

Location 69%

Safety 86%

Staff 90%

Value 77%

Showing 61-8 of 8 reviews

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Staff were very helpful. It's a good budget option close to the airport and the free pick up is a bonus. Wifi worked well and room was basic but clean.Would only recommend as a single night stopover for the airport.

Disliked: No window in our room, based in an industrial estate but there was a lot of restaurants and bars within walking distance.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: On arriving at Mumbai airport we were met by a representative of the Anjali Inn as promised and taken quickly to the hotel. It is located close to the airport which is just what we needed for a stop gap in Mumbai. All the staff were extremely nice and helpful and after spending a week in a beach shack with nothing but cold water and minimal facilities the hot water, tv and AC were top class.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very nice place to stay ! It's a tiny far from the main activities but since I don't like to be surrounded by tourists, I loved it ! I took the train to go to the center many times and enjoyed it each time ! If you want to be around locals, that's the right place :)

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The room we had was clean and the bed was comfortable. There was good wifi connection - which was a free service, but we very nearly got scammed by one of the staff members who told us it would cost us to get the password. We found out the next day from the manager that it was free. The staff gave us a free bottle of water on arrival which was nice. We have stayed in many hostels in India since our stay in Anjali Inn, they were the first to give us a free bottle of water.

Disliked: Before we arrived, Anjali Inn sent us an email telling us to be careful of touts when we arrived at Mumbai airport. They had arranged for their driver to pick us up, and to be careful not to go with anyone else who said they were from Anjali Inn. They said our driver would have our names on a piece of paper. Our driver was 20minutes late picking us up. As we waited at the airport, a lot of men came over guessing where we were going. One aggressive man said he was from Anjali and he would bring us, but didn't have our names, so we obviously didn't go with him. When our real driver did arrive, he practically scoffed at us for refusing the other driver, who happened to be a friend of his. On top of that, we were brought to a different building belonging to Anjali Inn, NOT the one from the photos on HostelBookers and a completely different address to the one on HostelBookers. We assumed we had been duped into going to someone else's hostel, until we found out that Anjali genuinely has 2 different buildings, and they will bring you to any one they want. When we asked the manager could we go to the other building, he said no. On top of it all, the hostel is an hours taxi drive (500rupees) from the centre of Mumbai.

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: clean air con

Disliked: expensive, loation

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway

Liked: Raj and the boys who run this joint are great guys,friendly and very helpful with all you need to know...i will stay here again for sure,

Disliked: nothing to dislike

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: This place is a stop over point for travellers heading to and from the airport. Great for acclimatising and picking up tips from other backpackers. Hostel manager is very helpful and can help you with travel to other cities and tours around Mumbai.

Disliked: It should be noted there are 2 Anjali Inn's, one is dorms the other privates. I can recommend the dorms, and I'm sure the privates is also up to the same standard.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Hey,we stayed in one of the female dorms (6 beds) of anjali inn in mumbai for 2 nights and really liked in there. it was our last accomondation after being for 4 weeks in india, so we've seen quite a lot hostels, hotels and guesthouses before we came to the anjali inn. the whole hostel was like one big flat with a living room and dining table (where we met a bunch of other backpackers), free use of internet. we felt comfortable and safe all the time. our room was all nice and clean with a/c, no bugs, a big window and closet and a tv, which we didn't really use. raj, the host, was helpful and friendly! the airport pick-up worked well and the hostel arranged a airport drop off for us at 4 am and only 150rs. there is a warm and friendly atmosphere, all employees are really kind and helpful. shower and warm water! breakfast and good chai as you wanted any (extra fee)

Disliked: we had a shared bathroom, which was not as clean and hygienic as the rest of the hostel, but still ok for indian standard.it's quite expansive for indian standard but still affordable for mumbai standard (mumbai is an expansive city, almost western prices)it's very close to the airport, which was fine for us, but if you want to see the city (colaba,...) and stay for several days the anjali inn might not be the best choice - because only taxis give you a ride into the city (we paid one way 200 - 300 rs)

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: This was just what we needed - somewhere close to the airport to crash overnight before our early morning flight. The room was clean and comfortable (though water was luke warm rather than hot). The staff made things perfect, they were so helpful - they arranged a free pick-up from the airport, ordered us pizza, fixed our TV (on which we watched a couple of movies in English from the large selection of channels), sorted our taxi back to the airport (at a cost of Rs200), woke us up at 3am. Really great service, and only 15 mins from the domestic airport (international is even closer). Thanks!

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Amazing atmosphere... good common area and fast wi fi. There is always people at the hostel or going out doing things. Really easy to meet people. Have beer and water available, also breakfast for 40 Rs. Raj is incredibly helpful with any of your Mumbai or travel questions.

Disliked: Only three bathrooms, but it's doable.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability