We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Sumanjay Homestay

Apartment | 10, Cambridge Road, 2nd Cross, Bangalore, India 560008

87.2% Overall Rating

45 out of 50 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/08/2012)

Ryan Donnelly thinks…

"This property is owned by one of the most nice and genuine Indian families I have come across in my travels abroad. They live here in this house, and they share it with people from all over the…"

Read all Sumanjay Homestay reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bangalore?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bangalore

T.A.P Hotel Silver Square
16.80 USD

Hotel 2.5 star Not yet rated
Sumanjay Farm House
11.32 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Blue Chip Serviced Apartment
16.17 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Tranzell Court Service Apartments Palmgrove
15.36 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Mels Service Apartments
14.47 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Casa Cottage
31.54 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Casa Piccola Service Apartment
21.83 USD

Apartment 93.7% 5 reviews
D'Habitat Apartments
20.22 USD

Apartment Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.2%

Overall Rating

45 out of 50 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Sumanjay Homestay'

Atmosphere
87.2%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
82.4%
Cleanliness
86.4%
Staff
97.6%
Value
79.2%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 42 of 43 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ryan Donnelly

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 August 2012 Ryan would recommend this property

Liked: This property is owned by one of the most nice and genuine Indian families I have come across in my travels abroad. They live here in this house, and they share it with people from all over the globe. I stayed there for 2 days and loved every moment of it. Its cosy, in a quiet street and great if you want to get out of the hustle and bustle of Bangalore. Included is the use of their wifi and they even wake up in the morning to cook you a special Indian family breakfast, which is great by the way! Upon arriving, I was greeted and treated like a member of their family and I really miss leaving.

Disliked: Nothing it was fantastic.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

17 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very helpful

Disliked: pay for wifi

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Jenny Shen

Alone

Events / festivals

31 January 2012 Jenny would recommend this property

Liked: it's near Halasuru station. It's clean and the beds are comfortable. During breakfast you get to meet other people who stay here. There's wifi connection but you have to pay.

Disliked: The place can be really hard to find. make sure you note the directions and landmarks if you're taking an auto there. Every morning around 6-7am there's this guy who shouts really loud (maybe selling stuff) in the neighborhood. I was expecting it to be a quiet area.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful owner.

Disliked: Was a little difficult to find even for the rickshaw driver and this could be a problem if arriving late at night.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful atmosphere. Description made it easy to find. Relaxed environment.

Disliked: Was a little further from the action than optimal, but still walk-able.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owners are a very nice and help where they can. Air India lost our baggage and their help contributed a lot to the recovery. There is a very good restaurant (Ruchi) closeby which you should check out for one evening at least.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Gaurav Kulkarni

Alone

Visiting friends or family

06 December 2011 Gaurav would recommend this property

Liked: Safe, conveniently located & friendly owners. It's not your run-of-the-mill hostel ; it's more like staying at some friend's place.

Disliked: Bathroom shower wasn't working properly.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

11 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Homely and in a quiet location. Owners willing to give advice about the local area.

Disliked: A little expensive .

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owners were incredibly helpful. i had a wheat allergy and they catered to my needs at breakfast and allowed me to try some of the local styles of food appropriate to my diet. They were around without being intrusive which was lovely. the rooms were large but simple. there is good fast wifi available and a computer

Disliked: its really over priced for what you get

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Claire Devlin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 February 2011 Claire would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly owner and nice long-staying travellers to get tips from! A bit out of the way but close to MG Road and Church St (lots of eating and shopping options), but a bit of a hike to sights etc. Big rooms, immaculate bathrooms and quiet location! Breakfast included and cheap (but slow) internet. I would recommend Sumanjay!

Disliked: Distance to sights/activities.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: breakfast

Disliked: no lookers at the door

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely owners and extremely helpful with all sorts of information! Will definitely come back.

Disliked: NA

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: see above

Disliked: nothin

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owners are very friendly and helpful. Thanks a lot!

Disliked: Nothing specific - had no problems at all!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap, clean, breakfast included

Disliked: A little far from MG Road

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Sehr freundliche Familie, nett, hilfsbereit. Das Fruehstueck ist sehr lecker (Indian breakfeast und Toast, Kaffee, Marmelade, Muesli, Bananen...).Sehr ruhig gelegen und nur 2 min ueber die Strasse ist ein gutes Restaurant/Bar "Retro")Absolute recomendable!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: beautiful people,

Disliked: not many other travellers

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

09 February 2010

Liked: The Hostel was central and in a safe area. But after two nights a had insect bites all over me so I think there were some kinds of insects in the matress or in the room. The stuff is friedly, but the owner trys to charge extra for everything. E.g. "you can do the landry in the bathroom- 100 Rupees" or "i can call you a taxi to the Airport- extra charge for me and for the phonecall". So after two days a felt like a walking dollar sign.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

lee ribbon

25 December 2009 lee would recommend this property

Liked: sumanjay is a fine place to stay, sumathi was an excellent host our light was delay and we arrived later than expected bu this was no problem, the room was clean and tidy not in a noisy area, sumanthi made a lovely breakfast, very helpful with information, arranging taxi's etc, there was good internet, books, maps, well priced, would go back if ever in bangelore :)

Disliked: lee left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

09 December 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a bit pricey, but as long as you're aware of that, it's a great place! They really make everything possible to ensure that you're stay is great!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Holly Tyson

02 November 2009 Holly would recommend this property

Liked: It was so nice just relaxing and talking with the family. Great breakfast!

Disliked: Holly left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

13 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent place to stay. Good location for the MG Road area of the city and the people were really friendly and helpful. Would certainly stay there again and recommend to others.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

14 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I most liked the very friendly, helpful owners. They really put in an extra effort. It is a great place to stay.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

07 September 2009

Liked: not a lot

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

26 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Though I arrived at midnight, the owner received me with her gentle smile. She cooked my breakfast. That's the most delicious dish of all I've ever eaten in India. If I have a chance to go to Bangalore next time, I will stay here.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.