HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Agra hostels

Reviews of Friends Paying Guest House

Guesthouse | p-6 , taj nagri phase 1, near shilpgram road, Agra, India 282001

85.6% Overall Rating

107 out of 135 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (06/06/2014)

monica sharma thinks…

"I had lovely Wifi Connection . I had a great time stuying at Friends Paying Guest House .staff are helpful. also a room is clean.and food was so delicious,I enjoyed when I was there.Location is…"

Read all Friends Paying Guest House reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Guests must cancel their booking 24 hours in advance. If they fail to do so, they will be charged for the number of nights originally booked. If your train or flight is late, in that case, please call us. For station or airport pickup, please organize it with the hostel at least 48 hours before your arrival, otherwise we cannot guarantee the arrangement of the pickup for you. You must also quote all your details.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Agra?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Agra

Hotel Gayatri Palace
5.77 USD

Hotel 2.5 star Not yet rated
Palmstay
24.74 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Harshit Paying Guesthouse
3.30 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hotel Priya
8.25 USD

Hotel 2.5 star Not yet rated
Hotel Rashmi
5.77 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.4% 38 reviews
Hotel Tara Grand Agra
9.90 USD

Hotel 2 star 44.8% 3 reviews
Hotel Taj Plaza
5.77 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.9% 34 reviews
Hotel White Inn
14.52 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.6%

Overall Rating

107 out of 135 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Friends Paying Guest House'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
81.6%
Facilities
80.8%
Cleanliness
77.6%
Staff
92.0%
Value
88.0%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 126 of 132 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The family are friendly & helpful

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were clean and very reasonably priced

Disliked: Nothing much around the area

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

monica sharma

As a family with children

Relaxation/spa

06 June 2014 monica would recommend this property

Liked: I had lovely Wifi Connection . I had a great time stuying at Friends Paying Guest House .staff are helpful. also a room is clean.and food was so delicious,I enjoyed when I was there.Location is ok.its safe around there.I'll stay there ,when I travel in India again.

Disliked: monica left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I had great time here . Location was perfect just walking distance to the Taj Mahal . In the hostel I felt like I m in my home . The emphasis is on good value of money and cleanness . Friends Guest House equipped with Homely facility. They have nice Roof Top View of Agra City and Taj Mahal . They also have Bob Marley Restaurant on second floor where you will chill out Area . Family and staff so helpful and very friendly.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is super convenient for the Taj Mahal (only 15 minutes walk away) and the rooms are well-sized. There's an extensive menu of home-cooked meals, a nice area to chill out and the family are really welcoming and have a great sense of humour!

Disliked: The food is quite pricey (although good portions) and my veg chow menuwas pretty skimpy on the veg. Also we had room 107 which is right next to the chill out area and so it was hard to sleep (loud music and people chatting). The bathroom door in that room has really warped so you can't close it (not a problem if you're close to whoever you're sharing with but impossible to trap the mozzies in there).

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Luke Robinson-Grant

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 December 2013 Luke would recommend this property

Liked: A very friendly staff who help create the best social atmosphere I've experienced in India so far. Rooms are comfortable, and well appointed, the location is very good, and the food at the restaurant is also quite tasty. Still the incredible family staff make this place the amazing guesthouse it is. I've extended my stay solely because of the guesthouse itself.

Disliked: Nothing.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and friendly staff. Food is delicious, homecook by the the owner's wife. It is just within walking distance to the Taj Mahal east gate.

Disliked: The room which I stayed in is near the main road and the reception counter. It is very noisy and the people's activity can be heard very clearly in the room.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mona Sharma

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

12 December 2013 Mona would recommend this property

Liked: where the owners want to get to know their customers, a price that's as quoted (no mystery tax or fees, and wifi is fast and free), and an effort to make sure your stay and arrival/departure is seamless. Yusuf and Bilou (brothers) and their father go out of their way to be accessible and are at your service at all hours. They also booked our departure train tickets for us without us leaving the guest house, and with a reasonable travel agent fee (we got burned by this elsewhere in India). Also a great vibe in the restaurant/lounge area (the Bob Marley!)

Disliked: I believe all double rooms are standard, but we had one upstairs, which is a little farther away fro...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, family run, good location if you're visiting the Taj, bit of Bob Marley being played in the communal area is always good,

Disliked: A bit far from bus/train station meaning tuk tuks are necessary

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Daniel Preisig

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 November 2013 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: decent place, very nice staff

Disliked: pretty far away from the taj area and all the restaurants

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Cléo Thomás Gabriel Vilela Menegaz Teixeira Pires

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 November 2013 Cléo Thomás Gabriel would recommend this property

Liked: Bed.

Disliked: Ndn

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ian May

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 November 2013 Ian would recommend this property

Liked: Its in a perfect location for the Taj Mahal and not too far away from Agra Fort. The staff were cool and friendly.

Disliked: I dont want to say too much because I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and would definitely go back. I would have liked a hot shower as they only turn it on for Winter. Check your room, the first one I was offered wasnt very nice.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

WING CHUN YIM

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013

Liked: It is dirty.

Disliked: There was no shower at our room.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 October 2013

Liked: the living area

Disliked: far away from the city, except for the taj mahal

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stella Charrington

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 October 2013 Stella would recommend this property

Liked: Delightfully friendly family! They made me feel very welcome, and the place is nice and clean, with the exception of the goats and other animalson the terrace upstairs. Great food at a good price. Spent the niest night talking with th family.

Disliked: Dorm consists of 3 beds pushed together, but I was alone so didn't have to share a bed with anyone.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chloe Champon

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 October 2013

Liked: The family is amazing! Everyone is very helpful and knowledgeable about everything and anything to do there! They also cook great food for a great price! SOOO close to the Taj Mahal as well!

Disliked: nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

ERIKA YLAGAN

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 August 2013 ERIKA would recommend this property

Liked: Clean rooms, good value for money, not too far from the Taj

Disliked: Random power blackouts sometimes but no big deal

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

17 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap place, nice people and nice atmosphere. Close to the taj and helpful in finding you rikshaws and making your stay comfi. And the shower was good (only cold water though).

Disliked: Food is expensive and upstairs the swing smells of cow dung. The pillows are as hard as rocks (so bring your own) and blankets are not provided (nor needed because the rooms are extremely hot).

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Bernie Van

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2013 Bernie would recommend this property

Liked: Great place , great location and great family atmosphere. Close to the Taj Mahal. Yusuf , the young guy looks after you well and his family is so lovely. Would definitely return again. Thanks for all !!

Disliked: Bernie left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Andrea Szenasi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 July 2013 Andrea would recommend this property

Liked: The family who ownes the place are really helpfull. Deff has a homestay feeling, which I liked. Clean and great location.

Disliked: The only problem I noticed was that the sheets werent changed. But I had my own with me

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

liam james

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 June 2013 liam would recommend this property

Liked: The family were very helpful and friendly. Gave excellent advice on avoiding scams and overcharging. The most friendly hotel we have used.

Disliked: The bathroom was the worst I'd seen for dirt. Other than that a very good budget spot.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ales Vesely

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2013 Ales would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful people running the guesthouse. Very good food.

Disliked: Internet was often down and electricity power cuts were common.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Katy Boulton

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 April 2013 Katy would recommend this property

Liked: This guesthouse is more like a homestay and so it is difficult to rate in terms of hotel criteria. Although the rooms aren't amazing the family and the food are. We were fully welcomed into their home, made to feel comfortable and spent most of our time relaxing in the lounge area with Yousef, Bilal and there lovely cheeky little sister ... Who henna'd my hand/arm and entertained us with a connect 4 tournament! The potato curry with cumin was the best we have ever tasted and we would definitely recommend friends paying guesthouse as a place to stay.

Disliked: The room we had could have done with a bit of a clean and a lick of paint ... However by Indian standards it was fine. The family explained that they are now in the low season so they are now spending their time fixing up the rooms and increasing the standard. Despite this we loved this place!

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 April 2013

Liked: Wifi internet - if it worked, which wasn't most of the time due to power outages - was quite speedy. No reception in the room however. The young boy was quite friendly, the only one that treated us nicely during our stay.

Disliked: We booked a deluxe room for 800 rupees a night on the basis of all the good reviews on hostelbookers. We arrived quite late, and when we arrived the teenage boy showed us our room. He insisted that we paid the room for 3 nights up front (at 2am) which we refused, probably knowing that we could impossibly be happy with it. When we mentioned that we had a "delux" room we could already see him frowning. The room turned out to be the worst room we had price/value wise for our entire 2 month trip through India: - Our room was next to a social area, and there was absolutely no privacy. Barely covering see-through curtains is all that divided us. Every sound you made could be heard outside, as well as that we heard all sounds from the other rooms. - Our first room was absolutely not a delux rooms. In fact, they didn't have _any_ delux rooms. We found out that they removed that room category from the website at the time we arrived. Our room did not have a hot shower (as promised in the room description). The owner initially said that this was due to the fact that the hot water ran out. But we showed him that there was not even a hot water tap in the shower! So this was simply a lie. Room was also extremely spartan. - We were moved to another, slightly better, room on the 2nd night after complaining. Still very far from what you can expect for a "delux" room worth 800rp in India. - We confronted the guy with all this. And he promised us to give us some of our money back. We had to argue about the amount as his initial offer was a joke. In the end we managed to get a total of 300 rupees back for our 3 night stay. From that point on, we were pretty much treated as trash by this "friendly" guest house. Ever time we entered or left we felt approached by pure cold and hostility. - Maybe not entirely their fault, but the power is more off than on. Power outages happen everywhere in India, but we never had so much trouble from it as in this place.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

David Humpolik

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: very nice and friendly ppl, we even got real Czech "bramborak"!!:-)

Disliked: David left no negative feedback.


See all Agra hostels