HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Top Rated Hostels in Reykjavik, Iceland

Loft Hostel 94%

1. Loft Hostel

Hostel
Bankastraeti 7

Atmosphere 92%

Cleanliness 96%

Facilities 92%

Location 100%

Safety 97%

Staff 94%

Value 91%

56 out of 56 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Loft Hostel

21 Mar 2016 100%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Sightseeing & culture
Age Range: 25-30

The upstairs common area/bar is great, the coffee is really good, plenty of beer/liquor, and always people to hang out with. Lots of locals come to Loft for a drink and its always a good time up there.

would recommend this property

09 Jan 2016 97%
Travel Type: Alone

Centralise and helpful staffs

would recommend this property

Read all Loft Hostel reviews
Guesthouse Odinn 94%

2. Guesthouse Odinn

Guesthouse
Odinsgata 9

Atmosphere 92%

Cleanliness 98%

Facilities 91%

Location 96%

Safety 98%

Staff 98%

Value 86%

34 out of 34 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Guesthouse Odinn

12 Sep 2015 100%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: Sightseeing & culture

We bookended our 10 day Iceland trip with stays at Guesthouse Odinn. The rooms were lovely and clean, with great views of the water. We were able to walk to everything in Reykjavik. The owner was very nice and accommodated our early arrival. The guest kitchen was very clean and well stocked. Overall, this was a great place to stay in Reykjavik!

would recommend this property

05 Aug 2015 89%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: Sightseeing & culture

Very central with a relaxed informal atmosphere. Breakfast was served upstairs in a room with a seaview

would recommend this property

Read all Guesthouse Odinn reviews
Igdlo Guesthouse 92%

3. Igdlo Guesthouse

Guesthouse
Gunnarsbraut 46

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 90%

Location 91%

Safety 94%

Staff 97%

Value 94%

83 out of 85 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Igdlo Guesthouse

31 May 2016 89%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: Sightseeing & culture
Age Range: 41+

Good location. Nice surroundings. Friendly staff. Offered breakfast in the morning for a reasonable charge. Free coffee and tea, which was nice. Did have hairdryer and european plug converter on hand.

would recommend this property

29 Mar 2016 94%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: Sightseeing & culture
Age Range: 31-40

It was clean and close to the city center (10-15 minutes walking to the city center, also there is a bus stop 1 minute walking). It has a range of facilities (great coffee machine, choices of teas, hair dryer, straighteners,...). Staff was the best, they were very nice and so helpful (Thanks so much for everything!). I highly recommend the hostel. We really enjoyed our stay.

would recommend this property

Read all Igdlo Guesthouse reviews
Hostel B47 90%

4. Hostel B47

Hostel
Baronsstigur 47

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 95%

Facilities 90%

Location 100%

Safety 90%

Staff 85%

Value 90%

4 out of 4 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hostel B47

17 May 2016 89%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: City break Sightseeing & culture
Age Range: 41+

Clean,modern,good wifi & dormsl/ockers.Good location close to downtown & only 10/15 mins walk to BSI Bus Terminal ideal for Flybus for airport & related Reykjavik Excursions for tours.Tanya helping with reception was great with advice & kindly came with me the nearest Bonus supermarket.She also showed me a liquor shop where I bought some great local beer called Viking(7 % !) for less than £3 so much cheaper than bars.NB Legally they can sell beers up to 2.2% in supermarkets.

would recommend this property

03 Sep 2015 97%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: Family Holiday

Very good location and very clean and spacious

would recommend this property

Read all Hostel B47 reviews
Reykjavik Downtown Hostel 91%

5. Reykjavik Downtown Hostel

Hostel
Vesturgata 17

Atmosphere 88%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 90%

Location 92%

Safety 92%

Staff 94%

Value 90%

57 out of 57 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Reykjavik Downtown Hostel

15 Nov 2015 100%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Sightseeing & culture

Nice staff, quiet and CLEAN. All dorms have ensuite.

would recommend this property

20 Aug 2015 94%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: City break Events / festivals Relaxation / spa Sightseeing & culture

The hostel had a fabulous location in downtown Reykjavík -- just a few minutes' walk from major tourist spots! Clean rooms, super clean shower & toilets, good guest kitchen!

would recommend this property

Read all Reykjavik Downtown Hostel reviews
Hlemmur Square 89%

6. Hlemmur Square

Hostel
Laugavegur 105

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 89%

Facilities 87%

Location 92%

Safety 95%

Staff 94%

Value 82%

135 out of 141 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hlemmur Square

06 Jun 2016 86%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Sightseeing & culture Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Age Range: 18-24

Rooms were quiet (except noise from outside as the window was open and alarms of other people in dorm). They were nice. Location was good and all the buses picked you up from there, so no walking .

would recommend this property

31 May 2016 100%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year
Age Range: 18-24

Very good location- you can walk to most of the major things in the city. Food is easily accessible. Staff spoke English well.

would recommend this property

Read all Hlemmur Square reviews
KEX Hostel 89%

7. KEX Hostel

Hostel
Skúlagata 28

Atmosphere 95%

Cleanliness 81%

Facilities 84%

Location 95%

Safety 89%

Staff 90%

Value 85%

312 out of 326 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend KEX Hostel

24 Jun 2016 94%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Work / volunteering
Age Range: 25-30

Aesthetically pleasing, helpful staff and great facilities. The location was great, looking out to the harbour but equally not far from the main shopping area.

would recommend this property

13 Jun 2016 94%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: Sightseeing & culture Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Age Range: 25-30

Great décor, large common area with a great café/bar for guests and the public. Outdoor patio is a plus too.

would recommend this property

Read all KEX Hostel reviews
Bus Hostel Reykjavik 85%

8. Bus Hostel Reykjavik

Hostel
Skogarhlid 10

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 96%

Facilities 83%

Location 71%

Safety 92%

Staff 82%

Value 78%

118 out of 124 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Bus Hostel Reykjavik

03 Jul 2016 91%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year
Age Range: 31-40

Helpful, friendly staff, possibility to get breakfast. Big, clean dorms and enough bathrooms.

would recommend this property

07 Jun 2016 89%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year City break Relaxation / spa Sightseeing & culture
Age Range: 25-30

Everybody was very nice, staff and guests alike. The beds were comfortable. Everything was clean. You can hang out in the lounge or outside. The bus station is just 5 min away, the city centre about 10-15min.

would recommend this property

Read all Bus Hostel Reykjavik reviews
Reykjavik Hostel Village 78%

9. Reykjavik Hostel Village

Hostel
Flokagata 1

Atmosphere 80%

Cleanliness 80%

Facilities 68%

Location 80%

Safety 83%

Staff 83%

Value 78%

7 out of 10 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Reykjavik Hostel Village

17 Mar 2016 100%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year Family Holiday Romantic getaway Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Age Range: 41+

The way we really felt at home from home in our own room where we could be ourselves. Make tea or dinner at time that suited us. Other wise just making do with a Cup of Soup with the thought of if in a hotel we would be missing out on a paid for meal. However at the Hostel there was a Breakfast nook for a good paid for breakfast if you so wanted plus there was a good kitchen to prepare a good dinner at your own convenience. The bathroom and toilet were very conveniently on our floor as with the others.

would recommend this property

03 Oct 2015 100%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year

Good located, calm, good kitchen

would recommend this property

Read all Reykjavik Hostel Village reviews
Reykjavik City Hostel 78%

10. Reykjavik City Hostel

Hostel
Sundlaugavegur 34, IS-105 Reykjavik

Atmosphere 74%

Cleanliness 87%

Facilities 83%

Location 62%

Safety 83%

Staff 85%

Value 73%

39 out of 43 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Reykjavik City Hostel

19 Mar 2016 89%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: Sightseeing & culture
Age Range: 31-40

excellent facilities, friendly staff

would recommend this property

19 Jul 2014 77%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year

Friendly staff

would recommend this property

Read all Reykjavik City Hostel reviews

Why book with hostelbookers?

Thousands of beds and private rooms, close to the things you’re planning to see and do.
With great value hostels and cheap hotels, everything you want to see and do is just a step away.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Reykjavik?

Contact us directly

Our top-rated Reykjavik hostels have only been scored by hostelbookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Reykjavik. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.

Guide to Reykjavik

Guide to Find our best travel tips, advice and inspiration on what to do and where to stay in our guide to Reykjavik. Discover how to travel on a budget and don’t forget to check the weather before you go!