HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Top Rated Hostels in Reykjavik, Iceland

Loft Hostel 94%

1. Loft Hostel

Hostel
Bankastraeti 7

Atmosphere 92%

Cleanliness 96%

Facilities 92%

Location 100%

Safety 97%

Staff 94%

Value 91%

56 out of 56 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Loft Hostel

21 Mar 2016 100%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Sightseeing & culture
Age Range: 25-30

The upstairs common area/bar is great, the coffee is really good, plenty of beer/liquor, and always people to hang out with. Lots of locals come to Loft for a drink and its always a good time up there.

would recommend this property

09 Jan 2016 97%
Travel Type: Alone

Centralise and helpful staffs

would recommend this property

Read all Loft Hostel reviews
Guesthouse Odinn 94%

2. Guesthouse Odinn

Guesthouse
Odinsgata 9

Atmosphere 92%

Cleanliness 98%

Facilities 91%

Location 96%

Safety 98%

Staff 98%

Value 86%

34 out of 34 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Guesthouse Odinn

12 Sep 2015 100%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: Sightseeing & culture

We bookended our 10 day Iceland trip with stays at Guesthouse Odinn. The rooms were lovely and clean, with great views of the water. We were able to walk to everything in Reykjavik. The owner was very nice and accommodated our early arrival. The guest kitchen was very clean and well stocked. Overall, this was a great place to stay in Reykjavik!

would recommend this property

05 Aug 2015 89%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: Sightseeing & culture

Very central with a relaxed informal atmosphere. Breakfast was served upstairs in a room with a seaview

would recommend this property

Read all Guesthouse Odinn reviews
Hostel B47 93%

3. Hostel B47

Hostel
Baronsstigur 47

Atmosphere 93%

Cleanliness 100%

Facilities 93%

Location 100%

Safety 87%

Staff 87%

Value 87%

3 out of 3 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hostel B47

03 Sep 2015 97%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: Family Holiday

Very good location and very clean and spacious

would recommend this property

Read all Hostel B47 reviews
Igdlo Guesthouse 92%

4. Igdlo Guesthouse

Guesthouse
Gunnarsbraut 46

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 93%

Facilities 88%

Location 91%

Safety 94%

Staff 98%

Value 94%

82 out of 84 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Igdlo Guesthouse

29 Mar 2016 94%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: Sightseeing & culture
Age Range: 31-40

It was clean and close to the city center (10-15 minutes walking to the city center, also there is a bus stop 1 minute walking). It has a range of facilities (great coffee machine, choices of teas, hair dryer, straighteners,...). Staff was the best, they were very nice and so helpful (Thanks so much for everything!). I highly recommend the hostel. We really enjoyed our stay.

would recommend this property

16 Jan 2016 80%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Age Range: 31-40

The guesthouse is located around 15-20min walk to the centre of the town. During our stay we haven't seen anyone who works there as we were coming back late from our trips. Very quiet, clean place.

would recommend this property

Read all Igdlo Guesthouse reviews
Reykjavik Downtown Hostel 91%

5. Reykjavik Downtown Hostel

Hostel
Vesturgata 17

Atmosphere 88%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 90%

Location 92%

Safety 92%

Staff 94%

Value 90%

57 out of 57 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Reykjavik Downtown Hostel

15 Nov 2015 100%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Sightseeing & culture

Nice staff, quiet and CLEAN. All dorms have ensuite.

would recommend this property

20 Aug 2015 94%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: City break Events / festivals Relaxation / spa Sightseeing & culture

The hostel had a fabulous location in downtown Reykjavík -- just a few minutes' walk from major tourist spots! Clean rooms, super clean shower & toilets, good guest kitchen!

would recommend this property

Read all Reykjavik Downtown Hostel reviews
KEX Hostel 90%

6. KEX Hostel

Hostel
Skúlagata 28

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 83%

Facilities 86%

Location 96%

Safety 91%

Staff 90%

Value 85%

306 out of 320 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend KEX Hostel

20 Apr 2016 94%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year
Age Range: 25-30

Very clean, very well located hostel.

would recommend this property

02 Jan 2016 60%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers

- Location- Chef Mathias - Restaurant ambience

would recommend this property

Read all KEX Hostel reviews
Thor Guesthouse 90%

7. Thor Guesthouse

Guesthouse
Skolavordustig 16

Atmosphere 83%

Cleanliness 87%

Facilities 87%

Location 100%

Safety 87%

Staff 93%

Value 83%

6 out of 6 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Thor Guesthouse

22 Jul 2012 80%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: City break

gratis Internet

would recommend this property

20 Jul 2012 83%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year Family Holiday Romantic getaway

location, staff

would recommend this property

Read all Thor Guesthouse reviews
Hlemmur Square 87%

8. Hlemmur Square

Hostel
Laugavegur 105

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 87%

Facilities 86%

Location 90%

Safety 94%

Staff 94%

Value 79%

132 out of 138 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hlemmur Square

29 Apr 2016 94%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: City break
Age Range: 18-24

Really great hostel! Rooms were large and clean. Very safe and friendly atmosphere, which I appreciate as a solo female traveler. Bathrooms were clean. Linens provided. Luggage safes were a nice size. Location is wonderful. Great value for cost.

would recommend this property

24 Apr 2016 100%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Age Range: 18-24

It was right on the main strip in Reykjavik, it was very secure with keycard access.

would recommend this property

Read all Hlemmur Square reviews
Bus Hostel Reykjavik 83%

9. Bus Hostel Reykjavik

Hostel
Skogarhlid 10

Atmosphere 88%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 84%

Location 66%

Safety 90%

Staff 82%

Value 76%

115 out of 121 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Bus Hostel Reykjavik

23 Apr 2016 74%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: City break Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Age Range: 25-30

Facilities, cleanliness, value compared to the rest of hostels in city

would recommend this property

16 Mar 2016 100%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: City break Events / festivals Partying / nightlife Relaxation / spa Sightseeing & culture
Age Range: 31-40

Great staff, great environment, great people staying at the hostel.

would recommend this property

Read all Bus Hostel Reykjavik reviews
Reykjavik Hostel Village 78%

10. Reykjavik Hostel Village

Hostel
Flokagata 1

Atmosphere 80%

Cleanliness 80%

Facilities 68%

Location 80%

Safety 83%

Staff 83%

Value 78%

7 out of 10 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Reykjavik Hostel Village

17 Mar 2016 100%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year Family Holiday Romantic getaway Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Age Range: 41+

The way we really felt at home from home in our own room where we could be ourselves. Make tea or dinner at time that suited us. Other wise just making do with a Cup of Soup with the thought of if in a hotel we would be missing out on a paid for meal. However at the Hostel there was a Breakfast nook for a good paid for breakfast if you so wanted plus there was a good kitchen to prepare a good dinner at your own convenience. The bathroom and toilet were very conveniently on our floor as with the others.

would recommend this property

03 Oct 2015 100%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year

Good located, calm, good kitchen

would recommend this property

Read all Reykjavik Hostel Village reviews

Why book with hostelbookers?

Thousands of beds and private rooms, close to the things you’re planning to see and do.
With great value hostels and cheap hotels, everything you want to see and do is just a step away.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Reykjavik?

Contact us directly

Our top-rated Reykjavik hostels have only been scored by hostelbookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Reykjavik. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.

Guide to Reykjavik

Guide to Find our best travel tips, advice and inspiration on what to do and where to stay in our guide to Reykjavik. Discover how to travel on a budget and don’t forget to check the weather before you go!