HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in Reykjavik, Iceland

96.6%
15 reviews Book Now 
1

Guesthouse Odinn

Guesthouse
Óðinnsgata 9, City Centre, Reykjavik, Iceland 101

15 out of 15 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Guesthouse Odinn

Atmosphere - 96% Staff - 98% Facilities - 93% Safety - 98%
Location - 98% Cleanliness - 98% Value - 92%
Whitney Johansson
With my spouse / partner
Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Whitney would recommend this property 17 August 2013

Great location & really helpful owners. Rooms are tiny- you can only fit 2 twin beds & your luggage, but we didn't spend a lot time in our room. Also, the bathrooms are shared, but they are clean and the price for staying here is great. Wi-Fi works well. No complaints at all. Easy, comfy, & affordable. Best part was they let us check in around 11am, which was wonderful after an overnight flight.

Customer review
As a family with children
Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family
85.7%
Customer would recommend this property 30 July 2013

Great location. Nice, clean and secure. Free wifi. Friendly atmosphere amongst fellow travellers.

96.5%
32 reviews Book Now 
2

Loft Hostel

Hostel
Bankastraeti 7, Reykjavik, Iceland 101

32 out of 32 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Loft Hostel

Atmosphere - 95% Staff - 99% Facilities - 94% Safety - 95%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 98% Value - 92%
Customer review
Alone
Relaxation/spa, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 21 March 2014

Loft Hostel was a great place to stay! The location is right in the heart of downtown Reykjavik, keep in mind the town isn't that large but having everything you could want and more at your doorstep is a nice bonus. There are endless restaurants, cafés and bars for your enjoyment as well as shopping. The hostel itself is very clean, the staff is so friendly and more than happy to help you with any questions you have or helping to book your tours. The nice thing about the tours here are that they pick you up and drop you off at whichever hostel you stay at so it's extremely convenient. Check-in isn't until 2pm but they will stow your bags until that time if you happen to arrive early like I did. They also have couches in the lounge area and you arrive early and are dead tired from your flight and need a bit of a cat nap (I definitely took advantage of this). I ended up having to move my trip back a day because of work so I e-mailed the hostel to see if they could change it for me without having to pay the service fee again and they responded to me within a day letting me know they had changed it and my fee would carry over. It is a safe and friendly environment, I met a lot of great people and the hostel will have activities throughout the week such as twister or poetry slam night which I also a great opportunity to meet fellow travelers if you're traveling solo like I was. Highly recommend!

Customer review
Alone
Relaxation/spa, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 11 March 2014

It was very well located in the city centre and easy walking distance to sights around the city. It was also very clean and tidy. The staff were really helpful and friendly.

96.4%
4 reviews Book Now 
3

Heytjörn Cabins

Guesthouse
Lynghólsvegur 23, Reykjavik, Iceland 270

4 out of 4 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Heytjörn Cabins

Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 95% Facilities - 90% Safety - 100%
Location - 90% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%
Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 07 August 2013

Short drive out of city - great experience of private cabin in a secluded setting

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 26 September 2012

We loved everything about Heytjörn Cabins. The cabin itself was fantastic and it was a good distance from the city (with a car) I can't speak highly enough of the staff. Without them our trip could have been a disaster! Thank You.

93.7%
71 reviews Book Now 
4

Guesthouse Galtafell

Guesthouse
Laufásvegur 46, Reykjavik, Iceland 101

69 out of 71 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Guesthouse Galtafell

Atmosphere - 92% Staff - 98% Facilities - 89% Safety - 94%
Location - 96% Cleanliness - 93% Value - 91%
Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Family Holiday, Relaxation/spa, Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 08 October 2013

Very familiar atmosphere, nice way of meeting the local people when you have breakfast in their dining room

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Sightseeing & culture
88.6%
Customer would recommend this property 17 March 2013

Within walking distance of Reykjavik centre but also gives easy access to the main routes out of town. A delightful old building

93.5%
244 reviews Book Now 
5

KEX Hostel

Hostel
Skulagata 26, Reykjavik, Iceland 101

235 out of 244 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend KEX Hostel

Atmosphere - 96% Staff - 92% Facilities - 92% Safety - 95%
Location - 95% Cleanliness - 91% Value - 92%
Lien Quynh Nguyen
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
85.7%
Lien Quynh would recommend this property 14 April 2014

Good location, keycard, big rooms, comfy beds. Lots of common areas and comfy chairs to surf the web on

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
City break, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 12 March 2014

Very friendly and helpful staff, brilliant central location, cool decor and nice atmosphere.

92.9%
406 reviews Book Now 
6

Baldursbra Guesthouse

Guesthouse
Laufasvegur 41, Reykjavik, Iceland 101

393 out of 406 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Baldursbra Guesthouse

Atmosphere - 92% Staff - 96% Facilities - 86% Safety - 92%
Location - 94% Cleanliness - 94% Value - 94%
Customer review
Alone
Work / volunteering
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 16 March 2014

Clean and comfortable rooms. A shared bathroom but only between three rooms and very clean. Excellent location for the bus station, the University and the city centre. A really nice, friendly atmosphere from both the host and other guests. A basic but delicious breakfast! I will definitely be staying here again.

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
City break, Relaxation/spa, Romantic getaway
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 04 March 2014

Quaint, central location and it felt like a home from home. Evelyne & husband made us feel very welcome and were very helpful and full of tips.

92.9%
6 reviews Book Now 
7

Abode Little

Apartment
Odinsgata 17, 101, Groundfloor, Reykjavik, Iceland -

6 out of 6 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Abode Little

Atmosphere - 93% Staff - 93% Facilities - 86% Safety - 96%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 83% Value - 96%
Tamara Melmer
With friends / other travellers
City break, Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture
74.3%
Tamara would recommend this property 15 August 2012

Very central - a clear plus; the apartement itself is simple, but it gives you an 'authentic' impression of what average peoples' homes look like in Reykjavik. I certainly do recommend it.

Customer review
Alone
City break, Events / festivals, Shopping
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 18 October 2011

It's a very nice apartment. Perfectly situated; very close to the city center though very quiet. Extremely kind and helpful staff. Everything you need for self catering is at hand. The bathroom is small but the shower is divine! A real home away from home.

92.7%
59 reviews Book Now 
8

Igdlo Guesthouse

Guesthouse
Gunnarsbraut 46, Reykjavik, Iceland -

59 out of 59 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Igdlo Guesthouse

Atmosphere - 82% Staff - 99% Facilities - 91% Safety - 99%
Location - 86% Cleanliness - 96% Value - 93%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Partying / nightlife
80.0%
Customer would recommend this property 14 April 2014

Location is good, close to BSÍ Bus Terminal, not far from downtown, close to domestic airport, small garden to hang out, kitchen is good, value for money is pretty good

Xin Yan
With friends / other travellers
Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
Xin would recommend this property 15 March 2014

Staff is really helpful and nice. Atmosphere is good. Nice kitchen and living room for travelers to communicate.

92.1%
4 reviews Book Now 
9

Abode

Apartment
Skólavörðustígur 35, Reykjavik, Iceland 101

4 out of 4 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Abode

Atmosphere - 85% Staff - 90% Facilities - 85% Safety - 95%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 95% Value - 95%
Customer review
Alone
Relaxation/spa, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 27 September 2013

I had such a great time! I can hardly wait for my next trip! Abode is a great place! It is very centrally located, you can walk to art galleries, museums, cafes, shops, or down by the sea. It is only a short walk to the BSI bus station, and the central bus station, to take day trips, explore Reykjavik, or take longer ones all over Iceland. Everything was clean and fresh, with comfy beds, Icelandic comforters, and it is so lovely and cozy to wake up in the morning, immersed in the beauty of an old Scandinavian home. Abode's kitchen is great and is just down the street from the Fru Lauga, the organic store with Italian wines, fresh pressed olive oil and a great assortment of beautiful fruits, vegetables, Icelandic fish, lamb, cheeses, skyr, and fresh baked bread, anything you would want for a snack, to stock up the fridge, or to cook a meal. And, Abode even has a laundry! Bryndis is a wonderful hostess, and offered much help. She is full of hospitality. A special surprise was finding out we are distant cousins. It was like finding a long lost sister! Really a trip to remember! Anyone would feel safe, be very comfortable, sleep well, be warm and dry whatever the weather or season and be well fed enjoying Abode! With so many choices of how to spend your days exploring Iceland , so close at hand!!!!

Customer review
As a family with children
Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 27 July 2011

The location was excellent in the center of Reykjavik and the old building was charming. The apartment was large and very clean, furnishing was simple. The linens were of high quality. It was also great to have a private parking place just in front of our door.

92.1%
42 reviews Book Now 
10

Hlemmur Square

Hostel
Laugavegur 105, Reykjavik, Iceland 105

40 out of 42 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hlemmur Square

Atmosphere - 81% Staff - 96% Facilities - 91% Safety - 95%
Location - 92% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 95%
Sanna Raita-aho
Alone
City break, Work / volunteering
91.4%
Sanna would recommend this property 17 April 2014

Rooms are very good and clean Location is very well, in the middle of centrum and near bus station Linen are included on the price

Elin Dettmer
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Events / festivals
97.1%
Elin would recommend this property 16 April 2014

It is really new and modern, and super clean! We loved that each bed has it's own power point and light. As well everywhere else in the hostel! The kitchen is great - has everything you need - including a DISHWASHER!! Not that we used it, but still! Each shower had shampoo and shower gel to use - which is perfect if you ran out/don't have room to pack yours :) The staff members are very helpful and friendly! I think it was off season because it was very quiet there - they only had one floor open. It was perfectly located - definitely walking distance to everything in Reykjavic :) Overall just a well thought out hostel :)

Reykjavik

35 Hostels from 20.50 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated Reykjavik hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Reykjavik. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.