We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/02/2016
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/02/2016
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in Reykjavik, Iceland

95.2%
31 reviews Book Now 
1

Guesthouse Odinn

Guesthouse
Óðinnsgata 9, City Centre, Reykjavik, Iceland 101

31 out of 31 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Guesthouse Odinn

Atmosphere - 92% Staff - 98% Facilities - 92% Safety - 98%
Location - 97% Cleanliness - 98% Value - 88%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 01 September 2014

Guesthouse Odinn is a lovely little guesthouse right in the centre of Reykjavik. The rooms are pretty and functional and there are 3 or 4 rooms sharing the bathroom and a kitchen. Everything is clean, the breakfast is served in a room with a view over the city and the owners are very friendly. A great place to stay and coming back to after a day of exploring Reykjavik and its surroundings.

Customer review
As a family with children
Family Holiday
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 27 August 2014

Location was great. It was within walking distance to everything and also very quiet. Olafur was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was excellent. We stayed in a two bedroom apartment down the road from the main Odinn house with our two tenn daughters. It was very spacious and clean.

95.0%
48 reviews Book Now 
2

Loft Hostel

Hostel
Bankastraeti 7, Reykjavik, Iceland 101

48 out of 48 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Loft Hostel

Atmosphere - 88% Staff - 95% Facilities - 91% Safety - 97%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 97% Value - 94%
Emily Dudok de Wit
With friends / other travellers
City break, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
91.4%
Emily would recommend this property 25 February 2015

Great location, easy to walk everywherre. W stayed in a twin ensuite room and the showers were great and the beds comfy!

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 21 February 2015

Spacious clean rooms with a perfect location on the Main Street. Excellent kitchen facilities and some awesome live music in the bar. Would definitely stay there again.

94.6%
9 reviews Book Now 
3

Abode Little

Apartment
Odinsgata 17, 101, Groundfloor, Reykjavik, Iceland -

9 out of 9 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Abode Little

Atmosphere - 95% Staff - 95% Facilities - 91% Safety - 97%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 88% Value - 93%
Paul Charnock
With my spouse / partner
City break, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
100.0%
Paul would recommend this property 13 July 2014

By Iceland standards the price was very reasonable and location wise it's perfect, close enough to walk to the centre but far enough to not be disturbed by the noise. It's comfy, clean and everything we were looking for.

Tamara Melmer
With friends / other travellers
City break, Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture
74.3%
Tamara would recommend this property 15 August 2012

Very central - a clear plus; the apartement itself is simple, but it gives you an 'authentic' impression of what average peoples' homes look like in Reykjavik. I certainly do recommend it.

93.5%
67 reviews Book Now 
4

Igdlo Guesthouse

Guesthouse
Gunnarsbraut 46, Reykjavik, Iceland -

67 out of 67 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Igdlo Guesthouse

Atmosphere - 81% Staff - 98% Facilities - 92% Safety - 99%
Location - 89% Cleanliness - 97% Value - 95%
Alicia Roy
With my spouse / partner
City break
100.0%
Alicia would recommend this property 24 January 2015

Very close the the BS1 station as well as to the main church and rest of the city. 10 minutes walk from the most important locations. The staff in the hostel was very friendly and helpful. The day we had to leave the installations, there was a very strong storm and some flights got cancelled. The staff offered us very kindly to stay if necessary and extra day. Great people.

kim hildebrand
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year
97.1%
kim would recommend this property 05 October 2014

Very clean, friendly and helpful staff and home-ly. Would definitely stay again.

92.1%
424 reviews Book Now 
5

Baldursbra Guesthouse

Guesthouse
Laufasvegur 41, Reykjavik, Iceland 101

410 out of 424 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Baldursbra Guesthouse

Atmosphere - 90% Staff - 95% Facilities - 87% Safety - 92%
Location - 96% Cleanliness - 90% Value - 93%
Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Romantic getaway
88.6%
Customer would recommend this property 07 January 2015

nice cheap place to stay which was exactly what we were looking for. The staff were very friendly and helpful. the breakfast is good! (although my bf was disappointed) i really enjoyed t though! short walk into town.

Customer review
Alone
Sightseeing & culture
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 31 August 2014

I booked a 3-night stay at Baldursbra Guesthouse based on all of the positive reviews from this site, and I couldn't agree with them more! The owners, Evelyne and Philippe were extremely kind and helpful to me throughout my entire trip. This was my first trip alone, so their hospitality and kindness was greatly appreciated. As soon as I walked in, I felt like I was staying at a friend or family member's house. Evelyne was very good at booking tours as well as the airport shuttle on my last day. I had a very early flight that required me to leave at 4:30-5am. Evelyne woke up at 4am to make sure I didn't miss my airport shuttle and that I had eaten enough breakfast before I left. The guesthouse is very close to the city centre, yet quiet enough that you can get a good night's sleep. The breakfast is served continental style, and you can have coffee or tea anytime throughout the day. The bathroom was shared between 4 guests, but I never had to wait. All of the guests I had the pleasure of meeting were very friendly and some even helped me navigate the city! I couldn't be happier with this location. I hope to return to Reykjavik someday and I would definitely stay here again.

92.1%
4 reviews Book Now 
6

Abode

Apartment
Skólavörðustígur 35, Reykjavik, Iceland 101

4 out of 4 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Abode

Atmosphere - 85% Staff - 90% Facilities - 85% Safety - 95%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 95% Value - 95%
Customer review
Alone
Relaxation/spa, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 27 September 2013

I had such a great time! I can hardly wait for my next trip! Abode is a great place! It is very centrally located, you can walk to art galleries, museums, cafes, shops, or down by the sea. It is only a short walk to the BSI bus station, and the central bus station, to take day trips, explore Reykjavik, or take longer ones all over Iceland. Everything was clean and fresh, with comfy beds, Icelandic comforters, and it is so lovely and cozy to wake up in the morning, immersed in the beauty of an old Scandinavian home. Abode's kitchen is great and is just down the street from the Fru Lauga, the organic store with Italian wines, fresh pressed olive oil and a great assortment of beautiful fruits, vegetables, Icelandic fish, lamb, cheeses, skyr, and fresh baked bread, anything you would want for a snack, to stock up the fridge, or to cook a meal. And, Abode even has a laundry! Bryndis is a wonderful hostess, and offered much help. She is full of hospitality. A special surprise was finding out we are distant cousins. It was like finding a long lost sister! Really a trip to remember! Anyone would feel safe, be very comfortable, sleep well, be warm and dry whatever the weather or season and be well fed enjoying Abode! With so many choices of how to spend your days exploring Iceland , so close at hand!!!!

Customer review
As a family with children
Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 27 July 2011

The location was excellent in the center of Reykjavik and the old building was charming. The apartment was large and very clean, furnishing was simple. The linens were of high quality. It was also great to have a private parking place just in front of our door.

91.5%
89 reviews Book Now 
7

Hlemmur Square

Hostel
Laugavegur 105, Reykjavik, Iceland 105

84 out of 89 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hlemmur Square

Atmosphere - 90% Staff - 92% Facilities - 89% Safety - 96%
Location - 96% Cleanliness - 86% Value - 89%
Customer review
Alone
City break, Relaxation/spa, Sightseeing & culture
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 23 January 2015

Good style, felt homey. The dorms were very nice and comfortable, even the 14 bed dorm. The common area was enjoyable to socialize in as well as read etc.

Erin O'Callaghan
Alone
Events / festivals, Relaxation/spa, Sightseeing & culture
80.0%
16 January 2015

The dorm room (10 bed) was clean and there was a lockable (byo padlock) storage drawer for each bed as well as individual light and powerpoint. There was a sink inside the dorm, handy for brushing teeth. The lounge area was large and accessible with chess available. It seems standard for Reykjavik hostels to have a bar which is open to general public, Hlemmur square is no different. The hostel is right beside the public bus station, which is handy if you use it. This is NOT the central bus station for airport transfers.

91.2%
81 reviews Book Now 
8

Guesthouse Palshus

Guesthouse
Einarsnesi 58, Reykjavik, Iceland 101

79 out of 81 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Guesthouse Palshus

Atmosphere - 90% Staff - 96% Facilities - 92% Safety - 97%
Location - 73% Cleanliness - 97% Value - 89%
Zain Mohammed
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Zain would recommend this property 11 July 2013

This guest house was perfect, the land lady was just great, and her husband was very helpful. The place was always spotless and very well situated. Great base to start your travels for Iceland. In the back yard theres a hot tub, which is such a great way or winding down after a long day of exploring Reykajvik.

bethany norris
With my spouse / partner
Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
bethany would recommend this property 12 July 2012

The room was immaculate and very cozy. There is a deck to hang out on and the beach is 5 min walk away. The owners are extremely generous and helpful. The #12 bus is right across the street to take you into town. It runs every half hour.

91.2%
165 reviews Book Now 
9

Aurora Guesthouse

Guesthouse
Freyjugata 24, Reykjavik, Iceland 101

157 out of 165 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Aurora Guesthouse

Atmosphere - 87% Staff - 85% Facilities - 87% Safety - 93%
Location - 96% Cleanliness - 93% Value - 95%
Erin Murphy
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Erin would recommend this property 29 April 2014

We got upgraded as we arrived to a double room. Siggi the manager is lovely and very helpful. Central location. Very clean and wonderful modern kitchen and breakfast available.

Ty Webster
Alone
City break, Relaxation/spa, Sightseeing & culture
91.4%
Ty would recommend this property 16 April 2014

It's a convenient location in central Reykjavik and the manager Siggi is very helpful and kind.

91.1%
75 reviews Book Now 
10

Bus Hostel Reykjavik

Hostel
Skogarhlid 10, Reykjavik, Iceland 105

73 out of 75 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Bus Hostel Reykjavik

Atmosphere - 93% Staff - 91% Facilities - 92% Safety - 96%
Location - 76% Cleanliness - 99% Value - 88%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 22 February 2015

I absolutely loved my stay at the Bus Hostel - when I checked in after a day-long road trip, mentally preparing for staying in the 10-bed-dorm I had booked, I learned that I had gotten a free upgrade to a(n empty!) 4-bed-dorm. Completely made my day!

Customer review
Alone
Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 06 January 2015

Very cosy, clean, nicely arranged place located in a walking distance to the city centre. Great, very helpful and friendly staff. Safe and clean. Love it will be back!!!

Reykjavik

33 Hostels from 17.91 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated Reykjavik hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Reykjavik. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.