HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Top Rated Hostels in Reykjavik, Iceland

Loft Hostel 94%

1. Loft Hostel

Hostel
Bankastraeti 7

Atmosphere 92%

Cleanliness 96%

Facilities 92%

Location 100%

Safety 97%

Staff 94%

Value 91%

56 out of 56 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Loft Hostel

21 Mar 2016 100%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Sightseeing & culture
Age Range: 25-30

The upstairs common area/bar is great, the coffee is really good, plenty of beer/liquor, and always people to hang out with. Lots of locals come to Loft for a drink and its always a good time up there.

would recommend this property

09 Jan 2016 97%
Travel Type: Alone

Centralise and helpful staffs

would recommend this property

Read all Loft Hostel reviews
Reykjavik Downtown Hostel 92%

2. Reykjavik Downtown Hostel

Hostel
Vesturgata 17

Atmosphere 88%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 90%

Location 94%

Safety 94%

Staff 94%

Value 91%

59 out of 59 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Reykjavik Downtown Hostel

10 Jan 2017 94%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year
Age Range: 31-40

Central location. Helpful staff.

would recommend this property

10 Aug 2016 89%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year
Age Range: 31-40

The location is perfect, just a few blocks away from bars, restaurants and supermarkets. Rooms are big and comfortable. Bathrooms are clean. Staff are helpful. I really enjoyed my time there.

would recommend this property

Read all Reykjavik Downtown Hostel reviews
Igdlo Guesthouse 92%

3. Igdlo Guesthouse

Guesthouse
Gunnarsbraut 46

Atmosphere 87%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 90%

Location 91%

Safety 94%

Staff 97%

Value 93%

84 out of 86 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Igdlo Guesthouse

31 May 2016 89%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: Sightseeing & culture
Age Range: 41+

Good location. Nice surroundings. Friendly staff. Offered breakfast in the morning for a reasonable charge. Free coffee and tea, which was nice. Did have hairdryer and european plug converter on hand.

would recommend this property

29 Mar 2016 94%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: Sightseeing & culture
Age Range: 31-40

It was clean and close to the city center (10-15 minutes walking to the city center, also there is a bus stop 1 minute walking). It has a range of facilities (great coffee machine, choices of teas, hair dryer, straighteners,...). Staff was the best, they were very nice and so helpful (Thanks so much for everything!). I highly recommend the hostel. We really enjoyed our stay.

would recommend this property

Read all Igdlo Guesthouse reviews
KEX Hostel 89%

4. KEX Hostel

Hostel
Skúlagata 28

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 83%

Location 95%

Safety 88%

Staff 90%

Value 84%

318 out of 332 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend KEX Hostel

11 Feb 2017 89%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year
Age Range: 25-30

Great place to meet people, clean and comfortable beds and bathrooms and a good bar downstairs. Right on the waterfront too.

would recommend this property

24 Nov 2016 94%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: City break
Age Range: 25-30

This hostel is lovely. It was clean and the atmosphere was great - I loved the vintage style. It was right in the centre of town, close to everything we needed. I would recommend this place to friends and family.

would recommend this property

Read all KEX Hostel reviews
Hlemmur Square 88%

5. Hlemmur Square

Hostel
Laugavegur 105

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 86%

Location 94%

Safety 92%

Staff 97%

Value 83%

142 out of 149 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hlemmur Square

02 Mar 2017 91%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: Sightseeing & culture
Age Range: 25-30

Big lockers, rooms were clean, kitchen had everything we needed and had a nice social feel in it. At the end of the main road, so the location was excellent.

would recommend this property

28 Dec 2016 66%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year Sightseeing & culture
Age Range: 18-24

I liked the dorm rooms and bar/reception area, and the locking cabinets under the beds were good.

would recommend this property

Read all Hlemmur Square reviews
Bus Hostel Reykjavik 85%

6. Bus Hostel Reykjavik

Hostel
Skogarhlid 10

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 92%

Facilities 83%

Location 73%

Safety 90%

Staff 83%

Value 80%

124 out of 131 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Bus Hostel Reykjavik

21 Mar 2017 89%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: City break Sightseeing & culture
Age Range: 31-40

Really clean hostel with friendly atmosphere.

would recommend this property

24 Nov 2016 91%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Age Range: 18-24

Very cool atmosphere, loved the common area! Very clean bathrooms.

would recommend this property

Read all Bus Hostel Reykjavik reviews
Reykjavik City Hostel 79%

7. Reykjavik City Hostel

Hostel
Sundlaugavegur 34, IS-105 Reykjavik

Atmosphere 76%

Cleanliness 87%

Facilities 84%

Location 62%

Safety 85%

Staff 87%

Value 74%

41 out of 45 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Reykjavik City Hostel

06 Dec 2016 91%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: City break
Age Range: 25-30

Friendly and helpful staff

would recommend this property

14 Sep 2016 91%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year
Age Range: 18-24

It was like a hotel, stayed in an ensuite room and everything was perfect. Kitchen fully equipped too

would recommend this property

Read all Reykjavik City Hostel reviews
Reykjavik Hostel Village 78%

8. Reykjavik Hostel Village

Hostel
Flokagata 1

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 78%

Facilities 64%

Location 80%

Safety 82%

Staff 80%

Value 78%

8 out of 11 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Reykjavik Hostel Village

04 Jan 2017 66%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: City break Sightseeing & culture Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Age Range: 18-24

The location Friendly staff

would recommend this property

17 Mar 2016 100%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year Family Holiday Romantic getaway Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Age Range: 41+

The way we really felt at home from home in our own room where we could be ourselves. Make tea or dinner at time that suited us. Other wise just making do with a Cup of Soup with the thought of if in a hotel we would be missing out on a paid for meal. However at the Hostel there was a Breakfast nook for a good paid for breakfast if you so wanted plus there was a good kitchen to prepare a good dinner at your own convenience. The bathroom and toilet were very conveniently on our floor as with the others.

would recommend this property

Read all Reykjavik Hostel Village reviews
The Capital-Inn 76%

9. The Capital-Inn

Guesthouse
Sudurhlid 35d

Atmosphere 73%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 78%

Location 59%

Safety 78%

Staff 84%

Value 79%

59 out of 80 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend The Capital-Inn

25 Oct 2016 100%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year
Age Range: 41+

Great value for money (stayed in a 10-bed dorm): clean, roomy, comfortable, organized (kitchen, common area). Great athmosphere, we met special people from a dozen of exotic countries. Close at walking distance to the FREE hot spa near the fiord (Nautholsvik beach). Most amazing for us: something FREE ha ha ha.

would recommend this property

17 May 2016 86%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: Sightseeing & culture Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Age Range: 18-24

Staff was friendly!

would recommend this property

Read all The Capital-Inn reviews
Grettir Guesthouse 76%

10. Grettir Guesthouse

Guesthouse
Laugavegur 28a

Atmosphere 75%

Cleanliness 76%

Facilities 69%

Location 84%

Safety 78%

Staff 79%

Value 73%

11 out of 17 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Grettir Guesthouse

07 Jun 2015 97%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: City break Sightseeing & culture

Access to continental breakfast. Plenty if fresh fruit

would recommend this property

13 Sep 2014 60%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Location, heating was working, unlimited hot water shower

Read all Grettir Guesthouse reviews

Why book with hostelbookers?

Thousands of beds and private rooms, close to the things you’re planning to see and do.
With great value hostels and cheap hotels, everything you want to see and do is just a step away.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Reykjavik?

Contact us directly

Our top-rated Reykjavik hostels have only been scored by hostelbookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Reykjavik. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.

Guide to Reykjavik

Guide to Find our best travel tips, advice and inspiration on what to do and where to stay in our guide to Reykjavik. Discover how to travel on a budget and don’t forget to check the weather before you go!