HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Egilsborg guesthouse

Guesthouse | Þverholt 20 105 Reykjavík, Reykjavik, Iceland 105

77.7% Overall Rating

181 out of 215 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/05/2013)

"Clean, safe, well-equippped - I couldn't ask for more. The staff were immensely helpful too, giving us directions and advice about the sights in Iceland."

Read all Egilsborg guesthouse reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)

Purchasable Extras

  • Linen USD 8.68
  • Towel USD 8.68

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Reykjavik?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Reykjavik

Hlemmur Square
41.68 USD

Hostel 92.3% 58 reviews
101 Guesthouse
47.76 USD

Guesthouse 82.5% 135 reviews
Guesthouse Pavi
41.53 USD

Guesthouse 57.5% 136 reviews
Reykjavik Hostel Village
28.14 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hostel B47
60.29 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Igdlo Guesthouse
43.54 USD

Guesthouse 92.3% 64 reviews
Bus Hostel Reykjavik
33.86 USD

Hostel 90.3% 63 reviews
Grettisborg aparmtents
132.64 USD

Apartment Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.7%

Overall Rating

181 out of 215 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Egilsborg guesthouse'

Atmosphere
68.8%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
68.0%
Cleanliness
75.2%
Staff
87.2%
Value
79.2%
Safety
80.8%
Refine your results Showing 154 of 169 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 November 2013

Liked: Warm room and bedding.

Disliked: It was pretty basic and a little weird. I remembered reading that there was only a microwave available for cooking and a fridge so I expected that. However, what was not clear is that there isn't even a sink you are allowed to use downstairs so you can't even wash your own dishes or your hands if you were preparing food. There are only 2 tables, one of which was marked reserved although no one was ever at it, and there was someone sleeping in a fold out cot next to them. There was a pretty strong smell of fish in the bathroom on our floor. We booked a double room, but it ended up having twin beds instead of a double bed. Also, be aware there is an extra 10 euro surcharge for early check-in (so we did not do this).

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Jan Georg Plavec

With friends / other travellers

City break

17 June 2013 Jan Georg would recommend this property

Liked: Location is good, close to city center and cool shops. A convenient stay.

Disliked: We slept in a room right under the roof with very low ceiling. Shower on our floor was deactivated.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

08 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff and central location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, safe, well-equippped - I couldn't ask for more. The staff were immensely helpful too, giving us directions and advice about the sights in Iceland.

Disliked: Except for the weak shower, this place rocks!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Oleg Nabrovenkov

As a family with children

Family Holiday

16 May 2013 Oleg would recommend this property

Liked: Good quiet place not far from main street with all shops, bars, restorants and so on.

Disliked: Nothing

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife

14 May 2013

Liked: Good location in a quiet street with free parking and very close to the city centre

Disliked: - Toilets: We stayed for 3 days in a room with a shared bathroom and eventhough the gesthouse was full the toilet in our floor was only cleaned once in those 3 days which as it can be imagined is not a pretty sight. - Breakfast arrangements are somewhat erradic: when we arrived we asked if breakfast could be arranged to which we got the reply - NO. On the second day we saw breakfast being served to which we enquired again to get the answer: breakfast can be arranged for an extra charge... - Kitchen: it could be cleaned to a higher standard... - You often find the guesthouse open and completly unattended

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, it was really cheap

Disliked: Thin walls so you can hear everything from other rooms

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

03 November 2012

Liked: The 24 hour reception because we arrived very early in the morning.

Disliked: Not much character or explanation of the hostel's facilities.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Weixiong ZHUO

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway

11 September 2012 Weixiong would recommend this property

Liked: It is clean. Maggi is friendly and entertaining. It is value for money. Location is good, close to amenities and the main shopping street

Disliked: Lack of en suite facilities. I foresee that in peak period, around 10 guests will need to share a toilet and bathroom

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

ENRIKO FILIPUCI

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 August 2012 ENRIKO would recommend this property

Liked: the room was comfortable and clean, the staff was helpfull and symphatic

Disliked: the shower in my floor was broken and during my stay of 6 days they didnt repair

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Lukas Michna

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 November 2011 Lukas would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly owners of this guesthouse.

Disliked: Bathrooms and toilets should be renovated.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kristian Maar Kristensen

With a large group / tour

Events / festivals
Work / volunteering

20 October 2011 Kristian Maar would recommend this property

Liked: With the cozy shopping street a mere 15 minute walk away, this is great location for a hostel. Lovely place!

Disliked: All good!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Bonde

With a large group / tour

Business / conference
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

18 October 2011 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: A great place to stay!!! The owner was very friendly and helpfull, and the atmosphere at Egilsborg is very nice and relaxed. You can always find someone to talk to or hang out with. I would highly recommend this place to anyone going to Reykjavik!

Disliked: Nothing to dislike!! The Egilsborg Guesthouse is a great place to stay!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Luke Stone

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

23 September 2011 Luke would recommend this property

Liked: Only positive..

Disliked: ..nothing negative that I can think of.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The flexibility with arrival, payment, key and luggage.

Disliked: One morning the breakfast was not ready on time.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Located near the city centre on a quiet street. Was excellent value for money and included breakfast, although missed it because of having to get an early flight. Arrived early and the owner went up especially to clean the room, so we could leave our bags and explore Reykjavik. Rooms and facilities were tidy, clean and comfortable. Overall an excellant place to stay in Reykjavik.

Disliked: Nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness; decent breakfast; friendly female owner; comfortable room

Disliked: Sometimes the owners were not there and when you called the number they provided you got only voice mail and no return call.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice room, clean bathroom, cosy and friendly atmosphere.

Disliked: Breakfast was not on time, too little information about what time is check-in and check-out and how is the hotel system.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 August 2011

Liked: The owners were friendly (when we saw them), the breakfast was good, the rooms were decent sized and clean.

Disliked: I stayed here two separate times in a week and both times I felt like we had to track the owners down to pay them. The first time we left the hostel at 7:30 am and had to wake them up by knocking on their door which was VERY uncomfortable. The second time, after a 3 night stay we waited for them to emerge for hours before going to an ATM and sticking cash under their door. It was a decent place to stay but I found that to be very strange.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Abigail Sanchez

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2011 Abigail would recommend this property

Liked: It was a good location and good enough for the prices around that place.

Disliked: maybe the old furnished and washrooms.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, good beds. Breakfast served

Disliked: Shower on 2nd floor not very well kept Isolation not very good

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

25 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I would like we were very well

Disliked: Nothing

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

08 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were nice and the bed was comfy.

Disliked: The location was not ideal, not in a very nice part of town and next to a strip club. Breakfast was not good (cereal, toast, peanut butter, jelly and fruit-like drink).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephanie Chiariello

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2011 Stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: The owner Maggi is quite handsome and very, very nice and laid-back--he made me feel welcome and gave me many good tips on where to go in Iceland. This guesthouse in an EXCELLENT value for the money--very close to the main shopping street and a big bus station but also very quiet as it is tucked in to a nice little side street. Also, you can rent a car very cheap right at the guesthouse and go exploring the country. I cannot say enough good things about my 8 days at this guesthouse. I had a great time. Thanks Maggi!!!

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very helpful staff

Disliked: nothing