HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Guesthouse Egilsborg Guesthouse

verhoult 20, 101, Reykjavik, Iceland

Atmosphere 70%

Cleanliness 76%

Facilities 70%

Location 87%

Safety 80%

Staff 87%

Value 78%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Meals available
  • Towels Not Included"

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 8.81USD
  • Towel 8.81USD

Important Information

Hours of check in entry is only between 14:00 and 22:00 .The property does not have a 24 hrs reception.
Early or Late Check it is only possible at an additional cost of 2000ISK. Please inform guesthouse in advance if you wish to avail of this service.
Hotel policies:
- Not included is a city tax: of 0.7euros, per person, per night.
- Private parking is possible on site (reservation is not possible and costs 1000isk per day. Off street parking is free and customers park at your own responsibility.
- Wifi is available in all areas and charges are applicable.
- The total price of the reservation will be preauthorised and charged at least one day prior to arrival.

There is 'No cancellation period' for August 2015. It is a non refundable period as It is very busy and we cannot accommodate cancellations at short notice.

Special conditions apply for the following events:

Secret solstic: Thursday 30th June - 3rd July
Multicultural festival: Thursday 7th July - 10th July
ATP festival: Thursday 14th July - 17th July
Fasion walk: Thursday 21st July - 24th July
Keflavik Festival: Thursday 28th July - 31 July

Rock Festival: Thursday 4th Aug - 7th Aug
Marathon: Thursday 11th Aug - 14th Aug
Manniganott: Thursday 18 Aug - 21 Aug
Night Festival: Thursday 25th Aug - 28 Aug

The bookings made for this period are non-refundable, in case of late cancellation or no-show, the total amount of the booking will be kept. The balance may be charged in advance after the booking was made.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Reykjavik?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 70%

Cleanliness 76%

Facilities 70%

Location 87%

Safety 80%

Staff 87%

Value 78%

Showing 1-1 of 1 reviews

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Warm room and bedding.

Disliked: It was pretty basic and a little weird. I remembered reading that there was only a microwave available for cooking and a fridge so I expected that. However, what was not clear is that there isn't even a sink you are allowed to use downstairs so you can't even wash your own dishes or your hands if you were preparing food. There are only 2 tables, one of which was marked reserved although no one was ever at it, and there was someone sleeping in a fold out cot next to them. There was a pretty strong smell of fish in the bathroom on our floor. We booked a double room, but it ended up having twin beds instead of a double bed.Also, be aware there is an extra 10 euro surcharge for early check-in (so we did not do this).

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Location is good, close to city center and cool shops. A convenient stay.

Disliked: We slept in a room right under the roof with very low ceiling. Shower on our floor was deactivated.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Friendly staff and central location.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 May 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Clean, safe, well-equippped - I couldn't ask for more. The staff were immensely helpful too, giving us directions and advice about the sights in Iceland.

Disliked: Except for the weak shower, this place rocks!

Customer would recommend this property

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 May 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Partying / nightlife

Liked: Good location in a quiet street with free parking and very close to the city centre

Disliked: - Toilets: We stayed for 3 days in a room with a shared bathroom and eventhough the gesthouse was full the toilet in our floor was only cleaned once in those 3 days which as it can be imagined is not a pretty sight.- Breakfast arrangements are somewhat erradic: when we arrived we asked if breakfast could be arranged to which we got the reply - NO. On the second day we saw breakfast being served to which we enquired again to get the answer: breakfast can be arranged for an extra charge...- Kitchen: it could be cleaned to a higher standard...- You often find the guesthouse open and completly unattended

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 May 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location, it was really cheap

Disliked: Thin walls so you can hear everything from other rooms

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 May 2013

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: Good quiet place not far from main street with all shops, bars, restorants and so on.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Family Holiday, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The 24 hour reception because we arrived very early in the morning.

Disliked: Not much character or explanation of the hostel's facilities.

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Relaxation / spa, Romantic getaway

Liked: It is clean. Maggi is friendly and entertaining. It is value for money. Location is good, close to amenities and the main shopping street

Disliked: Lack of en suite facilities. I foresee that in peak period, around 10 guests will need to share a toilet and bathroom

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: the room was comfortable and clean, the staff was helpfull and symphatic

Disliked: the shower in my floor was broken and during my stay of 6 days they didnt repair

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability