HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Guesthouse Egilsborg

Guesthouse

verhoult 20, 101, Reykjavik, Iceland

Atmosphere 70%

Cleanliness 76%

Facilities 70%

Location 87%

Safety 80%

Staff 87%

Value 78%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Meals available
  • Parking
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Not Included"

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 8.50USD
  • Towel 8.50USD

Important Information

Hours of check in entry is only between 14:00 and 22:00
Early or Late Check it is only possible at an additional cost of 2000ISK. Please inform guesthouse in advance if you wish to avail of this service.
Hotel policies:
- Not included is a city tax: of 0.7euros, per person, per night.
- Private parking is possible on site (reservation is not possible and costs 1000isk per day. Off street parking is free and customers park at your own responsibility.
- Wifi is available in all areas and charges are applicable.
- The total price of the reservation will be preauthorised and charged at least one day prior to arrival.

There is 'No cancellation period' for August 2015. It is a non refundable period as It is very busy and we cannot accommodate cancellations at short notice.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Reykjavik?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 70%

Cleanliness 76%

Facilities 70%

Location 87%

Safety 80%

Staff 87%

Value 78%

Showing 1-7 of 7 reviews

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Warm room and bedding.

Disliked: It was pretty basic and a little weird. I remembered reading that there was only a microwave available for cooking and a fridge so I expected that. However, what was not clear is that there isn't even a sink you are allowed to use downstairs so you can't even wash your own dishes or your hands if you were preparing food. There are only 2 tables, one of which was marked reserved although no one was ever at it, and there was someone sleeping in a fold out cot next to them. There was a pretty strong smell of fish in the bathroom on our floor. We booked a double room, but it ended up having twin beds instead of a double bed.Also, be aware there is an extra 10 euro surcharge for early check-in (so we did not do this).

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Location is good, close to city center and cool shops. A convenient stay.

Disliked: We slept in a room right under the roof with very low ceiling. Shower on our floor was deactivated.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Friendly staff and central location.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 May 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Clean, safe, well-equippped - I couldn't ask for more. The staff were immensely helpful too, giving us directions and advice about the sights in Iceland.

Disliked: Except for the weak shower, this place rocks!

Customer would recommend this property

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 May 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Partying / nightlife

Liked: Good location in a quiet street with free parking and very close to the city centre

Disliked: - Toilets: We stayed for 3 days in a room with a shared bathroom and eventhough the gesthouse was full the toilet in our floor was only cleaned once in those 3 days which as it can be imagined is not a pretty sight.- Breakfast arrangements are somewhat erradic: when we arrived we asked if breakfast could be arranged to which we got the reply - NO. On the second day we saw breakfast being served to which we enquired again to get the answer: breakfast can be arranged for an extra charge...- Kitchen: it could be cleaned to a higher standard...- You often find the guesthouse open and completly unattended

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 May 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location, it was really cheap

Disliked: Thin walls so you can hear everything from other rooms

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 May 2013

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: Good quiet place not far from main street with all shops, bars, restorants and so on.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Family Holiday, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The 24 hour reception because we arrived very early in the morning.

Disliked: Not much character or explanation of the hostel's facilities.

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Relaxation / spa, Romantic getaway

Liked: It is clean. Maggi is friendly and entertaining. It is value for money. Location is good, close to amenities and the main shopping street

Disliked: Lack of en suite facilities. I foresee that in peak period, around 10 guests will need to share a toilet and bathroom

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: the room was comfortable and clean, the staff was helpfull and symphatic

Disliked: the shower in my floor was broken and during my stay of 6 days they didnt repair

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability