HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Guesthouse Pavi

Guesthouse | Brautarholt 4, Reykjavik, Iceland 105

57.8% Overall Rating

90 out of 135 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/06/2013)

Katarzyna Kwarta thinks…

"Location is very good. The staff was very polite and helpful. I also liked the breakfast but it could have started at least half an hour earlier than 8.00 am."

Read all Guesthouse Pavi reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Reykjavik?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Reykjavik

Hlemmur Square
25.85 USD

Hostel 92.1% 42 reviews
Egilsborg guesthouse
43.68 USD

Guesthouse 78.1% 214 reviews
101 Guesthouse
30.09 USD

Guesthouse 83.3% 134 reviews
Alba Guesthouse
25.85 USD

Guesthouse 84.0% 60 reviews
Hostel B47
55.22 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Igdlo Guesthouse
26.92 USD

Guesthouse 92.7% 59 reviews
Bus Hostel Reykjavik
20.50 USD

Hostel 91.2% 52 reviews
Grettisborg aparmtents
136.66 USD

Apartment Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
57.8%

Overall Rating

90 out of 135 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Guesthouse Pavi'

Atmosphere
42.4%
Location
74.4%
Facilities
50.4%
Cleanliness
61.6%
Staff
56.8%
Value
56.8%
Safety
62.4%
Refine your results Showing 80 of 92 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

29 August 2013

Liked: NOTHING AT ALL.

Disliked: Everything. There was no staff or anybody around to even look after anything in the shared apartment. There was absolutely no service given. Breakfast was promised and something rotten was stored in the fridge in the name of breakfast. When we reached in front of the guesthouse, firstly it looked like a haunted house, secondly there was a message stuck on the door 'Guest must call on a mobile number', we were waiting in cold outside for the guy to appear and he appeared from somewhere after 20 mins and took us to another place. It was terrible stay for 3 nights there.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pal-Fam Ferenc

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

15 July 2013 Pal-Fam would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap and correct.

Disliked: Pal-Fam left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: N/A

Disliked: N/A

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Katarzyna Kwarta

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 June 2013 Katarzyna would recommend this property

Liked: Location is very good. The staff was very polite and helpful. I also liked the breakfast but it could have started at least half an hour earlier than 8.00 am.

Disliked: There is nothing really I did not like about the place. The only thing to notice is the the walls between rooms are very thin and you can hear your neighbors very well.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 September 2012

Liked: Location nothing else than location.....

Disliked: Pavi' s location was very good, clean . Unfortunately I will not recommend it to anybody because of the service and the behavior, the attitude of tha staff. we are a couple who has been travelling around Asia and the Caraibes but we have never met such a rude,unprofessional staff....we came at Pavi at midnight, the door was closed but no doorbell to ring, at the door there was a note with the phone number where to call...angry man opened the door and showed us a very cold room although the heating battery was at the room...the cold atmosphere of the staff was suitable to the cold weather in Reykyavik at least that day.....we will never go back to Iceland because of Pavi's bad experience.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Esa Hietikko

With my spouse / partner

City break
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 September 2012 Esa would recommend this property

Liked: Guesthouse Pavi was a homelike place to stay in Reykjavik. Our room had one two person's bed and all the equipment (regular oven, microwave oven, coffee maker, water boiler, toaster, pots & pans, plates, glasses, forks, knives, spoons etc.) needed for cooking. As a result, we were able to use our money for exploring Iceland! The guesthouse Pavi was also well located since the Hlemmur's bus station, city centre, harbour, and a popular local tour agency were all within a few minutes walking distance. Thanks to the bus station, also the farther locations (e.g. Kringlan & Smaralund shopping centres) were easy to reach. In addition, the atmosphere at Pavi was always friendly and safe during our stay (6 days) and therefore I would definitely go there again if I needed an affordable place to stay in Reykjavik.

Disliked: Althought we always found seats to ourselves, the breakfast room was perhaps little bit too small since we always had to sit with other people on the same table. TV wasn't very useful since there was only two channels available.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Rory Wilson

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 September 2012 Rory would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly girl at reception. Funny and interesting.

Disliked: The dorm is a bit like a homeless shelter. This hostel seriously lacks character.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 August 2012

Liked: well, not far from the central bus station. supermarket around.

Disliked: 1.one staff, the girl, is totally rude. she is like, not welcome you at all and ask me to pay for the breakfast when I was eating the bread. 2.one staff, the boy, he is kind and helpful, with his help, I would totally recommend you this hostel. but, anyway, I met that girl later. so... 3.if you book a dorm, you need to pay 600ISK for breakfast. and be careful about the price(in euro or ISK), they charge you differently, I mean the girl controls the rate.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Tobin Carey-Williams

Alone

Work / volunteering

11 August 2012

Liked: The only positive thing about this place is it's relatively central location.

Disliked: Well, where do I begin? I'd read a few reviews and had seen they were all pretty negative, and i'm afraid mine will be the same. The owner was downright rude and totally unhelpful, telling me to "sort it out myself" when I enquired about the bus services in the area. The dormitory was dirty, washing facilities unclean and the general atmosphere somewhat depressing. I overheard the owner yelling at staff and being equally unhelpful to other guests. I certainly won't be returning, and I recommend looking elsewhere if you want to a pleasant stay in Reykjavik.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

James Bost

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 August 2012 James would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap, location is ok.

Disliked: Through the hostelbookers booking it looks like you are expected to pay in euros. However, they only accept euros in exact notes (no change offered) and round your booking up to the nearest 5 euros. Naturally I paid in ISK, but this meant I had to change up euros to ISK out there which was not planned... This was an unwanted inconvenience. The second time we stayed there (4 nights later so I haven't bothered writing a separate review), we turned up late evening (having not been informed of any curfew) to find that our booking had been given to part of a large group and we had been moved to a private room 200m away. This wasn't a massive problem as we had our own shower and kitchen there, but we were only there for the first of our 2 nights so had to go through the added inconvenience of moving our stuff back to the main hostel dorm room the next day. Also the wi-fi did not appear to work there, the bathroom door was not entirely functional and we were only given bed linen for 3 of the 4 beds, meaning I had to use my sleeping bag when I had been looking forward to a bed. Again, not the biggest problems in the world but I could have done without them. I wouldn't tell people not to stay at this hostel, but do bear in mind you get what you pay for!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chukwuebuka Ozugha

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2012 Chukwuebuka would recommend this property

Liked: The friendliness of the staff, its safe and secure environment

Disliked: There are no cooking facilities and I think it's a big minus for them. Honestly I was disappointed that no microwave or burner was available for their customers.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 June 2012

Liked: location

Disliked: no smile

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Noah Gosselin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 June 2012

Liked: Not much. I suppose if i had to choose. I would say that there is a free breakfast

Disliked: The owner is a complete jerk! He was rude to his staff. And also to my freind when she tried to speak about changing a date. You need to have a cell phone to book in. Which i didn't have so i had to wait for someone to come around. The staff is mostly children from other countries. There not overly freindly. Likely they are paid not much and worked hard by there jerk boss.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Brienne Cramm

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 June 2012 Brienne would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to everything.

Disliked: How many beds were in a room.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

20 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast was served and was ok, we came during night and got checked in (even though in a quit a hurry).

Disliked: Shower in the own bathroom was fixed with tape and didn't quite stay up. :D They didn't book the flybuss for us, even though the guesthouse is in the list of pick ups to Keflavik -airport.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really, compared to the other hostel in Reykjavik, this one is MUCH closer to downtown. The free wifi was good, and everything was adequately kept-up.

Disliked: No lockers to store things.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

04 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Nothing

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Julianna Bihari

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 August 2011

Liked: met some nice guys?

Disliked: a bit like a refugee camp in afghanistan

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Actually, our assigned room was in another property of the same owner, Guesthouse Dalfoss. This was very conveniently located for us, close by the BSI bus station, making our transfer to Keflavik very straightforward. The room was a good size, with twin beds, and little table with two chairs, bathroom in hall shared with two other rooms. There were two other rooms on the same floor, with ensuite bathrooms. Kettle in room, but no cooking facilities available. Breakfast was included, though it was quite frugal.

Disliked: Garden area was neglected when we arrived - however this was dealt with on the second day of our stay. The Wireless Internet connection was sporadic.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: People were friendly.

Disliked: I came at night and all the doors were open. That might be guests fault too, but who knows...?

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 July 2011

Liked: The hostel is close to the city centre

Disliked: On the third floor you have to go passed reception and the breakfast area to get to the showers, which was very awkward. The second floor is much better. We had to eat our breakfast in the staircase, and the table was dirty. On the second day, there was no water or juice to drink, just coffee.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Chris O'Connor

Alone

City break

10 July 2011

Liked: It was quite nice in the 20 bed dorm, the beds have screens around them, providing some privacy which is quite cool. Not very high but still, enough. It's surprisingly dark too, which is very useful for the midnight sun there. It's pretty close to shops (including a 24hr one), restaurants, sights etc. Receptionist is friendly enough. It's also a property included in the Flybus+ too. Showers are decent too. Generally pretty clean too. Beds are fairly comfortable.

Disliked: The fact you have to ring an Icelandic number to check in is nothing short of RIDICULOUS. What if you can't ring foreign numbers? Stupid system. There is virtually no social atmosphere to the place, though I got lucky with sharing the room (and a car in the end) with 2 Germans and an Australian. No lifts so heavy luggage will be a problem to up 2-3 floors.The receptionist also puts a bill on the screens surrounding beds which basically has your name and address on in full view...not so sure about that. Car hire at the place is very VERY expensive. Receptionist isn't THAT useful to be honest. It's not the most obvious place in the world to find, either. At the time of staying (7-9.7.2011), it was also EXTREMELY quiet, despite being peak summer season...and compared to other hostels nearby too.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2011

Liked: It is cheap but that's it.

Disliked: The atmosphere is really bad. There is no reception, rooms are ok but bathrooms are not in the best condition. Although it is one of the cheapest hostels I would pay two euro more and go to a guesthouse where one feels good.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

27 October 2010

Liked: The location

Disliked: The service was awful - had to wait for 20 mins to get checked in because the guy working there was having a friendly chat with a friend of his. Had to ask three times to get a towel, which I was then charged for. The owner was plain rude when I checked out and made me follow him out into the parking lot where his car was in order to check his stack of receipts to see if I really had paid the evening before or not. I asked him if they didn't have that information upstairs, he replied that it was not a 5 star hotel and that I should leave.