HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Bus Hostel Reykjavik

Hostel | Skogarhlid 10, Reykjavik, Iceland 105

88.9% Overall Rating

71 out of 73 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/08/2014)

"Staff great. Location fine ... Could walk to bus bsi station and into town. Really safe and secure. Very clean."

Read all Bus Hostel Reykjavik reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Linen USD 8.28
  • Towel USD 4.14

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Reykjavik?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Reykjavik

Igdlo Guesthouse
24.67 USD

Guesthouse 93.0% 66 reviews
Reykjavik Hostel Village
27.83 USD

Hostel 77.1% 3 reviews
Hostel B47
30.11 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Egilsborg guesthouse
23.18 USD

Guesthouse 76.6% 216 reviews
Hlemmur Square
21.52 USD

Hostel 90.4% 79 reviews
101 Guesthouse
27.94 USD

Guesthouse 82.5% 135 reviews
Grettisborg aparmtents
125.24 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Guesthouse Pavi
24.04 USD

Guesthouse 58.3% 138 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.9%

Overall Rating

71 out of 73 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Bus Hostel Reykjavik'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
72.8%
Facilities
88.8%
Cleanliness
98.4%
Staff
89.6%
Value
87.2%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 50 of 72 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was incredible, really nice people working there =]]

Disliked: There isnt any staff in he hostel really early like 7 o clock, and sometimes we need them

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, comfortable, great common area.

Disliked: Slightly further from the bus station than I realized when booking

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff great. Location fine ... Could walk to bus bsi station and into town. Really safe and secure. Very clean.

Disliked: Doors are very loud so noisy at times. No en suite facilities though showers were private, clean and always possible to find free one.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great stop over point, about a 20 minute walk to the centre.

Disliked: The staff is from everywhere but Iceland and not the most knowledgable on any of the highlights of Iceland. Although they were very nice!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic sitting room/bar, comfortable and quirkily furnished. Great storage, spacious rooms and good headroom on lower bunks

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice rooms and bathroom facilities, cozy common room. Not too far from downtown, only about 15 minutes walking.

Disliked: You have to pay 1000 ISK extra for sheets/blankets.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Tal Oppenheim

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 July 2014 Tal would recommend this property

Liked: A cosy atmosphere, very nice stuff workers, very clean, simple but nice bedrooms.

Disliked: A place to dry your equipment will be nice. Places like this which serves hikers should gave a place to dry your tent, clothes, etc.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was tucked away from downtown, you can rent bikes for free, and very close to the bus station which was convenient. It was really clean and well-kept

Disliked: The stove was not working a few times

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

11 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean rooms, friendly 24hr reception and a great common room. Well located for the domestic airport and bus station and still only a short walk from the city centre.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dan Jiang

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2014 Dan would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best values in iceland. It's close to the bus terminal which makes coming and going to airport easier.

Disliked: I would've like an additional quite space for a common area.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are clean and bright and the beds are comfortable. Overall, a nice stay!

Disliked: The kitchen is somewhat cramped and the breakfast was unexciting.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fiona Chui

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 June 2014 Fiona would recommend this property

Liked: Clean beds, nice staff you can book excursions with, really cool common area!

Disliked: Kind of far from the city center, and only one outlet with a power bar in the big dorm.

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and convenient

Disliked: Charged extra for linens and bedding without making it very obvious; not too much going on at the hostel

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

24 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Some of the best staff I've ever encountered.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Toilets big and clean

Disliked: Be not too close to the city centre.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yi-Chin Hsieh

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa

15 February 2014 Yi-Chin would recommend this property

Liked: great and comfortable place to stay!

Disliked: Yi-Chin left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Stacey Andrews

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 December 2013 Stacey would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and felt safe

Disliked: Out of the way of the town and can be quite a walk just to get food in snow!

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Rita Vicinanza

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 December 2013 Rita would recommend this property

Liked: There are enough toilets per floor, a cosy lounge area to mingle with fellow travellers/spend some time chilling out in a welcoming atmosphere when it's too dangerous to go outside, and staff are very nice and helpful. There's no 24-hour reception but there's always somebody available in the premises outside working hours. The rooms are so well heated I actually regret having paid for bed linen (which, in itself, I find ridiculous) as whatever was originally provided would have been just fine.

Disliked: If you can adapt yourself then this hostel is actually quite nice. Max. 4 slices of bread (+ spreads) may not be enough as a breakfast but because it's free I guess it's still something... and yes, it's quite a walk to the town center (depending on how fast you are and on the everchanging, challenging weather) but if you want everything on your doorstep either you spend a little more money for a closer property or you stay home with all your comforts! The kitchen could be cleaner but it's also up to us travellers to make sure it's left in decent conditions.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julian Legrand

Alone

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

23 November 2013 Julian would recommend this property

Liked: People and property were wonderful!

Disliked: It was a bit of a walk to the centre. Nothing crazy though.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rafael Silva

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 November 2013 Rafael would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is friendly, bathrooms are clean, big and confortable, the car rental company beside the hostel was handy and affordable, living room is posh.

Disliked: Hostelbooks website says i would have free breakfast and i had only sliced bread with some peanut butter and chocolate cream (fake nutella). There wasn't any person from staff to manage breakfast time and facilities in the kitchen as i'd seen before in all the hostels i'd already stayed in. There were some coffee bottles and sugar cubes which i honestly didn't know whether belonged to the hostel or to someone else...so i decided not to use them. Although there was a sign written in capital letter asking people not to eat more than 4breads each other because it should feed all the guests, I had to guess this was my breakfast and i couldn't find anything to eat on my second day so i had to shop food around. There is no oven or microwave in the kitchen so you cannot buy food that should be baked or microwaved unless you want to grill as a waffle (lol). Reykjavik is not such a big city so the hostel is some minutes walking from everywhere, but in spite of this, its venue is not in the city center and it could be harder to walk around in raining days, what happened to me. Despite being friendly and helpful, staff was not present at the reception desk most of the time, except for Diego (the brazilian man was always avaiable). i had to wait a long time standing in front of the the desk waiting for someone to check me in. I could see it also happened on the next days...most of the hostels where you have to rent bed sheets and towel provides at least pillows and duvets but bus hostel doesn't so i had brought my bed sheets with me but there was no pillow or duvet. I used my jacket as pillow and my bed sheet as duvet so as not to spend money with this, and of course it was not confortable. Sometimes i found the hostel to be more a friendly family homestay rather than a business itself, somewhere you just get into and you figure it out by yourself than a place you pay to be hosted indeed.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Wancy Lam

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 Wancy would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly and helpful, and flexible enough to accommodate requests from guests in unusual circumstances. Toilets and common areas (except kitchen - see comments below) were very clean during my stay. Overall, I had a very comfortable and care-free stay.

Disliked: The lack of laundry facilities is inconvenient. The only available option seems to be a laundry cafe in downtown. Similarly, there is nowhere nearby to eat or buy food for self-catering until you get to downtown or the mall, which are indeed within walking distance, but any amount of walking to get to the shops and places to eat is unpleasant during a snow storm! I would also have liked some bedside lamps. Lastly, I often found the kitchen sink filled with dirty dishes from the previous night and the staff would end up doing the dishes even though the guests are supposed to do that themselves. This is probably more a criticism of the guests rather than the hostel's management, but I have never seen anything like this in any other hostel anywhere in the world, which makes me wonder if there is something that the staff / management could do better.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Terri Henderson

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2013 Terri would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the bus hostel.....the staff were very helpful. Managed to accomodate our requests. It was one of tge cleanest hostels ive ever stayed in. The bed were amazing and soooo comfortable. We will definitelybe coming back.

Disliked: No mirrors in bed room. But not a big deal....they had mirrors in the bathrooms

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Minhao Su

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 November 2013 Minhao would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in 14 people room. The room is quite big and the toilet/shower room is large.

Disliked: a little bit far from the city centre ( 15 mins walk)

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Saikat Mukherjee

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 October 2013 Saikat would recommend this property

Liked: This place was amazing. Pristine cleanliness...knowledgeable staff...and great location...they even provide free bikes for guests. PERFECT HOSTEL

Disliked: Saikat left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ajda Pretnar

Alone

Family Holiday

22 October 2013 Ajda would recommend this property

Liked: Big, clean rooms, free toast in the morning, friendly staff.

Disliked: Small kitchen (one sink, one stove), no pillows (which are in my opinion essential and don't count as linen).

The property's response is...