HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Bus Hostel Reykjavik

Hostel | Skogarhlid 10, Reykjavik, Iceland 105

90.3% Overall Rating

60 out of 62 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/07/2014)

Tal Oppenheim thinks…

"A cosy atmosphere, very nice stuff workers, very clean, simple but nice bedrooms."

Read all Bus Hostel Reykjavik reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Linen USD 8.66
  • Towel USD 4.33

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Reykjavik?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Reykjavik

Igdlo Guesthouse
43.76 USD

Guesthouse 93.0% 63 reviews
Reykjavik Hostel Village
28.28 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hostel B47
60.59 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Egilsborg guesthouse
42.02 USD

Guesthouse 77.7% 215 reviews
Hlemmur Square
34.65 USD

Hostel 91.8% 54 reviews
101 Guesthouse
47.65 USD

Guesthouse 82.5% 135 reviews
Grettisborg aparmtents
133.30 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Guesthouse Pavi
41.74 USD

Guesthouse 57.5% 136 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.3%

Overall Rating

60 out of 62 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Bus Hostel Reykjavik'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
73.6%
Facilities
89.6%
Cleanliness
97.6%
Staff
93.6%
Value
88.8%
Safety
97.6%
Refine your results Showing 44 of 62 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Tal Oppenheim

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 July 2014 Tal would recommend this property

Liked: A cosy atmosphere, very nice stuff workers, very clean, simple but nice bedrooms.

Disliked: A place to dry your equipment will be nice. Places like this which serves hikers should gave a place to dry your tent, clothes, etc.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was tucked away from downtown, you can rent bikes for free, and very close to the bus station which was convenient. It was really clean and well-kept

Disliked: The stove was not working a few times

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

11 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean rooms, friendly 24hr reception and a great common room. Well located for the domestic airport and bus station and still only a short walk from the city centre.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dan Jiang

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2014 Dan would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best values in iceland. It's close to the bus terminal which makes coming and going to airport easier.

Disliked: I would've like an additional quite space for a common area.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are clean and bright and the beds are comfortable. Overall, a nice stay!

Disliked: The kitchen is somewhat cramped and the breakfast was unexciting.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fiona Chui

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 June 2014 Fiona would recommend this property

Liked: Clean beds, nice staff you can book excursions with, really cool common area!

Disliked: Kind of far from the city center, and only one outlet with a power bar in the big dorm.

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and convenient

Disliked: Charged extra for linens and bedding without making it very obvious; not too much going on at the hostel

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

24 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Some of the best staff I've ever encountered.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Toilets big and clean

Disliked: Be not too close to the city centre.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yi-Chin Hsieh

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa

15 February 2014 Yi-Chin would recommend this property

Liked: great and comfortable place to stay!

Disliked: Yi-Chin left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Stacey Andrews

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 December 2013 Stacey would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and felt safe

Disliked: Out of the way of the town and can be quite a walk just to get food in snow!

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Rita Vicinanza

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 December 2013 Rita would recommend this property

Liked: There are enough toilets per floor, a cosy lounge area to mingle with fellow travellers/spend some time chilling out in a welcoming atmosphere when it's too dangerous to go outside, and staff are very nice and helpful. There's no 24-hour reception but there's always somebody available in the premises outside working hours. The rooms are so well heated I actually regret having paid for bed linen (which, in itself, I find ridiculous) as whatever was originally provided would have been just fine.

Disliked: If you can adapt yourself then this hostel is actually quite nice. Max. 4 slices of bread (+ spreads) may not be enough as a breakfast but because it's free I guess it's still something... and yes, it's quite a walk to the town center (depending on how fast you are and on the everchanging, challenging weather) but if you want everything on your doorstep either you spend a little more money for a closer property or you stay home with all your comforts! The kitchen could be cleaner but it's also up to us travellers to make sure it's left in decent conditions.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julian Legrand

Alone

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

23 November 2013 Julian would recommend this property

Liked: People and property were wonderful!

Disliked: It was a bit of a walk to the centre. Nothing crazy though.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rafael Silva

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 November 2013 Rafael would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is friendly, bathrooms are clean, big and confortable, the car rental company beside the hostel was handy and affordable, living room is posh.

Disliked: Hostelbooks website says i would have free breakfast and i had only sliced bread with some peanut butter and chocolate cream (fake nutella). There wasn't any person from staff to manage breakfast time and facilities in the kitchen as i'd seen before in all the hostels i'd already stayed in. There were some coffee bottles and sugar cubes which i honestly didn't know whether belonged to the hostel or to someone else...so i decided not to use them. Although there was a sign written in capital letter asking people not to eat more than 4breads each other because it should feed all the guests, I had to guess this was my breakfast and i couldn't find anything to eat on my second day so i had to shop food around. There is no oven or microwave in the kitchen so you cannot buy food that should be baked or microwaved unless you want to grill as a waffle (lol). Reykjavik is not such a big city so the hostel is some minutes walking from everywhere, but in spite of this, its venue is not in the city center and it could be harder to walk around in raining days, what happened to me. Despite being friendly and helpful, staff was not present at the reception desk most of the time, except for Diego (the brazilian man was always avaiable). i had to wait a long time standing in front of the the desk waiting for someone to check me in. I could see it also happened on the next days...most of the hostels where you have to rent bed sheets and towel provides at least pillows and duvets but bus hostel doesn't so i had brought my bed sheets with me but there was no pillow or duvet. I used my jacket as pillow and my bed sheet as duvet so as not to spend money with this, and of course it was not confortable. Sometimes i found the hostel to be more a friendly family homestay rather than a business itself, somewhere you just get into and you figure it out by yourself than a place you pay to be hosted indeed.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Wancy Lam

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 Wancy would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly and helpful, and flexible enough to accommodate requests from guests in unusual circumstances. Toilets and common areas (except kitchen - see comments below) were very clean during my stay. Overall, I had a very comfortable and care-free stay.

Disliked: The lack of laundry facilities is inconvenient. The only available option seems to be a laundry cafe in downtown. Similarly, there is nowhere nearby to eat or buy food for self-catering until you get to downtown or the mall, which are indeed within walking distance, but any amount of walking to get to the shops and places to eat is unpleasant during a snow storm! I would also have liked some bedside lamps. Lastly, I often found the kitchen sink filled with dirty dishes from the previous night and the staff would end up doing the dishes even though the guests are supposed to do that themselves. This is probably more a criticism of the guests rather than the hostel's management, but I have never seen anything like this in any other hostel anywhere in the world, which makes me wonder if there is something that the staff / management could do better.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Terri Henderson

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2013 Terri would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the bus hostel.....the staff were very helpful. Managed to accomodate our requests. It was one of tge cleanest hostels ive ever stayed in. The bed were amazing and soooo comfortable. We will definitelybe coming back.

Disliked: No mirrors in bed room. But not a big deal....they had mirrors in the bathrooms

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Minhao Su

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 November 2013 Minhao would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in 14 people room. The room is quite big and the toilet/shower room is large.

Disliked: a little bit far from the city centre ( 15 mins walk)

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Saikat Mukherjee

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 October 2013 Saikat would recommend this property

Liked: This place was amazing. Pristine cleanliness...knowledgeable staff...and great location...they even provide free bikes for guests. PERFECT HOSTEL

Disliked: Saikat left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ajda Pretnar

Alone

Family Holiday

22 October 2013 Ajda would recommend this property

Liked: Big, clean rooms, free toast in the morning, friendly staff.

Disliked: Small kitchen (one sink, one stove), no pillows (which are in my opinion essential and don't count as linen).

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Juan Ramirez-Idarraga

Alone

City break

14 October 2013 Juan would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is friendly and helpful. Facilities are modern and very clean. The room I stayed in was very spacious and so were the bunk beds. It's relatively close to the city centre (a 15-minute walk). The kitchen is equipped with fridge, stove, toaster, sandwich toaster and plates, cups, cutlery.

Disliked: Juan left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's the cleanest hostel I've been to. The rooms were spacious and the staff were nice.

Disliked: The alarm kept sounding. There should be more plugs around the room to make it convenient for people to charge things.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ryan Payne

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

15 September 2013 Ryan would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing place, the common area was really large and laid out for a chill social enviornment, really enjoyed the vintage furniture. Staff is amazing!!! My bus to the airport didn't show up so a staff member drove me the 45 minute commute, I was INCREDIBLY thankful to B for doing so!!! Tip about Iceland, book a car, Sadcars.com or any other agency as most things about Iceland don't need a guide so you can drive by yourself and save the cash of paying for trips!!! FYI Food is even more expensive outside the capital.

Disliked: Little bit a walk to tourist central, but nice new beds and everything was awesome :)

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, amazing staff.

Disliked: Nothing!

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexis Baran

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 September 2013 Alexis would recommend this property

Liked: The facilities are excellent! Many washrooms avaliable, and all private with a shower, toilet, and mirror. The rooms are clean and have a wonderful layout that makes each bed seem that much more private. It seems a tad out of the way at first, but downtown is only a 10 minute walk away once you figure out how easy it is to jaywalk across the highway overpass. the lounge area is beautiful and comfy as well. The people are kind, helpful, and always fun to chat with. I have stayed in hostels all over the world, and this is without a doubt one of my favorites.

Disliked: Noting. Everything was awesome.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Clinton Peters

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

15 August 2013 Clinton would recommend this property

Liked: This is probably the best hostel I've stayed at. I'm a thirty-year-old male and have been to fourteen countries and stayed at over a dozen hostels. The place was amazingly clean, the staff was laid-back, cool, and courteous. The digs were sweet - they even light candles in lounge. A full kitchen, tour booking available, beer and postcards for purchase on site. Some people complain that it's far. I don't know about you, but a fifteen minute walk from everything to me is not "far." Plus, unlike many other hostels, this place is in a quiet neighborhood so you can party and then actually get some sleep rather than listening to everyone else shouting on the streets. Plus, plus, they loan out bicycles for free (with a small deposit), so really everything is like five minutes away. The bathrooms are impeccable and there's many of them. No, I'm not schilling for Bus Hostel. I'm just a traveler, an American and want to give credit where it's due.

Disliked: They could maybe lower the price just a bit, but I understand they gotta pay the bills too.

The property's response is...