We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Bus Hostel Reykjavik

Hostel | Skogarhlid 10, Reykjavik, Iceland 105

80.2% Overall Rating

99 out of 104 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/08/2015)

Roseanna Barnes thinks…

"The hostel was immaculately clean and staff were very helpful and consistently friendly."

Read all Bus Hostel Reykjavik reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Linen USD 7.72
  • Towel USD 3.86

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Reykjavik?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Reykjavik

Igdlo Guesthouse
36.53 USD

Guesthouse 92.7% 78 reviews
Reykjavik Hostel Village
36.25 USD

Hostel 71.4% 6 reviews
Hostel B47
51.48 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Egilsborg guesthouse
38.57 USD

Guesthouse 76.6% 216 reviews
Hlemmur Square
33.95 USD

Hostel 87.4% 119 reviews
101 Guesthouse
38.58 USD

Guesthouse 82.5% 135 reviews
Grettisborg aparmtents
111.29 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Guesthouse Pavi
34.85 USD

Guesthouse 57.7% 139 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.2%

Overall Rating

99 out of 104 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Bus Hostel Reykjavik'

Atmosphere
80.0%
Location
65.6%
Facilities
80.8%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
84.8%
Value
75.2%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 77 of 104 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice atmosphere, clean rooms

Disliked: not enough showers, staff is okay but from my experience not super nice and helpful

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

23 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Big bathrooms! Nice people.

Disliked: It was very hot in the room most of the time.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jessica Flynn

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 August 2015 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff, clean and spacious rooms and bathrooms.

Disliked: The location, it's a bit out of the way from the citycentre but if you have a car it's no problem.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Charming interior. Free wifi. Nice bar and lobby.

Disliked: The door to the dorm was a bit difficult to close - very often people getting in/out left the door ajar and there was quite a strong draught.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Roseanna Barnes

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 August 2015 Roseanna would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was immaculately clean and staff were very helpful and consistently friendly.

Disliked: Only other hostel goers being unthoughtful of their noise/actions late at night, but being in a room with 20 other people, to be expected. Also our door sometimes was not shut securely by others.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Stephen Hughes

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 August 2015 Stephen would recommend this property

Liked: good location with respect to bus staion and city centre

Disliked: nothing

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Bus Hostel is the cheapest hostel we could find in Reykjavik, but by European standards it still can’t be considered ‘cheap’ for what you get. The bathrooms/showers were nice, clean and plenty of them for the number of dorm rooms. The kitchen area was well stocked up with crockery, kettle, a toastie machine, cooking facilities and a large enough eating area.

Disliked: The location was not ideal as it was further than the hostel advises to walk to town/harbour – a good 25-30 minutes. In the first dorm room we stayed in, there was only 1 plug for 10 beds, making it difficult to charge our devices overnight (but in another room downstairs there was a plug next to every bed). As there are very few hours of darkness in Iceland in summer, it would have been helpful to have blackout blinds or better curtains, as rooms were quite bright throughout the night. The ‘breakfast’ consisted of a token gesture of cheap toast and jam, and coffee you had to pay extra for, which felt a bit stingy given the price you already paid to stay there. When we asked the girl on reception to recommend places to eat, she didn’t seem to have many suggestions, pointing to a few places on a map but couldn’t remember the restaurant names! Overall, the hostel wasn’t bad but there is room for improvement. If you want to stay in the heart of Reykjavik and have the extra cash to spend, it might be worth paying a bit more to be more central.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, nice location, clean, bit far off the city centre (15 mins walking) but thats what u already know before u book

Disliked: All good

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Kitchen

Disliked: Nothing

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free toasts in the morning :)

Disliked: Price :(

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

02 July 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable facility, great location if you have to catch a bus the next morning since it is close to the bus station.

Disliked: Not a good location for domestic airport. While on maps, it appears close to Reykjavik airport (domestic flights) the actual entrance to the airport is on the other side of a large field. The hostel is great, but this is just something to keep in mind if you're choosing this hostel because you need to get to the airport.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanest Hostel I have ever seen and lovely decorations and atmosphere!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Philipp Bammer

With my spouse / partner

City break

16 June 2015

Liked: chose it because it claims to be quite close to the bus station (BSI) where the bus to the airport leaves. that was actually true, but it is not super close after all (about 1.1km)

Disliked: the bed was the worst I have ever slept on! It was a painful experience. it was a very bad innerspring mattress and you can feel the springs pretty badly. The location is somewhere near big streets, which you have to cross if you arrive by foot.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 June 2015

Liked: The building was beautiful on the inside and felt very safe.

Disliked: Blankets cost 1000 ISK extra, most people in my room just laid on top of their mattresses. It's already on the expensive side, so I thought this was the dumbest thing in the history of the universe.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are very friendly and helpful, location is pretty good - only a shortish walk to the centre, really nice social area, good value.

Disliked: Nothing really, the only minor minor thing would be the curtains still let in a lot of light, so when there is no real darkness during the summer nights, it makes it a bit hard to sleep.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarthi Tuli

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 June 2015 Sarthi would recommend this property

Liked: Clean environment Friendly staff Good kitchen

Disliked: Fast fr city center

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jayden Holmes

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

01 June 2015 Jayden would recommend this property

Liked: The room we stayed in was brand new and some of the staff were really helpful. There is a well set up bar in the hostel, though atmosphere was lacking while we were there.

Disliked: Jayden left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was definitely the best hostel I ever stayed at and I am really looking forward to come back!! The staff was extremely friendly and helpful from the start and happy to answer all my questions, give me directions and advice and arrange to get picked up from the hostel to the airport on my leaving day. I was really impressed with how clean everything was as well and with the fact that it was quiet in the night and that I managed to sleep very well. The atmosphere was great, I really loved the common room and the coffee was amazing! Everything was very casual and relaxed and I had the chance of meeting some great people.

Disliked: I really can't think of anything I disliked about the hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

SHIBAJI CHATTERJEE

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Romantic getaway

16 May 2015 SHIBAJI would recommend this property

Liked: Bushostel Reykjavik is at a very good location...its vey near to BSI busterminal. Hostel is clean , friendly and lot of space. Locker which they provide is large. Hostel stuffs are very helpful. Free breakfast is also added benefit.Bonus supermarket is just 15 min walking distance.bushostel kitchen has all facilities like your home...overall our experience was awesome.

Disliked: I disliked that they charged about blanket extra 1000 isk and bed sheet extra as i visited many other countries where hostels provide blankets without charge.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ben Kubany

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 May 2015 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: Modern and clean facilities.

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, hot showers, secure doors, well-stocked kitchen, social atmosphere, walking distance to downtown.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

13 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really loved the piano and the look of the bar. The general atmosphere was great, easy going, friendly and relaxed.

Disliked: I didn't expect to pay extra for bedding, which bumped up the price quite bit. I also could have done with some better directions, as due to the rather complicated flyover, I got myself a little lost getting into town. It´s a bit more complicated than "just following the road to town!" but all the staff were very friendly, kind and helpful.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Brici

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 March 2015 David would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice clean modern rooms, a killer common room. Great failities for cookig and showering and a good location for the bus depot. Maybe 15min walk to city centre but is less busy and quiet at night. Would highly recommend especially if you have a car as there is good parking :)

Disliked: Nothing major, just a little (but not too much) distance from center.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

nicholas dawson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa

09 March 2015 nicholas would recommend this property

Liked: kitchen good, bar pretty

Disliked: not 24 hour reception

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Zahra Amalia Syarifah

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 March 2015 Zahra Amalia would recommend this property

Liked: Its atmosphere was great and the location is a good value for money.

Disliked: Nothing.