We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Bus Hostel Reykjavik

Hostel | Skogarhlid 10, Reykjavik, Iceland 105

90.5% Overall Rating

82 out of 85 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/05/2015)

"It was definitely the best hostel I ever stayed at and I am really looking forward to come back!! The staff was extremely friendly and helpful from the start and happy to answer all my questions, give me directions and…"

Read all Bus Hostel Reykjavik reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Linen USD 7.42
  • Towel USD 3.71

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Reykjavik?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Reykjavik

Igdlo Guesthouse
35.64 USD

Guesthouse 92.8% 70 reviews
Reykjavik Hostel Village
31.81 USD

Hostel 77.1% 3 reviews
Hostel B47
40.58 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Egilsborg guesthouse
36.35 USD

Guesthouse 76.6% 216 reviews
Hlemmur Square
28.19 USD

Hostel 90.6% 97 reviews
101 Guesthouse
37.09 USD

Guesthouse 82.5% 135 reviews
Grettisborg aparmtents
108.58 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Guesthouse Pavi
34.00 USD

Guesthouse 58.3% 138 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.5%

Overall Rating

82 out of 85 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Bus Hostel Reykjavik'

Atmosphere
94.4%
Location
77.6%
Facilities
90.4%
Cleanliness
96.0%
Staff
92.0%
Value
90.4%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 60 of 83 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was definitely the best hostel I ever stayed at and I am really looking forward to come back!! The staff was extremely friendly and helpful from the start and happy to answer all my questions, give me directions and advice and arrange to get picked up from the hostel to the airport on my leaving day. I was really impressed with how clean everything was as well and with the fact that it was quiet in the night and that I managed to sleep very well. The atmosphere was great, I really loved the common room and the coffee was amazing! Everything was very casual and relaxed and I had the chance of meeting some great people.

Disliked: I really can't think of anything I disliked about the hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

SHIBAJI CHATTERJEE

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Romantic getaway

16 May 2015 SHIBAJI would recommend this property

Liked: Bushostel Reykjavik is at a very good location...its vey near to BSI busterminal. Hostel is clean , friendly and lot of space. Locker which they provide is large. Hostel stuffs are very helpful. Free breakfast is also added benefit.Bonus supermarket is just 15 min walking distance.bushostel kitchen has all facilities like your home...overall our experience was awesome.

Disliked: I disliked that they charged about blanket extra 1000 isk and bed sheet extra as i visited many other countries where hostels provide blankets without charge.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ben Kubany

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 May 2015 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: Modern and clean facilities.

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, hot showers, secure doors, well-stocked kitchen, social atmosphere, walking distance to downtown.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

13 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really loved the piano and the look of the bar. The general atmosphere was great, easy going, friendly and relaxed.

Disliked: I didn't expect to pay extra for bedding, which bumped up the price quite bit. I also could have done with some better directions, as due to the rather complicated flyover, I got myself a little lost getting into town. It´s a bit more complicated than "just following the road to town!" but all the staff were very friendly, kind and helpful.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Brici

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 March 2015 David would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice clean modern rooms, a killer common room. Great failities for cookig and showering and a good location for the bus depot. Maybe 15min walk to city centre but is less busy and quiet at night. Would highly recommend especially if you have a car as there is good parking :)

Disliked: Nothing major, just a little (but not too much) distance from center.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

nicholas dawson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa

09 March 2015 nicholas would recommend this property

Liked: kitchen good, bar pretty

Disliked: not 24 hour reception

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Zahra Amalia Syarifah

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 March 2015 Zahra Amalia would recommend this property

Liked: Its atmosphere was great and the location is a good value for money.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I absolutely loved my stay at the Bus Hostel - when I checked in after a day-long road trip, mentally preparing for staying in the 10-bed-dorm I had booked, I learned that I had gotten a free upgrade to a(n empty!) 4-bed-dorm. Completely made my day!

Disliked: There were a few bigger travel groups (probably school classes on an excursion) that were sometimes pretty loud but that's not the hostels fault :)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very cosy, clean, nicely arranged place located in a walking distance to the city centre. Great, very helpful and friendly staff. Safe and clean. Love it will be back!!!

Disliked: There was nothing what I dislike

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was incredible, really nice people working there =]]

Disliked: There isnt any staff in he hostel really early like 7 o clock, and sometimes we need them

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, comfortable, great common area.

Disliked: Slightly further from the bus station than I realized when booking

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff great. Location fine ... Could walk to bus bsi station and into town. Really safe and secure. Very clean.

Disliked: Doors are very loud so noisy at times. No en suite facilities though showers were private, clean and always possible to find free one.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great stop over point, about a 20 minute walk to the centre.

Disliked: The staff is from everywhere but Iceland and not the most knowledgable on any of the highlights of Iceland. Although they were very nice!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic sitting room/bar, comfortable and quirkily furnished. Great storage, spacious rooms and good headroom on lower bunks

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice rooms and bathroom facilities, cozy common room. Not too far from downtown, only about 15 minutes walking.

Disliked: You have to pay 1000 ISK extra for sheets/blankets.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Tal Oppenheim

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 July 2014 Tal would recommend this property

Liked: A cosy atmosphere, very nice stuff workers, very clean, simple but nice bedrooms.

Disliked: A place to dry your equipment will be nice. Places like this which serves hikers should gave a place to dry your tent, clothes, etc.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was tucked away from downtown, you can rent bikes for free, and very close to the bus station which was convenient. It was really clean and well-kept

Disliked: The stove was not working a few times

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

11 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean rooms, friendly 24hr reception and a great common room. Well located for the domestic airport and bus station and still only a short walk from the city centre.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dan Jiang

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2014 Dan would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best values in iceland. It's close to the bus terminal which makes coming and going to airport easier.

Disliked: I would've like an additional quite space for a common area.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are clean and bright and the beds are comfortable. Overall, a nice stay!

Disliked: The kitchen is somewhat cramped and the breakfast was unexciting.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fiona Chui

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 June 2014 Fiona would recommend this property

Liked: Clean beds, nice staff you can book excursions with, really cool common area!

Disliked: Kind of far from the city center, and only one outlet with a power bar in the big dorm.

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and convenient

Disliked: Charged extra for linens and bedding without making it very obvious; not too much going on at the hostel

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

24 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Some of the best staff I've ever encountered.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Toilets big and clean

Disliked: Be not too close to the city centre.

The property's response is...