We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Bus Hostel Reykjavik

Hostel | Skogarhlid 10, Reykjavik, Iceland 105

87.7% Overall Rating

87 out of 92 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/06/2015)

Philipp Bammer thinks…

"chose it because it claims to be quite close to the bus station (BSI) where the bus to the airport leaves. that was actually true, but it is not super close after all (about 1.1km)"

Read all Bus Hostel Reykjavik reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Linen USD 7.57
  • Towel USD 3.79

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Reykjavik?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Reykjavik

Igdlo Guesthouse
36.29 USD

Guesthouse 92.8% 71 reviews
Reykjavik Hostel Village
32.38 USD

Hostel 81.4% 4 reviews
Hostel B47
51.14 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Egilsborg guesthouse
30.29 USD

Guesthouse 76.6% 216 reviews
Hlemmur Square
36.35 USD

Hostel 90.5% 104 reviews
101 Guesthouse
43.55 USD

Guesthouse 82.5% 135 reviews
Grettisborg aparmtents
110.54 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Guesthouse Pavi
34.61 USD

Guesthouse 58.3% 138 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/06/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/06/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.7%

Overall Rating

87 out of 92 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Bus Hostel Reykjavik'

Atmosphere
86.4%
Location
76.0%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
90.4%
Value
88.0%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 66 of 90 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanest Hostel I have ever seen and lovely decorations and atmosphere!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Philipp Bammer

With my spouse / partner

City break

16 June 2015

Liked: chose it because it claims to be quite close to the bus station (BSI) where the bus to the airport leaves. that was actually true, but it is not super close after all (about 1.1km)

Disliked: the bed was the worst I have ever slept on! It was a painful experience. it was a very bad innerspring mattress and you can feel the springs pretty badly. The location is somewhere near big streets, which you have to cross if you arrive by foot.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 June 2015

Liked: The building was beautiful on the inside and felt very safe.

Disliked: Blankets cost 1000 ISK extra, most people in my room just laid on top of their mattresses. It's already on the expensive side, so I thought this was the dumbest thing in the history of the universe.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are very friendly and helpful, location is pretty good - only a shortish walk to the centre, really nice social area, good value.

Disliked: Nothing really, the only minor minor thing would be the curtains still let in a lot of light, so when there is no real darkness during the summer nights, it makes it a bit hard to sleep.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarthi Tuli

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 June 2015 Sarthi would recommend this property

Liked: Clean environment Friendly staff Good kitchen

Disliked: Fast fr city center

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jayden Holmes

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

01 June 2015 Jayden would recommend this property

Liked: The room we stayed in was brand new and some of the staff were really helpful. There is a well set up bar in the hostel, though atmosphere was lacking while we were there.

Disliked: Jayden left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was definitely the best hostel I ever stayed at and I am really looking forward to come back!! The staff was extremely friendly and helpful from the start and happy to answer all my questions, give me directions and advice and arrange to get picked up from the hostel to the airport on my leaving day. I was really impressed with how clean everything was as well and with the fact that it was quiet in the night and that I managed to sleep very well. The atmosphere was great, I really loved the common room and the coffee was amazing! Everything was very casual and relaxed and I had the chance of meeting some great people.

Disliked: I really can't think of anything I disliked about the hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

SHIBAJI CHATTERJEE

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Romantic getaway

16 May 2015 SHIBAJI would recommend this property

Liked: Bushostel Reykjavik is at a very good location...its vey near to BSI busterminal. Hostel is clean , friendly and lot of space. Locker which they provide is large. Hostel stuffs are very helpful. Free breakfast is also added benefit.Bonus supermarket is just 15 min walking distance.bushostel kitchen has all facilities like your home...overall our experience was awesome.

Disliked: I disliked that they charged about blanket extra 1000 isk and bed sheet extra as i visited many other countries where hostels provide blankets without charge.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ben Kubany

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 May 2015 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: Modern and clean facilities.

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, hot showers, secure doors, well-stocked kitchen, social atmosphere, walking distance to downtown.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

13 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really loved the piano and the look of the bar. The general atmosphere was great, easy going, friendly and relaxed.

Disliked: I didn't expect to pay extra for bedding, which bumped up the price quite bit. I also could have done with some better directions, as due to the rather complicated flyover, I got myself a little lost getting into town. It´s a bit more complicated than "just following the road to town!" but all the staff were very friendly, kind and helpful.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Brici

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 March 2015 David would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice clean modern rooms, a killer common room. Great failities for cookig and showering and a good location for the bus depot. Maybe 15min walk to city centre but is less busy and quiet at night. Would highly recommend especially if you have a car as there is good parking :)

Disliked: Nothing major, just a little (but not too much) distance from center.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

nicholas dawson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa

09 March 2015 nicholas would recommend this property

Liked: kitchen good, bar pretty

Disliked: not 24 hour reception

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Zahra Amalia Syarifah

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 March 2015 Zahra Amalia would recommend this property

Liked: Its atmosphere was great and the location is a good value for money.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I absolutely loved my stay at the Bus Hostel - when I checked in after a day-long road trip, mentally preparing for staying in the 10-bed-dorm I had booked, I learned that I had gotten a free upgrade to a(n empty!) 4-bed-dorm. Completely made my day!

Disliked: There were a few bigger travel groups (probably school classes on an excursion) that were sometimes pretty loud but that's not the hostels fault :)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very cosy, clean, nicely arranged place located in a walking distance to the city centre. Great, very helpful and friendly staff. Safe and clean. Love it will be back!!!

Disliked: There was nothing what I dislike

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was incredible, really nice people working there =]]

Disliked: There isnt any staff in he hostel really early like 7 o clock, and sometimes we need them

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, comfortable, great common area.

Disliked: Slightly further from the bus station than I realized when booking

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff great. Location fine ... Could walk to bus bsi station and into town. Really safe and secure. Very clean.

Disliked: Doors are very loud so noisy at times. No en suite facilities though showers were private, clean and always possible to find free one.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great stop over point, about a 20 minute walk to the centre.

Disliked: The staff is from everywhere but Iceland and not the most knowledgable on any of the highlights of Iceland. Although they were very nice!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic sitting room/bar, comfortable and quirkily furnished. Great storage, spacious rooms and good headroom on lower bunks

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice rooms and bathroom facilities, cozy common room. Not too far from downtown, only about 15 minutes walking.

Disliked: You have to pay 1000 ISK extra for sheets/blankets.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Tal Oppenheim

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 July 2014 Tal would recommend this property

Liked: A cosy atmosphere, very nice stuff workers, very clean, simple but nice bedrooms.

Disliked: A place to dry your equipment will be nice. Places like this which serves hikers should gave a place to dry your tent, clothes, etc.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was tucked away from downtown, you can rent bikes for free, and very close to the bus station which was convenient. It was really clean and well-kept

Disliked: The stove was not working a few times

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

11 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean rooms, friendly 24hr reception and a great common room. Well located for the domestic airport and bus station and still only a short walk from the city centre.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...