HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Loft Hostel

Hostel | Bankastraeti 7, Reykjavik, Iceland 101

96.7% Overall Rating

36 out of 36 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/07/2014)

Tim C thinks…

"Staff was awesome. They are sweet. They looked put for me. I was really jet lagged. They were so pAtient with me. Horseback riding was awesome. Food recommendations perfect."

Read all Loft Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Café
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 2.60
  • Breakfast USD 12.56
  • Towel USD 1.73

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Prices shown are HI membership prices. A one year international HI membership card can be purchased at the hostel for 2000 ISK. While purchasing a HI membership is recommended, it is not required: Non-members are required to pay a surcharge upon check-in, which is ISK 600-1200 (or after the 15th May 2014: ISK 700 / 1400) per person per night, depending the type of room.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Reykjavik?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Reykjavik

Pisa Guesthouse
110.87 USD

Guesthouse 84.3% 4 reviews
Guesthouse Odinn
52.36 USD

Guesthouse 93.9% 22 reviews
Abode Little
69.29 USD

Apartment 93.9% 7 reviews
Thor Guesthouse
69.29 USD

Guesthouse 89.1% 45 reviews
Heytjörn Cabins
40.28 USD

Guesthouse 96.4% 4 reviews
Aurora Guesthouse
51.97 USD

Guesthouse 91.2% 164 reviews
Loki 101 guesthouse
77.96 USD

Guesthouse 81.9% 3 reviews
Flying Viking Guesthouse
46.99 USD

Guesthouse 65.1% 5 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
96.7%

Overall Rating

36 out of 36 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Loft Hostel'

Atmosphere
93.6%
Location
100.0%
Facilities
92.8%
Cleanliness
99.2%
Staff
98.4%
Value
92.8%
Safety
100.0%
Refine your results Showing 31 of 35 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tim C

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2014 Tim would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was awesome. They are sweet. They looked put for me. I was really jet lagged. They were so pAtient with me. Horseback riding was awesome. Food recommendations perfect.

Disliked: When they have a band playing. Everyone hears it. I wasnt there on a weekend. But band stopped early on a thursday night. It is expensive. But like other comments i read "it s iceland. Everything is expensive". Just stay here. Great location. Wi fi is a bit dodgy. They say they are working on it. I believe them

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

08 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and modern, strong wifi everywhere, your own electrical outlets, large and spacious common room, good location close to the tourist information centre and bus stop. Staff is very friendly, I left something in the room and they let me in to look for it after I checked out.

Disliked: Did not have opportunity to meet other travellers.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: people around, location..

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

24 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cool atmosphere, awesome patio bar

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loft Hostel was a great place to stay! The location is right in the heart of downtown Reykjavik, keep in mind the town isn't that large but having everything you could want and more at your doorstep is a nice bonus. There are endless restaurants, cafés and bars for your enjoyment as well as shopping. The hostel itself is very clean, the staff is so friendly and more than happy to help you with any questions you have or helping to book your tours. The nice thing about the tours here are that they pick you up and drop you off at whichever hostel you stay at so it's extremely convenient. Check-in isn't until 2pm but they will stow your bags until that time if you happen to arrive early like I did. They also have couches in the lounge area and you arrive early and are dead tired from your flight and need a bit of a cat nap (I definitely took advantage of this). I ended up having to move my trip back a day because of work so I e-mailed the hostel to see if they could change it for me without having to pay the service fee again and they responded to me within a day letting me know they had changed it and my fee would carry over. It is a safe and friendly environment, I met a lot of great people and the hostel will have activities throughout the week such as twister or poetry slam night which I also a great opportunity to meet fellow travelers if you're traveling solo like I was. Highly recommend!

Disliked: If I had to think of something I would say the breakfast seems a bit expensive but then again, all of Iceland is expensive. I didn't buy the breakfast while I was there, instead I would go to a cafe or the grocery store and pick up a sandwich and piece of fruit and juice and that seemed to be a little cheaper.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

11 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very well located in the city centre and easy walking distance to sights around the city. It was also very clean and tidy. The staff were really helpful and friendly.

Disliked: Nothing!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

03 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Safe and clean with helpful staff

Disliked: N/A

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Leona McHugh

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 February 2014 Leona would recommend this property

Liked: everything

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the best hostel I've stayed in. location cannot be any more center. clean everywhere, good bed (no squeaking, high enough to sit up straight), great shower, helpful staff, nice common room.

Disliked: just a small thing: wifi was unstable every once in a while.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mark Hall

With my spouse / partner

City break
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

06 February 2014 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: awesome location, brilliant staff, comfortable bed, lovely rooms.

Disliked: Stayed in Room 209 which was next to door for our floor and the main staircase was on the other side of the wall.... This got annoyingly noisy at times, especially when people were coming back from a night out.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Big rooms, bunks were high enough that you could sit in them without hitting your head, facilities were very clean and new, staff were completely lovely, excellent location.

Disliked: Not the hostel's fault- but the nightclub downstairs is quite loud on the weekend. Maybe try partying with them instead of sleeping!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Zandman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 January 2014 David would recommend this property

Liked: Nice rooms, clean bathrooms, helpful staff, great lounge area, free WiFi, good self-catering kitchen.

Disliked: David left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joshua Nelson

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 January 2014 Joshua would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, modern facilities. The rooms are all quite clean, bathrooms and showers cleaned on a regular basis. The bathrooms and showers are in separate rooms, which is nice in case someone is using one and you'd like access to the other. One bathroom and shower per room, with an extra "shared" bathroom in the hallway in case someone is monopolizing yours. Kitchen is modern and well stocked. With a grill on the patio. There's a super market within 5 minutes walk that is open until 23:00.

Disliked: Virtually no feeling of community. Unfortunately the hostel is a combination of a hostel, bar, and cafe. The net effect is most of the social events and activities seem to be primarily for the local icelandic people who frequent the cafe, rather than for the hostel guests. The only social events geared for the hostel guests are "concerts" where if a band or musician is staying at the hostel, they can get a free nights stay if they play some music. Not a major thing, but most hostels I've stayed at in the past have events and activities to encourage guests to meet one another. Also the staff seem relatively clueless about the touristy things in the area. Each time I had a question about if something was worth seeing, etc.. they would just Google it and look at the online reviews. Still a great hostel and I would stay there again, but the atmosphere is lacking.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really great in all area's. Own socket and light for each bed. Super clean. Kitchen was good. Common room had a great chilled out atmosphere. Gave great advice on day trips/excursions/tours.

Disliked: Nothing really.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Yoko Moriya

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 December 2013 Yoko would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is quite new and it was very very clean!!! Also great location, facing the main street where you can easily walk to different places around. Staff are so helpful as well!

Disliked: Yoko left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location and helpfulness of the staff. Ensuite bathroom

Disliked: there was nothing to dislike

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, comfortable beds, funky bathroom.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean dorms, very friendly staff, good location and good breakfast.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

19 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, comfortable and modern

Disliked: Nothing to dislike

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Andryo Haripradono

Alone

City break
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 August 2013 Andryo would recommend this property

Liked: Location can never be better. Staff are nice and helpful. Maybe it's only my feeling but because it is a little bit more expensive than other hostel, people who stay there are less of dirty and messy backpacker (in a good way). There are some events on top floor with happy hour (alcohol in good price). Oh and pancake breakfast.

Disliked: Lockers are too small. Bexause of the central location you can hear drunk people yelling on the street.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's very clean, very nice looking. I've had two good nights of blissful sleep, in a comfy bed. The breakfast is also quite nice. And the staff will help you book a bus for the blue lagoon or other trips, which makes it so much easier for the guests.

Disliked: It's actually a bit hard to find anything to complain about, but if I had to come up with something, I find it quite strange that the bar closes at about 23 o'clock, and the staff still drinks beer in the lounge when everybody else can't. Except from that, it's all good.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is located very central and is easy to reach from airport or BSI. Stuff is very friendly and ready to answer all your questions, the rooms are clean and with bed linien. The guest kitchen is very well equiped.

Disliked: It was a bit cold in the room, but then again it has been quite cold in Reykjavik in general.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tristan Johnston

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2013 Tristan would recommend this property

Liked: I really have nothing but good things to say about the Loft hostel. It was clean well organized the staff was friendly, helpful and in some cases willing to become involved in long, serious but enjoyable conversations about world politics.

Disliked: my stay was to short.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice roof top bar

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice roof top bar

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.