HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Loft Hostel Reykjavik Hostel

Bankastraeti 7, Reykjavik, Iceland

Atmosphere 92%

Cleanliness 96%

Facilities 92%

Location 100%

Safety 97%

Staff 94%

Value 91%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Foosball
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 12.73USD
  • Luggage Room 2.63USD
  • Towel 1.76USD

Important Information

HI Membership is not required to stay at the hostel, but holders enjoy members benefits. The 1 year membership card can be purchased in our reception for 3000 ISK.

Bed Linen are included in the advertised price. Towels are complimentary for all types of rooms but a deposit is required.

Check-in is any time after 14:00. Check-out is at 10:00. The reception is open 24 hours but if you are arriving after midnight is recommended to inform us.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Reykjavik?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 92%

Cleanliness 96%

Facilities 92%

Location 100%

Safety 97%

Staff 94%

Value 91%

Showing 1-10 of 35 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Mar 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: The upstairs common area/bar is great, the coffee is really good, plenty of beer/liquor, and always people to hang out with. Lots of locals come to Loft for a drink and its always a good time up there.

Disliked: The food they offer seems a little pricey but that isn´t fair to say. Most places in Reykjavik offer small dishes so the breakfast at Loft is a good value if you plan on eating a fair amount. Have a bagel and glass of juice, and you´re paying a lot.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Jan 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Liked: Centralise and helpful staffs

Disliked: The lights in the shower that works on sensor switches off by itself when there is no movements. Rather inconvenient when in middle of shower. Suggested to have a few spots painted with or stickers that glows in dark to help us find our way.No sure if food n drinks are allowed in the dorm but if it is not would suggest signs to be displayed. Had some one ate in the dorm n left dishes over the night in the dorm. Unacceptable due hygiene!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Jan 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Liked: This property was very conveniently located in the middle of downtown Reykjavik, for all of the shops and restaurants in the area. All of the staff we dealt with during our stay were incredibly approachable, friendly and helpful in booking our excursions and answering our questions. The atmosphere was very comfortable and relaxed, so we were never hesitant to visit reception or the beautiful lounge areas. We stayed in a double room, with a bed more comfortable than my bed at home! It was more like four star hotel room, we could hardly believe we were staying in a hostel. Its many windows looked out onto the main shopping street in Reykjavik, which was very pretty. The bathroom was very clean and we also appreciated the mirror in the bedroom, the complimentary towels and sheets, and the inclusion of four coat hangers in the main bedroom area.

Disliked: While we absolutely loved Loft Hostel's prime location on one of Reykjavik's main downtown shopping streets, it can be loud outside at night from party- and bar-goers, particularly on Friday night.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Bed light and cubby, en-suite bathroom plus other baths across from the room, beer taps and price of beer was good, breakfast was nice to have but a bit highly priced, same with the soup lunch - very good but high in price, book exchange, computer available, kitchen facilities, location, tour bookings, warm radiators to dry wet jackets etc. I was a nice hostel overall.

Disliked: No lockable lockers in the room,. I was suffering from sun deprivation and the common rooms of the hostel were so dim, could not relax in the lounge and read as there wasn't enough light. Cannot imagine why it isn't brightly lit at least during the daytime. It just made it seem so much more dreary. I was very disappointed that front desk said no tours were going out for Northern Lights when I asked at 6pm on Tues night but found that my roomie had booked her own and was picked up by Gray Lines at 8pm and did see them that night. It was the only night that week I was there that they actually were seen. I also was told by front desk I had to walk somewhere for my airport transfer but when I went to the Gray Lines bldg to check, they said indeed I would be picked up right at the hostel. It was so slippery out and I wouldn't have been ably to make it walking to where she said I had to go with my big backpack on. Overall it seems like hostels these days are more big business than just the budget travelers way to save money.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Location and staff were the highlights. Everything was so easy and convenient. I'll definately look to hostels as an option for future travels.

Disliked: Nothing. It was great.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: All is good

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Great location, easy to walk everywherre. W stayed in a twin ensuite room and the showers were great and the beds comfy!

Disliked: Its a shame the hostel doesnt have any themed nights, for example movie night, quiz night etc.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Spacious clean rooms with a perfect location on the Main Street. Excellent kitchen facilities and some awesome live music in the bar. Would definitely stay there again.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Close to city center, nice environment and BIG kitchen.

Disliked: No laundry room and breakfast is expensive (ISK1550). However, to be fair to them, everything in Iceland is rather over priced.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Best beds out of all the hostels I stayed in throughout Europe. So comfortable. I wanted to stay in bed longer if there wasn't so much to see in Reykjavik. The location perfect. The bed was big and the storage space was tremendous.

Disliked: The lack of social interactions between guests. Not a lot of activities.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability