We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Loft Hostel

Hostel | Bankastraeti 7, Reykjavik, Iceland 101

95.1% Overall Rating

51 out of 51 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/06/2015)

"Location and staff were the highlights. Everything was so easy and convenient. I'll definately look to hostels as an option for future travels."

Read all Loft Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Café
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 2.31
  • Breakfast USD 11.19
  • Towel USD 1.54

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

HI Membership is not required to stay at the hostel, but holders enjoy members benefits. The 1 year membership card can be purchased in our reception for 3000 ISK. Bed Linen are included in the advertised price. Towels are complimentary for all types of rooms but a deposit is required. Check-in is any time after 14:00. Check-out is at 10:00. The reception is open 24 hours but if you are arriving after midnight is recommended to inform us.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Reykjavik?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Reykjavik

centric Guesthouse
122.69 USD

Guesthouse 75.2% 6 reviews
Guesthouse Odinn
35.78 USD

Guesthouse 94.3% 34 reviews
Thor Guesthouse
50.41 USD

Guesthouse 89.1% 45 reviews
Heytjörn Cabins
23.48 USD

Guesthouse 97.1% 6 reviews
Aurora Guesthouse
38.58 USD

Guesthouse 90.5% 171 reviews
Flying Viking Guesthouse
33.53 USD

Guesthouse 70.0% 6 reviews
Reykjavik Backpackers
34.72 USD

Hostel 80.3% 220 reviews
Grettir Guesthouse
45.84 USD

Guesthouse 76.3% 17 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
95.1%

Overall Rating

51 out of 51 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Loft Hostel'

Atmosphere
90.4%
Location
100.0%
Facilities
92.0%
Cleanliness
97.6%
Staff
95.2%
Value
92.8%
Safety
97.6%
Refine your results Showing 44 of 50 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alleen

Backpacken / gap year
Feesten / nachtleven
Bezienswaardigheden en cultuur
Een bezoek aan vrienden of familie

21 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and staff were the highlights. Everything was so easy and convenient. I'll definately look to hostels as an option for future travels.

Disliked: Nothing. It was great.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nazakat Azimli

Alleen

Backpacken / gap year

15 May 2015 Nazakat would recommend this property

Liked: All is good

Disliked: Nazakat left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emily Dudok de Wit

Met vrienden / andere reizigers

Stedentrip
Bezienswaardigheden en cultuur
Sport, avontuur of outdoor activiteiten

25 February 2015 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, easy to walk everywherre. W stayed in a twin ensuite room and the showers were great and the beds comfy!

Disliked: Its a shame the hostel doesnt have any themed nights, for example movie night, quiz night etc.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Met vrienden / andere reizigers

Bezienswaardigheden en cultuur

21 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Spacious clean rooms with a perfect location on the Main Street. Excellent kitchen facilities and some awesome live music in the bar. Would definitely stay there again.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alleen

Backpacken / gap year

10 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best beds out of all the hostels I stayed in throughout Europe. So comfortable. I wanted to stay in bed longer if there wasn't so much to see in Reykjavik. The location perfect. The bed was big and the storage space was tremendous.

Disliked: The lack of social interactions between guests. Not a lot of activities.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

CHEE WEE LIM

Alleen

Backpacken / gap year

12 January 2015 CHEE WEE would recommend this property

Liked: Close to city center, nice environment and BIG kitchen.

Disliked: No laundry room and breakfast is expensive (ISK1550). However, to be fair to them, everything in Iceland is rather over priced.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Met vrienden / andere reizigers

Backpacken / gap year
Feesten / nachtleven
Bezienswaardigheden en cultuur

12 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I went to Iceland in the middle of winter. Thinking as I was going to stay in a hostel I packed very warm clothes to deal with the cold nights. I was very mistaken! The hostel was VERY WELL heated, particularly in the rooms but it was warm throughout the hostel. The staff were all also very friendly and very helpful. They knew a lot a lot about transport and activities. The rooms were also modern and clean. Very satisfied.

Disliked: I can't say there is anything I was dissatisfied with the hostel. Maybe the breakfasts were a bit expensive for what you get. The kitchen though was set up very well and very environmentally friendly.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alleen

Sport, avontuur of outdoor activiteiten

06 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Staff were helpful in booking tours. Lovely common area to relax and meet other people.

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alleen

Stedentrip

25 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alleen

Backpacken / gap year

26 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Such a fantastic hostel! The staff were so lovely and helpful, the rooms were big and clean, it was super easy to meet people, the common area was really nice, etc.

Disliked: Breakfast was expensive, but it didn't really matter because I ended up just going to the supermarket.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Alexandre Oliveira

Alleen

Sport, avontuur of outdoor activiteiten

21 August 2014 Alexandre would recommend this property

Liked: The best thing about this hostel is location, in the middle of city center.

Disliked: The wifi doesn't work in the rooms, so you need to go to the reception to use it.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adhianto Suherli Lie

Alleen

Backpacken / gap year
Stedentrip
Bezienswaardigheden en cultuur

09 August 2014 Adhianto would recommend this property

Liked: First of all the location of the hostel is very strategic, near to the city centre, to bus terminals, and lots of food around. The hostel itself is very clean and modern, and also the staffs are always glad to help you be it with tours, direction and activities! I just love my stay here

Disliked: The hostel is near some bars so it can get loud at night especially in the weekend. But maybe this is because I was given a room that's nearest to the streets. But nevertheless I was too tired that I fell asleep again after being woken up by loud music outside.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Met vrienden / andere reizigers

Bezienswaardigheden en cultuur

03 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: kitchen facilities, roof top terrace

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tim C

Alleen

Backpacken / gap year
Ontspanning/kuuroord
Bezienswaardigheden en cultuur

25 July 2014 Tim would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was awesome. They are sweet. They looked put for me. I was really jet lagged. They were so pAtient with me. Horseback riding was awesome. Food recommendations perfect.

Disliked: When they have a band playing. Everyone hears it. I wasnt there on a weekend. But band stopped early on a thursday night. It is expensive. But like other comments i read "it s iceland. Everything is expensive". Just stay here. Great location. Wi fi is a bit dodgy. They say they are working on it. I believe them

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Met vrienden / andere reizigers

Strand / zonnen
Bezienswaardigheden en cultuur

08 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and modern, strong wifi everywhere, your own electrical outlets, large and spacious common room, good location close to the tourist information centre and bus stop. Staff is very friendly, I left something in the room and they let me in to look for it after I checked out.

Disliked: Did not have opportunity to meet other travellers.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Met mijn echtgenoot / partner

Sport, avontuur of outdoor activiteiten

04 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: people around, location..

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Met mijn echtgenoot / partner

Backpacken / gap year
Feesten / nachtleven

24 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cool atmosphere, awesome patio bar

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alleen

Ontspanning/kuuroord
Bezienswaardigheden en cultuur

21 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loft Hostel was a great place to stay! The location is right in the heart of downtown Reykjavik, keep in mind the town isn't that large but having everything you could want and more at your doorstep is a nice bonus. There are endless restaurants, cafés and bars for your enjoyment as well as shopping. The hostel itself is very clean, the staff is so friendly and more than happy to help you with any questions you have or helping to book your tours. The nice thing about the tours here are that they pick you up and drop you off at whichever hostel you stay at so it's extremely convenient. Check-in isn't until 2pm but they will stow your bags until that time if you happen to arrive early like I did. They also have couches in the lounge area and you arrive early and are dead tired from your flight and need a bit of a cat nap (I definitely took advantage of this). I ended up having to move my trip back a day because of work so I e-mailed the hostel to see if they could change it for me without having to pay the service fee again and they responded to me within a day letting me know they had changed it and my fee would carry over. It is a safe and friendly environment, I met a lot of great people and the hostel will have activities throughout the week such as twister or poetry slam night which I also a great opportunity to meet fellow travelers if you're traveling solo like I was. Highly recommend!

Disliked: If I had to think of something I would say the breakfast seems a bit expensive but then again, all of Iceland is expensive. I didn't buy the breakfast while I was there, instead I would go to a cafe or the grocery store and pick up a sandwich and piece of fruit and juice and that seemed to be a little cheaper.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alleen

Ontspanning/kuuroord
Bezienswaardigheden en cultuur

11 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very well located in the city centre and easy walking distance to sights around the city. It was also very clean and tidy. The staff were really helpful and friendly.

Disliked: Nothing!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alleen

Stedentrip

03 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Safe and clean with helpful staff

Disliked: N/A

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Leona McHugh

Alleen

Bezienswaardigheden en cultuur

18 February 2014 Leona would recommend this property

Liked: everything

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alleen

Backpacken / gap year
Bezienswaardigheden en cultuur

11 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the best hostel I've stayed in. location cannot be any more center. clean everywhere, good bed (no squeaking, high enough to sit up straight), great shower, helpful staff, nice common room.

Disliked: just a small thing: wifi was unstable every once in a while.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mark Hall

Met mijn echtgenoot / partner

Stedentrip
Ontspanning/kuuroord
Inkopen
Bezienswaardigheden en cultuur

06 February 2014 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: awesome location, brilliant staff, comfortable bed, lovely rooms.

Disliked: Stayed in Room 209 which was next to door for our floor and the main staircase was on the other side of the wall.... This got annoyingly noisy at times, especially when people were coming back from a night out.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alleen

Backpacken / gap year
Bezienswaardigheden en cultuur

01 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Big rooms, bunks were high enough that you could sit in them without hitting your head, facilities were very clean and new, staff were completely lovely, excellent location.

Disliked: Not the hostel's fault- but the nightclub downstairs is quite loud on the weekend. Maybe try partying with them instead of sleeping!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Zandman

Alleen

Backpacken / gap year

10 January 2014 David would recommend this property

Liked: Nice rooms, clean bathrooms, helpful staff, great lounge area, free WiFi, good self-catering kitchen.

Disliked: David left no negative feedback.