HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Grettir Guesthouse

Guesthouse | Laugavegur 28A, Reykjavik, Iceland 101 Reykjavík

79.0% Overall Rating

8 out of 11 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/11/2013)

"This place is great! The guesthouse is on the main street of Reykjavík, so the location is perfect. In the weekends the sounds of the street can travel to the guesthouse, but personally it didn't bother me at all. The…"

Read all Grettir Guesthouse reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Reykjavik?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Reykjavik

Reykjavik Backpackers
29.95 USD

Hostel 84.5% 199 reviews
Abode
51.35 USD

Apartment 92.1% 4 reviews
Loki 101 guesthouse
47.07 USD

Guesthouse 81.9% 3 reviews
Thor Guesthouse
55.91 USD

Guesthouse 89.1% 45 reviews
Heidashome Center
64.18 USD

Guesthouse 90.7% 29 reviews
Abode Little
68.46 USD

Apartment 94.6% 9 reviews
Aurora Guesthouse
51.35 USD

Guesthouse 91.2% 165 reviews
Guesthouse Odinn
39.58 USD

Guesthouse 94.4% 27 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.0%

Overall Rating

8 out of 11 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Grettir Guesthouse'

Atmosphere
76.4%
Location
87.3%
Facilities
72.7%
Cleanliness
80.0%
Staff
78.2%
Value
76.4%
Safety
81.8%
Refine your results Showing 8 of 11 reviews
Reset filter
62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

25 May 2014

Liked: Situation is within yards of the city centre

Disliked: 1. Noisy, noisy, noisy. Both from within (typical old style, Icelandic property built around a wood frame) and Friday/Saturday night revellers at early hours. Cars in car park at back.2. Organised chaos! A) You need a code to get in the door - the owner had to be chased by em B) you enter - which room? Choose a room with a key in it? No instructions- no owner! Breakfast - help yourself - where is it! No milk when we left! C) We arrived - another couple in a panic outside as no code given to them and no response to telephone calls to owner!!

25.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2014

Liked: in the center of the town

Disliked: Guesthouse was very noisy because of the noise coming from the street. There was supposed to be a selfservice breakfast but there was just a little dry bread, really nothing aso we had to go to have breakfast elsewhere. We didnt get our room until like 6 pm because it wasnt cleaned. The guesthouse keeper was hard to get in touch with. Wouldnt stay here again.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place is great! The guesthouse is on the main street of Reykjavík, so the location is perfect. In the weekends the sounds of the street can travel to the guesthouse, but personally it didn't bother me at all. The people running this place are very friendly and helpfull. The guesthouse has a fully equiped kitchen; with cereals, milk, juices and fruit for breakfast. The place is also nice and clean. I would defenitely book it again!

Disliked: The walls are thin, so if you have loud neighbours you can hear them very well.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is very centrally located. The city is very expensive but this place represents fairly good value for money.

Disliked: When we arrived the door was locked and we were only let in by some other guests staying at the guesthouse. There was a phone number on the door but there is no phone with which to call the proprietor. What are the other guests called him for us and it took him 15 minutes to show up. Once he showed up it took approximately an hour for him to clean our room, change the sheets etc. This would not normally have been a problem except we had just gotten off a redeye and were exhausted and ready to sleep. I had corresponded with the proprietor before arriving and he had said that he would send me a code to get us access to the guesthouse but never did. Having said all of that he was very kind and apologetic. We also stayed over a Saturday night and it was quite noisy because the place is very centrally located near the main street. This is a very expensive city however and it's not a bad choice if you know what you're getting and you only want to spend hundred dollars a night.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexander Blecken

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 June 2013 Alexander would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff

Disliked: Alexander left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I like the atmosphere in the rooms, which are modern and comfy. The location is excellent, as you are really right in the center of Reykjavik but it is not loud, so you can get the rest you need. The kitchen is well equipped, so if you don't want to go out you can have a tasty meal there. They have a got a little book providing really good hints on where to go and what to see. SOme of them were not mentioned in our travel guide but really worth seeing! Especially the bars ;-)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

24 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The friendly and helpfull staff. The nice little kitchen and the great location, in the center, but still a bit away from the busy street.

Disliked: I missed some light in the allay from Laugavegur to the guesthouse, and sound travels easy in the house.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ruth Hopkins

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

28 June 2012 Ruth would recommend this property

Liked: This place is perfect, nice and friendly as it is small, and Edda who looks after the property is extremely friendly and helpful :-) Great, central location, beautiful old house but modern inside, good sized room and shared kitchen is great for making food whenever you want.

Disliked: Ruth left no negative feedback.