HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Grettir Guesthouse Guesthouse

Laugavegur 28a, Reykjavik, Iceland

Atmosphere 75%

Cleanliness 76%

Facilities 69%

Location 84%

Safety 78%

Staff 79%

Value 73%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Book Exchange
  • Cots available
  • Free City Maps
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Towels Included

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 106.15USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Reykjavik?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 75%

Cleanliness 76%

Facilities 69%

Location 84%

Safety 78%

Staff 79%

Value 73%

Showing 1-5 of 5 reviews

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Access to continental breakfast. Plenty if fresh fruit

Disliked: Only one communal shower and toilet to share.No blackout blinds.Noisy from pub at the front of hostel

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Location, heating was working, unlimited hot water shower

Disliked: You get what you pay for. When we arrived there was nobody at the hostel, we didn't know which room was ours. There is no staff at the guest house, rooms are not soundproof, you can hear your neighbours talking or people preparing their breakfast. The entrance door slams really loudly so you wake up every 5 minutes. There is a night club/bar next door so if your room is on the ground floor you will not get any sleep. Breakfast was whatever you found in the fridge.

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Clean and tidy, helpful care taker.

Disliked: The location is very convenient for the main shopping street but is hemmed in on all sides and has no view. The room we had was tiny and we could not place two cases on the floor. 5 rooms, ten people with only one wc, the shower is in the bathroom with the wc. Chairs in the small dining kitchen for 4 people, the rest need to stand up. Initially I was very disappointed and frustrated trying to find the hostel. The room we got was not worth the money we paid. Despite all this I eventually enjoyed my stay.

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 80%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 May 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Situation is within yards of the city centre

Disliked: 1. Noisy, noisy, noisy. Both from within (typical old style, Icelandic property built around a wood frame) and Friday/Saturday night revellers at early hours. Cars in car park at back.2. Organised chaos! A) You need a code to get in the door - the owner had to be chased by em B) you enter - which room? Choose a room with a key in it? No instructions- no owner! Breakfast - help yourself - where is it! No milk when we left! C) We arrived - another couple in a panic outside as no code given to them and no response to telephone calls to owner!!

26% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
26% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 May 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: in the center of the town

Disliked: Guesthouse was very noisy because of the noise coming from the street. There was supposed to be a selfservice breakfast but there was just a little dry bread, really nothing aso we had to go to have breakfast elsewhere. We didnt get our room until like 6 pm because it wasnt cleaned. The guesthouse keeper was hard to get in touch with. Wouldnt stay here again.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: This place is great! The guesthouse is on the main street of Reykjavík, so the location is perfect. In the weekends the sounds of the street can travel to the guesthouse, but personally it didn't bother me at all. The people running this place are very friendly and helpfull. The guesthouse has a fully equiped kitchen; with cereals, milk, juices and fruit for breakfast. The place is also nice and clean. I would defenitely book it again!

Disliked: The walls are thin, so if you have loud neighbours you can hear them very well.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It is very centrally located. The city is very expensive but this place represents fairly good value for money.

Disliked: When we arrived the door was locked and we were only let in by some other guests staying at the guesthouse. There was a phone number on the door but there is no phone with which to call the proprietor. What are the other guests called him for us and it took him 15 minutes to show up. Once he showed up it took approximately an hour for him to clean our room, change the sheets etc. This would not normally have been a problem except we had just gotten off a redeye and were exhausted and ready to sleep. I had corresponded with the proprietor before arriving and he had said that he would send me a code to get us access to the guesthouse but never did. Having said all of that he was very kind and apologetic. We also stayed over a Saturday night and it was quite noisy because the place is very centrally located near the main street. This is a very expensive city however and it's not a bad choice if you know what you're getting and you only want to spend hundred dollars a night.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Very friendly staff

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I like the atmosphere in the rooms, which are modern and comfy. The location is excellent, as you are really right in the center of Reykjavik but it is not loud, so you can get the rest you need. The kitchen is well equipped, so if you don't want to go out you can have a tasty meal there. They have a got a little book providing really good hints on where to go and what to see. SOme of them were not mentioned in our travel guide but really worth seeing! Especially the bars ;-)

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: The friendly and helpfull staff. The nice little kitchen and the great location, in the center, but still a bit away from the busy street.

Disliked: I missed some light in the allay from Laugavegur to the guesthouse, and sound travels easy in the house.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability