HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

AR Guesthouse

Guesthouse

Braedraborgarstigur 3, Reykjavik, Iceland

Atmosphere 70%

Cleanliness 68%

Facilities 63%

Location 82%

Safety 69%

Staff 73%

Value 75%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • Cots available
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Parking

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Reykjavik?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 70%

Cleanliness 68%

Facilities 63%

Location 82%

Safety 69%

Staff 73%

Value 75%

Showing 1-10 of 11 reviews

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: location and price

Disliked: The only issue I had was wifi couldn't pick it up in the second building although when I went to reception it was fine.AR is very well located a 5 minutes walk downtown look out for the happy hours in the pubs 4-7 otherwise you'll pay big time for a beer!

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Atmosphere and character

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: We had everything we needed. We booked the room for 4 (it was the cheapest option for quadro room); we had enough space & furniture & it was rather clean. In our building (next after reception) there was a kitchen on each floor, that is very convenient. The ladies, who run the guesthouse, were nice & friendly. We came 3 times & each time the envelope with the key & detailed letter were waiting for us. There's also a possibility to drop the luggage, though, they don't indicate it on hostelbookers. 5-10 minuties of lazy walking to harbour & downtown, 10 minuties to the nearest Bonus store.

Disliked: There was no pan in the kitchen next to our room 3rd floor; but everything except that, was ok. It would be great to have some dryer for linen, at least one for the floor.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Good location and worth the money.

Disliked: Lack of staff available at the guesthouse but reachable on phone. The wall is not sound proof, you can hear people next door snooring or laughing.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Absolutely value for the money!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway

Liked: We had a lovely stay at this guesthouse. It's clam and lovely.

Disliked: N/a

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: On a quiet street but only 5min walk from centre. We read a lot of bad reviews about the cleanliness but found no problems ourselves and thought it had everything we needed really. Didn't see the receptionist much but when we did she was friendly.

Disliked: No safety deposit box which might have been handy as we carried all valuables with us all day instead.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: It is quite close to the center. One of the cheapest places in Reykjavik.

Customer would recommend this property

20% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
20% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: no

Disliked: It destroy me trust.

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The guesthouse is located some 5 mins walk from the city center. We liked the location very much. It really is a functional guesthouse. The building itself has character, facilities are good and well-maintained. Very friendly staff. Good value for money.

Disliked: We did not experience anything ourselves, but there's a kindergarten next door. No idea if that may bother one or another of you ...

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability