HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of AR Guesthouse

Guesthouse | Braedraborgarstigur 3, Reykjavik, Iceland 101

70.9% Overall Rating

26 out of 30 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/09/2013)

Jenni Payne thinks…

"On a quiet street but only 5min walk from centre. We read a lot of bad reviews about the cleanliness but found no problems ourselves and thought it had everything we needed really. Didn't see the…"

Read all AR Guesthouse reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Reykjavik?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Reykjavik

Reykjavik Downtown Hostel
42.88 USD

Hostel 90.9% 49 reviews
Central Guesthouse
51.11 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Metropolitan Hotel
83.17 USD

Hotel 3 star 69.5% 3 reviews
Hotel Gardur
32.92 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.5% 9 reviews
Heytjörn Cabins
40.39 USD

Guesthouse 96.4% 4 reviews
Flying Viking Guesthouse
40.39 USD

Guesthouse 65.1% 5 reviews
Pisa Guesthouse
110.89 USD

Guesthouse 84.3% 4 reviews
Guesthouse Galtafell
38.98 USD

Guesthouse 93.7% 71 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
70.9%

Overall Rating

26 out of 30 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'AR Guesthouse'

Atmosphere
68.0%
Location
80.0%
Facilities
64.8%
Cleanliness
71.2%
Staff
70.4%
Value
74.4%
Safety
67.2%
Refine your results Showing 14 of 27 reviews
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Hazeeq Azman

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 January 2014 Hazeeq would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and worth the money.

Disliked: Lack of staff available at the guesthouse but reachable on phone. The wall is not sound proof, you can hear people next door snooring or laughing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Petra Ahston Inkapööl

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 January 2014 Petra would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely value for the money!

Disliked: Petra left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

yingya li

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

19 September 2013 yingya would recommend this property

Liked: We had a lovely stay at this guesthouse. It's clam and lovely.

Disliked: N/a

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jenni Payne

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 September 2013 Jenni would recommend this property

Liked: On a quiet street but only 5min walk from centre. We read a lot of bad reviews about the cleanliness but found no problems ourselves and thought it had everything we needed really. Didn't see the receptionist much but when we did she was friendly.

Disliked: No safety deposit box which might have been handy as we carried all valuables with us all day instead.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

31 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is quite close to the center. One of the cheapest places in Reykjavik.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

LIJU HUANG

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 June 2013

Liked: no

Disliked: It destroy me trust.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The guesthouse is located some 5 mins walk from the city center. We liked the location very much. It really is a functional guesthouse. The building itself has character, facilities are good and well-maintained. Very friendly staff. Good value for money.

Disliked: We did not experience anything ourselves, but there's a kindergarten next door. No idea if that may bother one or another of you ...

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Davide Modolo

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 May 2013

Liked: * The location is good

Disliked: * Small rooms (ok for a w/e, but very uncomfortable for longer periods) * Quite dirty (especially the bathrooms, which were never cleaned in 4 days!!!) * Linen where present, but with holes and not fitting the bed * The reception is open 24h, but every time we went there there was nobody. Not even during the period (9am-7pm) when they assure you they will be there!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

steve brenchley

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 September 2012 steve would recommend this property

Liked: warm and cosy with well-furnished single rooms that I was upgraded to. Location is excellent for city centre and harbour, each just a 5 minute walk away.

Disliked: nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent value for money in Reykjavik and close to the city centre

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gustavo Carrasquilla Gomez

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 September 2011 Gustavo would recommend this property

Liked: The place it is in the center, close to everything.

Disliked: Its difficult to find the owner, during the day. But is possible to contact them by phone.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: close to the centre of Reykjavik, clean kitchen, bathrooms and rooms, owner available by phone at all times. Fair price.

Disliked: it wasn't clear at all on the website that the dorm rooms were backpack-accomodation only (= no blanket and towel) - but eventually i got a blanket for my bed. The booked 4-bed dorm turned out to have five beds.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

02 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: All clean and very nice, big kitchen!

Disliked: Some rooms are much smaller than on pictures; some rooms are sousterrain; only one bathroom per flor (for 3-4 rooms).

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

31 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The people who run the Guesthouse are very friendly and helpful. Everything is perfectly clean. The kitchen is very nice.

Disliked: The hot water smells like salfur, but I guess that's just the real Rykjavik spirit ;)