HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Reykjavik Downtown Hostel

Hostel | Vesturgata 17, Reykjavik, Iceland 101

90.9% Overall Rating

49 out of 49 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/02/2014)

"I had a really great time, wish I could stay longer. Everyone was friendly and I was very comfortable."

Read all Reykjavik Downtown Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Café
  • Communal kitchen

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 10.78
  • Linen USD 9.49
  • Towel USD 1.73

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Important Information

Prices shown are HI membership prices. A one year international HI membership card can be purchased at the hostel for 2000 ISK. While purchasing a HI membership is recommended, it is not required: Non-members are required to pay a surcharge upon check-in, which is ISK 600-1200 (or after the 15th May 2014: ISK 700 / 1400) per person per night, depending the type of room.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Reykjavik?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Reykjavik

Central Guesthouse
50.90 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Metropolitan Hotel
82.82 USD

Hotel 3 star 69.5% 3 reviews
AR Guesthouse
45.73 USD

Guesthouse 68.5% 33 reviews
Hotel Gardur
32.78 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.5% 9 reviews
Heytjörn Cabins
40.03 USD

Guesthouse 96.4% 4 reviews
Pisa Guesthouse
110.43 USD

Guesthouse 84.3% 4 reviews
Flying Viking Guesthouse
60.04 USD

Guesthouse 65.1% 5 reviews
Loft Hostel
51.33 USD

Hostel 96.3% 38 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.9%

Overall Rating

49 out of 49 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Reykjavik Downtown Hostel'

Atmosphere
87.2%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
92.0%
Cleanliness
95.2%
Staff
91.2%
Value
85.6%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 44 of 48 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, cleanliness, ammenities (i.e. kitchen)

Disliked: No hot water in shower

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central convenient

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels I've stayed in.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

03 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I had a really great time, wish I could stay longer. Everyone was friendly and I was very comfortable.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brenda Lawson

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 January 2014 Brenda would recommend this property

Liked: great location, friendly and helpful staff, very clean and environmentally green

Disliked: only one complaint. The two different dormitory rooms I have stayed in at this hostel each had one beautiful shower-room toilet. But not very practical between 8-10 occupants. It wouldn't take much to partition off a part of the rooms and make the toilet separate from the shower.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very central, very clean and secure and lovely helpful staff

Disliked: nothing really, but could have had a kettle in the double rooms?

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hannah Swinburne

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 January 2014 Hannah would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location, great view from our room, kitchen was very useful, staff were very helpful and booked excursions and dinner reservations for us. Brilliant hostel

Disliked: Nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, friendly helpful staff, eco-friendly, a short walk to the city centre, very near to Sea Baron, good view of the harbor, safe neighbourhood.

Disliked: Should be noted that there's no lift. Also, the wifi wasn't working at the 4th floor. We told the staff about it but it was the holiday period (New Year) so I assume it should be working well now. And you can always head to the lobby area for wifi :)

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Arlianawati Abdul Rahman

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 October 2013 Arlianawati would recommend this property

Liked: Location was good, beds were clean and they're always playing good music at the lounge.

Disliked: Breakfast should come for free.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ting-Kai Chang

Alone

City break

08 September 2013 Ting-Kai would recommend this property

Liked: I booked a four beds room and it was huge, enough for more than 6 beds I think. The location is a bit far from the town centre but creates a quieter environment for a good sleep. I know it's not as cheap than the other ones in town centre but it was a really good night I had.

Disliked: It would be great if the price of the bedding sheets and breakfast could be cheaper.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, great location, good for quiet travellers, helpful staff.

Disliked: Other guests did not really seem that interested in talking or hanging out, so perhaps not that good for solo travellers who like to meet other people. "Organised events" were more like just telling you what live music was on around town - no idea if anyone actually went to any of them.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Naphatson Chanthathamrongsiri

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 July 2013 Naphatson would recommend this property

Liked: The location is near the shore and near the Sea Baron, the local sea food restaurant. The kitchen quite tidy and clean and have the basket of free food!!

Disliked: Naphatson left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean. Great view on 4th floor

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The private rooms are as good as hotel rooms, very spacious and a nice bathroom.

Disliked: Nothing really.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Huay Kee Lim

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 January 2013 Huay Kee would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean dorm. staffs are very helpful and the location is perfect!!

Disliked: nothing!! maybe only the dorm bathroom as it is only 1 to share with 10 people.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

29 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Private Rooms, Bathrooms, and laundry on site.

Disliked: No bed assignments, kind of a free-for-all.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brenda Lawson

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 July 2012 Brenda would recommend this property

Liked: Almost everything! It was very handy for all the shops and excursions. It was immaculately clean, the staff were all very polite and helpful. They offered a breakfast to buy but there was also a very well equipped kitchen/diner that residents could use which was good to save money by cooking for myself rather than having to eat out all the time. Many city hostels don't offer the use of a kitchen. Trips could be booked through the hostel. Free internet was offered, either on residents' own laptop/tablet or using the hostel computer. 24-hour reception too.

Disliked: I was in a dormitory for 10 people. There was one very large toilet/shower-room between us all. So when one person was in using the facilities we all had to queue up. It would make more sense to divide the space into at least 2 separate toilet/wash basin rooms and two showers. There was ample space for this.This was all I disliked about the hostel.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

15 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had a private room with private bath. Very nice and large comfortable room. Private room was locked so we did not have to worry about securing our luggage against other guests. The bathroom was nicer than most budget hotels I have stayed in. GREAT price for the room. Great location to both Reykjavik city center and the conference center (HARPA). Great breakfast buffet for the cost - we ate at other small cafes and bistros for breakfast too, and the hostel was the best value.

Disliked: Housekeeping did enter every day to empty trash. I would have preferred no one to enter since we did leave valuables in the room.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, everything was super clean. New fixtures and bathrooms were great.

Disliked: 1000 kr to do a load of washing is way too much. Staff were helpful but not overly friendly. Shared kitchen was much to small to handle more than 2 people cooking at a time.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I traveled for a couple of months before I arrived inReykjavik, and this was the nicest hostel, hands down. it was exceptionally clean, the staff were extremely helpful and very nice, and the hostel itself is modern, convenient, nice, and comfortable. One staff member even made me extra coffee one morning because she knew how much Iiked coffee! Little touches like that, where the staff go the extra mile to make your stay feel special are what made this place so comfortable and great to stay at. I really enjoyed it and will be staying there for sure next time I make it to Reykjavik, which will hopefully be in the near future. Thanks for everything!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

emmeline broad

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 April 2012 emmeline would recommend this property

Liked: the staff are very helpful and will offer you the best priced deal for excursions not skipping on quality the coffee is great and the private room is very quiet and clean it looks new! its 2 twin beds pushed together which we separated, its 5 min walk from the main shopping street the airport bus drops you right there what more could you ask! I would stay at this hostel again its not a party hostel which is just what I needed

Disliked: nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julian Foster

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2012 Julian would recommend this property

Liked: Very tranquil lobby, free wifi, helpful staff, great location.

Disliked: Nothing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent value for money in a city which can be quite expensive! The hostel was very well situated, close to the main shopping street and all the restaurants and bars. The staff must be commended on their friendliness and helpfulness, but then again, we didn't come across anyone in Iceland who wasn't like this! The room itself was very clean and we had no complaints with it. One thing to note is that this is a Hostelling International (HI) hostel, and so to get the cheaper price as advertised you must be a member of HI. Don't worry if you're not already a member though (we weren't) as you can purchase a membership at check-in, valid for one year. If you don't do this then there's a small charge levied per night, so buying a membership may well pay for itself! There was also a (very) small charge for bedsheets and towels but this is not uncommon in hostels and it certainly wasn't a deal breaker.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joseph Koszary

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 April 2012 Joseph would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic staff, incredibly helpful and interesting to talk to.

Disliked: Joseph left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: really good hostel, with good facilites and friendly, helpful staff

Disliked: nothing