We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Capital-Inn

Hostel | Sudurhlíd 35d, Reykjavik, Iceland -

76.1% Overall Rating

82 out of 102 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (27/07/2015)

Peter Awad thinks…

"Very cheap! Good place to use as a home base. I really only spent time there when I was sleeping. Wifi worked well and was able to video call home."

Read all The Capital-Inn reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 11.05
  • Towel USD 5.52

What's Included

  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Reykjavik?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Reykjavik

Alba Guesthouse
51.59 USD

Guesthouse 84.0% 65 reviews
Baldursbra Guesthouse
56.08 USD

Guesthouse 96.9% 442 reviews
Bus Hostel Reykjavik
28.41 USD

Hostel 86.3% 94 reviews
Guesthouse Pavi
34.24 USD

Guesthouse 58.3% 138 reviews
Egilsborg guesthouse
44.86 USD

Guesthouse 76.6% 216 reviews
Hlemmur Square
37.39 USD

Hostel 89.4% 107 reviews
Reykjavik Hostel Village
43.08 USD

Hostel 81.4% 4 reviews
Igdlo Guesthouse
35.90 USD

Guesthouse 93.0% 74 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
76.1%

Overall Rating

82 out of 102 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Capital-Inn'

Atmosphere
71.2%
Location
55.2%
Facilities
79.2%
Cleanliness
80.8%
Staff
87.2%
Value
80.8%
Safety
78.4%
Refine your results Showing 82 of 102 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Peter Awad

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 July 2015 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: Very cheap! Good place to use as a home base. I really only spent time there when I was sleeping. Wifi worked well and was able to video call home.

Disliked: Location was a bit out of the center. The bathrooms were a low ratio to beds.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 July 2015

Liked: Nothing, tbh

Disliked: Two men's showers for everybody, two toilets, one of tchem broken.... Between the two showering men there is a.... clear glass window/wall. I know we're all the same, but, hmmmm... I don't want to see another person next to me in the shower washing his junk.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

03 July 2015

Liked: ......

Disliked: Cramped steel bunks like in a 16th century children's home, entrance from a common kitchen where people cook stuff all the time, and right in front there's a pool table, where people play even at 2 am, so you can appreciate the noise. The reception: 1 nice and helpful guy and 1 ignorant, redneck blonde girl - no HI no Thank You, no Bye. The worst hostel imaginable. Moved to the Hostel Village, thankfully they had places available. The Capital experience nearly ruined our Icelandic trip.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jennifer Levenbook

Alone

City break

30 June 2015 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet hostel located away from the city center and partiers. People drawn to staying here were on the whole respectful. / Easily reached by direct-to-hotel bus from KEF airport. I used GrayLine which was $1 cheaper than Flybus at the time, but both serve the hostel. / Super warm duvets. / 10 person room located downstairs which means you don't need a sleep mask during all-sun-all-the-time summer as the room doesn't have much natural light. / Ample electrical outlets so everyone could charge their phone. / Each bed got a key to the room. / Easily marked beds so you could tell which one was yours. / Women's bathroom has 3 separate bathroom pods inside. Each contains a sink, toilet, and shower and can be secured with a door. Hair dryer and mirror located outside of the bathroom pod. / Kitchen facility was excellent for self-catering. / Secure lockers for secure storage, though I never used them.

Disliked: Only three toilets available for women so I did have to wait 5 minutes for someone to finish brushing their teeth or showering so that I could urinate. / !!! The email address listed on the HostelBookers site is inaccurate. The correct email address of the hostel should be info@capitalinn.is !!!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Emma Thomson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 June 2015 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, kitchen to make food, and wifi in rooms.

Disliked: Emma left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Shannon Ringland

With my spouse / partner

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2015

Liked: Cheap and cheerful hostel, rooms as described. Great if you just need somewhere to lay your head at night in Iceland!

Disliked: Location states it's close to amenities and a short distance from centre. In actuality it took 40 minutes to walk into the centre of Reykjavik so be warned. Also the nearest supermarket is at the shopping mall about 15/20 minutes walk away and it's not really on the way to the city centre. By all means, the bus service seems reliable enough but having planned to get around on the cheap, it was a little bit of an inconvenience to get back from town mainly.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

roberto caforio

Alone

Events / festivals
Visiting friends or family

02 September 2014 roberto would recommend this property

Liked: There are lots of facilities.

Disliked: It is a little bit far from downtown, yet in my case it was useful since I was supposed to go to Kopavogur, which was nearby.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ellie Sparke

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 August 2014 Ellie would recommend this property

Liked: Was only here breifly on my way to airport so cant comment much. The showers were big and clean, there was a massive kitchen and a pool table, good wifi. The guy at the desk was super helpful and nice

Disliked: The mattress was a bit soft

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free internet.

Disliked: No one locked the door in the dorm so it was always accessible to everyone, could possible have doors that lock automatically.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really friendly and helpful

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

11 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: has it's own kitchen, it's cheap

Disliked: They wanted to rent me a bike with a flat tire, If you pay a 8-bed room, you stay in a 10-bed room, bad air

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kristi Urry

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 July 2014 Kristi would recommend this property

Liked: This place was really cheap, but still very clean and and well kept. The showers were hot, the beds were warm, and the kitchen facilities were good.

Disliked: The hostel is about a 30 min walk from the town center where everything happens (I believe there is also a bus). This was fine for me, but probably not the place you want to stay if you intend on partying.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jessica kemp

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

25 June 2014 jessica would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly and helpful staff. Everything is very clean, great facilities. Would definitely stay here again. I stayed in a 16 bed room and was expecting the worst after reading reviews on here but it was actually absolutely fine and safe.

Disliked: Nothing but the location is a bit far out from centre. For such a budget hostel it's what to expect though!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoyed the competitive price, which is inclusive of linen and wifi, the two things I needed. Also the staff was really nice and allowed me to sit in the restaurant to watch the World Cup even though I didn't buy anything.

Disliked: Nothing, really. I suppose it could have been closer to downtown, but for me it was perfect because I wanted to go to the BSÍ Bus Terminal, which is close by.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Work / volunteering

23 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: none

Disliked: Bedrooms were too hot.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Monika Pucko

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

31 March 2014 Monika would recommend this property

Liked: For a good experience, you have to book a private room. We had the cheep mixed one, which wasn't that fun. The breakfast looked delicious. But again, that was only included for the private rooms. Otherwise, the hostel looks really nice.

Disliked: DON'T BOOK THE LARGE MIXED ROOM! The bunk beds are stacked next to each other. If you have a backpack on you back, you can't even turn around. The beds were really shaky and old. Didn't have a safe feeling up there.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff are very nice and helpful. Bathroom is clean and large.

Disliked: not enough space in kitchen and dinning room.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping

18 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good price and location

Disliked: they had no lockers for valuable stuff

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 December 2013

Liked: No hidden fees. Easy check in and check out processes. Friendly staff. Very affordable.

Disliked: Smelly room.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Antonio Parra

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

14 November 2013 Antonio would recommend this property

Liked: The best thing is the people. I met like 4 or 5 front desk guys and everyone was just so nice. They gave a little extra every time, just like all icelanders. Also, you can book tours and arrange pickups to the airport and suck with them.

Disliked: It's a bit far from the city center, and I had to walk and take the bus, it took like 20 minutes to get to town.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 September 2013

Liked: The price a bit chesp.

Disliked: 1.The WiFi is unstable. 2.Not convenient to go anywhere or buy anything.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very cheap (10 euro/dorm), free wifi, kitchen (not so clean though, but that's also the responsibility of fellow guests who should do their dishes and clean up after usage), Very big fridge with boxes where you can store your food. Handy place to start or end your trip and have rented a car: next to the road to the airport and free parking.

Disliked: Not the most atmospheric or best hostel I stayed at in Iceland but for 10 euro/night I can't complain.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hannah Hill

Alone

Work / volunteering

29 September 2013 Hannah would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was excellent. The food is great, the staff are extremely friendly, and the facilities on offer are in excellent condition. A warning about the reviews: While it is true that the hostel is out of the way, it is not impossible to reach the heart of Reykjavik with relative ease. There's a bus station just a short walk towards the Perlan building, and for 350kr. you can get into town on line 18, no problem. If you can't be bothered, there's a gas station with a subway five minutes away, for the hungry.

Disliked: Hannah left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

johnny maes

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

27 September 2013 johnny would recommend this property

Liked: it was the cheapest place in Reykjavic, even in whole of Iceland

Disliked: we were promised beds in a 12 person bedroom, but there were 16 people sleeping in as many beds

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Danielle Lemire

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 August 2013 Danielle would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff and a great place to meet other travellers staying at Capital Inn.

Disliked: Too far from the Center! Super inconvenient.