HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Reykjavik Backpackers

Hostel | Laugavegur 28, Reykjavik, Iceland 101

84.2% Overall Rating

188 out of 206 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (06/10/2014)

"Fantastic location, right in the heart of Reykjavik. Great place to stay if doing Iceland on a budget. Rooms were really good value (at least in the Winter season), cheap supermarkets nearby and next door to one of the…"

Read all Reykjavik Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 19.87
  • Breakfast USD 9.02
  • Linen USD 9.02
  • Towel USD 2.40

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Reykjavik?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Reykjavik

Grettir Guesthouse
40.48 USD

Guesthouse 76.0% 13 reviews
Abode
49.66 USD

Apartment 92.1% 4 reviews
Loki 101 guesthouse
74.50 USD

Guesthouse 81.9% 3 reviews
Thor Guesthouse
54.08 USD

Guesthouse 89.1% 45 reviews
Heidashome Center
62.08 USD

Guesthouse 90.7% 29 reviews
Aurora Guesthouse
28.97 USD

Guesthouse 91.2% 165 reviews
Abode Little
66.22 USD

Apartment 94.6% 9 reviews
Guesthouse Odinn
37.95 USD

Guesthouse 95.1% 29 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.2%

Overall Rating

188 out of 206 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Reykjavik Backpackers'

Atmosphere
84.8%
Location
99.2%
Facilities
72.8%
Cleanliness
79.2%
Staff
91.2%
Value
78.4%
Safety
84.0%
Refine your results Showing 165 of 200 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location, right in the heart of Reykjavik. Great place to stay if doing Iceland on a budget. Rooms were really good value (at least in the Winter season), cheap supermarkets nearby and next door to one of the best bars in the city. Beds really comforatble, rooms very warm. Really efficient central heating. We stayed in both dorms and private rooms, good experience of both. Can be noisy at weekends if you are on the 2nd or 3rd floor due to the bar below but this was not a problem for us at all. They supply ear plugs if you need them, but it is much more fun to go and join in! If you are tired from being out all day then you should not have any problems. It is a very basic hostel, so if all you want is a comfy bed, somewhere to make a cup of tea and cook a bit of food then it is ideal. The double room was blissfully quiet as it was in a seperate building.

Disliked: Only real downside is there is one kitchen for the whole building which is on the top floor. It is well equiped with cooker, microwave etc but fairly small. However as we were there at a quiet time it was not ever and issue. Only one toilet and one shower on our floor, not sure what it is like on the others. Water always reallly hot though. Only other thing is that there is no seperate entrance from the public bar up to the hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

City break

11 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: all

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Christina Delapaz

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

31 August 2014 Christina would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, helpful staff and central location.

Disliked: Only one shower and one toilet on 4th floor for private rooms. Noise from bars and parties from street can carry, but they provide ear plugs. May need more than one staff at reception, as you can be waiting for awhile for lots of people to check in for one question. Need larger luggage storage- with a 2pm check in and early arriving flights, gets too crowded.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: room door was difficult to open

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Tom Walker

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 August 2014 Tom would recommend this property

Liked: we booked a 4 bed dorm for 3 people. I'd been told they didn't have triples available though it turns out they did. I booked the reservation last year when it was at a much lower price. Beds worked out at less than £18 each - they're probably worth that but no more. When I queried about changing to a triple on establishing that there were some available I was told they were almost double in price, so we stuck with what were originally booked. The hostel was clean, had a nice bar with happy hour drinks, very central and not far from a church which offered free parking

Disliked: as detailed above it would have been preferable to have a triple and not have to pay for a bed that wasn't going to get used.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

soomi jin

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2014

Liked: I can choose my bed in a room.

Disliked: I cant use wifi in a room It was very very uncomfortable. you can use only on lobby.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Restrooms and Bathrooms are just right across the rooms. Very convenient. Also lamps for each bunk. Handy!

Disliked: Noise? But earplugs are provided.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Very noisy!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Mark Dale

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 August 2014 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: The location is very central and the bar below is very pleasant

Disliked: Tended to be quite cold at night and there is a lot of noise on Saturday nights

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location!

Disliked: It was changed into a bar. So it does not concentrate to serve hostel guests. The toilet was mostly dirty.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff and atmosphere! And very cheap!

Disliked: The kitchen was a bit small

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: wonderful location. very clean showers.

Disliked: the staff were helpful but a little underinformed--- they didn't know anything about bicycling in reykjavík , for instance, and gave the wrong bus information to me once

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable bed, good facilities, awesome location, friendly staff.

Disliked: Wifi only on the ground floor but that's not a big deal.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

james Lewis

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 May 2014 james would recommend this property

Liked: Having stayed in travelodges and premier inns I look forward to a friendly hostel where staff look like they enjoy their jobs and go out of their way to make you feel welcome and ready to help and advise

Disliked: Nothing to be honest.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

finn boonman

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 May 2014 finn would recommend this property

Liked: clean, really in the middle of the centre of reykjavik, good staff, good beds

Disliked: i would recommend them to do more activities like a pubcrawl or something

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sita alexander

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 May 2014 sita would recommend this property

Liked: really friendly staff, great location

Disliked: sita left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Zack Brittingham

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 May 2014 Zack would recommend this property

Liked: There was free wi-fi provided, although it was very spotty. It was located on the Main Street in Reykjavik so it was very close to anything you wanted to see. Our room wasn't ready when we got there but we were able to store our bags in a locked closet which was nice. Staff as very helpful about fixing problems with payment and catching a bus to the airport.

Disliked: They were under construction the week we arrived, and we were not told about it ahead of time. We had to use a back alleyway entrance instead of the main entrance, the wifi was spotty, there was no hot water for a significant portion of our stay which made it impossible to shower, and there was no breakfast provided in the morning as the construction affected the whole facility. To be honest I was surprised to see that they were still allowing guests to stay in the hostel during construction as it was fairly significant. I'm sure everything would be fixed the next week, as they were saying they were supposed to be finished by Friday.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location was excellent, staff friendly

Disliked: n/a

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

William Phillips

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 April 2014 William would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff and a nice location. The kitchen is handy and the showers are great, very hot! The wifi is strong and there are lots of small lounges. Rooms are surprisingly clean and quiet when I stayed.

Disliked: No breakfast when I stayed, and they charge like $12 dollars for blanket rental!

The property's response is...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Aldea Eugen

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2014

Liked: Location

Disliked: They charge you for everithing in there...the rooms are small and its very noisy

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Oliver Carrington

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 February 2014 Oliver would recommend this property

Liked: Safe with automatically locking doors (which can be annoying however), very warm and probably the cleanest hostel I've ever been to. Earplugs to assist with sleeping among snorers and music from the bar below.

Disliked: No kitchen

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and nice people

Disliked: You had to pay for blankets

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, comfort, cleanliness

Disliked: Wifi isn't hostel wide. All keys open all doors.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

04 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to book, very central to Reykjavik, helpful staff, good bar.

Disliked: Not obvious to find at street level unless you look up! Kitchen facilities basic and a bit small for the size of the hostel. Could have done with a few more mugs etc!

The property's response is...