HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Reykjavik Backpackers

Hostel | Laugavegur 28, Reykjavik, Iceland 101

86.7% Overall Rating

175 out of 191 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/05/2014)

james Lewis thinks…

"Having stayed in travelodges and premier inns I look forward to a friendly hostel where staff look like they enjoy their jobs and go out of their way to make you feel welcome and ready to help and…"

Read all Reykjavik Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 20.79
  • Breakfast USD 9.44
  • Linen USD 9.44
  • Towel USD 2.51

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Reykjavik?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Reykjavik

Grettir Guesthouse
52.36 USD

Guesthouse 79.0% 11 reviews
Abode
51.97 USD

Apartment 92.1% 4 reviews
Loki 101 guesthouse
77.96 USD

Guesthouse 81.9% 3 reviews
Thor Guesthouse
69.29 USD

Guesthouse 89.1% 45 reviews
Heidashome Center
64.96 USD

Guesthouse 91.1% 25 reviews
Aurora Guesthouse
51.97 USD

Guesthouse 91.2% 164 reviews
Abode Little
69.29 USD

Apartment 93.9% 7 reviews
Guesthouse Odinn
52.36 USD

Guesthouse 93.9% 22 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.7%

Overall Rating

175 out of 191 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Reykjavik Backpackers'

Atmosphere
87.2%
Location
99.2%
Facilities
77.6%
Cleanliness
84.8%
Staff
88.8%
Value
86.4%
Safety
83.2%
Refine your results Showing 155 of 185 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff and atmosphere! And very cheap!

Disliked: The kitchen was a bit small

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: wonderful location. very clean showers.

Disliked: the staff were helpful but a little underinformed--- they didn't know anything about bicycling in reykjavík , for instance, and gave the wrong bus information to me once

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable bed, good facilities, awesome location, friendly staff.

Disliked: Wifi only on the ground floor but that's not a big deal.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

james Lewis

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 May 2014 james would recommend this property

Liked: Having stayed in travelodges and premier inns I look forward to a friendly hostel where staff look like they enjoy their jobs and go out of their way to make you feel welcome and ready to help and advise

Disliked: Nothing to be honest.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

finn boonman

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 May 2014 finn would recommend this property

Liked: clean, really in the middle of the centre of reykjavik, good staff, good beds

Disliked: i would recommend them to do more activities like a pubcrawl or something

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sita alexander

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 May 2014 sita would recommend this property

Liked: really friendly staff, great location

Disliked: sita left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Zack Brittingham

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 May 2014 Zack would recommend this property

Liked: There was free wi-fi provided, although it was very spotty. It was located on the Main Street in Reykjavik so it was very close to anything you wanted to see. Our room wasn't ready when we got there but we were able to store our bags in a locked closet which was nice. Staff as very helpful about fixing problems with payment and catching a bus to the airport.

Disliked: They were under construction the week we arrived, and we were not told about it ahead of time. We had to use a back alleyway entrance instead of the main entrance, the wifi was spotty, there was no hot water for a significant portion of our stay which made it impossible to shower, and there was no breakfast provided in the morning as the construction affected the whole facility. To be honest I was surprised to see that they were still allowing guests to stay in the hostel during construction as it was fairly significant. I'm sure everything would be fixed the next week, as they were saying they were supposed to be finished by Friday.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location was excellent, staff friendly

Disliked: n/a

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

William Phillips

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 April 2014 William would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff and a nice location. The kitchen is handy and the showers are great, very hot! The wifi is strong and there are lots of small lounges. Rooms are surprisingly clean and quiet when I stayed.

Disliked: No breakfast when I stayed, and they charge like $12 dollars for blanket rental!

The property's response is...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Aldea Eugen

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2014

Liked: Location

Disliked: They charge you for everithing in there...the rooms are small and its very noisy

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Oliver Carrington

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 February 2014 Oliver would recommend this property

Liked: Safe with automatically locking doors (which can be annoying however), very warm and probably the cleanest hostel I've ever been to. Earplugs to assist with sleeping among snorers and music from the bar below.

Disliked: No kitchen

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and nice people

Disliked: You had to pay for blankets

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, comfort, cleanliness

Disliked: Wifi isn't hostel wide. All keys open all doors.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

04 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to book, very central to Reykjavik, helpful staff, good bar.

Disliked: Not obvious to find at street level unless you look up! Kitchen facilities basic and a bit small for the size of the hostel. Could have done with a few more mugs etc!

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

David Burns

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 October 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: Very relaxed, quite and enjoyable.

Disliked: No access to kitchen facilities.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything.

Disliked: Nothing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Samuel pomfret

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 October 2013 Samuel would recommend this property

Liked: Very central, clean, constant hot water, kitchen is well equipped! And cheap

Disliked: Needs a desktop pc and also wi-fi on the upper floors. A tv area would be good.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

JAMES MATTHEWS

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

22 September 2013 JAMES would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent hostel. Really friendly and helpful staff. Very clean and secure with swipe card room access. Location is very good, right in the centre of town. Good bar with 2 for 1 happy hour on beer every day from 4 - 6pm. Highly recommended.

Disliked: JAMES left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 24 hour reception was really good, they were also very helpful Location was brilliant

Disliked: Nothing really

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Ting-Kai Chang

Alone

City break

08 September 2013 Ting-Kai would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great, just at the high street of town centre, feels really energising and young. The bar was great, too!

Disliked: The staff was very friendly to me, however he told me incorrect time to get the bus to the airport. Fortunately he made it up and I finally got the bus to the airport.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was incredibly helpful and friendly, they offered a wide variety of activities that you could easily book through the hostel, and it's central location made it easy to get to every place we wanted to go.

Disliked: I wish they would have had a printer we could use and a washing machine and dryer, but that's it.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Danwei Zhang

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 July 2013 Danwei would recommend this property

Liked: location and staff

Disliked: there is some construction on the road, so the buses cannot stop directly in from of the hostel. I think that's why the rooms are cheaper right now. you have to make sure where the buses stop with the tour operators, because buses from different companies stop at different places, and the staff only knows the stop of their partners.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Thomas Wilson

With my spouse / partner

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 July 2013 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: It location is very central and the bar downstairs is a good place to hang out, get breakfast or a drink in the evening. The staff were really friendly and helpful with advise on places to go and organising tours etc.

Disliked: for the price you pay its a little bit scruffy, badly finished bathrooms etc. Its almost like its trying to be a grotty hostel. I wouldnt mind but its expensive for a hostel regardless of the country and as such i'd expect a standard that justifies the price. The noise from outside is a bit of an issue, but they do offer ear plugs.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, helpful staff

Disliked: kitchen not well equipped and very small