HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Fithostel Keflavik

Hostel

Fitjabraut 6b, Reykjanesbr, Reykjanes, Keflavik, Keflavik, Iceland

Atmosphere 66%

Cleanliness 80%

Facilities 75%

Location 74%

Safety 75%

Staff 75%

Value 70%

Facilities

  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Common Room
  • Free Parking
  • Hot Showers
  • Hot Tub
  • Internet Access
  • Luggage Storage
  • Parking
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Vending Machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Linen 8.50USD
  • Towel 1.70USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Keflavik?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 66%

Cleanliness 80%

Facilities 75%

Location 74%

Safety 75%

Staff 75%

Value 70%

Showing 1-10 of 12 reviews

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great place to crash during an over night stopover that is both affordable and close to the airport. Great kitchen facilities, spacious dorm rooms, and friendly helpfull staff.

Disliked: The only way to get there is by Cab, which cost me 2500 krona. Ideally you want to be in a group or share a cab with others staying in Keflavik for the night.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The price was good

Customer would recommend this property

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location was good and inside seemed to be pretty clean. Room was a good size and kitchen well stocked.

Disliked: Very unsafe building, parking lot is in gravel and room windows didn't close or lock. ALso, the front desk is not manned early in the morning (08h30) or late afternoon. Tried calling the number in the reception many times, no answer. Finally I returned many hours later to get my room.

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very clean, rooms are bright and roomy, not too many beds in them, very generous in using everything, PC , TV, Internet...very friendly staff!!!

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Work / volunteering

Liked: It is really nice and comfortable with lots of facilities such as kitchen, huge tv and breakfast hall, internet computers and friendliness.

Disliked: The location is a little bit isolated but close to Keflavik airport.

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The beds were comfy (although no linen provided unless you paid extra) and the place was general quite clean.

Disliked: Staff weren't the friendliest and there was no one for after hours reception - just a phone to call someone. The location is very out of the way, with not any shops or restaurants around so you need to make your own food.

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Well furnished, spacious and comfortable.

Disliked: There was no customer service, I had a limited conversation with the owner on the phone. He checked me in over the phone afterwards directing me to a box in which the key for my room was in. There was a language barrier which made direction difficult and though there was plenty of useful notes in the reception lobby I was unable to discuss or reference tour/town/hostel info with the man. My visit was brief and so time was of importance. The pamphlet in regards to hostel airport transfers was out of date, this was explained to me by the lady in the tourist information office. And last of all there is a message by the side of the communal computer more or less asking people not to write negative reviews as he goes on to justify the guest experience as being relative to the low cost price. I stayed in a hostel in Reykjavik, in comparison the staff and facilities were of a much higher standard and in relation to price I paid less.

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: lovely people, safe welcoming environment. Much better on the inside than the outside!

Disliked: Only really worthwhile if you have a reason to be in Keflavik. It's not ideally located as Reykjavik offers far more in terms of culture/nightlife/atmosphere.

Customer would recommend this property

40% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
40% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Bed was comfy.

Disliked: Internet hardly worked.Nobody at reception and even got woken up and had to check another traveller in and give him his keys myself.The hostel was never locked and we weren't allowed to lock any doors. To far away from any shops.

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: The hostel is three separate buildings is on the main road from Rekjavik to Keflavik. I had chosen the hostel as I had an early flight from Keflavik. The hostel has excellent facilities, satellite TV, free use of computers and wi-fi. Each building has a well equipped kitchen, and so this is a good place to meet other guests, share meals. As many people use the hostel for the airport, there is a sheet on the reception notice board, which gives guests to offer the sharing of taxis.

Disliked: There was no receptionist at the hostel, but there was a telephone to speak to him. Again linen and towels cost extra. I think this is common in Iceland.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability