HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in Budapest, Hungary

99.5%
11 reviews Book Now 
1

Penthouse Privates

Hostel
Kiraly utca 56, 4/1, Budapest, Hungary 1068

11 out of 11 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Penthouse Privates

Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 98%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 98%
Marc Edmonds
With my spouse / partner
City break, Partying / nightlife
100.0%
Marc would recommend this property 31 March 2014

Our stay at Penthouse was everything you could ever ask for. Easily the best hostel I have stayed in anywhere in the world to date. Our room was spacious and we just loved the funky decor it had going on. Overall, the hostel had all the communal facilities you would ever require to keep yourself entertained, which were all well maintained and kept spotless at all times. The location of the hostel was also fantastic and no sight or attraction seemed all that far away. Hawaii and Andy who were running the show over the duration of our stay were both super friendly and always willing to share their vast knowledge of the city, really helping us get the most out of our trip. If going out partying is your kind of thing, some great nights out were organised through the hostel at venues around the city. If not, the atmosphere at the hostel was lovely and peaceful, perfect for unwinding after a busy day of adventuring around the city. I would whole heartedly recommend Penthouse Privates to anyone heading to Budapest, it really is a great place.

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 10 February 2014

It's exactly as the reviews suggest - great staff with fantastic local knowledge make for a no-fuss stay.

99.3%
8 reviews Book Now 
2

Danube Corso Apartment

Apartment
Aranykéz u. 6. 6/48, Budapest, Hungary 1052

8 out of 8 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Danube Corso Apartment

Atmosphere - 97% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 97% Value - 100%
Customer review
With my spouse / partner
City break, Partying / nightlife, Romantic getaway
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 30 March 2014

the location was amazing, Katalin was very nice & helpful, the apartment was very clean & had everything you need: AC, a nice litlle kitchen with all the dishes, A washing machine, an iron.... everything. we enjoyed it very much. great value for money.

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
City break, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 06 October 2013

Great apartment - nice room with full kitchen, good bathroom/ shower and included a washing machine. Very friendly owner. Great location in the central city

98.6%
20 reviews Book Now 
3

Sexy tractor Hostel

Hostel
Podmaniczky u 14, Budapest, Hungary 1062

20 out of 20 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Sexy tractor Hostel

Atmosphere - 99% Staff - 100% Facilities - 98% Safety - 99%
Location - 98% Cleanliness - 98% Value - 98%
AFIQ RASHID
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year
91.4%
AFIQ would recommend this property 15 April 2014

The staff were friendly and they speak really good english! They know good clubs with good themes etc.

Dale Horsburgh
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Dale would recommend this property 04 April 2014

Really amazing place to stay, the staff create a great atmosphere and are so friendly. Great value right in the center of Budapest. Made me feel right at home from day 1. Large kitchen and comfortable beds, clean. Excellent place to meet people.

98.4%
75 reviews Book Now 
4

Carpe Noctem (original)

Hostel
Szobi utca 5, Floor 3 / 8a, Budapest, Hungary 000

72 out of 75 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Carpe Noctem (original)

Atmosphere - 99% Staff - 98% Facilities - 97% Safety - 99%
Location - 97% Cleanliness - 98% Value - 98%
Aidan Mcculloch
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Aidan would recommend this property 01 April 2014

Where do I start. I could live here. When I was booking I was a tad nervous since they don't offer breakfast, but every night they offer a huge portion of a home cooked meal for 700 huf! Breakfast stuff can be grabbed at the store for the morning if you want it. The staff here are fellow partiers, but take great care of the place. I will be back. I extended my stay to 8 nights, and loved every day and every night. Best place I've stayed as a solo traveler. Overall it was more like living in a sitcom like friends then a hostel. Get your ass in this place!

pablo morales
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
pablo would recommend this property 31 March 2014

Like staying in a friend's house. Everybody is friendly and talk to each other, the staff take you out everynight to have fun and are always willing to help you, I really hope I can go back to Budapest and if I do I'll definitely go to Carpe Noctem.

98.4%
114 reviews Book Now 
5

Downtown Oasis Private Rooms

Hostel
24. Karoly Korut, 4th floor, Doorbell 18, Budapest, Hungary 1052

113 out of 114 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Downtown Oasis Private Rooms

Atmosphere - 98% Staff - 100% Facilities - 94% Safety - 96%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 99% Value - 100%
Alberto Carignano
With friends / other travellers
Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
Alberto would recommend this property 30 March 2014

We really liked the hostel: great location, very friendly and useful staff, very big room. Incredible value for money!

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture
91.4%
Customer would recommend this property 31 October 2013

Great living arrangements and very secure. Very comfortable rooms with high ceilings and very clean environment. Never overcrowded as it is a smaller Hostel with only 3 total rooms.

98.3%
399 reviews Book Now 
6

Njoy Budapest Hostel & Apartment

Hostel
Rákóczi út 9., Budapest, Hungary 1088

396 out of 399 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Njoy Budapest Hostel & Apartment

Atmosphere - 99% Staff - 99% Facilities - 96% Safety - 97%
Location - 99% Cleanliness - 96% Value - 100%
Mustafa Anil Gungor
Alone
City break, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Mustafa Anil would recommend this property 16 April 2014

everything was just awesome! room was so big and comfy. location was so good that everywhere is reachable easily. the staff, David, Bence, Kinga, and the others, were so nice and helpful. hope to stay here again soon!

Sam Noon
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
82.9%
Sam would recommend this property 26 March 2014

The breakfast on offer was great also good social place to meet and talk in the kitchen very communal. Most of the staff were really friendly and helpful and the hostel is pretty well located for bars and sightseeing. One night a wk they cook a dinner I missed that night but supposedly its good and free.

97.9%
282 reviews Book Now 
7

Lavender Circus Hostel and Apartments

Hostel
Múzeum Krt. 37, V. kerület, Budapest, Hungary 1054

277 out of 282 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Lavender Circus Hostel and Apartments

Atmosphere - 98% Staff - 99% Facilities - 92% Safety - 100%
Location - 96% Cleanliness - 98% Value - 100%
Annabella Wong
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Annabella would recommend this property 14 January 2014

The best hostel I have ever stayed in! The staff is extremely nice, she helped us to plan our trip in Budapest. The design and the decorations of the hostel are simply prefect. I stayed there in my birthday and the hostel staff played a song with the piano for me! That is very sweet!

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Partying / nightlife, Relaxation/spa, Romantic getaway
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 26 November 2013

I don't know for traveling alone or big group of friends, but this place is just perfect for a couple!! The staff is so nice and helpful, and the location is very good too. One of the best hostels I've ever been, for a very good price.

97.7%
5 reviews Book Now 
8

Green Elephant

Hostel
Rákóczi út. 6. ground floor 7, Budapest, Hungary 1072

5 out of 5 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Green Elephant

Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 92% Safety - 92%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%
Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 07 January 2014

Great location very close to the city center and metro lines. Petra is very helpful and friendly. Rooms and bathrooms were super clean. Highly recommended.

Ubul Kaa
Alone
Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
100.0%
Ubul would recommend this property 30 July 2013

Green Elephant is an extra tidy, super friendly small and familiar resort in the heart of Budapest. Staff is extremely friendly. I have to name Petra, who is a vivid, kind personality, totally focusing on our needs and knowing how to keep the vibe. She's got plenty of information on where to go out for a party or eating out. All I can do is to offer this place for people who want to stay for a few days at a warm and friendly dorm in Budapest.

97.5%
107 reviews Book Now 
9

Zen Guesthouse

Hostel
Paulay Ede utca 18, 1st floor 4, Doorbell 114, Budapest, Hungary 1061

106 out of 107 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Zen Guesthouse

Atmosphere - 94% Staff - 100% Facilities - 95% Safety - 97%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 96% Value - 98%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture
88.6%
Customer would recommend this property 01 April 2014

Very friendly and helpful staff, great location. Facilities are decent, kitchen, good wifi, the basics all there. I like that the dorm has a couch and table.

Renee Chen
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, City break
100.0%
Renee would recommend this property 16 March 2014

The location was extremely convenient and Immi the owner of the hostel was very friendly and helpful. It is a great value hostel for those who aren't looking to stay in a party hostel.

97.4%
11 reviews Book Now 
10

Live! Hostel

Hostel
Rákóczi út 27/b., Budapest, Hungary 1088

11 out of 11 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Live! Hostel

Atmosphere - 98% Staff - 100% Facilities - 96% Safety - 100%
Location - 90% Cleanliness - 96% Value - 100%
Shin Lyn Teo
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year
94.3%
Shin Lyn would recommend this property 09 July 2013

David welcome is and is very helpful and friendly by recommending places and cheap local Hungarian food to us. Great location !

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Business / conference
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 09 April 2013

Central location, they just opened so everything is brand new! They recommended a nice restaurant for dinner and I also got a small present from them as being one of their first guests :) Nice guys!

Budapest

238 Hostels from 5.63 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated Budapest hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Budapest. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.

No booking fees

The only major hostel booking site that doesn't charge a booking fee.

Guide to Budapest

Guide to Find our best travel tips, advice and inspiration on what to do and where to stay in our guide to Budapest. Discover how to travel on a budget and don’t forget to check the weather before you go!

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Budapest?

Monthly Newsletter

 
Please enter valid email address
Check out this month's newsletter