HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/07/2015
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/07/2015
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in Budapest, Hungary

100.0%
13 reviews Book Now 
1

Tailor & White

Hostel
11 Népszínház utca, Budapest, Hungary 1081

13 out of 13 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Tailor & White

Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 19 July 2014

I'm happy I found this special place in Budapest. It truely feels like staying with friends in an amazing apartment with great, helpfull staff. The main sights are close by, public transportation and eating oportunities just around the corner. And I can't stress enough how comfortable I felt hangimg out there after a long day of sight seeing / long party night. I would always go there again!

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 11 July 2014

Coffee and teas were amazing. Simon has something really special going on here, the place feels like a home of like minded people. The hospitality and attention to detail is something I have never seen in a hostel before. Only stayed for one night but stayed up till 5am drinking on the candlelit balcony.

99.6%
14 reviews Book Now 
2

Penthouse Privates

Hostel
Kiraly utca 56, 4/1, Budapest, Hungary 1068

14 out of 14 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Penthouse Privates

Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 98%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 98%
Caley Campbell
With friends / other travellers
City break, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Caley would recommend this property 10 June 2014

The location is amazing! We stayed in the private apartment which was luxury for backpackers and very good value for money. The staff were very helpfull and informative and always smiling.

Marc Edmonds
With my spouse / partner
City break, Partying / nightlife
100.0%
Marc would recommend this property 31 March 2014

Our stay at Penthouse was everything you could ever ask for. Easily the best hostel I have stayed in anywhere in the world to date. Our room was spacious and we just loved the funky decor it had going on. Overall, the hostel had all the communal facilities you would ever require to keep yourself entertained, which were all well maintained and kept spotless at all times. The location of the hostel was also fantastic and no sight or attraction seemed all that far away. Hawaii and Andy who were running the show over the duration of our stay were both super friendly and always willing to share their vast knowledge of the city, really helping us get the most out of our trip. If going out partying is your kind of thing, some great nights out were organised through the hostel at venues around the city. If not, the atmosphere at the hostel was lovely and peaceful, perfect for unwinding after a busy day of adventuring around the city. I would whole heartedly recommend Penthouse Privates to anyone heading to Budapest, it really is a great place.

99.4%
9 reviews Book Now 
3

Danube Corso Apartment

Apartment
Aranykéz u. 6. 6/48, Budapest, Hungary 1052

9 out of 9 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Danube Corso Apartment

Atmosphere - 97% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 97% Value - 100%
Christian Penchev
With friends / other travellers
Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Shopping
100.0%
Christian would recommend this property 28 May 2014

It had everything you could need. Clean bathroom a little kitchen, dishes, glasses,Air conditioning, fast wi-fi, a comfortable bed and chairs. Katlin was very nice and her husband too, because our bus back was in the evening they let us check out a little bit later. She prepared all the documentation needed you just sign 2 papers and the apartment is yours for the booking period. The location is absolutely awesome, you go out of the building turn left on the nearest corner you take a right and you are on Vaci utca that is the central street in Pest. She even left us a Milkyway on our pillows, and gave us a ton of tourist maps. God bless you Mrs. Bekò I will be back one day and the first place Im gonna look for is yours!

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
City break, Partying / nightlife, Romantic getaway
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 30 March 2014

the location was amazing, Katalin was very nice & helpful, the apartment was very clean & had everything you need: AC, a nice litlle kitchen with all the dishes, A washing machine, an iron.... everything. we enjoyed it very much. great value for money.

99.3%
4 reviews Book Now 
4

Best Choice Hostel

Hostel
Váci street 23, 2nd floor 5, Budapest, Hungary 1052

4 out of 4 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Best Choice Hostel

Atmosphere - 95% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%
Customer review
Alone
Visiting friends or family
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 30 June 2014

Perfect in every way! Great rooms, friendly staff, good location. A great place, especially for the money.

Taja Tadeja Rampih
With my spouse / partner
City break
97.1%
Taja Tadeja would recommend this property 28 June 2014

We stayed in single room, great location, view on the main street, friendly host.

98.6%
83 reviews Book Now 
5

Carpe Noctem (original)

Hostel
Szobi utca 5, Floor 3 / 8a, Budapest, Hungary 000

80 out of 83 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Carpe Noctem (original)

Atmosphere - 99% Staff - 98% Facilities - 98% Safety - 100%
Location - 98% Cleanliness - 97% Value - 98%
Nicole Tamsett
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife
100.0%
Nicole would recommend this property 27 June 2014

Everything! Hostel organizes something every night. Staff helpful & show u where everything is. Full kitchen. In the centre of the city.

Megan Woodford
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Megan would recommend this property 04 May 2014

The staff are AMAZING. It's a group of young people who live in their own section on of the hostel, so someone is always available to help. It's in a great location. Although there are a ton of partying events, people usually go out by 8:30pm and there's a quite policy after 10, so if you want to stay in you can. If you go out, they have sister hostels like Retox where you can go party. Almost all of their facilities are free, except laundry. The staff have a ton of suggestions for stuff to do around the city. Really, it's just an amazing hostel, that isn't too large, so it has a sense of family away from home.

98.3%
115 reviews Book Now 
6

Downtown Oasis Private Rooms

Hostel
24. Karoly Korut, 4th floor, Doorbell 18, Budapest, Hungary 1052

114 out of 115 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Downtown Oasis Private Rooms

Atmosphere - 98% Staff - 100% Facilities - 95% Safety - 96%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 97% Value - 100%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
City break
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 28 May 2014

The apartment is really beautiful and nicely furnished! It's located right in the centre, so everything's in walking distance! We also felt really safe, as there are a lot of doors and locks on your way to the apartment and the "receptionist" gave us a warm welcome and a lot of useful tips.

Alberto Carignano
With friends / other travellers
Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
Alberto would recommend this property 30 March 2014

We really liked the hostel: great location, very friendly and useful staff, very big room. Incredible value for money!

98.1%
284 reviews Book Now 
7

Lavender Circus Hostel and Apartments

Hostel
Múzeum Krt. 37, V. kerület, Budapest, Hungary 1054

279 out of 284 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Lavender Circus Hostel and Apartments

Atmosphere - 98% Staff - 99% Facilities - 93% Safety - 100%
Location - 96% Cleanliness - 98% Value - 100%
Danielle Nolan
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, City break
97.1%
Danielle would recommend this property 11 July 2014

Beautiful hostel in Budapest, very quirky, beds a bit hard but you can get over that. Staff are very very friendly and always happy to help you and very informative about the city. Loved Budapest loved staying at lavender circus, considering coming back on our travels

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 15 May 2014

The hostels interior decorations were very interesting and never ceased to impress. It was the most homey feeling hostel we have stayed at and we always enjoyed coming back to the hostel after a long day to just chit chat and have tea or coffee in the company of other hostel mates and the workers.

97.7%
5 reviews Book Now 
8

Green Elephant

Hostel
Rákóczi út. 6. ground floor 7, Budapest, Hungary 1072

5 out of 5 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Green Elephant

Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 92% Safety - 92%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%
Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 07 January 2014

Great location very close to the city center and metro lines. Petra is very helpful and friendly. Rooms and bathrooms were super clean. Highly recommended.

Ubul Kaa
Alone
Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
100.0%
Ubul would recommend this property 30 July 2013

Green Elephant is an extra tidy, super friendly small and familiar resort in the heart of Budapest. Staff is extremely friendly. I have to name Petra, who is a vivid, kind personality, totally focusing on our needs and knowing how to keep the vibe. She's got plenty of information on where to go out for a party or eating out. All I can do is to offer this place for people who want to stay for a few days at a warm and friendly dorm in Budapest.

96.9%
121 reviews Book Now 
9

Zen Guesthouse

Hostel
Paulay Ede utca 18, 1st floor 4, Doorbell 114, Budapest, Hungary 1061

120 out of 121 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Zen Guesthouse

Atmosphere - 94% Staff - 98% Facilities - 94% Safety - 96%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 96% Value - 99%
Yogesh Aher
With my spouse / partner
Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Yogesh would recommend this property 26 June 2014

The manager is extremely friendly, helpful, kind and supportive. He even gave us free-coupons (worth of 1700 HUF) of Palinka to be used in an adjuscent traditional Hungarian restaurant! The location is awesome, just some foot-steps away from the city-centre!! Extremely secure with codes and locks at the entrace. Highly recommendable!!!

Chi Wuen Yau
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Chi Wuen would recommend this property 28 May 2014

The location is excellent. My clean bathroom and bed. Staff members are friendly and helpful. It's the best hostel I have ever stayed.

96.8%
707 reviews Book Now 
10

Maverick Hostel & Ensuites

Hostel
1051 Budapest, Ferenciek tere 2, Budapest, Hungary 1051

689 out of 707 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Maverick Hostel & Ensuites

Atmosphere - 96% Staff - 96% Facilities - 98% Safety - 98%
Location - 96% Cleanliness - 95% Value - 96%
Customer review
Alone
Business / conference, City break, Relaxation/spa
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 11 June 2014

One of the best hostels I've stayed at, insofar as I could surmise from one night's stay. Clean, lots of character, friendly staff, good price, great location...no complaints at all!

Jessie Cartwright
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Jessie would recommend this property 03 March 2014

Maverick is amazing!! Great location and staff are very lovely and helpful!! the hotel building is super old but is really nice! We loved it here

Budapest

238 Hostels from 5.03 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated Budapest hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Budapest. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.

No booking fees

The only major hostel booking site that doesn't charge a booking fee.

Guide to Budapest

Guide to Find our best travel tips, advice and inspiration on what to do and where to stay in our guide to Budapest. Discover how to travel on a budget and don’t forget to check the weather before you go!

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Budapest?

Monthly Newsletter

 
Please enter valid email address
Check out this month's newsletter