HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Top Rated Hostels in Budapest, Hungary

GoodMo House 100%

1. GoodMo House

Hostel
Jozsef utca 13

Atmosphere 95%

Cleanliness 100%

Facilities 100%

Location 100%

Safety 100%

Staff 100%

Value 100%

18 out of 18 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend GoodMo House

02 Apr 2016 97%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Relaxation / spa
Age Range: 25-30

would recommend this property

01 Apr 2016 100%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Shopping
Age Range: 25-30

would recommend this property

Read all GoodMo House reviews
Downtown Oasis 98%

2. Downtown Oasis

Hostel
Budapest, Karoly krt. 24.

Atmosphere 99%

Cleanliness 97%

Facilities 95%

Location 100%

Safety 98%

Staff 100%

Value 100%

34 out of 35 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Downtown Oasis

25 Sep 2015 100%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: City break Sightseeing & culture

It was more like an apartment than a hostel, very homely, comfortable ans clean

would recommend this property

21 Sep 2015 97%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: Partying / nightlife Sightseeing & culture

I really liked the location and atmosphere at the hostel.

would recommend this property

Read all Downtown Oasis reviews
Best Choice Hostel 99%

3. Best Choice Hostel

Hostel
Váci street 23. 2nd floor 5., Váci street 23. 2nd floor 5.

Atmosphere 96%

Cleanliness 99%

Facilities 94%

Location 100%

Safety 99%

Staff 100%

Value 99%

16 out of 16 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Best Choice Hostel

14 Apr 2016 100%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year Partying / nightlife Relaxation / spa Sightseeing & culture
Age Range: 18-24

very clean hostel, the best location and the staff is extremely helpful and polite

would recommend this property

20 Mar 2016 100%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: City break Sightseeing & culture
Age Range: 18-24

Everything:) Huge, clean and nicely decorated room in the city centre, friendly and helpful staff, very good value for money!

would recommend this property

Read all Best Choice Hostel reviews
Penthouse Privates 98%

4. Penthouse Privates

Hostel
Kiraly Utca 56, 4/1

Atmosphere 96%

Cleanliness 98%

Facilities 97%

Location 99%

Safety 97%

Staff 98%

Value 98%

26 out of 27 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Penthouse Privates

23 Jun 2015 100%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: City break

Great atmosphere. Very clean and great location.

would recommend this property

06 Apr 2015 91%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year Sightseeing & culture

This place was like having your own apartment. It was great food my partner and I to have some privacy and quiet but with the convenience of social living and hostel life at your finger tips.

would recommend this property

Read all Penthouse Privates reviews
River Suites 97%

5. River Suites

Apartment
Pozsonyi út 22., 13th District

Atmosphere 98%

Cleanliness 96%

Facilities 94%

Location 94%

Safety 99%

Staff 97%

Value 100%

21 out of 22 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend River Suites

04 Jun 2015 100%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year

We loved everything about this apartment!! It was just as the pictures looked and Akos (the owner) was very helpful. Would recommend to anyone, great value for money and great location :-D

would recommend this property

30 Jul 2014 100%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year Relaxation / spa Sightseeing & culture

We loved our stay here. The apartment is great value for money; it is in a fantastic location in a nice street with lots of bars and cafés and shops on it, short walk from river, tram stop and Margaret Island, really peaceful too. We felt really safe and at home here. It was really clean and loads of little touches to make it really comfortable. The bath is definitely the highlight! We are already thinking about coming back and would recommend it to anyone.

would recommend this property

Read all River Suites reviews
Gaia Guesthouse 97%

6. Gaia Guesthouse

Guesthouse
Kossuth Lajos utca 17

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 95%

Facilities 91%

Location 99%

Safety 99%

Staff 99%

Value 99%

64 out of 66 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Gaia Guesthouse

18 Dec 2015 94%
Travel Type: Alone

best hostel ever! best is because of the staffs,they are kind, nice and warm I feel like home while staying in the hostel. ???????

would recommend this property

10 Sep 2015 100%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Sightseeing & culture

Judit was very nice, she gives and provides all the informatior the visitors need. Very recommendable.

would recommend this property

Read all Gaia Guesthouse reviews
Budapest Centrum Hostel 96%

7. Budapest Centrum Hostel

Hostel
Nador utca 26

Atmosphere 95%

Cleanliness 99%

Facilities 92%

Location 98%

Safety 96%

Staff 97%

Value 97%

79 out of 85 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Budapest Centrum Hostel

12 Aug 2015 100%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year

The hostel is in an excellent location; only about a 5-10 minute walk to the metro, and super close to the Parliament building, restaurants and supermarkets. When we arrived we were told the guests in the original room we'd booked had stayed extra nights so we couldn't have that room, but we were upgraded for free to a large apartment on the floor above; 3 single beds, a kitchen (complete with fridge-freezer, cooker, dishwasher and kitchenware) and a bathroom. The whole place was very clean and well maintained. Alex (the owner) was fantastic. He was extremely helpful and gave us lots of tips and information of what to do and had discounted metro tickets too! He had great restaurant recommendations and he even told us about his own travelling adventures. It was great to see him making an effort with the guests, something which we found a few of the other hostels in our trip lacked. We were well looked after and felt comfortable and at home throughout our whole stay.We definitely recommend this hostel and we will certainly be returning if we visit Budapest again!

would recommend this property

22 Jun 2015 100%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year

Alex was a great host, great localization and price, all clean and good!

would recommend this property

Read all Budapest Centrum Hostel reviews
Pal's Hostel 96%

8. Pal's Hostel

Hostel
Szent István tér 3, 2nd floor, doorbell: 15

Atmosphere 92%

Cleanliness 98%

Facilities 94%

Location 98%

Safety 98%

Staff 94%

Value 98%

42 out of 42 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Pal's Hostel

12 Apr 2016 97%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: Partying / nightlife Shopping Sightseeing & culture
Age Range: 25-30

Features of the apartment and the location of the apartment were excellent. If you rent a room in this hostel you will not need public transport to get to any location in the city.

would recommend this property

09 Nov 2015 91%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year

I had a wonderful night's sleep but it's more of an apt than hostel. I didn't really meet anyone and I'm very social.

would recommend this property

Read all Pal's Hostel reviews
Lavender Circus Hostel, Doubles & Ensuites 96%

9. Lavender Circus Hostel, Doubles & Ensuites

Hostel
Muzeum Krt. 37, V.district

Atmosphere 98%

Cleanliness 92%

Facilities 92%

Location 97%

Safety 98%

Staff 98%

Value 98%

121 out of 123 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Lavender Circus Hostel, Doubles & Ensuites

28 Mar 2016 100%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: City break Romantic getaway Sightseeing & culture
Age Range: 25-30

The property is in a great location, furnished with antiques and with a sense of ambient. Great place for a romantic weekend, It provides both privacy and all the facilities you can find in a hostel to make your stay comfortable.

would recommend this property

19 Dec 2015 74%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: City break Romantic getaway Sightseeing & culture

Unique design & decorationLocation

would recommend this property

Read all Lavender Circus Hostel, Doubles & Ensuites reviews
Live! Hostel 96%

10. Live! Hostel

Hostel
1088 Budapest Rákóczi út 27b

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 96%

Facilities 91%

Location 94%

Safety 98%

Staff 100%

Value 98%

22 out of 24 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Live! Hostel

24 Sep 2015 100%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: Relaxation / spa Sightseeing & culture

Friendly staff - planned us the whole holiday!

would recommend this property

30 Aug 2015 97%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year Partying / nightlife Sightseeing & culture

Excellent staff

would recommend this property

Read all Live! Hostel reviews

Why book with hostelbookers?

Thousands of beds and private rooms, close to the things you’re planning to see and do.
With great value hostels and cheap hotels, everything you want to see and do is just a step away.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Budapest?

Contact us directly

Our top-rated Budapest hostels have only been scored by hostelbookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Budapest. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.

Guide to Budapest

Guide to Find our best travel tips, advice and inspiration on what to do and where to stay in our guide to Budapest. Discover how to travel on a budget and don’t forget to check the weather before you go!