HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Top Rated Hostels in Budapest, Hungary

Cooltour Hostel 100%

1. Cooltour Hostel

Hostel
Asboth Street 19

Atmosphere 100%

Cleanliness 100%

Facilities 100%

Location 100%

Safety 100%

Staff 100%

Value 100%

8 out of 8 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Cooltour Hostel

11 Sep 2016 100%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year
Age Range: 18-24

- two free Sightseeing Tours - Pub crawl - Barbecue - cool People - helpfull People

would recommend this property

03 Sep 2016 100%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: City break
Age Range: 25-30

Everything :)

would recommend this property

Read all Cooltour Hostel reviews
Downtown Oasis 98%

2. Downtown Oasis

Hostel
Budapest, Karoly krt. 24.

Atmosphere 99%

Cleanliness 96%

Facilities 96%

Location 100%

Safety 98%

Staff 100%

Value 100%

35 out of 36 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Downtown Oasis

25 Sep 2015 100%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: City break Sightseeing & culture

It was more like an apartment than a hostel, very homely, comfortable ans clean

would recommend this property

21 Sep 2015 97%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: Partying / nightlife Sightseeing & culture

I really liked the location and atmosphere at the hostel.

would recommend this property

Read all Downtown Oasis reviews
Penthouse Privates 98%

3. Penthouse Privates

Hostel
Kiraly Utca 56, 4/1

Atmosphere 96%

Cleanliness 98%

Facilities 97%

Location 99%

Safety 97%

Staff 98%

Value 98%

26 out of 27 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Penthouse Privates

23 Jun 2015 100%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: City break

Great atmosphere. Very clean and great location.

would recommend this property

06 Apr 2015 91%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year Sightseeing & culture

This place was like having your own apartment. It was great food my partner and I to have some privacy and quiet but with the convenience of social living and hostel life at your finger tips.

would recommend this property

Read all Penthouse Privates reviews
Best Choice Hostel 97%

4. Best Choice Hostel

Hostel
Váci street 23. 2nd floor 5., Váci street 23. 2nd floor 5.

Atmosphere 92%

Cleanliness 96%

Facilities 93%

Location 100%

Safety 99%

Staff 100%

Value 99%

20 out of 20 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Best Choice Hostel

13 Sep 2016 94%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: City break Partying / nightlife
Age Range: 18-24

Great location with helpful staff!

would recommend this property

12 Jun 2016 91%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year Partying / nightlife Sightseeing & culture
Age Range: 18-24

Very centrally located and very spacious!!

would recommend this property

Read all Best Choice Hostel reviews
Gaia Guesthouse 97%

5. Gaia Guesthouse

Guesthouse
Kossuth Lajos utca 17

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 95%

Facilities 90%

Location 99%

Safety 99%

Staff 99%

Value 98%

65 out of 67 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Gaia Guesthouse

22 Jul 2016 91%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: City break Relaxation / spa Sightseeing & culture Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Age Range: 25-30

Its central location was perfect and the staff were very nice and helpful.

would recommend this property

18 Dec 2015 94%
Travel Type: Alone

best hostel ever! best is because of the staffs,they are kind, nice and warm I feel like home while staying in the hostel. ???????

would recommend this property

Read all Gaia Guesthouse reviews
Lavender Circus Hostel, Doubles & Ensuites 96%

6. Lavender Circus Hostel, Doubles & Ensuites

Hostel
Muzeum Krt. 37, V.district

Atmosphere 98%

Cleanliness 92%

Facilities 92%

Location 97%

Safety 98%

Staff 98%

Value 98%

121 out of 123 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Lavender Circus Hostel, Doubles & Ensuites

28 Mar 2016 100%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: City break Romantic getaway Sightseeing & culture
Age Range: 25-30

The property is in a great location, furnished with antiques and with a sense of ambient. Great place for a romantic weekend, It provides both privacy and all the facilities you can find in a hostel to make your stay comfortable.

would recommend this property

19 Dec 2015 74%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: City break Romantic getaway Sightseeing & culture

Unique design & decorationLocation

would recommend this property

Read all Lavender Circus Hostel, Doubles & Ensuites reviews
Budapest Centrum Hostel 96%

7. Budapest Centrum Hostel

Hostel
Nador utca 26

Atmosphere 95%

Cleanliness 98%

Facilities 91%

Location 98%

Safety 96%

Staff 97%

Value 97%

80 out of 86 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Budapest Centrum Hostel

12 Aug 2015 100%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year

The hostel is in an excellent location; only about a 5-10 minute walk to the metro, and super close to the Parliament building, restaurants and supermarkets. When we arrived we were told the guests in the original room we'd booked had stayed extra nights so we couldn't have that room, but we were upgraded for free to a large apartment on the floor above; 3 single beds, a kitchen (complete with fridge-freezer, cooker, dishwasher and kitchenware) and a bathroom. The whole place was very clean and well maintained. Alex (the owner) was fantastic. He was extremely helpful and gave us lots of tips and information of what to do and had discounted metro tickets too! He had great restaurant recommendations and he even told us about his own travelling adventures. It was great to see him making an effort with the guests, something which we found a few of the other hostels in our trip lacked. We were well looked after and felt comfortable and at home throughout our whole stay.We definitely recommend this hostel and we will certainly be returning if we visit Budapest again!

would recommend this property

22 Jun 2015 100%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year

Alex was a great host, great localization and price, all clean and good!

would recommend this property

Read all Budapest Centrum Hostel reviews
Fifth Hostel 96%

8. Fifth Hostel

Hostel
Rakoczi ut 38. 4st floor / 16

Atmosphere 88%

Cleanliness 96%

Facilities 96%

Location 92%

Safety 100%

Staff 100%

Value 100%

5 out of 5 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Fifth Hostel

25 Aug 2016 97%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year Partying / nightlife Sightseeing & culture
Age Range: 25-30

Very good location, right downtown and literally on the edge of the jewish (party) quarter. Staff was super cool and really helpful with tips and places around the city. Facilities are clean and brand new (recently renovated), small kitchen available, very useful. common room is a bit small, but still makes it easy to meet other people.

would recommend this property

11 Aug 2016 97%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: Sightseeing & culture
Age Range: 18-24

Pierre was so awesome and very helpful!

would recommend this property

Read all Fifth Hostel reviews
Pal's Hostel 96%

9. Pal's Hostel

Hostel
Szent István tér 3, 2nd floor, doorbell: 15

Atmosphere 91%

Cleanliness 98%

Facilities 94%

Location 98%

Safety 98%

Staff 93%

Value 98%

47 out of 47 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Pal's Hostel

22 Sep 2016 94%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: Sightseeing & culture
Age Range: 41+

The location and the spacious apartment

would recommend this property

04 Sep 2016 100%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: Family Holiday Sightseeing & culture Visiting friends or family
Age Range: 41+

Easy to access and right in the heart of the city... easy to get around... safe...

would recommend this property

Read all Pal's Hostel reviews
Carpe Noctem Original 95%

10. Carpe Noctem Original

Hostel
Szobi utca 5, 3/8a

Atmosphere 97%

Cleanliness 93%

Facilities 93%

Location 98%

Safety 94%

Staff 99%

Value 96%

81 out of 86 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Carpe Noctem Original

03 Dec 2016 94%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: City break Partying / nightlife Sightseeing & culture
Age Range: 31-40

Very friendly staffs, who not just organised event(s) every evening but also participate, so there is a real community feeling during my entire stay!

would recommend this property

08 Aug 2016 100%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year Events / festivals Partying / nightlife Relaxation / spa Sightseeing & culture
Age Range: 18-24

Everything!!!! One my favourite hostels in the world, easily. Had the most incredible time here - staff was excellent, guests were amazing. Easy to make friends as a solo traveller here. Would recommend to anyone, and will definitely be back!

would recommend this property

Read all Carpe Noctem Original reviews

Why book with hostelbookers?

Thousands of beds and private rooms, close to the things you’re planning to see and do.
With great value hostels and cheap hotels, everything you want to see and do is just a step away.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Budapest?

Contact us directly

Our top-rated Budapest hostels have only been scored by hostelbookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Budapest. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.

Guide to Budapest

Guide to Find our best travel tips, advice and inspiration on what to do and where to stay in our guide to Budapest. Discover how to travel on a budget and don’t forget to check the weather before you go!