HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/08/2015
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/08/2015
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in Budapest, Hungary

100.0%
23 reviews Book Now 
1

Tailor & White

Hostel
11 Népszínház utca, Budapest, Hungary 1081

23 out of 23 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Tailor & White

Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%
Greg Coster
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Greg would recommend this property 14 August 2014

Great place. Hosts were genuine, friendly and helpful. If only more hostels werd like this.

Hayley Roberts
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Hayley would recommend this property 11 August 2014

Where else have you woken up to delicious coffee made with Italian freshly roasted coffee beans in your hostel? Where else have you sat chatting Hungarian literature on a balcony loaded with flower pots and candles? Go beyond sticky jars of Nescafé and backpacker itinerary small talk. No hostel owners have ever cared more about making such a cool space. My favourite hostel/ cafe/ art gallery/ literature appreciation club in the whole enormous world.

99.6%
14 reviews Book Now 
2

Penthouse Privates

Hostel
Kiraly utca 56, 4/1, Budapest, Hungary 1068

14 out of 14 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Penthouse Privates

Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 98%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 98%
Caley Campbell
With friends / other travellers
City break, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Caley would recommend this property 10 June 2014

The location is amazing! We stayed in the private apartment which was luxury for backpackers and very good value for money. The staff were very helpfull and informative and always smiling.

Marc Edmonds
With my spouse / partner
City break, Partying / nightlife
100.0%
Marc would recommend this property 31 March 2014

Our stay at Penthouse was everything you could ever ask for. Easily the best hostel I have stayed in anywhere in the world to date. Our room was spacious and we just loved the funky decor it had going on. Overall, the hostel had all the communal facilities you would ever require to keep yourself entertained, which were all well maintained and kept spotless at all times. The location of the hostel was also fantastic and no sight or attraction seemed all that far away. Hawaii and Andy who were running the show over the duration of our stay were both super friendly and always willing to share their vast knowledge of the city, really helping us get the most out of our trip. If going out partying is your kind of thing, some great nights out were organised through the hostel at venues around the city. If not, the atmosphere at the hostel was lovely and peaceful, perfect for unwinding after a busy day of adventuring around the city. I would whole heartedly recommend Penthouse Privates to anyone heading to Budapest, it really is a great place.

99.4%
9 reviews Book Now 
3

Danube Corso Apartment

Apartment
Aranykéz u. 6. 6/48, Budapest, Hungary 1052

9 out of 9 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Danube Corso Apartment

Atmosphere - 97% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 97% Value - 100%
Christian Penchev
With friends / other travellers
Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Shopping
100.0%
Christian would recommend this property 28 May 2014

It had everything you could need. Clean bathroom a little kitchen, dishes, glasses,Air conditioning, fast wi-fi, a comfortable bed and chairs. Katlin was very nice and her husband too, because our bus back was in the evening they let us check out a little bit later. She prepared all the documentation needed you just sign 2 papers and the apartment is yours for the booking period. The location is absolutely awesome, you go out of the building turn left on the nearest corner you take a right and you are on Vaci utca that is the central street in Pest. She even left us a Milkyway on our pillows, and gave us a ton of tourist maps. God bless you Mrs. Bekò I will be back one day and the first place Im gonna look for is yours!

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
City break, Partying / nightlife, Romantic getaway
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 30 March 2014

the location was amazing, Katalin was very nice & helpful, the apartment was very clean & had everything you need: AC, a nice litlle kitchen with all the dishes, A washing machine, an iron.... everything. we enjoyed it very much. great value for money.

99.3%
4 reviews Book Now 
4

Best Choice Hostel

Hostel
Váci street 23, 2nd floor 5, Budapest, Hungary 1052

4 out of 4 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Best Choice Hostel

Atmosphere - 95% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%
Customer review
Alone
Visiting friends or family
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 30 June 2014

Perfect in every way! Great rooms, friendly staff, good location. A great place, especially for the money.

Taja Tadeja Rampih
With my spouse / partner
City break
97.1%
Taja Tadeja would recommend this property 28 June 2014

We stayed in single room, great location, view on the main street, friendly host.

98.6%
83 reviews Book Now 
5

Carpe Noctem (original)

Hostel
Szobi utca 5, Floor 3 / 8a, Budapest, Hungary 000

80 out of 83 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Carpe Noctem (original)

Atmosphere - 99% Staff - 98% Facilities - 98% Safety - 100%
Location - 98% Cleanliness - 97% Value - 98%
Nicole Tamsett
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife
100.0%
Nicole would recommend this property 27 June 2014

Everything! Hostel organizes something every night. Staff helpful & show u where everything is. Full kitchen. In the centre of the city.

Megan Woodford
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Megan would recommend this property 04 May 2014

The staff are AMAZING. It's a group of young people who live in their own section on of the hostel, so someone is always available to help. It's in a great location. Although there are a ton of partying events, people usually go out by 8:30pm and there's a quite policy after 10, so if you want to stay in you can. If you go out, they have sister hostels like Retox where you can go party. Almost all of their facilities are free, except laundry. The staff have a ton of suggestions for stuff to do around the city. Really, it's just an amazing hostel, that isn't too large, so it has a sense of family away from home.

98.3%
115 reviews Book Now 
6

Downtown Oasis Private Rooms

Hostel
24. Karoly Korut, 4th floor, Doorbell 18, Budapest, Hungary 1052

114 out of 115 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Downtown Oasis Private Rooms

Atmosphere - 98% Staff - 100% Facilities - 95% Safety - 96%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 97% Value - 100%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
City break
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 28 May 2014

The apartment is really beautiful and nicely furnished! It's located right in the centre, so everything's in walking distance! We also felt really safe, as there are a lot of doors and locks on your way to the apartment and the "receptionist" gave us a warm welcome and a lot of useful tips.

Alberto Carignano
With friends / other travellers
Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
Alberto would recommend this property 30 March 2014

We really liked the hostel: great location, very friendly and useful staff, very big room. Incredible value for money!

98.3%
285 reviews Book Now 
7

Lavender Circus Hostel and Apartments

Hostel
Múzeum Krt. 37, V. kerület, Budapest, Hungary 1054

280 out of 285 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Lavender Circus Hostel and Apartments

Atmosphere - 98% Staff - 99% Facilities - 95% Safety - 100%
Location - 96% Cleanliness - 98% Value - 100%
Zoe Harris
With my spouse / partner
City break, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Zoe would recommend this property 31 July 2014

The beautiful way in which it was decorated, quirky, boho, eccentric! The staff are lovely as is the owner - it is like you are sharing their home and not in a hostel. We were only there two nights but would love to return!

Danielle Nolan
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, City break
97.1%
Danielle would recommend this property 11 July 2014

Beautiful hostel in Budapest, very quirky, beds a bit hard but you can get over that. Staff are very very friendly and always happy to help you and very informative about the city. Loved Budapest loved staying at lavender circus, considering coming back on our travels

97.6%
709 reviews Book Now 
8

Maverick Hostel & Ensuites

Hostel
1051 Budapest, Ferenciek tere 2, Budapest, Hungary 1051

691 out of 709 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Maverick Hostel & Ensuites

Atmosphere - 97% Staff - 96% Facilities - 98% Safety - 98%
Location - 99% Cleanliness - 96% Value - 96%
Customer review
Alone
Business / conference, City break, Relaxation/spa
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 11 June 2014

One of the best hostels I've stayed at, insofar as I could surmise from one night's stay. Clean, lots of character, friendly staff, good price, great location...no complaints at all!

Jessie Cartwright
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Jessie would recommend this property 03 March 2014

Maverick is amazing!! Great location and staff are very lovely and helpful!! the hotel building is super old but is really nice! We loved it here

96.8%
36 reviews Book Now 
9

Balcony Apartment

Apartment
Pozsonyi út 22., Budapest, Hungary 1137

36 out of 36 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Balcony Apartment

Atmosphere - 97% Staff - 97% Facilities - 92% Safety - 99%
Location - 93% Cleanliness - 96% Value - 100%
Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Relaxation/spa, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 04 August 2014

We loved our stay here. The apartment is great value for money; it is in a fantastic location in a nice street with lots of bars and cafés and shops on it, short walk from river, tram stop and Margaret Island, really peaceful too. We felt really safe and at home here. It was really clean and loads of little touches to make it really comfortable. The bath is definitely the highlight! We are already thinking about coming back and would recommend it to anyone.

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Business / conference
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 18 November 2012

Its a very nice fully equipped apartment for very cheep! Nice street with loads of restaurants..short walk to the tram and the center in general. Akos, the owner, its a very nice and helpfull guy.

96.7%
7 reviews Book Now 
10

Apartment for friends

Apartment
Csengery utca 12., Budapest, Hungary 1074

7 out of 7 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Apartment for friends

Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 94% Safety - 97%
Location - 88% Cleanliness - 97% Value - 100%
Anne Wienholz
With friends / other travellers
Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Anne would recommend this property 30 June 2013

It is very good situated. You can reach all things very easy. The appartment is big and very good equipped.

Piotr Szydlowski
With friends / other travellers
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
Piotr would recommend this property 04 May 2013

Landlords are really friendly and helpful. Apartment is spacious and in superb condition. Wi-fi works very well. Clean bedclothes and towels and overall high level of hygiene in apartment makes it exceptionally pleasant place to live in. I'll be very happy to use hospitality of Apartment for Friends again and will for sure recommend it to anybody who wants to visit Budapest.

Budapest

240 Hostels from 7.40 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated Budapest hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Budapest. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.

No booking fees

The only major hostel booking site that doesn't charge a booking fee.

Guide to Budapest

Guide to Find our best travel tips, advice and inspiration on what to do and where to stay in our guide to Budapest. Discover how to travel on a budget and don’t forget to check the weather before you go!

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Budapest?

Monthly Newsletter

 
Please enter valid email address
Check out this month's newsletter