HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of X Hostel Budapest

Hostel | Rózsa utca 72, Budapest, Hungary 1064

84.3% Overall Rating

42 out of 46 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/07/2014)

"It was a very chilled vibe for a hostel however at the same time it was very active and fun. Out of the four nights we were there we went to clubs with the whole hostel twice and on the other two stayed in. With both…"

Read all X Hostel Budapest reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Late check-out
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.63

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Budapest?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Budapest

Unforgettable Nights
10.50 USD

Hostel 91.2% 53 reviews
Six Inn Hotel Budapest Centrum
29.33 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hostel Israel
13.55 USD

Hostel 60.4% 8 reviews
City Center Guesthouse Budapest.
18.38 USD

Guesthouse 73.3% 6 reviews
Butterfly Hostel & Guesthouse
13.13 USD

Guesthouse 88.4% 15 reviews
Adagio Hostel 1.0 Oktogon
12.47 USD

Hostel 88.7% 36 reviews
Central Green Hotel 
60.40 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Guru Hostel
12.92 USD

Hostel 95.0% 44 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.3%

Overall Rating

42 out of 46 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'X Hostel Budapest'

Atmosphere
87.2%
Location
80.8%
Facilities
77.6%
Cleanliness
80.0%
Staff
90.4%
Value
89.6%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 41 of 45 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jessica Ferguson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 July 2014 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: I like the fact that it is an amazing hostel in an amazing city.

Disliked: Jessica left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The way it looks and the staff

Disliked: Didn't feel very safe at one point because a friend of the staff who was staying at the hostel kept letting himself into our room when he was meant to be sleeping in the staff room. Thankfully the staff handled this very well and the issue was sorted out quickly.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Alexandra Heaffey

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 July 2014

Liked: I liked how the gates were electronic and felt more secure.

Disliked: The staff didn't explicitly tell anyone how to use the gates, so it was confusing and embarrassing trying to get in. Also, there were ants everywhere, and the staff did nothing to help when a group of other people staying stole my only charger for my iPhone and iPad. The beds were also poor with large dips in the centre of the mattresses; well, I say mattresses but they were actually just pieces of foam.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a very chilled vibe for a hostel however at the same time it was very active and fun. Out of the four nights we were there we went to clubs with the whole hostel twice and on the other two stayed in. With both there were absolutely no problems, when we stayed in it was quiet but when we went out it was a typical crazy night in Budapest.

Disliked: They had a system where everyone had to take off their shoes at the entrance which was a little strange, although I can understand why they did it.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Annemarie Flanagan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2014 Annemarie would recommend this property

Liked: the staff were great, really helpful especially Kat.

Disliked: Annemarie left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa

24 June 2014

Liked: the vibe and cosiness between everyone.

Disliked: it is too noisy as most guests were too young and wanted only to party. the male manager was not very responsible in taking care of the hostel well.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Yee Ting Hung

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2014 Yee Ting would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are very nice and helpful.

Disliked: Yee Ting left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing time. Staff was very helpful. When I checked in they provide me with a map from the city. They marked out all the hotspots in town incl a very good free walking tour. In the night the staff took as out to some local pubs and we ended our night in Instant on of the famous "ruin" bars. The hostel very close to the metro and located in a safe area. The have camera security what makes you feel safe if your a woman traveling alone. Hope to be able to come back one day

Disliked: Nothing.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Bertille Houot

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 June 2014

Liked: Nothing really

Disliked: Almost everything. The staff looked like partying everynights, the bathrooms were disgusting, the mattress uncomfortable. And there was no lockers.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Lauren Brace

With friends / other travellers

City break

27 April 2014 Lauren would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were friendly enough. Living area very comfortable, with many pillows for relaxing nights in. Lots of information leaflets to give an idea of Budapest. The bathrooms were clean, each cubicle had its own toilet, shower and working locks, then sinks and mirrors were open for everyone. Hostel had lots of offers for breakfast, dinners and alcohol which were cheap and a good way of meeting people - though we didn't make use of them. The room we were given actually had less beds than the room we paid for, which is definitely nothing to complain about.

Disliked: We only stayed here one night as the atmosphere was very subdued and not as homely as we would have hoped for.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bryon Smith

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

25 February 2014 Bryon would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, relaxing hostel with a helpful staff. Easy walk to any attraction Would recommend to anyone traveling through Budapest.

Disliked: Bryon left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and quiet

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Family Holiday

19 January 2014

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Shocking hostels set up by foreigners trying to make some quick money. There was no heating whatsoever.....several people were sick and most people stayed up all night coughing and shivering in their sleep as the owners tried to save money and not put on the heating. No hot water in showers and knob did not work. Noisy lounge area which echoes to the rooms especially the one next to the main Reception room. Kitchen was dirty. I had to check out early and get a refund. The Manager gave me dirty looks as if to say, "why". There are so many fantastic hostels run by clean, friendly Hungarians. Stay there!

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Sheldon Mott

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 January 2014 Sheldon would recommend this property

Liked: Nothing, but the staff were amazing has the best time. Great common area

Disliked: Sheldon left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Natalia Vrazdova

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 January 2014 Natalia would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location - close to the sightseeings and party life. Cosy common room with predrinks every night, the rooms are clean, hostel has new showers. The staff is very friendly and helpful. They take you every night to a different party, recommend nice places. Thank you for amazing stay!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jacki Ronalds

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 December 2013 Jacki would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, great location, very helpful staff who showed me around and told me all the good places to go as well as took me out for drinks. Highly recommend. Recently renovated bathroom facilities as well - hot shower was perfect after a cold day out!

Disliked: -

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cosy common room

Disliked: cold in winter no hairdryer

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Nick Rowles

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

09 December 2013 Nick would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent, friendly staff, lively atmosphere, cheap / good value for money, vibrant.

Disliked: Nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

07 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and good value for money, the staff was great, friendly and fun. Lots going on every night even though it was low season, thanks to them :P If you're looking for a party in Budapest, this is the hostel to stay in. Cheers to the staff, M. V. U.

Disliked: The rooms were a bit cold in the winter so don't forget to bring your slippers. ;)

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Cody Ahn

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 November 2013 Cody would recommend this property

Liked: The Staff, Cam, Andolie, Tasha and Nancy. You guys were perfect. 10 out of 10 would come back just for you guys.

Disliked: Leaving.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff, good location with most sites and things you need nearby

Disliked: On the first night the showers weren't that clean but the next night everything was fine. It would also be nice to have a local, or at least hungarian speaking person on staff.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tom Carter

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

17 November 2013 Tom would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, right in the centre. staff are very helpful, friendly and easy going. You are provided with dinner every night (if you like) for an extremly good price. The hostel also organise events for guests every night so there is always something going on. X hostel also has a really chilled vibe so if you do not feel like getting up to anything it is also a great place to relax.

Disliked: Honestly, unless you're very picky then I cannot really fault anything with X hostel.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adam Bell

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 November 2013 Adam would recommend this property

Liked: Great homely feel, with young energetic staff who began cooking meals every night ( value for money!) There was something on offer every night to do, was located near plenty of good bars and if I'd reconmend something to do in budapest definitely do Exit Point! Unforgettable

Disliked: Something was stolen but I can't blame the hostel for that. One of those things that can happen travelling

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel has the best common room. It even has a swing! I loved staying at X Hostel because it was so easy to meet new people and have a blast going on activities together. Every day there is some fun activity planned (caving, party bath, pub crawls etc). They serve a delicious meal each evening (request the stuffed chicken!). The staff is great: Cam is the coolest!

Disliked: It really is a great hostel. Nothing to dislike.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jack callaghan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 November 2013 jack would recommend this property

Liked: Very good atmosphere. The common area is an awesome place to hang out, plus the couch is super comfy and there's an indoor swing! Facilities are fantastic and the staff are more than helpful, especially katie

Disliked: Nothing