HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Ravin Hostel Budapest Hostel

Wesselényi utca 41. District-VII. (Ground Floor,, Budapest, Hungary

Atmosphere 76%

Cleanliness 70%

Facilities 74%

Location 91%

Safety 82%

Staff 86%

Value 82%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 773.85USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 13:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Not Accepted
  • Lockout
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Budapest?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 76%

Cleanliness 70%

Facilities 74%

Location 91%

Safety 82%

Staff 86%

Value 82%

Showing 1-10 of 35 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Liked: The owners were extremely friendly and helpful to us. They even offered us to join their New Year's Eve party. The beds were quite comfortable and you have enough space in the room. We felt very welcome in this hostel and we can only recommend it to anyone who planns on staying a few days in Budapest. There are two showers which is enough in my opinion. We never had any problems.

Disliked: There are only two toilets in the hostel. One for men and one for women. It could smell a little bit if you want to go on the toilet after there have already been a few poeple there.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you very much Tim :) It was our pleasure to meet you all here at hostel.Wish you all the best for 2016!hope to see you again :)

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Decent location, the staff was friendly enough.

Disliked: The room was pretty bare with no lockers. The window looked out onto the courtyard and during the August heatwave it was quite hot and stifling. It wasn't terrible but I wasn't very impressed. Put in the rooms some lockers, a waste bin, a simple fan, some pictures on the walls and some floor mats in the bathroom and that would go a long way to making it a better experience.

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The room was clean and cosy, we liked it. The staff seemed nice and helpful. Since we moved to and from the city by train, the location was very good for us because the main train station of Pest was within walking distance, about 10 to 15 minutes away.

Disliked: The toilet and the shower were in the same room so if there was someone taking a shower you had to wait to get to use the toilet, as there only was that one (for women). The bathroom floor was very wet all the time because of the shower, you could not help getting your socks wet, and there was visible mould in the shower. There were lockers in our private room, but we were not given the key even when we asked for it to safe our valuables (because we 'don't need it, the rooms being safe enough') during the city tour, even though the hostel doesn't take responsibilty for the stuff in the rooms. Nothing happened but it was a bit weird. Also we had trouble finding the door in the street the first day, since there was just a small placate with the hostel's name on it, only visible if you walk the street to a certain direction. Small things, but they do make a difference.

Customer would recommend this property

34% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
34% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals

Liked: It was in a very central location.

Disliked: The owners are faking their own reviews. If you look at the 100% reviews they all have the same spelling mistakes ('stuff') It was very falsely advertised so there were no cooking in the kitchen and also no lockers. No outdoor area and no communal space. The window was open straight onto the street. People were sneaking into the hostel and sleeping over night and the staff wasn't even sure who was meant to be there. They were asking us if there were people there. The showers flooded anytime you used it.

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Relaxation / spa, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very near the attractions of the city, pubs,exchange offices, Spar supermarket with fresh made meals, pharmacy, Keleti train station is 10-15 min walk... There was no noise during the night on the streets. Hostel is on the inside part of the building's courtyard, it has a password on the outside building doors, and you need a key for the hostel doors. The staff let us leave our stuff when we got a few hours before check in and they let us leave our stuff for the whole day after check out. Hostel has a lot of free mapsof the city.

Disliked: The bathroom was only cleaned the first day we arrived, we stayed for 5 days and the bathroom was not cleaned for the rest of our stay. Especially in the man's showers. It seems that the girl that came every morning cleaned only floors. That was a big minus because there are only two showers in the men's bathroom and the whole girl's bathroomwith the shower, sink and toilet was one and all of it was in one, but surprisingly it wasn't crowded or maybeI got lucky. The number of toilets is not a problem, only the fact that it's not cleaned. The beds were OK for sleeping, but they were noisy when you move.

Customer would recommend this property

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: El personal es amable.

Disliked: El hostel está bastante descuidado. las duchas de los chicos no tienen intimidad ninguna porque solo hay una puerta plegable para cerrar. Además, no las limpian cada día y se acumula el agua cuando te duchas. La limpieza de las habitaciones tampoco es que sea genial. Además, los lockers en las habitaciones son inexistentes, en una habitación de 8 personas solo había dos. Dijeron que "estaban estropeados y tenían que arreglarlos" pero aquello tenía pinta que se siempre estaba igual. No se puede pagar con tarjeta.

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Big bedroom, very good location

Disliked: Reception is not 24hours, kitchen with not enough basic tools, no bins in the room, lockers that doesnot work, toilet always dirty and too small, just one for all the girls of the hostel

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Dd

Disliked: Dd

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The staff were really helpful, staying up and waiting for us despite a late train that got in at 1:00AM. The location could not be better and the room was pretty big.

Disliked: It wasn't very clean! My pillowcase was far from fresh- dubious little curly hairs. Had to use a t-shirt to cover the pillow. The toilet (in girls) also leaked large amounts of water every time it was flushed (so grim) and there was mold growing in the shower.

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 May 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I liked that it was a home-like hostel and not a big chaotic one. Luckily, there were no other people in our dorm for the whole of our stay!

Disliked: The sheets were dirty and the duvet cover smelly. The bathroom was not clean either. The (foreign) receptionist didnt seem to know very much about the city. During nights the street outside can be pretty noisy, drunk people I reckon. For 2 days in the room next door there was a family with a little kid and a baby, which of course other than the fact that they disturbed us with their crying and all, made us wonder whether children are allowed in hostels anyway?!

Check Availability