HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Rastel Hostel

Hostel | Vajdahunyad u. 4., Budapest, Hungary 1082

88.5% Overall Rating

116 out of 126 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (27/03/2014)

"The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, the place is in a very nice location, a bit old but I wou resld challenge anyone finding a better price for a single"

Read all Rastel Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Budapest?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Budapest

Corvin Point Rooms and Apartments
16.61 USD

Hostel 91.4% 205 reviews
Inside Hostel Budapest
16.15 USD

Hostel 93.6% 4 reviews
Bebop Hostel
27.64 USD

Hostel 94.5% 140 reviews
City Hostel Corvin
16.93 USD

Hostel 68.1% 13 reviews
Mandala Hostel
11.06 USD

Hostel 95.5% 814 reviews
Black Apple Hostel
11.66 USD

Hostel 88.0% 32 reviews
Central Hotel 21
20.73 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.8% 6 reviews
Design Apartments Budapest
22.11 USD

Apartment 83.7% 7 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.5%

Overall Rating

116 out of 126 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Rastel Hostel'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
84.0%
Facilities
84.8%
Cleanliness
87.2%
Staff
95.2%
Value
92.8%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 95 of 121 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Shalaka Singh

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

25 November 2013 Shalaka would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff complete freedom to enjoy

Disliked: Bathrooms are uncomfortable

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

29 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice and cheap

Disliked: nofin

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We loved our stay at Rastel Hostel. On arrival at 7am after a long bus ride, our room was ready for us & we were given a map with all the best local bars & restaurants to suss out. The vibe at the hostel is very laidback yet efficient, everything is done on time & to a high standard. I would recommend Rastel to any of my friends travelling Budapest.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

17 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely nice staff, they have explained me everything about the city. There is a pub downstairs with live music gigs. Decent price. Basically a very decent hostel. Simple but everything that You need in a hostel is there.

Disliked: ...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

08 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the atmosphere. Nice people, nice location, nice bar, nice hostel...thanks allot!!!

Disliked: no

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

04 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good value for money

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

30 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really clean and comfy; great facilities and the staff were friendly, Great value!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Roland Mbembe

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 September 2013 Roland would recommend this property

Liked: Is confortable, interest, clean, near to the city central, dosen't have breakfast but has coffe and tea for free

Disliked: Roland left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

29 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good vibration.

Disliked: A bit noisy at night due to the pub.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
Relaxation/spa

24 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Best Place on Earth!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place is good. Big, spacious room . Clean, a bit noisy at night. Not far from the centre.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice room, beautiful garden, great staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Caitriona Maher

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 September 2013 Caitriona would recommend this property

Liked: Had character I really liked it. Very cheap, nothing fancy. I liked our apartment

Disliked: The unclean showers, but the rest of the apartment was nice enough I didn't mind we weren't fussy travellers

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marian Lucey

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2013 Marian would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff good information given to enjoy Budapest while we were there. No bunk beds. Great storage for personal belongings, just bring a pad lock.

Disliked: Marian left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Kathryn Dwyer

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2013 Kathryn would recommend this property

Liked: Really good for the price! Helpful staff, and within walking distance of everywhere, or they are easy public transport links if you don't want to. Good kitchen facilities and nice atmosphere

Disliked: Kathryn left no negative feedback.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 July 2013

Liked: They were willing to let us check out early without having to pay for the original length of time we had booked for.

Disliked: The hostel was noisy due to the bar downstairs - which didn't allow us to sleep, the beds were hard and uncomfortable and as our room was situated outside the communal area and the walls were thin we could hear every word that was said. The showers were bizarre, two showers shared one curtain and one of the shower head holders was broken.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Leonard Marchwicki

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 July 2013 Leonard would recommend this property

Liked: When I arrived girl from the Rastel Hostel crew first told me what I can visit in Budapest, where to go and what to do. It was really usefull :) Place was clean and cozy. :)

Disliked: Leonard left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anna ?wierczakiewiczowa

Alone

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: Cool place in good location for really good money :) I recomend to everyone :)

Disliked: Anna left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Lenka Grundmanova

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2013

Liked: The atmosphere and the pub downstairs was definitely a plus. We also liked the room which was quite big and comfortable.

Disliked: What I hated was the fact that to get to the bathroom you had to walk past the reception and living room,it was far and way too public. The bathrooms and toulets were not kept clean and stank. This is something I am very sensitive about and something that can be quite easily improved. The location is OK but jit great. The price is very good and I think the place is still awesome for this price but ... as said somethings could be improved.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sangeorgean Mihai Bogdan

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2013 Sangeorgean would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice hostel, close to the city center, friendly and helpful people, nice overall atmosphere.

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Relaxation/spa

29 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Gives you everything you need for a basic stay in hostel. Cosy rooms and nice athmosphere. The "night line tram" runs quite close to the hostel but its not too far to walk to places either.

Disliked: Some streets in the area looked quite dirty and shady but the hostel itself and the cafe/restaurant next to it were both great!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

24 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was just perfect for sightseeing. Really near to public transportation and basically you could easily get on foot (approx 20 min of walk) to all most important spots in the city. The beds were comfy and bed linen really clean. The room was spacious and in quiet part of building for a really great price.

Disliked: If you are a picky person and never lived in a student dorm or shared apartment, maybe sharing bathroom and washing your teeth at a small wash basin and going for cooking to another building while passing through an alternative modern art gallery is not your thing, but for me all that had special charm. As I did not see air conditioning installed, it might be a bit hot during summer, but after all I am sure you will spend most of your time out, so should not worry too much about this.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff was really friendly and helpful and the location is perfect.. if u like walking then u can go everywhere from there

Disliked: the bathrooms wasnt that good

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and chill personnel, helping with a lot of information, quiet and interesting location, next to a bar and kindof a gallery. Nice location, easy to get home by tram 6 during the night.

Disliked: Nothing bothered me too much to mention

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 May 2013

Liked: The staff was friendly, the bar downstairs was cool

Disliked: The facilities were poorly kept, not clean, and the location was in a sketchy area of the city. Felt unsafe was a solo female traveller walking around in that area. It looked like there was some sort of homeless shelter across the street, always vagrants of some kind hanging around outside.